“This EXACT SAME Crisis Has Happened Twice in the History of Energy…” (Dr. Kent Moors)

Looking into the Energy Inner Circle teaser pitch about the shortfall in uranium supply and an imminent price spike

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, April 17, 2015

Irregulars Quick Take Paid members get a quick summary of the stocks teased and our thoughts here. Join as a Stock Gumshoe Irregular today (already a member? Log in)

This article is a repeat of a solution to a teaser pitch that Dr. Kent Moors has been marketing very aggressively for almost a year.

Why? Because he and his publishers at Money Map are pushing it very heavily again, as they’ve done every few months, and we’re getting questions… and there have been some developments in the market since the ad started circulating. Our original article was entitled, “The Electricity Crisis that Dr. Kent Moors says could bring 100,000% returns” … so if you already read that one back in May of 2014, you can skip along to the bottom to see the additional info I added six months ago in November (and, if you wish, throw your thoughts and comments into the discussion pile… the original discussion is all still there at the bottom as well).

What follows was published on May 14 and has not been edited or updated other than the November 2014 update at the end. The original comments and discussion are also appended. The stock he focused on most, UEC, has bounced from $1 to $1.80 and back a couple times as uranium prospects (and prices) have fluctuated. Uranium is up a bit again in the last few months, to about $40 now (the recent low is $30, the highs were big spikes to $70 in 2011 and $140 in 2007).

—-from 5/14/2014—-

Dr. Kent Moors is pitching the upcoming electricity crisis as a reason to invest in his newsletter and reap your riches from the panic — I imagine you’ve seen this ad, because readers have been peppering me with it since it started running yesterday.

The first couple pages of it are mostly about how horrific things get when electricity production is compromised, with the huge hit to the economy from closed power plants and/or brownouts or rolling blackouts when generation can’t keep up with demand. He has a graph he uses over and over again that shows a gap, at some undetermined point in the near future, where electricity demand will be 16% higher than generation capacity. Here’s a bit of the spiel:

“Bottom line: The cost of a 16% electricity void would result in the massive loss of human lives and trillions of dollars.

“And make no mistake, we are on the brink of a crisis… a 16% electricity void that could decimate the global economy…

“Of course, world leaders aren’t going to let that happen. And in the rush to solve the crisis… you have an extraordinary opportunity.”

Here’s some more of Dr. Moors whetting our appetite:

“…this has happened twice before in the history of energy.

“Both times, it created a slew of new millionaires.

“In fact, the last time this happened, folks who got in early and followed the right signs had a chance to turn $1,000 into $1 million. And that’s on just one trade…

“The evidence makes the case: This crisis is happening again for the third time. And while it’s not 100%, there’s no denying this opportunity could change your life.

“I’ve been tracking this situation for eight years waiting for the right moment to get in. And I can tell you without a doubt:

“The pendulum is starting to swing and the upside is going to be huge.”

OK, so… wanna get a 10,000% return? Me, too! How does he think we can do that?

Well, as you’d know if you had the patience to sit through the first interminable minutes of the presentation or read through a few pages of blather (don’t worry, there’s no shame in NOT reading that far — sifting the blather every day is the strange path we’ve taken, but most people aren’t goofy enough to do that), he’s teasing nuclear energy and uranium. Here’s a bit of that:

“World Leaders Agree: This Fuel is Vital

“As I mentioned, I advise 27 governments on energy matters. And I can tell you right now, every single one of them considers this fuel vital to the world’s energy mix.

“In other words, we can’t do without it. Period.

“That’s because this fuel can do what oil, natural gas, and coal can’t.

“Like I said, it’s 9,500 times more powerful than oil… and 100 times cheaper.

“And get this: This fuel is 100% clean. In fact, it generates zero greenhouse gas emissions.

“In other words, unlike oil, natural gas or coal… it won’t kill the planet.

“As you probably guessed, I’m talking about uranium… the fuel that generates nuclear power.

“Now, I realize nuclear power is very controversial, especially after the accident in Japan in 2011.

“And maybe you’re in favor of nuclear power, and maybe you aren’t.

“But the fact remains, nuclear power is an essential part of the global energy mix, accounting for 16% of the world’s electricity.”

Not the first time we’ve heard the “uranium will boom again” argument, to be sure — uranium collapsed after the Fukushima disaster in Japan, which spurred both the shutdown of Japan’s large nuclear fleet and the global “rethink” on nuclear power, particularly in Western democracies that have the luxury of debate and hand-wringing, but it has also been widely predicted as a commodity likely to boom both because of Japan’s gradual re-start and the continuing development of new nuclear plants in China and India, and because of the drop in supply (at least to the US) caused by the end of the “megatons to megawatts” program that had us cooperating with Russia to recycle their unneeded plutonium into uranium fuel. The end of “megatons to megawatts” was actually on December 31 last year, so I’ve been expecting uranium prices to rise this year — and many investors (and newsletters) have been predicting sharp jumps.

You can check out his presentation here if you’d like to see his arguments about Japan and Germany desperately needing to reconsider their fear of nuclear energy, and about the many countries who rely on uranium for at least a quarter of their electricity (particularly those who would otherwise be completely dependent on natural gas from Putin’s Gazprom or on coal).

But yes, the basic pitch is, “uranium prices should surge” — here’s some more, in his words:

“Uranium Demand is Off the Charts

“Right now, there are 434 nuclear plants worldwide consuming about 180 million pounds of uranium per year.

“Annual supply is only about 140 million pounds per year.

“That’s a 40 million pound supply gap! And it’s only going to grow…

“Already, there are plans to add 553 more nuclear plants worldwide… 70 of which are already under construction or ready to come online.

“That’s more than DOUBLE… and it’s only the beginning….

“…during the last uranium boom, prices soared 13-fold… to hit $140 per pound.”

In many ways this is similar to other “something’s gotta give” pitches — uranium demand increasing, uranium is currently (at $35 a pound or so) changing hands for prices that are too low to spur any development of new mines or expansion of old ones. Moors says that stockpiles are being depleted (like megatons to megawatts), and that $70 is really the price producers need …

“The price must go up – to at least $70 per pound – or uranium supply will disappear.”

And, unlike with most industries, the consumers are not price-sensitive — nuclear power plants don’t shut down because of high fuel prices the way a coal or gas plant might, because the vast majority of the cost is in building and maintaining the plant, not in buying the fuel. Uranium prices have very little impact on the price they have to charge for electricity to make a profit — the interest rate on the massive capital investment required to build the plant, and the cost of safety and maintenance operations, are both larger issues than uranium prices. Here’s what Moors says that means:

“Once their supply is threatened, once they feel the pressure of disappearing stockpiles, the nuclear plants are going to panic and drive prices through the roof.

“And once the price starts to move higher, it will just keep on going…

“This is what happened in 1973 when the price of uranium soared 10-fold. It’s what happened in 2003 when the price of uranium soared 13-fold.

“And it’s what’s going to happen again, for the third time, very soon. The pendulum is starting to swing, and now’s the time to act.”

So what should you buy? Well, obviously he’s suggesting we buy some sort of uranium stock. Here’s how he describes the situation for uranium miners:

“… during the last uranium boom, these companies took huge amounts of investment capital from other investors… and sunk it into their uranium operations.

“And now they are literally sitting on hundreds of millions of dollars of investment in equipment, infrastructure, permits, and geologists.

“In other words, their ‘war chests’ are loaded to the brim!

“But here’s the thing… because of low uranium prices, this immense capital investment isn’t reflected in their share price.

“In other words, these are world-class companies… armed to the teeth… selling for pennies on the dollar….

“And while I can’t promise we’ll see a 100,000% rise like Paladin did last time… the upside potential is there.”

So yes, finally, we do get down to the actual tease — he has four uranium investments to share with you today if you’ll subscribe to his Energy Inner Circle (currently “on sale” for $1,995, roughly half of the “list” price). One of them he gives away for free (yes, it’s the super obvious one), and three are “secret” picks he will explain to his subscribers.

But he does let loose with some hints and clues, naturally, to get you intrigued and excited — so we can tell you what the stocks are if you happen to be one of those intrepid souls who prefers to do your own research.

The freebie is, as you would have guessed the first time I typed the word “uranium”, Cameco (CCJ). Cameco is, as Moors says, the “blue chip” company in uranium, the only really large pure play on uranium mining. He says that “if you’re looking for a world-class ‘blue chip’ that offers good upside, Cameco is a good bet.”

And it’s pretty hard to argue with that — it won’t go up 100,000% because it’s not dirt cheap, it’s already producing, and it’s not a pie-in-the-sky explorer that can leverage a big discovery. But if uranium goes to $70 or spikes even higher, they’ll sure make a lot more money than they do today. They’re reasonably priced at about 15X next year’s earnings, they have a long-lived mine (albeit one that has had some problems, particularly with flooding that delayed production for years — mining is almost never a “safe bet” kind of industry, particularly if you rely on one mine for most of your revenue), and they have a solid enough balance sheet that they can even comfortably pay a nice little dividend.

But it’s a $10 billion company, you’ve almost certainly heard of them, and you can go form an opinion on your own. How about the “secret” stocks he teases?

Here’s the first one, and the pitch is thick and gooey:

“If you’re looking for maximum upside… and you could only own one uranium company to position yourself for the coming boom… this would be the one.

“Years down the road, when people talk about the uranium boom of 2014… this is going to be the company they point to and say, ‘My God, I wish I’d gotten in.’

“You have a chance, right now, to do just that…

“And listen, you’ll be in very good company. In fact, some of the savviest minds in the world are taking a serious stake in this company.

“For example, Li Ka-Shing – the richest man in Asia with a net worth of $33 billion – is loading up on this company.”

Some more details? We learn that Rick Rule, the noted resource investment banker, is also a shareholder, and that Spencer Abraham, former US Energy Secretary, is their Chairman. That pretty much gives us a definitive answer, but here’s a little more just to heighten the suspense:

“This company went public at the PEAK of the last uranium boom in 2007… issuing 89.5 million shares at the price of roughly $7.

“In other words, they raised about $625 million…

“What did they do with the money?

“Simple. They invested in their future… and prepared themselves for the next boom.

“They bought things like equipment, technology, infrastructure, permits, and mining rights… everything they needed to run a profitable operation.

“But here’s the thing… when uranium prices dropped, their stock price dropped to where it sits today – at about $1 per share, giving them a market cap of about $100 million”

It’s a funny kind of argument, that this company has already blown through half a billion dollars in seven years and therefore has become a great buy now — but there is some logic to it if their investments have really added value (reserves, equipment, production capacity) to their asset. So who is it? This is Uranium Energy Corp (UEC).

UEC has been a hotly debated stock over the last decade or so, going up and down on both promotional chatter (and short sellers who derided its stock promoter roots, like this Citron piece from 2010) and on the prospects for uranium. They didn’t actually raise $600+ million in their IPO, but the IPO was for about half that much on the AMEX back in 2007, and I’m sure they’ve raised more money since. They have some uranium production now, but it’s very small scale — their biggest project is the Goliad in-situ recovery project in Texas, and they also have a few neighboring projects that they think they can advance as “hub and spoke” additions near the core processing plant when it comes online.

The development of Goliad has taken many years, it’s at least a few years behind the original schedule — but I guess that’s no surprise, given weak uranium prices. They are explicitly soft-pedaling now, they say, to make sure they don’t ramp up production until prices recover. Production is on track to start this year, they say, but they are expecting uranium prices to recover this year to make it viable. And they are essentially stockpiling potential projects, with about 25 projects on their list, almost all of which are at the “exploration” stage and not currently the focus of investment — all but a couple of them are in the US, mostly in historically producing uranium areas in Wyoming, Colorado and the Southwest.

Will uranium prices really leap higher this year? Well, so far the answer is a resounding “not yet” — they’ve continued to fall, from the $40 that seemed too cheap a year ago to the $35 that seemed like a “breaking point” at the beginning of 2014, to now (depending on who you ask — there’s not really a “spot market” for uranium) dipping below $30. UEC’s cash costs for their existing production are in the $20-25 neighborhood, I presume that Goliad is cheaper but I don’t know — these are very low-grade deposits, but it’s also an in-situ recovery and refining process that I don’t really understand. This is very different from the massive high-grade uranium deposits in the Athabasca region of Canada, which are unique in having big, 10%+ uranium grades (like at Cameco’s Saskatchewan mines), but lower-grade deposits using in situ recovery are not unique to UEC — Cameco also uses in situ recovery at their US mines and in Kazakhstan, and presumably other global producers do as well, and many of them are apparently profitable to operate (if not build) with uranium at $30 a pound, so the high grades at the unusual Saskatchewan mines don’t necessarily mean that low grade mines can’t be developed or compete (and Cameco’s mines have been both geological and technical challenges in many ways, so high grade isn’t everything).

There are many factors impacting uranium pricing, including production and demand but also the drawdown of stockpiles around the world, uncertainty of new plant demand, the closing of old plants for performance reasons (old age) or political reasons, etc. There’s an interesting quick interview here about the current state of the market and the viability of the oft-rumored “Uranium Renaissance” if you want to get your head around it — interestingly, one thing that jumped out from that note for me was the analyst’s forecast that higher prices wouldn’t really come until 2016.

Which means … I don’t really know whether UEC will leap higher this year. It has continued to fall as uranium prices have fallen (except for this week, when Moors’ attention is doubtless sending the price higher — it doesn’t take much to make a $100 million stock all jiggly), and as they have failed to say anything particularly aggressive about boosting production immediately. Bulls and bears have debated the stock loudly at Seeking Alpha and elsewhere, and it’s a tiny little stock that bounces around like crazy on this attention, so beware — but I can certainly see it being among the more highly-levered names to the price of uranium if we do indeed get a huge spike in prices.

For full disclosure, I have some very speculative (and so far money-losing) options positions in both CCJ and UEC, my own little bet from a few months back that uranium chatter (and prices) would rise this year and the stocks might surge. Hasn’t happened so far.

UEC was clearly the stock that most excited Moors in this pitch, he closes with some speculation about the possible economics of their operations:

“At $70 per pound, this company has the capacity to produce five million pounds per year… five times their current production.

“And while they’re currently making about 50 cents per pound with uranium prices at $35… when prices go to the necessary $70… they’re all of a sudden making $35 per pound.

“And again, they have the capacity to produce five million pounds.

“So instead of making 50 cents per pound on one million pounds… they’d be making $35 per pound on five million pounds.
When uranium prices rise, their gross profits could explode from $584,000 to about $175 million… a staggering 300-fold increase.”

And Myron Martin, who writes a mining column for us, has also been a big UEC fan, calling it his favorite uranium stock back in December (he also had a followup on some other uranium juniors here, by the way).

But UEC wasn’t the only stock teased for Dr. Moors’ Energy Inner Circle — we’ve got two more.

I know, I’m getting a little tired of writing this one… and I’m sure by now you’re tired of reading it. But we’ve come this far. What are the other two investments?

Here’s the first one:

“One investment opportunity I’ve uncovered allows you to tap into the entire market… and profit from both rising uranium prices and the rapidly expanding nuclear power industry.

“The exciting thing is, this investment gives you boots on the ground in the biggest uranium-producing countries in the world, including Canada, Australia, Kazakhstan, Niger, and Russia.

“Plus, it gives you an interest in some of the most lucrative mining operations on the planet.

“For example, this investment gives you access to Canada’s MacArthur River Project, the largest uranium mine in the world.

“By the way, the ore grades at this mine are over 100 times the global average, making this project insanely lucrative.

“In addition, this investment gives you access to an exciting new uranium discovery in the world’s most important uranium district: Saskatchewan’s Athabasca Basin.

“This discovery was so unexpected – and so potentially lucrative because of its high-grade ore deposits – that it created a ‘staking frenzy’ as mining companies rushed to claim adjacent properties.

“When you add it all up, this investment allows you to tap into $80 billion of proven uranium reserves… all for just $17.

“As uranium prices rise – and remember, they need to double to keep the lights on – the value of these assets could double, triple, or more… sending this investment soaring.

“And uranium is only the tip of the iceberg for this investment. In fact, this investment gives you access to every aspect of the nuclear power industry.”

Well, Thinkolator sez this one is not a stock, it’s an ETF — the Global X Uranium ETF (URA)

Which does have exposure to most of the huge uranium mines and producers in the world, including nearly a quarter of its portfolio in Cameco and 10% in Denison Mines (DNN), and it also invests substantial chunks in Paladin, Uranerz and other producers… and owns little bites of a bunch of smaller junior names.

But it ain’t at $17 anymore, you can now pick up shares for a bit under $15 if you’re interested. URA has been the ugly stepchild of the nuclear ETF space, with several horrible years compared to the rather flat-to-decent performance of NLR and NUCL, the two broader “nuclear energy” ETFs, but that’s because URA is just uranium companies and NLR and NUCL are really utility ETFs that mostly own nuclear power companies (which are almost all broad-based utilities, like Duke Power and Exelon, who have nuclear plants as part of their portfolio). NLR and NUCL will probably be impacted (very gradually) by the popularity of nuclear power, but they move mostly with the broader utility sector and aren’t driven by the price of uranium — URA is.

And we’re still not done! One more uranium name pitched to us by Dr. Moors:

“The opportunity I’m going to show you now is a pure price play… and allows you to profit from uranium’s imminent rise with very minimal risk.

“We’ve already established that uranium prices must rise. Right now, they’re at $35 per pound.

“But unless prices are at $70 per pound, miners are not going to produce. Stockpiles are vanishing at 465,000 pounds per day… and unless prices rise, the lights are going out….

“the investment I’m tracking today is a new way to play uranium. It’s the brainchild of resource billionaire Eric Sprott, and it wasn’t even available during the last uranium boom.

“This investment allows you to own pure uranium… and profit from the price rise… without actually having to take possession of the uranium yourself.

“In fact, this investment allows you to participate in the coming uranium price rise… without the typical exploration, development or mining risks associated with owning stocks… they have fully licensed warehouses throughout the U.S., Canada, and France chock-full of pure uranium. About 10 million pounds worth….

“Goldman Sachs is sitting on 5,500 tons of pure uranium… and now you can too.”

So who is this? Uranium Participation Corp (U in Toronto, URPTF on the pink sheets). Which was indeed inspired by Eric Sprott, and which is essentially trying to be a “physical ETF” for uranium — they buy it (under the auspices of Denison Mines, which is their regulatory partner but doesn’t control the company) and warehouse it, with the hope of selling it in the future at higher prices.

And one hesitates to sound like a broken record when saying “hasn’t worked yet” … Uranium Participation has been around since the mid-2000s, it was started just in time to participate in the 2007 uranium “bubble”, but since that 2007 spike it’s been mostly downhill (save the brief jump up for uranium pricing in early 2011 just before the Fukushima disaster). They stockpile both U308, which is the main uranium fuel we think of, and Uranium Hexafluoride (UF6), which is used in uranium enrichment. I haven’t looked closely at what it costs them to warehouse this stuff, or how much trading in and out of it they might do at any given time, but they’re fairly passive and should generally be priced based on the current net asset value (NAV) of their warehoused uranium and on your expectations for where those uranium prices are headed.

Currently, U.TO is priced at about a 10% premium to their April 30 NAV — and that NAV was based on uranium a dollar or two higher than most folks report the price now. It’s a fairly simple proposition on this one — if uranium doubles, the NAV should double and the stock price might jump slightly more if folks bid it up to trade at a bigger premium. If uranium falls, the NAV should fall by about the same percentage and the stock may fall a bit lower if investor disgust with uranium causes it to trade at a discount to NAV. That means the possible pricing moves are far, far smaller for U.TO than they are for a miner, even a huge miner like Cameco, because miners should provide a levered response to the price of the underlying commodity (to simplify: if uranium doubles, the costs to produce it don’t necessarily double so profit should go up much faster than the commodity price, which would drive the stock price of producers higher… all else being equal, which it never is).

So there you have it — the consensus grows for a “uranium must go up in price” assessment, but even though the logic is sound the pricing has not, so far, responded to the logic… and the logic can’t tell us where and how large existing stockpiles of uranium are, or how quickly they enter the marketplace, or where political sentiment will go in major nuclear countries like France or Japan, or in waffling countries like the US and Germany, or in emerging and growing nuclear power producers like China and India. I do think we’ll likely see higher prices, and I thought we’d see them this year — but I could easily be wrong or early… and we should always be at least a little skeptical during times like this, when it seems like ALL the newsletter jockeys are 100% certain that uranium prices are on the verge of doubling.

It’s your money, though, so what do you think? Will the Japanese reactor restart get uranium prices rising? (They presumably have large stockpiles from their two years of shutdown too, don’t forget) Will nuclear power recover and grow as projected? Are we going to see a surge in uranium prices that drives the miners higher? Let us know with a comment below.

——11/5/14 update—–

This pitch, the current version of which you can see here, is essentially the same one Dr. Moors used early in the year, and you can’t be blamed for wondering when the uranium price might recover or what Moors meant by a price spike being “imminent” or “in the coming months.”

Just this week there has been a brief spurt of optimism, with spot prices coming back up to the $35 level they were at when Moors first teased this back in the Spring (they since fell down below $30 before bouncing back up again). Spot prices don’t mean a lot, though, since most producers sell on long-term deals… but they are a potential indicator. And UEC is still essentially sitting on its hands waiting for better prices.

As far as the actual prices and when pricing might rise sustainably again for uranium, Moors says this:

“With uranium demand exceeding supply by 40 million pounds, the only thing keeping the lights on is existing stockpiles…

“And those are disappearing at the rate of 465,000 pounds per day.

“At best, they’ll last six months.”

But that’s not necessarily the complete picture. In a recent interview that I found interesting, a uranium stock analyst (Colin Healey from Haywood Securities) noted that although the energy companies are gradually becoming more dependent on primary producers than on stockpiles for supply, the market has been in oversupply for so long that it’s a gradual process.

And importantly, Healey notes the much larger impact that new reactors (being fueled for the first time) have on the uranium market than do existing reactors that need regular partial refueling, so those 70 “planned and under construction” reactors expected to come online in the next few years are an important driver — restarting reactors in Japan is expected to help change sentiment next year, but not demand, since Japan is believed to have large stockpiles of uranium fuel. His firm, for whatever it’s worth, has a target price of $39.50 for uranium next year and $56 in 2016 and $75 “long term” … so it may be that we have to get to that “long term”, or at least an expectation of it among industry players, before there’s a lot more restarting of mines.

The full interview is here if you want to see it, I don’t (of course) know if he’s going to end up being right with his forecasts, but it’s a well-explained position — and his firm currently has “hold” ratings on Uranium Energy and Paladin Energy (PDN in Toronto, PALAY on the pink sheets) and “buy” ratings on Uranerz (URZ) and Ur-Energy (URE, URG in Toronto) and Denison Mines (DNN, DML in Toronto). I don’t know most of those intimately, though Paladin seems the riskiest because of their balance sheet issues (lots of debt due next year) — I mostly shared this interview info because I found that analyst’s nuanced position to be more compelling than Dr. Moors’ certainty.

I’ve kept the old comments on this article from May, so you can see those below — and if you’ve anything to add, or a perspective on uranium or any of these miners, or a likely trend for global nuclear power, well, I hope you’ll add your thoughts to the discussion. Thanks!


Related Gumshoe Articles

Leave a Reply

252 Comments on "“This EXACT SAME Crisis Has Happened Twice in the History of Energy…” (Dr. Kent Moors)"

avatar

yorkstreet
Irregular
0
yorkstreet
November 18, 2014 7:57 pm

Uranium Energy Corp Reports a 77% Increase in Estimated Uranium Resource at Burke Hollow Project in South Texas

backoffice
Irregular
86
June 24, 2015 12:00 am

I took a position a few weeks ago in UEC and I’m watching it. Did anyone in fact turn $1,000 into $1,000,000.00? If so, where do I put the 1 grand?

moonbeam
Guest
0
moonbeam
July 6, 2015 5:27 pm

did Moors run a used car lot ?

Jim Leavenworth
Guest
0
Jim Leavenworth
January 5, 2016 1:06 am

Put the money in the bank and make a run for the border. Then go to school about our future energy needs until you’ve absorbed the writing on the wall neither fossil fuel nor nuclear power are the answer.

Lulu
Irregular
671
November 19, 2014 4:14 pm

Swing trade…

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
November 19, 2014 4:18 pm

IMO a buy and hold trade.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:32 am

Luke: I am swing trading the stock and holding long-term $ 1.00 call options.

Mark Thomas
Guest
0
Mark Thomas
November 28, 2014 9:31 am
Kent Moors may be a high powered energy consultant for sovereign states and big oil companies but his track record for investment advice is spotty at best. I got in early for UEC and it is up nicely but I will probably sell most soon and keep a small portion just in case it really does go to the moon. It seems to me that new recommendations ride up on a wave of new buyers – perhaps 15-30% then fall back to where they started. If you can get in early and ride this wave then get out in maybe… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 4, 2015 11:25 am

Makes perfect sense, but this time the move is accompanied by strong upmoves in
CCJ and other resource stocks, which leads me to believe it may be for real this time.
No newsletter hype can cause such a wide move, although in the case of UEC you do have the periodic newsletter hype. But you also have a large short interest and the price of U308 going up.

Lulu
Guest
0
Lulu
November 29, 2014 12:12 am

UEC has had two wild runs up…..question is, ride it down with a short? Or wait and buy at another low. Haha, good traders can ride both ways ” it’s said”, me I more than often sitting and watching stocks get away on me, often when I hold and shud sell too.
Good luck with your trade. Thanks for the insight.

Bill Van Allen, Jr
Guest
0
December 15, 2014 12:26 am
In point of fact, thorium powered nuclear reactor technology goes back before the arms race, back into the 1950’s, when the U.S. built a small such reactor at Shippingport, PA. It went online as a power reactor in 1957, and ran for 20 years, after which it was converted into a light water breeder reactor, and ran in that capacity until 1982. Thorium is so minutely radioactive that it’s used as shielding for depleted uranium military armaments. It is the 4th most plentiful element on earth, and when used as a nuclear fuel, the reaction cannot run away as can… Read more »
hipockets
Irregular
1001
December 15, 2014 6:01 pm

Bill — re your post 55–since thorium is the 4th most plentiful element on earth, and small reactors are possible, maybe we can have another Gummy startup and make a small reactor for houses. Only partly teasing – still, with some more science research and some engineering effort, it might be possible. And it seems like a reactor for large cities should be possible today.

Ron
Guest
0
Ron
February 2, 2015 12:16 am

My table of elements lists Thorium’s abundance in the Earth’s crust at 9.6 mg per kg. Far below many of the other elements but about the same as Boron. Wikipedia lists it as 4 times more abundant than U, not 4th most abundant. Not trying to chastise, just keeping the numbers straight.

Wishful Thinker
Guest
0
Wishful Thinker
March 6, 2015 11:13 am

I am investing in copper. It is at a 5 1/2 year low. It might fall a little farther yet but all the world needs copper so it won’t stay down forever. CUM.TO is a profitable copper miner on the TSX in Canada trading at about 1.20. Their stock price is at an eight year low but they are still making money even with the low copper prices.

Ron
Guest
0
Ron
March 6, 2015 12:16 pm

What ever happened to the “Pebble bed reactor” system? It was supposedly cheaper and very much safer.

Donald Bright
Guest
0
March 6, 2015 12:33 pm

Great article as usual. Don’t own any of the U shares mentioned in the article, but bought Paladin (PDN) at $0-45on the way down, averaged in again at $0-35 and again at $0-30. Holding them for the long term as i believe U prices will go up again significantly over the next coupler of years and if PDN goes back to $3-$4- again i will be very happy.
Keep up the great work and helpful information that comes from fellow members.

fedwatcher
Guest
0
fedwatcher
March 7, 2015 12:18 am

Uranium clearly will rise in price from $35 to at least $70. Any long term threat to Uranium is decades away. However, in the short-term it can fall as well as rise.

We should all have SMALL positions as part of our core holdings.

Again, SMALL!

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 25, 2015 10:56 pm

Your advice may be sound, but my conviction in uranium has led me to a pretty outsized position, bought mostly near what I hope is the bottom.

Long $CCJ $UEC

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 24, 2015 7:57 pm
Hendrix – Energy Fuels a much more conservative bet for holding out to 2020. Esp. now they have merged with Uranerz. Shaping up to be the sector leader among the small caps, and in fact transitioning to a mid-cap now. UEC has been mired in some controversy this past week. But now is not a good time to sell UEC. Maybe on the next rise. In all prev. bull markets for U, Energy Fuels actually out ran all the rest, even though it is presently very well hedged against low U prices they can ramp up 4-6 mill. lbs new… Read more »
frahman
Irregular
0
frahman
April 11, 2016 10:21 am
I recently stumbled across some interesting interviews about the uranium market in the Palisade Radio YouTube channel. Here is one with Russel Fryer http://bit.ly/r-fryer-palisade He is one of the rare fund-managers focused on the uranium market and he has some strong views about the athabasca play vs established US producers. Also, he introduced me to a new company, Western Uranium (WUC) who have a lock on some new ‘ablation’ method of milling which makes the underground-mined ore in the US effectively as rich (in terms of extraction costs) as much higher grade ISR (if I understand correctly). WUC also have… Read more »
Patricia
Irregular
672
March 7, 2015 3:03 pm

With precious metal stocks in the basement lately (which as an accumulator, I love) – the sporadic jumps in uranium stocks like UEC, for swing trading, have worked out very well for me personally. I am not worried when it’s down for a while because strongly feel that uranium will be trending up over or within the next two years. When I ask myself “what could possibly go wrong?”, it’s a shorter list than applies to most other stocks I’ve looked at. It’s a list that bears watching though. Nothing is risk-free.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
March 30, 2015 1:37 am

Hi Patricia,
Thinking like you on precious metals, uranium, and swing trading on UEC.
Not that we can’t be wrong.
Being as we are thinking somewhat similar thoughts, I thought I’d call your attention to a speculation (I’m long) Brazil Resources, symbol BRIZF. President founded UEC. Company has gold reserve property in South America but just acquired uranium rights to a big tract in the middle of a hot Canadian mining area surrounded by Cameco and a bunch of other biggies. A speculation, of course. I’m long.

Patricia
Irregular
672
March 7, 2015 6:32 pm

Nuclear energy looks like it has an even stronger future in China (and India) than many already thought, the Chinese people are getting tired of breathing in killer substances. The documentary is worth watching in full:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/solar-stocks-soar-32-as-chinese-documentary-goes-viral-2015-03-06

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
March 31, 2015 2:08 pm

Hi Patricia,
As we both swing trade in UEC, I thought I’d mention to me that it looks to me like it is about to pop up over $1.50. Chart pattern has higher lows moving up towards the $ 1.50 resistance level.

Of course the demand may be from hustling newsletter teases rather than news or fundamentals….so I wouldn’t think to much of the move as a big trend indicator unless the rest of the sector goes up too.

Long CCJ, UEC, URZ

Patricia
Irregular
672
March 31, 2015 2:36 pm
Thanks Hendrix, been trying to stay away from posting this week (it gets too time consuming) but have been reading all of yours. Thanks for your URG mention back when, I’ve made use of that. I follow Rick Rule and the Sprott groups on the resource sector and get their email notifications, here’s a current one on uranium if you haven’t seen it – the recovery may be delayed but is probably still inevitable which continues to make swing trading so appealing: http://sprottglobal.com/thoughts/articles/rick-rule-the-recovery-i-saw-for-uranium-has-been-postponed/ Also had been wanting to give you this link, short interview with Brent Cook, he’s pretty blunt… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 5, 2015 12:09 am
Thanks for the link. I agree with Brent on the importance of the management. I read an interview with Doug Casey where he stated good people were extremely critical in this sector, and I took that advice to heart as a method for doing due diligence on the the juniors. I will only speculate on them when I am of the opinion that the leader of the company has a proven track record, is impeccably honest and regarded highly in the industry, and is working on a project with high potential. Casey had an article where he named 10 individuals… Read more »
alanh
Irregular
3712
June 5, 2015 10:26 pm

HN: Nice double on UEC since your March 2015 post. Well done !

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 22, 2015 12:21 pm

$UEC Ahem…big pop last two days in UEC accompanied by bull move in CCJ.
Been hanging around for a almost a year on these positions, hope the move is for real.

Long $CCJ UEC

stackinwood
Member
13
March 9, 2015 12:53 am
Travis, Great article and analysis, as always. Thank you once again. I’m long on a few of these stocks mentioned and as a result of my own research beginning more than two years ago. I do not own CCJ simply because I did not see an entry point I liked – it’s unquestionably the U giant but I’m in the sector for aggressive growth. A few worthy of expanded mention: Fission (FCU) has a historic resource and because they are not a “miner” are in a very unique position to increase valuation based upon a few factors beyond the spot… Read more »
Dean Ramdeen
Guest
0
Dean Ramdeen
March 17, 2015 12:06 pm

What is the name of the uranium small cap stock that Dr Kent Moors is endorsing on Money Morning? Thanks.

Barb Dyjak
Guest
0
Barb Dyjak
March 22, 2015 2:39 pm

It is now March of 2015, and although I never heard of Kent Moors before, I find this very interesting. The new thing is LNG, liquid natural gas. It, too, will be the savior of mankind. It sounds so plausible. It’s nice to know that this is another in a long line of can’t miss panaceas.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
March 30, 2015 12:42 am

A few questions for Thorium people:
How many thorium reactors are in operation worldwide ?
How many thorium reactors are in construction worldwide ?
Are there any thorium reactors approved ?
In your opinion, will the process for building thorium plants be substantially different or take a different amount of lead time than uranium plants ?

Long CCJ, UEC, URZ. God knows when uranium prices will rise.

arch1
Irregular
5223
March 30, 2015 12:55 am

hendrix I am aware or no commercially operating thorium reactors at the present time.
Consensus is that it is likely to be another 20 years,,,,just as it has been since the 1950’s.
frank

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
March 30, 2015 1:29 am

Thanks, if so consideration of anything related to thorium is a little beyond my long, long, long-term horizon.

arch1
Irregular
5223
April 5, 2015 2:30 am

In regard to Thorium use,,Would it not be a good idea for the United Nations to provide the money to develop Thorium plants for Iran,,,thus removing any need to refine Uranium
which can be used to make bombs ,,and supply Thorium which cannot be used for bombs?? Too simple for consideration??

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 22, 2015 12:24 pm

Too good and logical an idea to ever happen. And it’s quite possible the Iranians are just
playing charades and fully intend to produce a bomb anyway .

frahman
Irregular
0
frahman
April 11, 2016 10:35 am
They would be wise to do so. Especially given the recent history of how the United States has gone and stomped all over Iraq, then Libya and now Syria after first making sure they had no defensive capabilities, any country in the world today whose opinions diverge from those of the US, would be crazy if they did not keep a stout stick ready. I note that the US have not managed to assassinate nor topple the govts of China or Russia, the other countries that have pushed a real-money agenda. That’s probably because they have teeth. And nobody ever… Read more »
LockStock&Barrel
Guest
0
LockStock&Barrel
June 6, 2016 6:42 pm

I thought this was a stock forum. Frahman, if you live in the US, and you don’t have any “stock” in the US. Then move!

DLH
Irregular
854
April 5, 2015 9:41 am

Offering to supply nuclear fuel on the front end and then taking used fuel back on the tail end of the fuel cycle was a non-starter with the Iranians . Their home-grown (and purchased) technical capabilities are a matter of national pride. Allowing monitoring is one thing, limiting technical prowess is to be subserviant.

arch1
Irregular
5223
April 5, 2015 10:40 am

DLH You made my point,,,would not developing Thorium for the world be a matter of pride to the Iranians. The first country to beak the logjam of plentiful safe energy? A refusal would further show that what they really want is to be armed with nuclear devices. Just as the little despot in N Korea to blackmail the rest of the world with threats.

DLH
Irregular
854
April 5, 2015 4:29 pm
I’m not an expert in Thorium, but as I understand it, there are no technology breakthroughs that need to occur for thorium fueled reactors to be built or to be feasible. In fact, I thought India is well underway in reasearch or even prototyping a commercial power reactor. The fact that we have a uranium-based fuel cycle I believe was wholly due to the military/ manhattan project origins of the refinement, fabrication and working knowledge we have with uranium. Up until recently, uranium enrichment services were largely dependent on government services using gaseous diffusion technology such as that from Oak… Read more »
david
Guest
0
david
April 17, 2015 7:51 pm

you cant get much more small cap than GGG in Australia Gdlnf in USA who have a large uranium resource included in their 1,000,000,000 yes ton ree resource in Greenland and have been getting the green light from the new government there. They so far have not signed an offtake agreement with any buyers. Todays price is 9 cents Aus 7 cents USA.
I own some yes.

Edward
Guest
0
Edward
April 17, 2015 11:34 pm

It was March 1979 (had to google it to recall the date) when I had $400.00 lying uninvested in my account so I bought a $2. uranium stock (can’t remember the name) and the next day the Three mile accident happened. The stock went down 50% the next day. Haven’t been able to buy a uranium stock since.

Gene
Guest
0
April 18, 2015 2:39 am

Not to be nasty, but I’m sorry I ever heard of uranium stocks. And I do wonder how those folks who invested with Mr. Moors in oil well partnerships have done. These wells, in Texas I believe, were going to pay a bonanza of monthly dividend checks. Anyone know anything?

Paul Jessup
Guest
0
Paul Jessup
April 18, 2015 3:51 am

Uranium is suffering from the same malaise as most commodities, including oil.

Don’t take any bent nickels.

Paul Jessup
Guest
0
Paul Jessup
April 18, 2015 3:43 am

I didn’t know that Gazprom belongs to Putin. I thought it was a Russian publicly traded company. One learns something new every day, if one believes all one reads.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 22, 2015 12:14 pm

$OGZPY Gazprom…a lot of value statistically, but the Russian are crooks
and Gazprom is not exactly at arms length from the government.
You just have to decide if you sleep better at night with it or without it.
You have to be prepared for ANYTHING if you buy into the Russians.

Malcolm
Guest
0
Malcolm
April 18, 2015 7:05 am
The news this week from Japan is not good as a Court has put a block on the opening of two reactors . We do not know for certain how much uranium the Japanese have as many reports say they resold their stockpile back into the market . As your article says the key to prices rising is when the 70 reactors under construction come online .They will only replace the Japanese and European that have gone offline . Don`t expect any exciting news for at least 5 years. Planned reactors are not worth investigating ,unless you are young ,as… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 22, 2015 12:25 pm

Still lots of plants coming online in China and India. I want to own whatever they are trying to buy.

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 24, 2015 8:05 pm

Yes exactly. Actually they take about 4 years to build from the start of groundbreaking and there are over 65 of them in current construction.

skyking421
Member
0
skyking421
April 18, 2015 9:05 am

It seems that nuclear FUSION power can go online in 10 or 20 years, maybe much sooner. If that happens, wouldn’t all other power sources become much less valuable, even useless?
If it takes 10 or so years to build a fission reactor, could it be outdated before it’s finished?

arch1
Irregular
5223
April 18, 2015 1:16 pm

Richard Fusion is likely at least 20 years away, as it has been for the past 60 or 70
years. IMHO

Georgie
Guest
0
Georgie
April 18, 2015 1:04 pm

Travis, is Artis anal macaroni a recycled Pasta?.
Just a little lightness as all the above are getting a bit too Heavy…….everyone wants to make a cheap Buck fast….all sound like gamblers rather than investors.
I can recommend WB’s Philosophy on Investing…for the longer term. If you want to get rich fast do like the Immigrants in the US do…get 3 jobs at one time then buy Properties !

Victor Segu
Guest
0
Victor Segu
April 19, 2015 2:36 pm
Before buying any stock I think that everyone should look at Balance sheet, Income Statement and Cash Flow statement. According to the Second Quarterly Report 2015, No revenues were generated from the sale of uranium concentrates during the six months ended January 31, 2015 or Fiscal 2014. Would anyone of you buy a company without revenues?? Would you buy Apple without selling I-phones, I-pads and so on? If the Uranium Market continues like this, this company will run out of cash in less than one year!! CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS for THE END OF PERIOD (JANUARY 31 2015): 4,362,544 NET… Read more »
Victor Segu
Guest
0
Victor Segu
April 19, 2015 2:39 pm

Sorry, I was talking about UEC

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 25, 2015 11:16 pm
Hi Victor, Your approach on investing in public companies is valid. However many investors regularly invest in stocks with poor “numbers” if they believe that there is dramatic potential. People like yourself who would never consider an investment without “good numbers” create price opportunities for people who believe or forecast a significant change in the situation. I am not taking a shot at your position or philosophy, it’s just that your attitude does create opportunities for others who have a point of view that is centered on the future. For example, most of the public investors in the biotech industry… Read more »
SoGiAm
Irregular
4732
April 26, 2015 4:42 pm
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:52 pm

BEN: I’d feel a lot better if I knew the pop in UEC last week was not on account of Nick’s promotion ! He’ll do better selling his publications than I will on the stock, that’s for sure !

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 24, 2015 8:17 pm
EFR.TO (UUUU) actually has all the same upside with a lot less risk than UEC. If you pull up a ten year chart of URG, URZ, DNN, UEX.TO, EFR.TO, CCJ, and any others you can think of, you can readily see that despite being a non ISR company (until this week), UUUU outran every other U stock in the big bull market of the 2000’s. And now with the in-situ miner URZ merger accomplished, it can ramp up annual production well beyond UEC. UEC has some good potential but at the moment is totally unhedged in a rough price environment… Read more »
modernrock
Irregular
232
April 20, 2015 2:38 pm

Hope everyone took the trade on UEC Friday. Sized in nicely 1.52 ave, out half 1.87 ave today. Love them Love them Love them!!!

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
April 20, 2015 8:06 pm

MTV day-trading uranium stock volatility. What a genius.

Patricia
Irregular
672
April 22, 2015 6:38 pm

No reason to take a pot shot like that Lukester – that’s troll-like behavior. No one claimed to be a genius, but trading UEC has sure turned out well for many. Is just “smart” ok with you?

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 10:59 am

Luke, there’s nothing wrong in doing something simple and sharing it.
One doesn’t need to be a genius to make money in the stock market

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 22, 2015 12:10 pm

$CCJ $UEC Hey everyone…CCJ up nearly a buck and UEC 1.90…here’s hoping today’s bull move is for real !!

Patricia
Irregular
672
April 22, 2015 6:42 pm

Ditto Hendrix – but I’m hoping it’s a long bumpy ride, whether sideways or upward, so swing trading will continue to be so profitable. By the way here’s a great Rick Rule interview I hope you didn’t miss:

http://goldsilver.com/video/rick-rule-the-global-financial-system-is-now-a-confidence-game/

Myron Martin
Guest
0
April 22, 2015 12:53 pm
Cynicism seems to be alive and well. I still think positioning in advance of an emerging trend is a legitimate investing strategy. When spectacularly successful resource investors like Rick Rule believe the uranium market has only one way to go long term I would rather be early than late to the party. Nowhere in this long string of comments has it been noted that URANERZ got taken over by Energy Fuels which is now well positioned to benefit from any further uranium price increase and has already had a nice run up. If you wait to buy until everybody and… Read more »
Patricia
Irregular
672
April 22, 2015 6:44 pm

Yes Myron, and it would be great if you ever decided to helm that column/thread. Thanks for the great info as always!

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 24, 2015 8:22 pm

Myron my only worry is that the kickoff for a new Uranium bull run gets postponed another couple of years and then unhappily coincides with the final top of our bubblicious stock markets. When this bull run since 2009 finally tops out (and it certainly will) even the most robust sector fundamentals will get swept away like match wood in the ensuing mega-correction. Your thoughts on that transition would be appreciated.

Charles
Guest
0
Charles
March 10, 2016 4:27 pm

I would like to hear some words on that too.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 25, 2015 10:52 pm
$ UEC $CCJ $URZ I have been long UEC and CCJ for almost a year waiting for this turnaround. Obviously my bottom fishing was premature… I took a little bit of a beating on CCJ, was in at $ 18 or so… also lost some money on option expirations on UEC because my expiration horizon was too tight. But I stuck with it, I am long about 6,000 shares of UEC between stock and LEAPS with a $ 1.00 strike. My holdings go up and down as I am trading in-and-out with a long bias…the short interest March 31 was… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:05 am

Myron: would you mind explaining briefly why you think Fission U might be a good speculation ?

Myron Martin
Guest
0
April 26, 2015 4:06 pm

Essentially because they hold a broad range of exploration properties in the general vicinity of current discoveries. 2nd. Basically has same management/ exploration team that found the resources now triggering run up in original Fission Uranium, but is available at much lower price. 3) Spinoffs frequently do better than the parent company and for that reason it makes economic sense as a discovery may well trigger a bigger market response than if it were made by a company that already has been run up on previous discoveries.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:30 pm

Thanks Myron. Will consider them if my positions in CCJ UEC and URZ
get further traction.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:17 am
$BRZIF Brazil Resources…hi everyone, I think this stock was the subject of a Teaser. I don’t follow blindly anyone’s touts but then I don’t rule them out, either. In the case of BRIZF, I came across the stock when researching gold juniors. It did not expecially strike my fancy as a gold speculation, though it does have some impressive backing, including some institutional support from Brazilian banks. What made me sit up and take notice was the company’s uranium potential, which is located in Canada. They have rights to a large tract right in the middle of properties with ongoing… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:18 am

$BRIZF sorry forgot to add: Long $BRIZF

Myron Martin
Guest
0
April 26, 2015 4:16 pm
Smart management preserves capital and only produces whatever resources when market is favourable. Investors need to look at more than just current price when deciding on an investment. A company with wise mgmt. may go “dormant” (conserving cash) until demand for their resource rises. Admir Adnani is a great manager and strategist and which of his gold or uranium assets pay off first is largely a function of the market, and you are right, he does have the backing of some very astute and wealthy shareholders and major Brazilian bank. Hard to go wrong investing alongside experienced investors who have… Read more »
v4t1n4
Irregular
32
May 2, 2015 3:26 am

You might check Citron Research on UEC, and particularly on Mr. Adnani’s qualifications. (as hinted at by Travis). Actually, I believe CR is overlooking more recent developments at UEC

v4t1n4
Irregular
32
May 2, 2015 3:30 am

$UEC And I, also, forgot to add, IN $UEC

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
April 26, 2015 11:27 pm

Myron: I’ve taken a little beating in commodity-based stuff over the last year but I’m hopeful we are at the start of a turnaround. I won’t put more money into natural resources until I see some more positive action; but I’d like your opinion on some producers in
copper, aluminum, and natural gas if you have any.

Thanks

Myron Martin
Guest
0
May 5, 2015 5:11 pm
Haven’t we all, but then we should know going in that commodities are cyclical and avail ourselves of the opportunity to buy when nobody else will. One stock that comes to find that is well positioned for a rebound in the copper sector would be Freeport McMoran. The market punished them quite severely for their foray into oil and gas, but they are a strong well financed company and better market conditions are on the horizon for multiple lines of business they are exposed too. They are major J/V partners with Reservoir Minerals with high grade copper in Serbia so… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 10, 2015 2:16 pm

$FCX The charts are looking decent on FCX w/e 5/8…good trend reversal off what we will hope is a bottom…No position

brrrmystr
Member
0
brrrmystr
May 1, 2015 7:06 pm
Travis and friends, Just read the newest rant by Nick Hodge re: the coming explosion of Uranium. His comments that Obama is against the Pipeline because of his conviction of the coming of Uranium. Hodge cites 4 small companies, one in the $1.00 category, located in the Canadian Athabasca area. Soros, Gates, and other Billionaires are behind the Uranium global explosion in a very big way. The rant is EXCITING to read. Hodge states returns will start by Oct, ’15 and be explosive, no pun intended. I wonder if the BRIZF is one of the 4 stocks he is pitching.… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 4, 2015 2:27 pm

$BRIZF subject of a Teaser or not, long BRIZF.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 4, 2015 2:25 pm

$UEC CEO Adnani and two other insiders bought UEC stock per SEC form 4s…

Small amounts but a good sign that they are buying rather than dumping.
Adnani acquired at 2.38.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 7, 2015 10:44 am

$UEC Another SEC4 acquisition by CEO on May 6 @ 2.32-2.33

kstock
Guest
0
kstock
May 4, 2015 8:41 pm

Yes, what are the Nick Hodge suggestions that are the 4 cent stock with $1biliion of assets and the other a spin off of his first recommendation which might be cameco?

Myron Martin
Guest
0
May 5, 2015 5:16 pm

The uranium spin-off Nick is touting in Fission 3.0 which was launched with 10 exploration properties within the Athabasca Basin which allows the parent, FCU to focus on development of their major discovery and contiguous exploration properties.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 10, 2015 12:40 pm

Hello Myron:
In a previous thread you stated that to make money in commodities you have to buy “when no one else will.”

I’m sort of feeling that we are in that neighborhood now. There is no investor interest at all in the agricultural commodities…Gumshoe posts and responses are non-existent, and the price charts look positively dead.

But some of the charts on mining and resource stocks look like they are coming out of their coma. What do you think ?

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
May 10, 2015 1:55 pm

$UEC UEC busted out of its range last week and looks like it has formed a
“flag”, ended the week a round $ 2.50. The breakout occurred with recent newsletter promotions, which gives pause for thought; but the move was also synchronous with upmoves in other resource stocks, so there is reason to believe the move has something going for it other than advisory come-ons.

Swing trading UEC stock, long bias, long UEC options and long $CCJ.

Myron Martin
Guest
0
June 7, 2015 3:14 pm

Yes the time has come to get involved, I agree with you, commodities including gold are breaking out and those who wait until the trend is firmly established are likely to miss the first 50% of profits.

Charles
Guest
0
Charles
March 10, 2016 4:34 pm

Not looking good since this post. If Wall Street takes a down turn it will go lower then if Wall Street does not rebound the investors will come racing to yellowcake stock.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
June 24, 2015 7:08 am
Hi Myron, Our posts are spaced pretty far apart time-wise, but that’s good since I tend to be impulsive on entries. We have more chart action. For a while I’ve been getting beat up trying to pick bottoms in commodities. Maintained some positions through the whole debacle in TCK and other miners, mostly precious metals, but got out of coal. My thinking has changed somewhat, in that I think there is likely to be strength in precious metals and energy before a more general uptrend in commodities. Specifically, I think we will see more responsiveness in gold, natural gas, coal,… Read more »
hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
June 24, 2015 7:27 am
$UEC Hi, last week a couple of law firms announced investigations into wrongdoing by the CEO of UEC. (These are not criminal or legal filings, it is a private investigation as I interpret the press releases). The stock completely derailed, hitting as low as $ 1.50. Looks like panic selling. And it looks like we have a battle. The next thing you know Adnani announces he is buying 25,000 shares and some of the other UEC managers are buying at the lower prices; and UEC finds $ 10 MM from private investors willing to come in at $ 2.00. Anyone… Read more »
Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 24, 2015 8:38 pm

UEC is looking more problematic. Here’s a comped set of valuations from this April (Cantor-Fitzgerald):

Enterprise value divided by resource pounds : URZ (now part of UUUU): $6.65, URG: 4.09, UEC: $2.78, PDN: $1.46, EFR/UUUU: $0.75 (!!!!). Energy Fuels now has over 135 mill. Lbs. U308. Same general market cap as all these other juniors but well hedged and well financed, with a resource base 2-5 times bigger than these others.

hendrixnuzzles
Irregular
3644
June 24, 2015 10:03 pm

If you divide market cap by resource pounds, then a smaller number is better, is it not ?
Suppose market cap is 1 mil, resource pounds 1 mil, ratio is 1:1.
Market cap 1 Mil, resource pounds 2 mil, ratio is 1:2.

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
June 29, 2015 9:06 pm

Hendrix – it is a measure of the company’s cheapness relative to the proved up resources it is holding. Energy Fuels (bef. merger w. Uranerz) was not just chwap, but “off the scales cheap”.

david
Guest
0
david
July 23, 2015 4:27 am

I am long on V.FDC Forum Uranium corp

plenty cash and
The company also explores for rare earth elements. It owns interests in various projects in the Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan; and the Thelon Basin, Nunavut

its whas just a 4 cent stock

Malcolm Rawlingson
Guest
0
Malcolm Rawlingson
August 1, 2015 12:58 am
Great topic with lots of misinformation spread around to confuse the investor. While it is true that low U3O8 prices (that is the commodity traded – not Uranium) will cause mines to close what we do not know is how much U3O8 is actually out there. China is often touted as the key to U3O8 prices as its new reactors come on line but China has long ago locked in its supply. In some cases owning the mines outright (therefor not a participant in the marketplace) and in otheres owning portions of mining companies output (like Paladin). The US is… Read more »
james lundy
Guest
0
james lundy
January 1, 2016 7:50 pm

Have been analyzing a number of these U stocks on Trade station. Interesting many are now bouncing off the monthly lows established back in the early part of the decade.

james lundy
Guest
0
james lundy
January 1, 2016 7:51 pm

For example UUUU is making a very nice technical bounce from the long term monthly low.

Patricia
Irregular
672
January 8, 2016 7:23 pm

Swing trading UEC became very rewarding again after that dull patch in November, and seems likely to continue. Others too, but the management, institutional interest and volume make UEC one I feel more secure in mentioning.

petrogold
Member
2
petrogold
February 17, 2016 11:20 am

Does anybody have idea of the ticker symbol for iPhone Killer tech stock?

SoGiAm
Irregular
4732
February 17, 2016 11:24 am
Charles
Guest
0
Charles
March 10, 2016 4:45 pm

Does anyone know which mining companies are hedging and been hedging?

Rulingmining
Guest
0
Rulingmining
June 16, 2016 2:08 pm
UEC CEO Amir Adnani is a respected high quality person in the resource space. UEC will likely be like an option on the rise of uranium. Instead of operating and producing at a loss on current prices they are retaining their resources for when prices will rise. Industry is expecting uranium prices to double by 2018. In case you are not noticing, 4 countries have indicated that by 2030 they will only allow new vehicles to be electric. As I write this they are Norway, Netherlands, Germany and India. Where do you think the extra electricity will come from? China… Read more »
wpDiscuz