“How You Could Make 4,599% Gains From Iranian Oil Without Dropping a Single Bomb!” (Chris Mayer)

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, February 9, 2011

Given the massive mailing list reach of Agora, Chris’ publisher, you’ve almost certainly been sent this ad for his Mayer’s Special Situations newsletter — it’s all about a tiny stock (of course — they’re always tiny) that can make you massive gains by virtue of the oil they’re going to suck away from Iran’s massive Zagros Oil Field.

Or at least, that’s the short spiel. This is one of those accursed videos that lacks a real transcript, so I have to actually pay attention to Mayer’s voice for the whole time (I know, I know, if you hit “cancel” you get a transcript for many of these videos — but not all of ’em, dangit).

The basic pitch is that he’s got a special report that he thinks is worth $795, just one of the many earthly delights that you’ll enjoy after you subscribe to his newsletter (the letter is $497 — which, naturally, is “on sale”). This is his “upgrade” letter, the one that he sells (he’s not alone, every publisher does this) by telling folks that there are more exciting, less liquid investments that he loves … but he just can’t recommend them to the great unwashed (that being, subscribers of his regular, less expensive newsletter).

Here’s how he pitches it on the order page:

How You Could Make 4,599% Gains From Iranian Oil Without Dropping a Single Bomb! One tiny British Columbia oil company has just discovered $51 BILLION worth of oil in underdeveloped Southeastern Turkey… north of the world famous Zagros Oil Field in Iran. I could “steal” millions of barrels of oil from Iran and see gains of 4,599% off this booming stock.”

I sometimes like the stocks that Chris Mayer recommends, and I always like to unravel a good secret — so let’s see what clues I can dredge from the video and what plain and simple answers I can possibly provide (following a fair chunk of Gumshoe blather, of course).

Ready? Very well.

So we know it’s a BC company, and that they’re drilling for oil in Southeastern Turkey, and that the implication is that the fields they’re exploring in that area are connected in some geological way with the big Iranian oil field, so if they can extract the oil from the Turkish end they may be “stealing” from Iran.

Oh, and if we “act quickly” we can get in for “a fraction of the market value.” Naturally.

More clues, please?

We’re told that it’s under $3.50 a share.

And that the oil reserves might be worth more than 50X the market cap, based on today’s oil prices.

It’s on the northern edge of the Zagros oil belt, which is the formation that includes the big Iranian oil field.

That there are 600 million barrels of oil in this massive belt, according to a leading consultant — not sure if he means this is the potential of this specific company, or of the whole formation.

And he says several times that the oil could be worth $51 billion, and that it’s essentially a steal in the hands of a BC penny stock (I don’t think he actually used the word “steal”, but I’m not willing to sit through the “video” again to make sure).

Mayer goes on to tell us that this stock could soar 40-fold and still be grossly undervalued, and then we get some more specific clues that might actually be useful:

Michael Dell, T. Boone Pickens and George Soros are, we’re told, “quietly” building positions.

There has been $5 million worth of insider purchases from the chairman “recently” with his own money.

And “you don’t have to send your money outside the US” — so it’s presumably either US-listed or easy to buy on the pink sheets.

Beyond the Turkey/Iran connection, Mayer also uses the “in-the know insider” pitch — and especially emphasizes his insider buying. It’s all built on the history of the Chairman of this teased company, who is some kind of whiz-bang genius at building oil companies.

Apparently, a few years ago, this savvy oilman billionaire saw Texas getting more competitive and with fewer opportunities for new discoveries, and he sold out of the company he had built from nothing and went on a worldwide search for a “game changing oil discovery.”

And this dude, we’re told, has made money over and over in the business. I think I heard right when Mayer said that he turned a $500 loan into a billion dollar drilling company, and he has been involved in the oil biz for three decades … and not only that, but he also sold at the top of the historic oil spike in 2008.

So the linchpins of this argument from Mayer are that there is big corporate insider ownership from a guy who’s worth following, and that he bought at some time in the recent past (“in the last few months”), and that the oil field is in Turkey but might be able to get you some revenge against Iran by “stealing” their oil.

Mayer is focused enough on this insider buy that he even cites H. Nejat Seyhun, who did the most notable insider trading study a number of years ago (short summary? Yes, insider trading is good, particularly when you see buying from several C-suite executives, and when these folks buy it — on average — predicts upward price movement within 6-18 months. And insider selling means little).

And then we get one more tiny clue toward the end of his spiel, a clue that lets me be pretty confident about the stock he’s teasing.

That clue? This company is also currently drilling for oil and gas in other parts of Turkey, and in Morocco and Romania.

So … drum roll, please! This must be: Transatlantic Petroleum (TAT in NY, TNP in Toronto)

And while it may be a “penny stock” according to the definition used by some folks (priced under $5 — it’s just under $3 at the moment), that definition also means that something like Citibank is a penny stock. Hogwash. This is a billion dollar company, so it’s even a stretch to call them “small” at all. Still, lots of folks at Agora use that sub-$5 definition for “pennies,” so the clues still fit fine.

So … what is there to know about Transatlantic? Well, first of all, that the clues are a good match — they do have several assets in Turkey, and are also drilling for oil and gas in Morocco and Romania (they also actually just expanded into Bulgaria, FYI).

And behind the company there is a Texas billionaire — not a guy I knew of before, but his name is Malone Mitchell. He did found an energy company in Texas, starting with just $500, and turn it into a massive business (it was called Riata, later it became Sandridge Energy, and he sold off $1 billion worth of Sandridge in 2006 and 2008). More interestingly, he is touted by the company for his expertise at building vertically integrated companies — he built an oil services company, Lariat Services, as well as Sandridge, and cut costs and boosted flexibility as a result … and he’s apparently trying to do the same thing with Transatlantic Petroleum. At Transatlantic the services division, which also gets revenue from third parties (and therefore diversifies the revenue stream) is called Viking International.

The main field that’s teased as the “stealing from Iran” one is the Selmo Oil Field, which they own 100% of and which is a producing field. They report proven and probable reserves for this field as 19.7 million barrels, though there is a report that estimates that there is 600 million barrels in place in this field (this oil was discovered almost 50 years ago, 85 million barrels have already been produced). They say they’re cutting costs and using directional drilling and fracking to enhance this asset. The company’s current production from this field, according to their most recent investor presentation, is 2,400 barrels/day.

The other major asset in Turkey is in the Thrace Basin, which apparently has potential for significant unconventional gas production — apparently there has already been some successful drilling and fracking there, and Transatlantic’s acquisition of the property will close sometime this quarter.

You can make your own judgment about whether this is “revenge” on Iran — the likelihood seems to be, from my extremely limited reading on this (and my even more limited geological expertise) that this oil field and the Zagros Belt that fuels Iran’s oil wealth are fed by the same geologic formation. That same Zagros Belt, by the way, also encompasses most of Iraq’s oil fields. I have no idea whether increased production from Selmo will impact potential production from Iran or Iraq in some distant future.

If you’re interested in more detail about their Turkish production and exploration, or in their exploration in Romania or Morocco, it’s worth checking out their presentation — you can find it here on their website, along with a newer presentation about their recent acquisition in Bulgaria. There’s also a pretty concise history on their site of Mitchell’s involvement and “entrepreneurial” ownership as he bought effective control of Transatlantic a couple years ago.

And yes, Mitchell did put another $5 million into the company recently — back in October, to help fund one of their acquisitions, and investment vehicles that he controls have funded other projects for Transatlantic, and Michael Dell, T. Boone Pickens and George Soros have apparently also invested alongside Mitchell, though from what I can tell Soros has lightened his TAT holdings recently. There are also several insider buys from officers last Fall at prices right around where it trades now, so that’s generally encouraging.

So … is this something you want to buy? Well, I confess that I find the story intriguing, and I was considering adding this one to my portfolio as a little exploratory position as I research it further and try to get a better handle on the valuation — but since I’m writing about it today I can’t do that, so I’ll “cool off” for at least three days and decide if I’m still interested.

I like that they’re focusing on countries with relatively friendly tax and royalty policies, and countries that are strongly motivated to produce more oil and gas from their own territory (one of the things TAT emphasizes is operating in countries that are heavy net importers of energy, further greasing the wheels for domestic exploration and production). I also like the vertical integration, having capable drilling assets should help them with costs and flexibility as they pursue new exploration targets, and it doesn’t hurt that their controlling shareholder has a history of success with a similar strategy in the U.S.

That said, I don’t know enough about them to be able to tell you whether the current price is a great one — it’s right around $2.90 right now, I don’t know if it should rightly trade for $1 or $10 or if it’s fair right where it is. They don’t have any profits to speak of yet, though they are expected to be marginally profitable in 2011 (according to Yahoo Finance they’ll be earning two cents this year if you ask the four US analysts, 12 cents if you ask the Canadian). So they’re probably not going to lose money unless they do more aggressive expansion than the analysts expect, and they don’t have enough debt to worry about (just about $70 million in net debt, they could easily borrow more if it was to finance near-term production, and not have that be worrisome against a billion dollar market cap).

But you wouldn’t look at their cash flow generation from their one producing oil field and see a bargain — you have to assume some pretty substantial value for their exploration assets and their services subsidiary. Not that some value isn’t there, I just don’t know what it is — I will readily stipulate that George Soros, T. Boone Pickens, and Chris Mayer all know more about the company than I do. And while it is a newish company in the current iteration, and possibly a “penny stock” depending on how you define that term, it’s also not a completely unheard of company — it even got a push from a Motley Fool article last March, though the price has remained quite stable for much of the past year, bouncing up and down but never really losing sight of $3.

So … this seems almost certain to be Chris Mayer’s pick for his Special Situations folks — and I’m intrigued, but don’t own shares. It’s your money, though, so what matters is what you think — excited about this “revenge” on Iran story (OK, that seems like a wee bit of a stretch), or just like the potential of their Turkish and other exploration projects? Let us know with a comment below.

And if you’ve subscribed to one of Chris Mayer’s newsletters, your fellow investors would be delighted to hear what you think — his Capital and Crisis is pretty highly ranked by our readers (click here if you’ve subscribed and can review that one), but we have very few (mixed) reviews of his pricier Special Situations letter, so please click here and share your opinion if you’ve ever subscribed to Mayer’s Special Situations. Thank you!


Related Gumshoe Articles

Leave a Reply

31 Comments on "“How You Could Make 4,599% Gains From Iranian Oil Without Dropping a Single Bomb!” (Chris Mayer)"

avatar

Jon
Guest
0
Jon
February 9, 2011 3:33 pm

why not invest in LFD.V where Soros is invested in Kurdistan ,or GKP on aim that may have the biggest Oil discovery in 30 years, or VST.V, WZR.V seem a better bet than this

Greg Olson
Guest
0
Greg Olson
February 9, 2011 3:47 pm

I was contacted by a stock broker in July of 2010 to buy Transatlantic Petroleum (TAT) because of the reasons outlined above. I bought in July at $2.98 and sold in Nov. at 3.40. It was bouncing between 3 to 3.5 at the time, so I took a chance and made $0.40/sh on this short term trade. I may try it again.

If you are interested in oil stocks, buy my favorite: GTE. It has taken me back to positive from the 2008 "crash".

Sam
Guest
0
Sam
November 11, 2011 5:50 pm

That’s 13.42% in 4-5 months. Very Good. I bought some around that time but I am loosing. Hoever, I added a lot more below $1.00. Check the gain in the last one week. I think it’s time to buy it again and make some money.

Fabian
Guest
0
Fabian
February 9, 2011 4:00 pm

Great article and I like your style. I think this co. is interesting.

renard
Guest
0
renard
February 9, 2011 4:30 pm

Jon hit nail on the head as there are many better small oilco's in Kurdistan that qualify as genuinely exciting penny stock plays. Turkey never made significant money for any E&P company. TAT is well named.

Myron Martin
Guest
0
Myron Martin
February 9, 2011 9:35 pm
Chris Mayer is a deep value investor and generally is very thorough in evaluating a company and usually makes good calls! My main criticism is that he is too patient and hangs on to stocks even when they under perform, in other words he tends to be an old fashioned "Buy and Hold" type investor focussed on the fundamental value of the stock and what he thinks it should do, which in my opinion is not effective in todays volatile market. I can give a specific example, I bought PICO over 3 years ago @ roughly $33.because Chris was convinced… Read more »
tignard
Guest
0
tignard
February 10, 2011 1:35 am

Chris totally off on that one…Soros sold almost all his shares last year as company wasn't keeping to schedule…Actually, if you read their updates, they seem to be late on all their tasks…Prefers investing the money in RUU (RE, Byron King). Looks way more promising…

ogopogo
Guest
0
ogopogo
February 10, 2011 1:55 am

I subscribe to Meyer…both publications. I have trouble wiht $1B market cap Co pumping 2400 BOED. Wowsers that expensive

I haven't made a penny profit as yet on his gold pick

Jon
Guest
0
Jon
February 10, 2011 4:15 am

GKP on Aim = Gulf Keystone Petroleum http://62.193.238.61/blueprinttv/gulf-keystone-pe

londonian
Guest
0
londonian
February 11, 2011 6:48 pm

Why put money in a potentially politically volatile "country"? (Is Kurdistan a country? Depends whether you're a Kurd, a Turk or an Iranian). There's enough risk in oil explorers as it is. I'll stick with The North Sea and offshore Namibia, both of which are showing me very nice gains over not many months. Chris Mayer's holds are to be avoided but his speculations do pretty well.

K Shonk
Guest
0
K Shonk
February 13, 2011 3:21 am
600 million barrels is a nice discovery and will certainly find a market in Turkey, but it is small potatoes to the big boys so don't be expecting COP, XOM, PBZ, CVX, to be making a bid. PBZ gas giant fields exceeding 5 billion barrel off Brazil's coast to develop. An no, the oil is not being stolen from Iran. It is under part of Turkey and pumping it out will not cause more oil to flow into the Selmo field from fields in Iran. The Selmo field is at least 100 km from Iran and 50 km for NE… Read more »
mark
Guest
0
mark
February 13, 2011 10:00 pm
Ive been a TAT long for over a year now and here's the real story. Yes, they have been rosy in their projections and things are taking longer than malone thought. 1st, they are producing roughly 7000boe/d right now, they have other gas fields in turkey. 2nd, the "600million barrels oil in place" Selmo oil field was discovered in 1961 and is not a big deal at all. 86million of the estimated 94million barrels of recoverable oil have already been produced. The real story is what they are doing with tight gas in the Thrace basin. They just started fracing… Read more »
RobD
Guest
0
RobD
February 13, 2011 10:18 pm

Londonian what are the stock symbols for the companys you refer to as the north sea and offshore Namibia? Has anyone on this blog had any dealings with Manas Petroleum MNAP or Petromanas PENYF? Both trade in the .40 to .60 cent/share range. Anyone familiar with these 2 knows that MNAP holds a 33 % position in PENYF. Any guidance out there? Soros is supposedly invested in PENYF.

HJC
Guest
0
HJC
February 14, 2011 7:03 pm

I am Curious, where does Chris Mayer's umpteen times quote about a British Columbia company bit, fit in with Transatlantic Petroleum. Who's headquarters appear to be in Texas? And there website does not list a Canadian office anywhere?

Gravity Switch
Admin
11
February 14, 2011 7:11 pm

Just a little sneaky — they were incorporated in BC originally, later moved that incorporation to Alberta, I think. I don't know if they ever were really headquartered in BC, but you can make the argument that they are (or were) a British Columbia company. Especially if you're trying to mislead a Gumshoe!

Jack
Guest
0
Jack
February 15, 2011 3:53 pm

You don't have to watch the entire video presentation. Once the video starts you can click on the "close" button, and the video will stop. Then a message will appear, asking if you really want to exit , or click "cancel" to continue. When you click "cancel" a transcript of the entire presentation will appear. I do this all the time to avoid having to watch and listen to the whole video.

Craig
Guest
0
Craig
February 19, 2011 8:13 pm

I like TAT – but I am not sure I like the number of shares outstanding.
ENG and UNX are a better investment – In my opinion.

I also hold a very large posistion in RED. Very undervalued stock at this point.

Beth
Guest
0
Beth
February 21, 2011 8:03 pm

Ok, I'll ask — Who is RED?

Craig
Guest
0
Craig
February 26, 2011 3:15 pm

Hey Beth,

Redwater Energy. It has performed excellent the past 3 trading sessions.
Obviously the rise in Oil this past week was a plus for Redwater.

Once Redwater Energy announces their production numbers in second quater – I think the stock price will be north of .60 -.65 cents.

It currently hit its new 52 week high on Friday of .50 cents.

Great junior to get into – but a longer hold. Not for the day traders.

Pat
Guest
0
Pat
February 27, 2011 1:41 pm

I am researching REDF, an Indian internet company. Any thoughts about the company and if the time to buy is now?

Norma
Guest
0
Norma
February 27, 2011 1:46 pm

I just received Chris Mayer's email today 2/27. Your oist is 2/9 and mentions an earlier email sent by him. I missed your original posting on this stock.

GARman
Guest
0
GARman
March 22, 2011 12:56 pm
HRT Participações em Petróleo S.A. announced February 24th it is to acquire UNX Energy Corp for C$6.17 per UNX common share, valuing UNX Energy Corp. at C$730 million. UNX Energy Corp. is a junior, independent oil and gas company, focused on exploration for crude oil in offshore Namibia, Africa; currently trading at C$5.81. HRT is a private oil and gas company based in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil that, I assume, plans to go public, and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of HRT Participações em Petróleo S.A. (“HRTP”). The HRT O&G team is led by Dr. Marcio Mello, who founded HRT Petroleum… Read more »
Don
Guest
0
October 30, 2011 2:50 am
Looks like they are teasing the same stock again, but by now it trades at $0.81 I checked and the chairman of TAT did indeed buy another $million of stock this summer. Here is what I got in the mail: “A Chairman of a tiny oil exploration company just pumped $1.3 million of his own money into his company’s stock. Why? He believes that his company, priced under 85 cents per share, could be way UNDERVALUED…given the company’s MAMMOTH $50 billion Turkish oil discovery… This huge oil find could be a tremendous opportunity for early-in wealth-builders… who could potentially become… Read more »
greatpricepearl
Guest
0
greatpricepearl
November 11, 2011 11:11 pm
If you want an oil business with double upside potential within six months, take a look at ATP oil and gas, which operates out of the GoM mostly, with some future growth coming in the North Sea and Israel. They recently disappointed investors with some deep water drilling challenges. The price dropped 40% this week. Currently producing 25 Mboe/day with 7-10 more coming online in the next 3-6 months. Look up George Fisher’s Seeking Alpha article for more details. It’s highly shorted (40-50%) so will spring back 100% within six months if they execute, which I believe they will. I’m… Read more »
Nic
Guest
0
Nic
February 9, 2011 9:28 pm

Excuse my ignorance, but what is GKP on aim? Are we talking Gagfah SA?

Robert
Guest
0
Robert
February 10, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: GKP, what about the dispute over contracts let in Kurdistan that have not been approved by Iraq Central Govt. Isn't there a threat that the profit sharing contracts may be cancelled and exchanged for technical assistance contracts, ala Iraq. Also, no pipelines in place as yet to transport Kurdistan oil to Turkey. Trucking containers is the way it's going now, expensive, slow.

fgmackay5
Guest
0
fgmackay5
February 10, 2011 7:03 am

Myron, it does not matter about the stock price. If you invest for example on average $5000 per stock it does not matter if the stock is $1 or $1000 per share.

sheila
Guest
0
sheila
February 18, 2011 7:33 pm

Myron,
I always appreciate your comments on the Gumshoe site.
I especially appreciate your insight into the Precious Metal Stocks which is where I am focused and attempting to educate myself about.

Yancey Pucell
Guest
0
Yancey Pucell
February 19, 2011 11:42 pm

Dear Gumshoe:

Thanks for being fabulous.
Your're so cunning they could put you in pantaloons and call you
Talleyrand.

Yancey Purcell

Robert
Guest
0
Robert
February 11, 2011 5:12 pm

Re: GKP: Gulf Keystone Production Petroleum , listed on the LSE (London Stock Exchange-Aim), selling around 173 pence (100 p in and English Pound). Has proven reserves of somewhere between 2.5 to 7 billion barrels of oil in Kurdistan.

Robert
Guest
0
Robert
February 11, 2011 5:19 pm

One other thought: If the world really wants lower oil prices, it needs to lean on Iraq to recognize as legitimate the contracts let by Kurdistan to oil companies. Because Iraq has no OPEC quote limiting production, soon after, 100 of thousands of barrels of oil would be on the way to market, forcing prices down.

wpDiscuz