Money Map Report

Related Gumshoe Articles

“Obamacare: Don’t get mad, get RICH!” (sez Money Map Press)

Sniffing out the Obamacare beneficiaries touted by Money Map Report's Keith Fitz-Gerald

148 Comments Read More

What’s the next “IMF Super Dividend?”

Looking at Keith Fitz-Gerald's "Super Dividends" teaser for the Money Map Report

16 Comments Read More

Share Your Thoughts

ShowHide Comments (23)
    1. Ed Merritt
      Sep 19 2009, 09:14:14 am

      I subscribed to the letter in 2007 thru part of 2008. I could have done just as well at a slot machine in Las Vegas. Like every company in that time frame the picks were losers and they didn’t have the courtesey to say watch out the market is crashing. I saved my ass by unloading everything and buying gold and silver. I’m up at least 7% with sell stops in to protect my profits. The stock market is a big casino with a bunch of suckers throughing thier money away on some tease. If the investors are going to through thier money away they should be required to read (Stock Gumshoe) first. Ed

    2. greg
      Sep 20 2009, 12:54:15 pm

      My overall rating is that this was about the worst newsletter I have ever used. I lost money on every recommendation and never renewed. It was the most consistent newsletter as I never made any profits. The most frustrating part was that I had been using stop-losses to protect capital. The Money Map did not use any type of protection because of the inherent volatility of their recommendations. Don’t waste your money on this.

    3. Goldbug
      Sep 22 2009, 05:20:51 am

      I bought the $8K package deal with all of Keith’s newsletters as well as many other of the Oxford Club’s trading newsletters and it seems Keith writes 4 of the newsletters but concentrates his efforts on 2. His best newsletters are the New China Trader which he travels to China for so that takes time out of the other newsletters and his effort is also put into the Geiger Index. He neglects the other 2 newleteers- Money Map Press and Time Trader Pro. If you get this membership, ignore these 2 and favor the Geiger Index and New China Trader. These 2 he uses technicals and had success.

    4. Jim
      Sep 24 2009, 01:39:00 pm

      I have been using the service for about a year. Several of the recommendations have done well for me and my clients. I research their recommendations in other reference services before buying them. I use much tighter stop losses than they recommend, and move the stops up as the share prices increase. None of the recommendations has been a home run, unlike the claims in their ad. Moreover, what I particularly don’t like about the Money Map Report is that they don’t list both the current price and the price when they first recommended the security in their monthly report. I also don’t like the fact that they constantly send you teaser letters trying to get you to buy research reports or subscribe to other investment services.

    5. James
      Sep 24 2009, 11:42:51 pm

      I subscribed to this newsletter for 1 year and found it to be consistently wrong about everything. I pulled the plug after finding that the advice was not well-grounded. They market themselves as having that very special insight and technique for making accurate forecasts, but this is bunk. After following their recommendations for about 8 months, I got the feeling I was buying things that they were trying to dump off on unknowing investors. I sold out of their stocks and was able to save some money without going bust. I still hold one of their stocks – MTU. When Money Map called this a “buy” back in 2007, and the “only stock you’ll ever need to retire,” the stock was at nearly $13.00. Now it is at $5.60 or so. I can’t recommend the Money Map to anyone, unless I want to torpedo them.

    6. Goldbug
      Sep 25 2009, 08:29:01 am

      I would exchange this service for the New China Trader as most of Keith’s energy is spent on that service. Keith at least goes to China to see the trends there. However, he is only one person and neglects this newsletter so I stopped following this one in the Oxford Club package in favor of the New China Trader. I have had success with New China Trader but zero success with this one. Don’t waste your time or money on Money Map report as Keith doesn’t either.

    7. ramon
      Sep 27 2009, 03:55:51 pm

      Your star rating system does not have negative ratings so I cannot exprees my pleasure with their money losing service properly.

    8. HAMILTON VOSE III
      Oct 28 2009, 10:28:38 am

      I FIRST HEARD ABOUT THE MONEY MAP REPORT WHEN AN UNSOLICITED TEASER AD HIT MY E-MAIL. USUALLY I DUMP THIS TYPE OF STUFF. THE TEASER ABOUT OIL UNDER THE EIFFEL TOWER GOT ME CURIOUS AND I STARTED TO READ. IT WAS NOT LONG BEFORE I WAS TURNED OFF BY THE UNSUBSTANTIATED HYPE. THEY WOULD NOT EVEN MENTION THE NAME OF THE COMPANY THEY WERE TALKING ABOUT. TINY TEXAS COMPANY DID NOT CUT IT FOR ME, SO I STARTED AN E-MAIL SEARCH AND SOON FIGURED OUT THAT THE WERE TALKING ABOUT TOREADOR SO I EXPANDED MY SEARCH IN THAT DIRECTION. NO WHERE HAVE I SEEN HOW THEY EXTRACT OIL FROM SHALE WHICH SEEMS TO COMPRISE THE MAJORITY OF WHAT HAS BEEN FOUND. WHEN I LANDED ON THIS SITE AND READ THE REVIEWS I DECIDED TO FORGET ABOUT MONEY MAP. I DON’T EVEN LIKE THE NAME.

      HAMILTON VOSE III

    9. tomt
      Nov 3 2009, 09:51:27 pm

      I have subscribed to The Money Map Report as well as many other Agora publications. This Toreador pick is not typical of their reco’s; it is a speculative play as Travis points out. Travis, as ususl provides excellent sleuthing, and equally appreciated writeups on these teasers.
      On TRGL, I think the potential reward is worth the risk- they have secured a lot of property in this Paris Basin, and accomplished that before “going public”. They have sold their other assets and are going “all in” themselves. Here in the US shale oil is an old story too, and it is the realitively new unconventional drilling and fracking that makes the difference between marginally profitable low production yields and highly profitable yields. It also fits that the French would not readily adopt anything from the US and have yet to make use of this unconventional drilling. I think thats why Toreador was able to acquire so much land. So I am betting Toreador already knows it works as well under Paris as it does in Williston Basin, and I like their plan.
      As for Money Map- the negative posts sum it up.
      P.S. Kieth Fitz-Gerald’s New China Trader has been well worth the high price so far, if your ready to invest in China.

    10. SWF
      Dec 10 2009, 03:00:05 pm

      Keith Fitz-Gerald’s new book Fiscal Hangover is very worthwhile reading. I’d highly recommend it for a general economic perspective of US debt, with focus on the growing role of various developing countries. I’ve just subscribed to the MMR newsletter but haven’t received a hard copy/electronic access yet, so I cannot express an opinion about this current newsletter. I subscribed for follow-up to points in his book.

      Some years ago I subscribed to a different newsletter he was writing at the time (since discontinued) and found it well-grounded and useful reading. I’ve heard him speak at several investment conferences and I do value his background in Asia and opinions.

    11. steeladept
      Feb 12 2010, 07:09:01 pm

      Overall, I made it 3 stars because I am still very new to MMR. I can say, however, that it is at least reasonably worth the money. I have had MMR for only 4 months now, and I made back the subscription price in only 3 weeks with one trade suggested in the publication. I only had $2500 to invest, so after fees and costs, that worked out to a significant trade bump. While I don’t follow most suggestions (since I have such small funds), it was important to make back the subscription price (after fees) before I considered it at least worth while. None of this was from the Toreador recommendation either. Due to the STANDING RECOMMENDATION OF TRAILING STOPS they have for all of their picks, I ended up making over $3/share on those – so overall I am up roughly 20% over the 4 months after subtracting out trading costs and subscription. Yes, I said that right – contrary to many reviews who said they lost due to no sell recommendations, MMR does give recommendations: Set the trailing stop and cash out when it drops to the stop. Since I can’t compare it to others, I won’t say this is good or bad, but I will say I did well so far, and can’t rate it as badly as I see most people doing so here.

      Also note: Many complaints seem to come from people asking things like “Is this a good time to sell?” If you need to ask this, see a financial advisor. If they said one way or the other and you follow it and lose, you can sue. They do not provide financial advice, only information about why something may be a good or bad buy. It is up to you to decide if and when to buy and sell. This is true of most of these publications and this is no exception.

      And just for full disclosure, no I am not affiliated in any way other than a subscriber to the publication. Hope this helps some out there reading this.

    12. Charles
      Feb 24 2010, 02:47:08 pm

      Eiffel Tower play is a lot of hype! As for oil under the Eiffel Tower who knows? The closest oil and gas lease they have is about 30 miles from the Eiffel Tower! They will need to secure some leases that are closer, because with horizontal drilling you can not reach out that distance. They will need to join with another company to fund the high cost of horizontal drilling and completion. I have not been impressed with this subscription.

    13. TBJohannson
      Mar 16 2010, 12:59:20 pm

      Seems like the writer(s) are just going through the motions, just recycling ideas from some of their other formats–repackaging for the sake of more subscriptions. No pro-rata refund is given if you cancel early since they have a 45 day “trial period”. Spend your money elsewhere!!

    14. Stuart
      Oct 11 2010, 01:18:34 am

      After reading prior reviews, nearly all reflect my opinions. This note is intended to add a bit of color based on my experience.

      Subscribed for 2 years, $49/yr. Main positive is the rare occasions when Keith provides reviews. Others seem to believe they’re the world’s greatest marketeers. Getting off their mailing list for “other” publications which are 99% horse apples is difficult if not impossible (quantity vastly exceeds quality). They use deceptive verbiage constantly that is reminiscent of a Harvard MBA marketing grad with no experience but with ample confidence in his ability to attract foolish investors. (Not all Harvard grads share this “feature”, but a growing number are winding up on Wall Street. Another disaster is in our future.)

      Most gains for selections on their list are based on buy prices that are rarely obtainable. One might reasonably conclude that most buys are picks from their other far more expensive newsletters ($600-$3000/yr) but including a time delay. Several checks on charts proved this to my satisfaction.

      In a single week I’ve found GS to be far more useful than 2 yrs of MMR.

      Articles by contributors are mainly come-ons for their more expensive newsletters and do not appreciate being criticized for this trait.

    15. TomT
      Feb 27 2011, 10:51:23 pm

      Mark L. is a good biotech analyst, but this pub is more mainstream, and picks are longer term. I sometimes place a 1/4 bet on 4 speculations like this, that way I can tolerate the volatility.

    16. Dave alan
      Sep 2 2012, 07:55:19 pm

      I thought you said at the beginning the 1st. 1,000 were free. What happened to that offer as I can not afford to pay & only have a debit card on my checking acct.

    17. 14 |
      Chris Tillman
      Feb 26 2013, 11:51:30 pm

      I cancelled this after the first to issues. It’s just random stock picking, hardly any thought given nor any explanation or rationale. It’s not worth using for toilet paper, IMHO. I did get my money back.

    18. Tomi Gredebrand
      May 24 2015, 04:07:02 am

      Impossible to cansel Money Map Report suscription?
      I did read their advertisement and did sign on. It turned out that they have automatic renewal of suscription. It seems that it is hard to get rid of it.

      They just keep sending material which I regart as spam. I am worried that they keep billing me for somethin I do not want.

      I do not think their products can possible lead to better proofits than a index etf.

      Sorry for my english, I am norvegian.

    19. diane
      Feb 9 2016, 01:25:56 pm

      Responding to Paul h — If you haven’t as yet been able to reach them by phone, the two numbers listed on their promotional link are 800.896.0811 or 443.353.4271. Hope this helps. Good Luck!

    What These Icons Mean

    • The user who posted this comment is a Stock Gumshoe Premium Member (also known as an "IRREGULAR").
    • This user regularly writes articles for Stock Gumshoe. They may or may not be the author of the current article.
    • This user's comments have been "liked” by at least a few members of the Stock Gumshoe community.
    • This user has commented widely, with input that has been liked enough to earn a two-thumbs-up rating from other readers.
    • This is the highest rating a user can get. They are among the most respected commentors of our community.