Porter Stansberry’s Investment Advisory

Related Gumshoe Articles

Stansberry’s new “Magic Stock”

Porter Stansberry says that he can "Find the Best Government-Proof, Inflation-Proof, Crisis-Proof, Bear-Market Proof Magic Stocks" ... which one is he hinting at today?

15 Comments Read More

Stansberry’s “Magic Stock of 2016” from the “Best Portfolio Strategy We’ve Ever Tested”

What's being hinted at as the "only magic stock today" found by the Stansberry Data service?

30 Comments Read More

Share Your Thoughts

ShowHide Comments (143)
    1. notfallinforit
      Jun 17 2011, 02:39:42 pm

      What a load of crap. I watched the video and couldn’t help thinking 1) why doesn’t this guy show his face?? 2) If anyone buys into this crap, his predictions will come true i.e. gold will be bought up like crazy and hit $5000. an ounce and he will become rich..er!! Can you imagine the run on gold, silver, commodities like oil……..please don’t buy into this and drive the prices up any higher!!! 3) He’s got a great scam going, wish I could have gotten in early, or wish I could have thought of this, sell advice on the internet using scare tactics and make a fortune!! All off the backs of people who want to become instant millionaires without hard work and due diligence. Well, I think he blew it. As soon as the video ended with buy now, get in at half price, what are you waiting for……….the scam was evident!

    2. DickG
      Jun 18 2011, 05:22:03 am

      Just read the latest PSIA, which may be his best yet. Porter talks about the New American Socialism, how it differs from traditional socialism, and what to expect next. He includes a brief history and in-depth examples that are quite informative. He has a short recommendation but the real value this month (as it has been in the last several months) is in the education. Fascinating, and spot-on.

    3. DickG
      Jun 18 2011, 05:30:51 am

      Notfallinforit, do you really think Stansberry can influence the price of gold? You might want to do some research on the gold markets before saying something like that. And you’ll notice he says to buy gold, and not some smallcap gold producer whose price he COULD manipulate.

      Sure, his marketing is full of hyperbole and scare tactics, but he hasn’t been wrong yet – things are playing out exactly how he said they would, years ago, beginning with teh fall of Lehman.

      The really scary people are Bernanke, Geithner, Obama, and the ECB. They are going to bring the world’s financial markets down by their constant papering over of the crisis, and the timeline is likely in months rather than years. If you aren’t scared you should be.

    4. Albert
      Jun 19 2011, 06:29:51 am

      Been a subscriber for 4 months or so … seemed like a wealth of incoming information. They send you around 4 emails a day, 3 packed with advice and one or two asking for BIG dollars for some BS subscription to something else. Lost some $$ in some of their stupid recommendations (which they don’t seem to remember) but what bugs me is the changing position bit. Like they were hyping silver blah blah, then it tanks, and they still hype it – now that it’s fallen they say – “We told you so – we told you to be careful” – NO you didn’t. I must say though the guys analysis of what will happen to this country is spot on. He pulls no punches and suggests what to do … for that reason alone, haven’t decided weather to dump it yet.

    5. jo_bobtwc
      Jun 19 2011, 11:00:48 pm

      I have been a subscriber for a few months and overall I have been quite satisfied. I am a novice investor and the topics in the actual advisories have taught me a lot and given me ammo for my own research. I haven’t had enough time to give a fair rating of stock performance, but I will say that the recommendation to buy silver has been a good one. I owned silver before my subscription and bought more plus a number of other stock recommendations since my subscription. I watched silver ride from $17 all the way up to almost $50 and I read several warnings in the week before silver crashed that silver was due for a correction (possibly as far as $26) so I was not at all surprised by the drop. I hold silver as a hedge, and am still way up on my investment, so I have no intention of selling in the near future. The Stansberry recommendation is was and is to hold silver and gold long term, but many analysts have written that a better entry point may arise in the next few months for purchases.

      My only complaint as with many others is the excessive advertising for other newsletters published by the firm. I don’t mind some advertising, but this is a little over the top (especially if you subscribe to multiple newsletters you will get the same ad from each one in the same day…kind of annoying, but that is why I have a delete button). Just so I am clear in my meaning, an ad is any pitch to sell me anything. Naturally if a company offers more than one service, they will advertise those other services in an attempt to make more money. Buzz words like “Russian Spy ware” are just that…buzz words to peak your interest enough to read the whole sales pitch (even though the software is neither Russian or spy ware), and no I did not buy that subscription. I like the Investment Advisory because it has a long term outlook and my portfolio is small enough that commissions have the potential to significantly imact my gains or losses. In any case, I have learned a ton about investing that I would not otherwise know (I wouldn’t have even known where to look), and that to me, is well worth the $49 subscription.

      By the way Sanjay, I think you misunderstand the sales pitch for Daily Wealth Premium. You will not have access to all of the newsletters and performance reviews, Steve Sjuggerud does and he will give you tips which may come from any of the newsletters each day but you do not get to pick which ones.

    6. daddy warbucks
      Jun 21 2011, 05:39:07 pm

      I subscribed about 3 months ago and am waiting to see what happens to some of the recommendations before putting in real money from my IRA. What bothers me is all the junk that comes associated with the trial subscription, that wants you to put bigger bucks in esoteric newsletters ($2400 for the junk stock letter) which purvy conflicting advice. My wife asked an interesting question: if they’re so smart, why don’t they make their money investing instead of selling newsletters–is it altruism or ????

    7. DickG
      Jun 22 2011, 06:07:25 am

      Good question from your wife, daddy warbucks. They’ve addressed this in the past (but not recently). They can’t buy their own recommendations but they can buy other editors’ reco’s, after the newsletter has gone public. They also buy similar assets to what they recommend. For example, if Steve is bullish on gold he may recommend Seabridge, but buy another gold stock, or an ETF, or bullion.

      I think Porter’s motivation is more power than money. I get the impression he wants to be talked about. Guess he succeeded there.

    8. DickG
      Jun 22 2011, 08:08:12 am

      Stansberry has also mentioned his aversion to running money several times. He doesn’t want to manage others’ money because then he would be under the purview of the SEC. Too much hassle, he says. Plus, he and the SEC have locked horns before.

    9. sevens
      Jul 1 2011, 06:57:22 pm

      Simple Chris, we subscribed so unlike you actually we do know what are we reviewing here.

      BTW, the latest series of Porter’s free articles beginning with http://www.dailywealth.com/1773/New-American-Socialism may cause foam around the mouth of many liberals, perhaps Chris included. So while Porter declares his lack of interest in politics at an elective position he definitely has the passion to educate the public in a simple way what’s really going on. Which also explains his troubles with the government agency FDIC.

      As for IRA, the Retirement Letter is best, try it when it comes on sale. Dr. Eiffig recommendations are 100% winners and the yield is impressive. For 10% from the sale price in 90 days it’s worth trying but chances are you’ll stay with it.

    10. Chris
      Jul 5 2011, 01:33:29 pm

      As I have said many times sevens/Porter/DickG, I paid $49 for my subscription and I am not a liberal. I am a conservative and my objections to your get rich quick marketing has nothing to do with politics. It has all to do with misleading people into thinking you have tricks and computer programs, ect. to guarantee results. Like the Russian Spyware (which is a lie) and the Grail (another lie) and the 32% clause (which is just junk bonds) and the secret messiah (which is just a investment advisor and nothing more), and the $5 to get passwords to all publications (which is really just another newsletter, no passwords), ect, ect, ect.

    11. Baja Pete
      Jul 9 2011, 12:03:26 pm

      Porter Stansberry Investment Advisory

      I like Porter’s editorials on the big picture but it appears that he has a too pessimistic view of individual stocks. He continually harps that you should be shorting certain stocks. He states these stocks should be going to zero. His shorts picks as of 9/9/2010 were BC 14.32, AMD $5.86, EWI 15.70, BKS 15.40, GCI 13.22, WDC 25.95, STX 11.03, GE 15.91, AEP 36.35. As of today all of these stocks are higher.

      He may also not be giving you the best picks in the market because he doesn’t allow himself or his employees to invest in their published picks. So although he recommends NLY & CIM for income picks you won’t here about AGNC or ARR which have a much higher income and appreciation. I suspect he invests in the latter and tells you about the former.

    12. JT
      Jul 10 2011, 09:19:02 pm

      I subscribe to PSIA as well as all of the Stansberry & Associates (S&A) Newsletters except for Phase 1 (this is 16 newsletters!). I trust they will be around for a long, long time and I look at them as an investment for me and my family. Nothing in life is free. They cover everthing and keep getting better and better. With S&A, you can invest into 3 different types of lifetime services; Private Wealth Alliance gives you a lifetime of the 7 lower priced newsletters including PSIA. This is a truly great buy and should give 80% of the individual investors all the insight they need to keep up with the “true” trends. Their top lifetime service is the S&A Alliance which gives you everthying on one platter including their $1-4K/yr services, but is meant to be for those (unlike me) who want to indulge in their yearly posh membership meetings. Financially, I’m not there yet. My advice…chose only one newsletter – PSIA, True Wealth, Penny Stock Analyst or 12% letter and avoid going one-by-one into each of the other newsletters they will tout along the way. Rather, just like what you do in investing, wait for the bargain… when they offer one of the lifetime services Private Wealth Alliance, Flex Alliance (I own both) or their S&A Alliance. For me, a handful of their recommendations were doubles, a couple I was stopped out of for a loss. But the rest are in positive territory and I’m still letting them ride. They also provided many winning options recommendations and a truly fabulous Corporate Bond newsletter which makes up 60% of my porfolio.

    13. JT
      Jul 10 2011, 10:01:10 pm

      I wrote a review earlier today before reading other recent reviews. My gosh people… try to see through the advertising! It is ther simply to lure people in one at a time. My advice is to get one of the S&A newsletters, PSIA, True Wealth or 12% Letter. Ignore the advertising when it comes to getting any additional individual newsletter for half off. Remember they have 15 others they will tease you with. But wait for the opportunity when they offer the lifetime Private Wealth Alliance, Flex Alliance or S&A Alliance. Then jump in. You will not regret it.

      I just ignore the ads, the Growth Stock Wire and the Daily Wealth. But I do read the S&A Disgest at the end of the day, especially on Friday’s.

    14. DickG
      Jul 17 2011, 09:36:09 am

      The S&A Alliance is a one-time fee, typically around $5,000 (and trending up as they get more newsletters). There is also a yearly “maintenence fee” of $150 or so.

      As JT mentioned, you get everything they publish except for Phase One, plus a free conference every year. Well, the conference is free but you have to get yourself there and pay for the hotel, which is usually quite expensive (although you could stay at the Motel 6 down the road, I suppose). They were in Aspen one year and Cancun the next, both of which I attended. I definitely felt out of place, because I am middle class, but had a good time talking to doctors and folks who ran money. We all had something in common and people didn’t seem to care what your background was.

      Their subsequent conferences have been in places like Hong Kong and Geneva, however, so I passed on them. I’m hoping they come back to the USA this year, but we’ll see.

      The conferences were quite interesting, with all of the editors giving presentations, as well as a few invited guests. Porter also hosts a very nice dinner.

    15. JT
      Jul 24 2011, 11:42:05 pm

      Chris, Actually it’s 15 newsletters. The S&A Alliance runs 10K now, too much for me. The Private Wealth Alliance was $650, with yearly fee of $149. This includes the 12%Letter, PSIA, True Wealth, Penny Stock Specialist, Resource Report, Insider Statagist & Retirement Millionare. I read these, but I only act on True Wealth recs. The rest are sometimes repeats from the more expensive letters. The Flex Alliance allows you to get any 5 newsletters for life. You can switch whenever you like. So in essence you can actually get all the 15 newsletters, just not all at once. It’s easy to switch using their Flex Alliance web site. Because I already have the PWA, with my Flex Alliance choices I keep the weekly newsletter open (Short Report, Grail Trader, Junior Resource Trader) and rotate around between Extreme Value, True Wealth Systems, True Income & Retirement Trader. Advanced Income is mainly a repeat of the Short Report. The cost of the Flex Alliance for me was $4K with a yearly of $199. That sure beats the 10K if you are a starter like me. My main reason for the lifetime enrollment is so I do not have to keep shopping around. I trust these guys and over time, I know I will get better at investing going this route as opposed to learning the hard way. Between all these letters, I feel like over time I will have my bases covered and therefore have the better edge to help my college children understand investing too. I just wish I had started earlier.

    16. Small boob girl
      Aug 23 2011, 06:43:42 pm

      I did not buy any of their serivces after I watched the video in March, 2011. But I took their advices and bought some silver and that was the best decision I ever made. I then went to their website every day to read free articles and observed what was happening, guessed what? I realized whatever Port said in the video is becoming true. I just subscribed to the retirement million because I need to know how to get my money out of my 401K without paying a cent of penalty. Also I want to say this: those people who still believe in SEC and FED, please go and watch a documentary movie called : The Inside Job. They are the biggest scams in the U.S. They are the one that got us in this mass the very first place. If after you watch this documentary, you still believe in them, please just dig your head into the sand!

    17. A.F.
      Aug 29 2011, 09:42:28 pm

      PORTER STANSBERRY HAS A LONG HISTORY WITH THE SEC….HAS BEEN SUCCESSFULLY PROSECUTED FOR DEFRAUDING HIS SUBSCRIBERS AND PRICE MANIPULATION. THE SEC HAS BEEN AFTER HIM FOR OVER A DECADE AND IS STILL ON HIS TAIL. HE MAKES MILLIONS FROM YOUR SUBSCRIPTIONS PAWNING YOU OFF TO VARIOUS SELF PROCLAIMED FINANCIAL GURUS.

    18. Gabe Fabe
      Sep 6 2011, 08:59:50 pm

      Kristofo (March 28),
      Many thanks for your summary of the contents of the various Stansberry tips; you’ve saved me the subscription costs – and I’d have been somewhat peeved to pay to see SLW as the silver tip, since I’ve owned it for the last couple of years…as for Farmland being the best asset to hold, well, I guess everyone is entitled to their opinion – but anyone who bought CRESY at the start of 2011 will be 25% or so down now..

    19. happyhouser
      Sep 7 2011, 03:30:43 pm

      I can’t remember exactly when I started subscribing, because I now subscribe to numerous info sources, some free, some expensive, but I probably started in late 2008. Until then I had been out of the market and into real estate for a number of years (made some, lost some, but fortunately didn’t get creamed), so as luck would have it I had some cash on hand. My daughter had decided to get married and wanted me to help finance her expensive wedding so I had taken out a new mortgage and promptly realized I would have to invest some of it to offset the cost.
      I first subscribed to Steve Sjugerrud and found his advice to be very sensible, especially the part about buy long when everybody else panics, because that’s probably the bottom. I didn’t immediately buy his recommends, being conservative enough not to jump in before doing some due diligence. Instead I kept reading and bought some obvious picks like F, GM, BAC, etc. One of the e-mails I received after subscribing to True Wealth was written by Porter in which he recommended shorting GGP (General Growth Properties), the second largest owner of premium shopping malls in the US because they needed to refinance some $3B in mortgages but couldn’t find money anywhere and would soon go BK. This avice was part of one of his sky-is-falling libertarian rants. The situation sounded interesting enough (“too big to fail”) to warrant a further look. Turned out he (or his researcher) didn’t look far enough because what they missed (easy enough to find with a little internet research) was that Bill Ackman was buying millions of GGP shares, which had come down from $60 to 46 cents. A little more research told me that Ackman, along with John Paulson and Bruce Berkowitz had made a lot of money during the crash. Concluding that Ackman probably knew more that I did (and is considerably wealthier) I decided to follow him instead of Stansberry, and invested the princely sum of $610 (plus $12.95 commision) in 1000 shares @ 61 cents. Subsequently I followed Sjugerruds’s advice and continued to buy as the price increased (he says buy when everybody hates the stock but it keeps going up). That one stock, contrary to Stansberry’s prediction, eventually went to $20 including the HHC split, just as Ackman had predicted. I was able to cover my mortgage pretty much with that one investment in less than 2 years by going contrary to Stansberry’s advice.
      I like Sjugerrud’s letter and now read it religiously because it’s full of good advice, although I invest in only some of his picks. I read Porter’s stuff too, but listen with only one ear even though he says a lot of interesting things because I don’t trust his judgment; I believe his ideology and his emotions get in the way of his objectivity. He may be right about the “end of America” but I doubt it will be nearly as bad as the picture he paints which reminds me more of the aftermath of WWI in Germany when paper money was carried in wheelbarrows. Germany had been devastated by war, and the Allies were sucking it dry with “reparations”. This country is in much better shape than that. We have a great infrastructure (although it needs maintenance), a very productive agriculture and valuable extractive industries, especially natural gas. We have one of the best stocks of residential housing anywhere, thanks to easy-money mortgages; the empty houses aren’t going anywhere, and eventually will be reoccupied. The big banks and offshore investors are taking the financial hit of the defaults as the people they screwed bail out. As was published in Fortune last month, out of the $14T national debt the Chinese really only own less than 2 trillion. A lot of the rest is owed by us to ourselves (like Treasury to the Social Security Trust Fund). If our money and credit are so worthless why is everybody piling into Treasuries? And the jobs problem has been coming on for many years as our wages flew way past the prevailing rates for manufacturing in Asia and elsewhere. This is a structural problem not easily rectified until wages come back into balance, and is not something the Govt. can resolve in a couple of years.
      We have come out of many worse situations successfully.When the chips are down Americans tend to come together, not fight each other. Just look at what happened in New York during and since 9/11. We may lose wealth and status before it’s over, but I’d much rather live here than in some 3rd-world hellhole behind gates with a 24-hour guard.
      To get back to the topic of these posts, I feel as many of the other posters do that most of the advice is good, the unrelieved marketing hype is very annoying, some of the newsletters are better than others although each has its place (I also subscribe to Retirement Millionaire) and at least the less expensive letters are well worth the low price. They certainly beat a lot of the other garbage that’s out in the newsletter market.

    20. myron frye
      Sep 9 2011, 05:36:03 pm

      Basically everybody who thinks this is a scam complains about the other offers that come with the news letter. Hey these guys are in business to make money, so sure they are going to try to sell you other stuff. I feel that for 50 bucks, this is a no brainer, I mean I lose 50 bucks on a hand of black jack, so really, to me this is no rip off. There is quite a bit of interesting information in these letters. The reality is that the facts in the video are spot on, they are delivered in a shocking manner but you cannot agrue with the facts and the history of our economy, and as we all know history has a tendency of repeating itself. So for me, 50 bucks, this thing is a value at this price.

    21. Leo
      Sep 12 2011, 08:21:10 am

      This letter appears to be nothing more than a sales tool for additional stock letters. Granted I’m a new subscriber, but this just seems to a general market analysis and has rarely offered any new stock picks.

    22. Mike14
      Sep 12 2011, 10:00:35 am

      I saw the video advertised on a TV commercial and decided to watch the Loooong tiresome video that keeps you hanging on for everything with “Soon I will give you all the answers, but first let me tell you a story”, time after time he does this but I hung on to hear the answers. After all if I don’t my family won’t make it behind the barricades in time! Or they won’t have enough food and water because of the food riots!
      Of course the video scared the hell out of me! To tell a father that his kids are going to grow up in a
      post-apocalyptic Mad Max type of world isn’t encouraging. After all, unlike most of you I’m not what you would call a big “investor”. Don’t get me wrong I would love to invest, but unless the newsletter (or you) can tell me of a conservative investment that has a huge payout for $100.00 a month, then I’m in trouble. I can’t buy farmland! I’m just getting by now paying the bills. I was involved in a huge accident while on duty and depend on the state for my disability check. Some people live week to week, I live month to month.
      Say all these predictions come true? Goodbye state monthly? My 3 elementary age children aren’t going to be happy campers with nothing to eat. I guess from then on out it’s deer meat and rain water? (good thing I live in the country I guess, huh?)
      Seriously, all these buy/sell formulas are great but what the average family needs is to keep food on the table and a roof over head. The only gold I want to sell is my wife’s wedding ring! In the misted of all that if the only thing I lost were my investments, then I would feel lucky.

      My guess is that I won’t be subscribing, but thanks for scaring the hell out of me. As they age old adage goes, “you need money to make money!” Anyone want to give some away? LOL!

    23. DickG
      Sep 14 2011, 11:06:13 am

      Which letter, Leo? The latest issue (September) had two shorts, the August issue had one short, and the July issue had two longs. Don’t get the marketing materials mixed up with the paid newsletters like Chris did a few months back.

    24. Chris
      Sep 28 2011, 04:57:02 pm

      Dick, I didn’t get mixed up, (and you proved again that you work for S&A) you have presented get rich quick “advise” in the form of a newsletter. NOT marked advertising but in an actual newsletter (sometimes the exact same information is marked clearly “advertisement”). But the good news is that since i began complaining about it, the occurances have decreased, someone must be listening, Is it you Dick

    25. Zachary S. Tillis
      Oct 15 2011, 08:00:21 am

      I watched your video and the only thing that scared me was i already saw this coming. I have never had much money, and I’ve been hurting these past 5 years. I took notice in the way things have been going. I also watched the news today and it dawned on me that with that video started a revolution. They never said your name one time but, the first thing to come to my mind was you. You did the world a great justice i just hope you know that when this all goes down, everyone is going to look to you for guidance hopefully you do the right thing again.

    26. Farm Girl
      Dec 22 2011, 01:03:09 am

      In the October 2011 issue of Porter Stansberry’s Investment Advisory he said: “From November 2008 through March 2010, we were extremely bullish on stocks. And we were right: The period from March 2009 through March 2011 was one of history’s greatest increases in stock prices in the shortest amount of time. Stocks hadn’t doubled in two years since the election of Dwight Eisenhower.”

      Yes, it was an exciting two years. However, I noticed right away that he got off the bus in March 2010 and missed the whole second year of the rally. Also, he got on the bus, according to him, in November 2008, so he must have suffered a pretty serious drawdown between then and the March 2009 bottom.

      I went back to check, and he was indeed bullish in his November 2008 issue. However, he also was very bullish in his October 2008 issue, where he recommended buying Ebay and said: “My friend and business partner, Steve Sjuggerud,tells me stocks have experienced their worst 12-month period since the terrible bear market of ’73-’74. Many of you, I’m sure, have suffered declines in the value of your assets. Many of you, I’m sure, are nervous about owning stocks and are probably very reluctant to buy stocks now. That’s how bear markets work. Mr. Market doesn’t want you to buy stocks at great prices. He’ll try to scare you away. Don’t let him. Now is the time to buy.” [emphasis added]

      So I’m not sure why he counts his bullishness from November – he was very bullish in October, too. He wrote that on October 3, 2008, when the S&P 500 closed at 1099.23.

      His March 2010 letter was indeed very bearish. But then I thought: Was he really bullish all the way to March 2010? I didn’t remember it that way, so I looked at some earlier issues.

      February 2010 was headlined: “The Nightmare Scenario Unfolds: China Abandons the Dollar.” The second article was “The End of America is Imminent” and he made some short sale recommendations. He concluded by saying: “In light of the concerns I have about the dollar, I believe it’s time to be extremely cautious with our portfolio positions. I don’t want to own stocks that don’t pay substantial dividends or won’t benefit from the coming inflation. That means we need to sell several long held deep value stocks: Nokia (NYSE: NOK), Valhi (NYSE: VHI), and Chunghwa Telecom (NYSE: CHT). While these stocks are still cheap, they simply don’t provide enough of an ongoing dividend to give us the margin of safety we need right now.

      “Likewise, I think it’s time to sell some of the assets we picked up at absurdly low prices during the market panic last spring. High-yield bonds are no longer providing enough of a cushion in terms of higher yields, so we will sell HYG. And we’re selling our real estate fund, C&S REIT Income (NYSE: RNP). We earned nice gains on both positions, but it’s time to move on. Higher interest rates will hurt both of these positions. I’ve also increased the risk ratings on virtually all our positions. It will be difficult for stocks to maintain their current prices in the face of an extreme disruption to the global economy and soaring interest rates. Now is definitely the time to have a hedged portfolio.” [emphasis added]

      I don’t see how he can call that “extremely bullish on stocks” with a straight face. He wrote that on February 19, 2010, when the S&P 500 was at 1109.17. He really was bullish in the previous letter, written on January 8, 2010.

      So his “extreme bullishness” actually ran from October 3, 2008, when he said “now is the time to buy,” through February 19, 2010, when he said “Now is definitely the time to have a hedged portfolio.” During this period, the S&P 500 moved from 1099.23 to 1109.17. He made only 10 S&P points during “one of history’s greatest increases in stock prices in the shortest amount of time.”

      By shifting the beginning and ending of his bullishness period by a month each, he gives a totally misleading picture of his investment acumen – or lack thereof. Even using his false claim– November 2008 to March 2010 – he made 219 S&P points, or 23.5%. That’s less than one-fourth of the available returns in “one of history’s greatest increases in stock prices in the shortest amount of time.”

      One of the most important things to me is a newsletter editor who admits his mistakes readily and is honest with his subscribers. I don’t see that here, and will not renew.

    27. Chris
      Feb 3 2012, 02:08:36 pm

      Bravo Farm Girl. But I am surprised Stansberry or one of his flacks didn’t post a review contradicting what you wrote, as they usually do. I am guessing you wrote it so well they are stumped, good job!

    28. David
      Jul 10 2012, 12:15:26 am

      I took these guys up on their money back guarantee because I was curious about their teasers. I looked over their recommendations for the first half of 2012 and was not overly impressed. They generally seemed to consist of poorly timed “tips” on specific stocks recommended because of some grand story of profits that might come in some distant future, such as a new cure for cancer, or a new replacement for gas and oil. April, as I recall was major banks, which he lamented in May fell below the recommended 25% stop (no big surprise to those of us with an instinct for self-preservation). His particular favorite is coal. Yep, the nasty sooty black stuff that should be left in the ground.

      The Agora company does have a stable of well-practiced writers (or one writer with a lot of aliases) who are always entertaining to read. If you can’t guess what the teasers are talking about you can usually find out here at gumshoe. The “secrets” aren’t totally unknown, often they’ve been touted for years. S&A reports in one promo piece that they consider naked puts to be “their greatest secret”.

      When I called the tool-free number and asked for my money back it was promptly and cheerfully refunded to my credit card. If I recall correctly it was a real person who answered, not a machine. In any case I got through to them right away, no waiting on hold a long time. Kudos for their service.

    29. sree
      Jul 15 2012, 05:53:52 pm

      This guy is really smoking something. Hope you were not a sucker that fell for his dollar Armageddon video on youtube. Fact is dollar has creamed all other world currencies in the past year. One point in the video he says that Indian have stopped accepting dollar. In the past year, Indian Rupee has been in a free fall against dollar. Dropped from 40 Rs to dollar to $57 Rs to dollar. He talks about alternate reserve currency by Chinese, Russians and Euro nations. Really? you trust these jokers more than America.

    30. sree
      Jul 15 2012, 05:56:15 pm

      One more thing, that gold chart he shows every few seconds… reminds me of the housing bubble chart before it went pop. Beware of buying any asset that has had a 500% run up in the past decade. It is running on steroids and then some.

    31. John P.M.
      Sep 12 2012, 08:22:30 am

      I dropped SIA to focus on two Stansberry offerings from which I get more value, namely Daily Wealth Trader and 12% Letter. SIA offers 2 stocks per month along with a ton of economic and political commentary. I’m willing to put up with longwinded prose if the picks are commonly exemplary, but they’re not. SIA has the occasional big hitter but average otherwise. Subscribers get a regular diet of promo emails for other Stansberry newsletters and services which usually have a link to a video. You can short circuit the video by closing your browser tab. You’ll get a message window that let’s you skip the video and takes you to a page with the text from it. You can then scroll to the bottom to get to the service their pitching. I get the same stuff again from 12% and DWT. I don’t mind as long as these two keep performing, which they do consistently.

    32. Michael Free
      Nov 10 2012, 07:13:15 am

      Here’s all you need to know about this doofus, in his own words: “Last December, the European Central Bank (ECB) began lending money (giving it away, really) to the region’s banks, in an effort to prop up sovereign bond markets. This was a signal that the ECB would not let European Union states default on their debts. The central bank was choosing inflation over default… as we knew it would. And to prevent a default, we know it would have to print trillions of new euros.

      That’s why we decided for the first time since early 2010 to become aggressive buyers of stocks and commodities.”
      Translation: We went to cash too early and missed the huge 2011 upturn.

      “We predicted 2012 would be the best year for stocks since 2007. We bought inflation-sensitive businesses, like big banks and insurance companies. But then… everything turned around. New fears emerged that Europe’s central bank wouldn’t ride to the rescue… that perhaps Spain and Italy would be forced to default. And we were stopped out of many of our new positions.”
      Translation: We bought back in at the highs, and got stopped out with severe losses.

    33. Tyler Burkey
      Feb 26 2013, 12:36:10 pm

      I have subscribed on and off to PSIA for four years. I say on and off because after the first year, I cancelled but then came back in to the subscription after a compelling offer that came out to come back an try again. The company has always held its integrity, though you may not know it based on the reviews here, in that Porter and his team are very transparent. He is happy to show when he failed, as evidenced by this year’s “report card” when he gave himself an “F” due to having the premise right but the timing wrong. He advocates strong trailing stop loss parameters on all positions, provides great argument for each position, and does routinely follow up on any items of interest for those positions. The style and flow of writing is not overly bombastic, but believable and enjoyable. All of the offerings at Stansberry are worth what you pay for them and more, and as my maturity as an investor has grown, so too has my appreciation for them running the shop like they do. A piece of criticism heard a lot is their analysts don’t harmonize, and while that bothered me before it no longer does. Porter’s point is he pays them to present their arguments with facts as they interpret them, and he doesn’t pay them to be “yes” men. I have to say I support his position, candor, and drive to be the best at what he does. I mark them as a 4 for consistency due to the results over the last year, and that was enough to drive the overall rating to a 4, in my opinion.

    34. panchovia
      May 18 2013, 06:33:14 pm

      Stansberry has a policy that the newsletter writers cannot taste their own cooking. They can’t buy any of their recommendations. Thus I believe that the subscribers get only their 2nd best recommendation because they have invested in their first pick. Example: Stansberry keeps on touting NLY yet you would never have heard a peep about AGNC which has considerably higher returns.

    35. Nalin Nirula
      Nov 20 2013, 11:55:20 am

      I have subscribed to a number of Porter Stansberry’s newsletters, and Weber’s Global Opportunity Report for a few years. While they are an interesting read, the Stansberry newsletters’ recommendations and follow-ups did not create a sense of safety. There is no broad fundamental view on the conditions that drive the stock-market rises and falls within which the stock pick are referenced. Persuasive reference to context is missing.

      I have recently subscribed to Sean Hyman’s Ultimate Wealth Report and despite the many negative and vitriolic, even, comments about him personally (and not his actual stock picks for the most part), I find his detailed weekly investment advice a priceless education in the field of investment fundamentals.

      While Hyman’s technical, fundamental and sentiment analysis all appear to be extremely well grounded, and he is a technically qualified and licensed analyst, the fact the Hyman is a pastor who has an investment philosophy based on conservative Biblical advice on investment seems to enrage some beyond reason. Hyman does not base his recommendations on something ‘God revealed’ to him–his reports are pragmatic and down to earth, with great attention to detailed analysis in his weekly almost hour-long reports which are usually in the form of a video. His investing approach will make sense for long-term investors, and not so much perhaps for those who are interested in playing the market.

    36. Ronald Mador
      Apr 7 2014, 11:46:37 pm

      I complained to Stansbury Research about their arrogant and incessant marketing practices, and their ridicule of me becasue I chose not to subscribe to one of their more expensive services. Their response was to cancel my subsritption to SIA and refund the unused portion (about 10 months). I’ve been a subscriber for more than 3 years but now apparently I’m not deemed worthy of their services. Interesting approach to doing business, wouldn’t you say. Bottom line, if you plan on subscribing to any of S&A’s services, be prepared to be deluged with never ending emails soliciting you to purchase addtional subscriptions. Actually it will be a relief for me to be free of this and their arrogance.

    37. Kazuhiko Nakamura Nakamura
      May 18 2014, 06:28:51 pm

      I subscribed for a while but I did not understand
      much what is their reason to recommend.
      When I tried to cancel by e-mail, they said they do not accept thru e-mail, I have to phone them.
      I called to take off auto renewal setting on all
      subscriptions but they did only one subscription.
      So I called to cancel all subscriptions to end.

    What These Icons Mean

    • The user who posted this comment is a Stock Gumshoe Premium Member (also known as an "IRREGULAR").
    • This user regularly writes articles for Stock Gumshoe. They may or may not be the author of the current article.
    • This user's comments have been "liked” by at least a few members of the Stock Gumshoe community.
    • This user has commented widely, with input that has been liked enough to earn a two-thumbs-up rating from other readers.
    • This is the highest rating a user can get. They are among the most respected commentors of our community.