“Grab this $1 Oil Stock While You Can”

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, February 10, 2009

Many of you have probably seen this teaser from Lous Navellier for his expensive Quantum Growth service — it’s for an oil services stock that’s priced at just a dollar, and he thinks it will have remarkable returns.

I’m on my sickbed today, so I’ll be briefer than usual …

“Earnings just hit 309%,
“Sales just jumped 126%,
“Oil prices will never be cheaper,
“Only one broker is following this fast mover, AND
“Wall Street is clearly looking the other way.”

The underlying argument is that oil is as low as it’s going to go, that we won’t all be in electric cars within the next decade, that oil will be shooting up over $50 faster than you think, in part because the dollar will fall, and this company will continue to have rapid earnings growth and big earnings surprises.

OK, so I said I’d be brief today: This is Boots and Coots (WEL), an old company that focuses on pressure control and related well services — they used to be a sort of “emergency reaction” company that came to fix blowouts, as I understand it, and they now provide more of a proactive prevention service.

Sorry to throw this back to y’all today — WEL is highly rated for growth by Navellier, they are very small ($100 million or so of market cap), and the one or two analysts who follow them tell us that the forward PE is down around 5 or 6.

If you know anything or want to ask anything about Boots and Coots (or oil more broadly), feel free to start chatting here — or this stock has also already been discussed in the forum, if you haven’t had a chance to look there.

And if you’d like to see what other people think of Navellier’s service, we have had one review submitted for Quantum Growth so far on the new reviews site — this may not be the fairest time to start such a reviews site, since many recent subscribers to most newsletters are likely to be a touch bitter about the past year’s performance, but we do what we can.


Related Gumshoe Articles

Leave a Reply

12 Comments on "“Grab this $1 Oil Stock While You Can”"

avatar

EYOUNG
Guest
0
EYOUNG
February 10, 2009 6:32 pm

Gumshoe, Hope you get to feeling better soon~!,,, Take care of yourself,,, you have a PUBLIC to look out after~!
Get well Soon
EYoung

Gladsb
Guest
0
Gladsb
February 10, 2009 6:46 pm

Wow, what dedication to us even when you’re sick. Thanks Gumshoe. Do take care of yourself though. We don’t you to get worst..

IKAB
Guest
0
IKAB
February 10, 2009 7:11 pm

SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR ILLNESS. PLEASE GET WELL REAL SOON.

Mahkel
Guest
0
Mahkel
February 10, 2009 7:49 pm

Hola from Mexico, Gumshoe, and yes, get WEL soon. Or maybe better? 🙂 Mahkel

ps: actually, up in Canada the national paper Globe&Mail has two analysts rate WEL a Strong Buy with 4 out of 5 stars. That’s also true of Spartan (3 stars) and Minefinders (4 stars), the recent picks you discussed. fwiw

Sniper
Guest
0
Sniper
February 10, 2009 9:18 pm

Hopefully Gumshoe, your medical plan doesn’t come under the one proposed by the Obama administration. You may never get better.
Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
Semper Fi

R Walker
Guest
0
R Walker
February 10, 2009 9:52 pm
I checked with my friendly guru about the mega-bonds and this is what he said…. These mega-bonds are issued by a single, near-defunct company. Its stock has fallen in value from $100/share to pennies. I’d guess management is desperate by now for a financial infusion and they try to float convertible bonds for the purpose. Bonds are only as safe as the issuing company. The issuing company eyes some dumb suckers to take the bait and then be slaughtered. Run, run, run! These are trying times and many companies will cut their dividends severely or even go outright broke. You’d… Read more »
michael norris
Guest
0
February 11, 2009 1:40 am

HURRY UP & GET WELL……… WE HAVE TO MAKE ALOT OF MONEY TOGETHER..GET WELL SOON BROTHER…MICHAEL IN NEVADA

who noze
Guest
0
who noze
February 11, 2009 11:10 am

believe this is an old line firm started by red adair he who put out fires even had a movie played by my hero john wayne he who never serfvwed in armed service

Geezer
Guest
0
Geezer
February 11, 2009 6:30 pm

1) Get well quick
2) This is the time to slowly accumulate oil stocks. Eventually they will go up.

Brook
Guest
0
February 11, 2009 7:43 pm

Drink more tea than you’re thirsty for, get WEL soon, and then get wealthy thereafter!

tgk2
Guest
0
tgk2
February 11, 2009 9:13 pm

Thanks for all of your hard work, Travis. Hope you feel better tomorrow. Cheers.

who noze
Guest
0
who noze
July 2, 2011 4:41 am

boots and coots nicknames for the old red adair team

wpDiscuz