Retirement Millionaire

Related Gumshoe Articles

“The End of American Money As We Know It”

What's Dr. David Eifrig's "New Currency?"

32 Comments Read More

Answered: “How to Profit from Cell Towers Without the Hassle… ” (Dr. David Eifrig)

Sniffing out Retirement Millionaire's teased "cell phone tower royalties."

20 Comments Read More

Share Your Thoughts

ShowHide Comments (20)
    1. JPW
      Dec 14 2009, 11:54:51 am

      I am an Alliance member and thus receive this newsletter as a part of my membership in that organization. I must say that of all of the Stansberry publications I receive this is the one that has the least resonance and usability to me. I am an academic physician (just the type our good doctor rails against in all of his ads and come-ons). So you might guess I have a good reason not to give him a good rating. However, m problem with his advice is that is generally not novel, occasionally incorrect and often laced with his own brand of sarcasm and hubris (of which he seems generously applied). Further, he often is guilty of doing exactly what he accuses the medical establishment (not sure who this is anymore as there as many opinions about any given topic in health care right now as one could easily shake a stick at) which is taking one side of an argument and ignoring data on the other side. in any case, I would definitely NOT pay for this on its own but since it is essentially “free” who cares. I can always choose not to read and ignore his “advice”.

    2. Christine
      Dec 14 2009, 03:10:28 pm

      I’m an Alliance member too and essentially get this particular piece with the deal. I’m an Australian and whilst some of the bargains/ideas sound pretty good it is not geared to stuff I can follow up on here down under. I’ve learned what to ignore with Stansberry stuff. I have to say that if I’d ignored less I’d be filthy rich by now! As far as the medically related/FDA picks go I don’t think it has lived up to the marketing hype and is all so fickle.

    3. FJH
      Dec 14 2009, 03:33:39 pm

      Wow – this is not at all what I expected when I subscribed.

      This letter isn’t really about investing per-se so much as it is about securing “so called” bargains on a variety of things useful or not.

      Information provided in this letter is generally available on the web without getting a subscription for anything. Dr. Eifrig’s seeming continued berating of the medical profession makes me wonder if he doesn’t have some sort of axe to grind. I for one have great respect and admiration for the physicans who have cared for me over the years and I doubt they are the only exceptions to Dr. Eifrig’s seeming rules.

      He ventures into way too many topics to actually be knowledge with anything truly useful about any of them. Having my own personal active knowledge about a couple of his articles about Using Zillow, for instance, to base home market values on, and saying it could provide you with all a Realtor could provide was absolute poppycock. Zillow, used by many Realtors for advertising and a source of leads, is anything but current or accurate. So here again Dr. Eifrig seems to have a bone to pick. Must have bought at the height of the real estate bubble though a Realtor.

      He has apparently sought out ways to make money since apparently medicine didn’t work for him and one other recommendation he makes is for retirees to take a Writing course from AWAI to pay for travel, generate extra income, etc. — Without commenting on AWAI, Dr. Eifrig seems to be using their copy to generate his own articles and recommendations.

      If there is anything of interest here it’s mostly for comic relief. It does provide a few laughs to witness how wrong or single minded a person can be.

      At $49/year, I guess you shouldn’t expect much and that’s exactly what you get …. not much.

      Service is great though because the folks at Stansberry refunded my subscription as soon as I requested cancellation.

      Not sure who else he doesn’t like but Dr. Eifrig sure is no fan of Doctors or Realtors. But he can tell you where to find coupons on the web.

    4. Jim H
      Dec 16 2009, 08:45:30 pm

      I get the Stansberry reports and this was an add-on for $49 a year. I’ve only gotten three months, but I can tell you it is not worth the money and in fact, I will probably be requesting a refund. I’ve gotten more from the free Gumshoe stuff than anything. OK. I will join and pay (after I get my money back from the Retirement Millionaire!)

    5. Jack Williams
      Jun 15 2010, 01:18:49 pm

      I just let the subscription to this newsletter expire. It was nothing I expected! It contained way too much content about the personal experiences and his life. What financial advice was there seemed to be focused at those going into or in retirement that had large six figure accounts. Need good newsletter for the many babyboomer retirees that have a nest egg but not one that’s double yoke.

    6. Jack Ebner
      Jul 19 2010, 06:59:07 pm

      I was only really interested in the financial advice and maybe the freebies. With an intensive background in human physiology, I’m afraid a lot of what the good doctor shared just simply wasn’t true but with a medical perspective, it’s no suprise he would think he was offering good advice so I’m not blaming him but rather the partial miseducation he received at pharmacology school.

    7. JPL
      Jul 22 2010, 03:37:52 pm

      Hi, Jack Ebner,
      Your comment that “a lot of what the good doctor shared just simply wasn’t true” interests me.
      This is not a challenge or anything of the sort, but I like to check out where I might have been misguided from reading his reports. Would you give some specific examples of
      his misleading or misinformed advice? Of course, the more examples you can give the better.

      Thank-you for your consideration to respond.

      JPL
      07-22-2010

    8. Dale
      Feb 26 2011, 10:56:52 am

      I subscribed. Since then, I have looked over the monthly issues. In the April 2010 issue, the advice is given “I recommend you add the UltraShort FTSE/Xinhua China25 Proshares Fund (NYSE: FXP) to your portfolio at less than $8.75.” On 15April2010, ProShares UltraShort FTSE/Xinhua China 25 (FXP) announced a 1-for-5 reverse stock split, so the $8.75 becomes $43.75. Since that recommendation, FXP reached a low of about $25 and now (26Feb2011) has reached about $31. I guess I’ll cancel my subscription.

    9. LongAndStrong
      Mar 2 2011, 03:09:47 pm

      This is another Stansberry product that uses a 25% stop loss to hide losers from their portfolio, so you have to go back and figure out how many times you would have been nailed. On MELA he had a 50% stop loss and it went there like a homing pigeon. I read the letter for fun and the interesting retirement tidbits, and it is cheap (3 stars for value). I have never bought a single one of his stocks, because after doing my due diligence not one made sense. Now he has started Retirement Trader – good luck with that!

    10. RJKIN
      May 5 2011, 07:43:16 am

      I just heard a promotional ad via a “link” for his newsletter. He implies that silver will be HUGE in the years to come. He states that the historical ratio of silver to gold is 15:1. With gold at $1500oz that suggests silver should vault to $100oz. Any research I’ve done says the historical ratio is 55:1. If you believe in “reversion to the mean” silver should be at <$30oz or gold should be at $2100oz with no movement in silver. Based on my research his newsletter lost all it’s credibility right out of the gate. Take your chances!!

    11. JACK JAY
      Jul 27 2011, 08:39:13 am

      WELL I WAS ALMOST SCAMMED TILL I READ ALL YOUR REVIEWS,THANKS,IM GLADE I FOUND THESE AFTER DECIDING TO RESEARCH A BIT.WHAT REALLY GOT ME UNDECIDED IS ,LIKE IN A LOT OF OTHER STATEMENTS OF THIS SORT I HAVE READ.THESE PEOPLE ARE MULTI MILLIONAIRES AND IN MY OPINION THEY ALL SAY THEY WANT TO HELP THE AMERICAN PUBLIC,WELL IF THIS GUY AND OTHERS OWN SO MANY MONEY MAKING BUSINESSES AND HAVE SO MUCH MONEY AND ARE REALLY WANTING TO HELP THE AVERAGE CITIZEN AS A RETIREE ,LIKE MY SELF,WHICH IM ON DISS. AND 63 YEARS OLD,WHY IF THEY HAVE SO MUCH MONEY ARE THEY TRYING TO GOUGE THE LITTLE PEOPLE THAT HAVE ZIP OF MORE MONEY.HE COULD EASILY POST THIS ON THE NET AS HE DID THIS,IF HE ACTUALLY IS INTERESTED IN HELPING THE AMERICAN POOR PEOPLE.IN MY OPINION HE IS JUST WANTING A BIGGER PIECE OF THE PIE,AND MINE IS GONE.BARLEY MAKE IT AS IT IS.IM GLADE I FOUND YOUR SITE AND ALL THE NEGATIVE REPLIES,BECAUSE I WAS ABOUT TO BE FOOLISH AGAIN AND TRY THIS,IVE TRIED MANY THINGS JUST TO TRY AND MAKE A LITTLE EXTRA INCOME.I DON’T WANT TO BE A MILLIONAIRE WE JUST WANT TO SURVIVE.SEEMS LIKE THERE ARE KNOW ONE THAT REALLY WANTS TO HELP; ANYONE,JUST PUT MORE AND MORE MONEY IN THEIR OWN POCKETS.HE MAKES SENTS ,I THINK THE GOVERNMENT DOESN’T HAVE THE POOR PEOPLE IN MIND OR THE ELDERLY.JUST ONE OLD DISSCRUNTED OLD MANS OPINIONS.ALL THIS ARTICLE DOES IS MAKE ME TAKE MORE PILLS TO KEEP FROM WORRYING AND HAVE ANOTHER HART ATT. ABOUT WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN TO ME AND MY FAMILY,ESPECIALLY MY FAMILY WHEN I DIE,IM RAISING MY GRAND KIDS,THEIR PARENTS OR DEAD,ONE IS IN STATE OF MENTAL DISABILITY AND CANT CARE FOR HER CHILD,AND I BARLEY GET ENOUGH TO EVEN LIVE ON AS IT IS NOW.THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT ON ALL THIS ADVICE FROM HIS ARTICLE,REALLY SAVED ME.

    12. Been Burned
      Mar 6 2012, 06:59:29 pm

      This guy is a doctor, but my doctor and I don’t even think he knows what he’s talking about in medical matters and advice. This one is a complete waste and I don’t even read it anymore.

    13. L. Keith
      May 6 2012, 04:39:56 pm

      I subscribed to your newsletter yesterday, paid with my credit card and have received nothing confirming my subscription nor the promised publications. Please advise why!
      L. Keith

    14. Louis Blasiotti
      Aug 21 2012, 01:26:11 am

      If you reach back to the 1970’s when silver was going strong the the ratio of gold to silver was continuously described over and over again as not 15;1 but 16:1. At that time the guru’s claimed that the 16:1 ratio was historic.

    15. Robert Shults
      Sep 4 2012, 07:51:22 pm

      The Atrticle did NOT contain the SPECIFIC “Magic Words that were touted, nor do the banks hold any pre-1965 coins (based on samples of 200 Half- dollars and 200 Quarters.) On inquiring about the “Magic” Words, I was told (by an Assistant Editor, no less) they were “DO YOU HAVE SILVER COINS?” How’s THAT for insulting someone’s intelligence? Needless to say, I will be VERY skeptical of offerings from Stansberry & Associastes in the future.

    16. Donald Makus
      Nov 4 2012, 11:43:18 am

      I enjoy the blend of conservative investment advice and human health comments. Some might be put off by some of his medical views, but having a PhD in biology, I think he tends to be right more than he’s off base. A good value if you can pick it up for $39.

    17. Tyler Burkey
      Feb 26 2013, 12:18:36 pm

      I enjoy this newsletter from “Doc”. To be honest, the monthly letters do have an investment picked each time and a review of the outstanding picks when appropriate. This is usually interspersed with other information, like the best things to buy in a given month, health related issues, etc. I was offered to try this with a renewal of my Porter Stansberry Investment Advisory subscription, and I have felt it a good compliment to my conservative approach. The only negative I have for this particular letter is there isn’t a single point to see all open positions, when they were originally chosen, price point, performance, etc., as there is in other Stansberry offerings. Even with this detractor, I commit to taking the information and picks with a grain of salt and reviewing how it fits in the current portfolio.

    18. 14 |
      Chris Tillman
      Feb 27 2013, 12:08:53 am

      I think Doc is a very interesting character. I’ve found lots of his health advice to be useful. His financial advice is very conservative and solid, he’s gotten high grades every year from his publisher. When I decided to turn to a newsletter to guide the conservative management of my partner’s money, this was the one I felt filled the bill. @Tyler: Doc does have a current portfolio on the website, plus many other tools and reference materials. He just doesn’t take up space in the newsletter for it, I think the health comments take that space.

    What These Icons Mean

    • The user who posted this comment is a Stock Gumshoe Premium Member (also known as an "IRREGULAR").
    • This user regularly writes articles for Stock Gumshoe. They may or may not be the author of the current article.
    • This user's comments have been "liked” by at least a few members of the Stock Gumshoe community.
    • This user has commented widely, with input that has been liked enough to earn a two-thumbs-up rating from other readers.
    • This is the highest rating a user can get. They are among the most respected commentors of our community.