Stock Gumshoe

Leave a Reply

86 Comments on "Stock Gumshoe"

avatar

Boomer
Guest
0
February 7, 2010 6:25 pm

STOCK GUMSHOE — I’m new to the whole stock thing. So I found it quite cool to read your artical where U named the little stock (INAP) that they wanted $5000 from me for. So I guess U can say I’m your newest fan & will sign up for your news letter. PS — INAP is listed on 2 differant exchanges with dirrerant info — NASDAQ & NYSE arca — Whats that all about ?

Sallie Marsico
Guest
0
Sallie Marsico
February 11, 2010 1:06 pm
Luck was with me the night I came across Travis (…the Thinkolater at Gumshoe.) Eager for “info from those in the know,” I subscribed to The Oxford Club and one other newsletter, only to learn they’re only about hype. YIKES! Spare me. “Thank you Travis,” and, again, “thank you Travis. You have a new best friend. Moi!” One of the most useful aspects of the Gumshoe webb site is the reviews of the various “advice” newsletters. From reading all the reviews, it would appear there are some better newsletters. I might chose to subscribe to one – once I get… Read more »
Henry S
Guest
0
Henry S
February 20, 2010 7:10 pm

I sandbagged on the free newsletters for a month and then decided to support Travis since it was worth the $49 a year just for the education and the occasional chuckle when you realize which stock the promoter is talking about. I have been a penny stock picker for years but it was always a tough slog to find out information on some stocks. Travis seems to have a real knack for churning through the mountains of worthless information and zeroing in on a few relevant facts. Keep up the good work.

Lukester
Guest
0
Lukester
February 21, 2010 1:34 pm

Dear Mr. Gumshoe,

The volume of praise evident here for your esteemed self, and the formidable Thinkolator [ TM ] says it all. It has quite obviously been ***earned***. All I can add is that the man’s, (and also the fiendishly brilliant Thinkolator’s!) integrity come shining through. You must be doing something very right to be scooping up such an avalanche of unqualified praise from members new and old. Please remember to keep feeding the Thinkolator prime raw steak tartare (or whatever it eats) to keep it well nourished and in fighting trim! =:-)

Lukester

Allem Bechteil
Guest
0
Allem Bechteil
March 10, 2010 2:56 am
The exception to my low star ratings is the newsletter review function which is 5 stars but which you can get for free. I’ve not otherwise encountered anything interesting on the paid site, or even much beyond what is public. I’ve looked at the paid site about 4 times and find no reason to click there again. So about 10 bucks a click. The service looks at stock teasers currently currently being hyped in mass mailings, identifying what they might be, and then leaving it up for readers to post their comments on what they think of things. In reality,… Read more »
Steve Day
Guest
0
Steve Day
March 28, 2010 1:52 pm
Travis has assembled and provides to those that are interested in doing their own investing, a nice, easy to use, informational website. Not only does he provide content, but like the genius of ebay, investing connoisseurs can share their experience’s and leave feedback. Much of the success and delight in visiting the site, is the unassuming and user friendly atmosphere which is fostered by Travis’s style of investing. Free to use, and free to contribute, if you choose. You know the old saying, “you can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some… Read more »
The  Gringo
Guest
0
The Gringo
July 4, 2010 11:15 am
Hi . As a newbie ( and getting toooooooo close to 70 ) I just can not believe my luck that my wife found this site. Travis must be one of the RAREST commodities to be found ,only we could invest in stockgumshoe.I recently asked a question of him HOW STOCKGUMSHOE ALL CAME ABOUT. the answer was very interesting , but i guess the punch line was the best, he discribed himself as a smart arse , Well folks he is definatly smart,Unfortunatly i am completly unable to improve on any of the ratings or glowing recommendations that i read.I… Read more »
Mrsb
Guest
0
Mrsb
January 5, 2011 11:20 am

I too found your website a few years ago looking for financial letters. One of the few sites that also has “Canadian” content :-). Travis thanks for all the great snooping, as well as all the information you and the members provide. As a novice investor, I have learned a lot :-).Well worth your lifetime membership 🙂

Richard
Guest
0
Richard
January 24, 2011 7:11 am
Hi, two years ago I was a complete newby in investing. But when in March 2009 I lost 40% of my money deposited in funds recommended by my bank, I thought I have to become active myself. And I thought I was really clever in subscribing to 10 different newsletters allocating 5000 Euro to each of them buying 10 stocks for 500 Euro each. After 6 months I should see who was best and would continue with that one. Really clever. So what happened? The Elliott newsletter did not even post a single winner. An Options newsletter lost up to… Read more »
Romilly  Cocking
Guest
0
Romilly Cocking
January 25, 2011 1:57 pm
Last week I joined the irregulars, and Travis has already saved me about 300 times the subscription. I’ve been following Stans Energy (RUU) for a while, and still think it has tremendous potential in the meduim term, but last week I was amazed (and worried) to see it rising sharply in the absence of newsflow. Travis’ newsletter explained that RUU had been tipped, so I reset my stops so as not to get burned by a pump-and-dump. I closed out my main holding today with a 370% profit, and will buy back in if the price settles down. Travis has… Read more »
Yankee
Guest
0
Yankee
February 8, 2011 11:10 pm

Wonderful site, so glad that someone smart actually has the brains and the guts to decipher the newsletters out there and tell the world the $$$-news. I have been very impressed with the analysis of the teasers and the down-to-earth explanations of the varied stocks featured.

Re7lex
Guest
0
Re7lex
February 9, 2011 3:56 pm

The best, the cheapest, the most interestingly written…and a great resource for checking any stock anywhere……unbiased reporting with detailed information. Thank you.

M. Elizabeth Theron
Guest
0
M. Elizabeth Theron
March 8, 2011 9:05 am

All articles and commentary from Gumshoe are written with intelligence, objectivity, insight and and clarity. Oh yes, and honesty..!

What more can one ask for?

petraschnecke
Guest
0
petraschnecke
March 8, 2011 9:27 am

I subscribed to the newsletter 4 months ago. The picks are excellent and the reading is interesting and educational. So far I can only say thumbs up.

-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
Guest
0
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
April 30, 2011 5:18 pm

When we write a review we like to see, and edit it right away, not days later, or not at all, like happens on the Stock Gumshoe website. Very un-user friendly.

When we request changes to previous posts they never happen. Sometimes it can be days before a web page will even load to post a review in the first place. The cashed versions of the Stock Gumshoe show up blank from Google.

BobE
Guest
0
BobE
June 1, 2011 5:51 pm
About five years ago I was intrigued by a pick of one of the over-bloviated, super secret, stock letters. Not wanting to pay real $ for advice but wanting to know if this type of promotion was any good for an investor, I took the clues and found the stock myself, invested, and tripled my investment. However, I found that many of these promotions were junk and I didn’t have the time to do the investigating. Luckily, I found Travis and his wonderful “thinkolater”. What a GREAT service he provides to individual investors! Researching the clues myself the first time… Read more »
Melville L King
Guest
0
October 12, 2011 7:57 pm

I have fun reading your free newsletter.
Too, I have bought from time-to-time some of the teased stocks for which you have sleuthed the name and symbol, Some have been winners, some not.
As ever, melking125@yahoo.com

lbispy
Member
0
lbispy
January 1, 2012 12:25 pm
Your Tracker is a terrific database! A rough review of the report for 2011 shows only a handfull of the writers recommendations give a chance of being right. The below shows those few who had three or more recommendations and had an overall average of positive results: Editor Publisher Avg % rtn Paul Tracy StreetAuthority 11.9% Roger Conrad Investing Daily 11.5% Matthew Carr Oxford Club 9.0% Mitchell Clark Lombardi 6.6% Jeff Opdyke Sovereign Society 3.9% Most others showed some horrific results! Thanks for your insights. And a Happy New Year to you and your readers. Larry B
MyWealthyOptions
Guest
0
January 24, 2012 10:39 pm

Where can I find a list of newsletters with their track record? It took really long time for me to determine which are the good stock newsletters and I paid for it. Any list with rating will be helpful.
I run my blog http://www.mywealthyoptions.blogspot.com. It has about 100 hits everyday. As I am in the process of paid subscription, any suggestions will be helpful.

kimk
Guest
0
May 25, 2012 10:18 am

StockGumshoe used to be very good site with frequent updates. However, something bad is happening to it. The updates become much less frequent. My emails are unanswered. The number of new reviews is shrinking. Since the site redesign, it is much more difficult to navigate.

And everyone can just post a comment and rerate the service. I posed a review of 10ppm with my ratings. Everyone who responded just kept giving it 5 stars which impacted the average rating dramatically. The whole concept has to be changed – look how Investimonials do it.

gorilla
Member
0
gorilla
June 2, 2012 11:53 am

lombardies critical warning number six

Dave Miller
Guest
0
Dave Miller
September 7, 2012 3:41 pm

Great site. So many sharks trying to sell free information.

villadelfin
Member
0
villadelfin
November 16, 2012 6:30 pm

keep up the good work…value cannot be better

herbalix
Irregular
100
November 29, 2012 5:53 am

This site is so much fun to read. At the same time it is telling it how it is. I’ve been reading it for two years by now and I am proud to announce I am one of the famous Irregulars for about one year. I am learning so much. Thank You!!!

ron1615
Member
0
ron1615
January 15, 2013 8:41 pm

An enlightening service, plus no one else has use of the patent pending Thinkolator. Value at twice the price!

geaisland55
Member
0
geaisland55
February 19, 2013 5:25 pm

this is ONE OF THE VERY BEST SERVICES i’ve ever subscribed to(and i’ve been subscribing for 20 years to various things costing upwards of $500 per annum). Bravo, Mr Johnson!
(and bravo, custpom,er srvc: responded in LESS THAN AN HOUR to a login question that I had).

jrlowelljr
Irregular
3
February 28, 2013 2:50 am

I love this letter. I’ve made several great investments based on teases deduced by the Thinkolator.

ima_nemisis
Irregular
0
April 25, 2013 10:18 pm

Uniques in the annals of financial newsletters and the best value of all.
-Ima_Nemisis-

april39
Irregular
7
October 30, 2013 3:11 pm

The Best [ including the Irregulars price] Rated mostly 4s as I only hit the cheapo info I want about 1/2 the time.

jmarkar
Member
3
jmarkar
November 7, 2013 2:15 pm
First the Pros: I’ve been with Stock Gumshoe as a proud Irregular for less than a year but it has quickly become one of my “Must-own” advisors. First.. so much fun busting the “tedious-teaser” ads that clog my inbox. I’m a forensic analyst regarding construction failures, so I especially appreciate the process of solving mysteries. It has become the “Snopes” of Investment Newsletters. On top of this free section, the subscribed Irregulars get quick updates on hot buys, and Lynn actually reports HONESTLY on the stocks they have advised… and Lo and Behold: AMAZING record of gains. Fun reading style,… Read more »
tompaol
Member
56
tompaol
December 21, 2013 10:18 pm

This website has been a Godsend. As a rookie investor who has found himself getting caught up in the hype of teasers in my first go around of dabbling in stocks years ago and lost, I find it easier to practice restraint by what the Doc says about the stock that is being teased. I have also found Myron’s articles very informative. I appreciate everything about the offerings here and actually find it refreshing that we get all this for less that the cost of newspaper. Thank you
Tom Paolini

cahi
Irregular
0
cahi
January 27, 2014 4:07 pm

Refreshingly honest, and still able to maintain a good sense of humor whether the markets are up, down, or stagnant.

donhamde
Member
0
donhamde
May 13, 2014 7:51 pm

I’d like to know if anyone knows the “10 Forever stocks” touted by the Street Authority Daily? I do know that three of them are: Intel, Google and Brookfield Infrastructure (BIP). These are supposedly stocks that one can keep for a lifetime.

sdansker
Member
0
sdansker
June 19, 2014 3:27 pm

“A number that turns $100,000 into $2,739,303.” Does anyone have any idea what Motley Fool is talking about?

SoGiAm
Irregular
4851
January 15, 2016 2:39 am

Stock Gumshoe is by FAR the BEST investment subscription I have EVER made. And for what? $49/year to join the Best and Most savvy investors on this plant! What a steal. Thank you Travis 🙂 Best2All-Ben

beaugrand
Irregular
3
beaugrand
August 14, 2016 7:16 pm

virt?

wpDiscuz