12% Letter (defunct)

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.0/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 22 votes
If you’ve subscribed to 12% Letter (defunct), please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 6 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 6 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 6 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 6 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 5 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 2 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 5 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

69 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Raymond OBrien
Raymond OBrien
February 7, 2009 9:46 am

They don’t produce any responses through the mo. and sometimes not even the mo newsletter. Very disappointing

kern50440
Member
February 7, 2009 2:51 pm

The first recommendation I took was to buy FRE.PRP a no way to loose 10% return guaranteed by the government, went from 20 to less than 1!!

Jim Fisher
Jim Fisher
Guest
February 9, 2009 5:56 pm

This family of newsletters urges you to use a “25% trailing stop”. One recommended purchase I made collapsed more than 50% one day after I bought it. I have lost a ton of money investing with this guy.I have not renewed my subscription.

spreadtrader
spreadtrader
February 13, 2009 4:51 am

Subscribed from 1/08-4/08. Within a few months of finding the Gumshoe (2/08) I figured out that all “for fee” newsletter writers are entertainers, not traders. Over the course of the past year, and through the Gumshoe forum I learned of numerous investments that yield 15%-30% and are significantly safer than the blind “buy and hold with a 25% stop” recommendations put out by this service. The reason this particular service is so insidious is that most income investors seek safety as a primary consideration to invest. This newsletter is unsafe, primarily because its editors do not know how to trade, which is no longer a surprise to me.

Add a Topic
996
custer
custer
February 14, 2009 10:47 am

I won’t renew my subscription. Haven’t seen any recommendations that seemed to live up to his high income goals without obvious high risks.

Add a Topic
996
Bbo Grievews
Bbo Grievews
Irregular
February 14, 2009 1:40 pm

***

Sarge
Sarge
Guest
February 23, 2009 4:31 pm

Been following Tom for a year or so. Am not a trader, so love the dividends from pretty safe companies. I see nothing particularly risky in averaging down in solid companies like those recommended.

Add a Topic
152
Carl
Carl
Guest
February 23, 2009 4:51 pm

I’ve been a subscriber for several years and have consistently made money most of the time with the obvious exception of the recent market ‘dump’ which has had its toll on just about every strategy.

Robert Cassa
Robert Cassa
Guest
February 23, 2009 5:22 pm

Have made money from Realty Income O never would have known of them.Would never tired covered calls.Gives good fundamentals for traders and investors to START research on.

Add a Topic
673
Add a Topic
996
Peter Handley
Peter Handley
Guest
February 23, 2009 7:19 pm

The 12% letter is one of the moreinteresting newsletters that I have ever subcribed to. The author Tom Dyson does not talk down to subscribers He subscribes to the viewpopint that the only way to make gauranteed returns is to thoroughly research your investments before you commit to them. He explains his thinking and leaves the choice to you. His newsletter is split 50-50 between investments (stocks) and covered calls on blue chip stocks. I had never understood the covered call methodology until Tom explained it fully in his newsletter. If you want to make a really worthwhile investment in a newsletter I can recimmend the 12% letter.

Add a Topic
6
Add a Topic
503
Add a Topic
6
Nils
Nils
Guest
February 23, 2009 9:37 pm

They have the same recommendations all the other dividend letters. However they complicate it a little bit by recommending option plays in combination with their stock recommendations.

Add a Topic
5971
Randall S.
Randall S.
Guest
February 24, 2009 8:49 am

I bought two energy companies that tanked and he sold the next month. We’ll see what happens with Iowa Telephone; it’s down from where I bought it but it’s still in the portfolio. I am learning from the covered call strategy.

deepdiver
CCW
Member
February 24, 2009 10:41 am

I bought this as part of a “lifetime” package deal of five Stansberry newsletters. Now still pay about $150 maintenance fee and sorta feel locked in.
Tom got caught like most by the severity of the drop. Now has reco several large cap “super safe” stocks with decent dividends, then recos some covered calls to boost income. Of course it doesn’t work in an IRA. And even those stocks have dropped by 10-15% already. Tom is now supplementing his monthly with a weekly to try to keep abreast of the market better which is a good idea. But as for results, most of my portfolio is in Stanberry recos, and I’m down 50% from a year ago. I’d done just as well with S&P index. So no value except sometimes educational reading.

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
152
Add a Topic
996