5 Percent Per Week

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.6/5. From 27 votes.
Please wait...
3.5
Rating from 88 votes
If you’ve subscribed to 5 Percent Per Week, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 20 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 20 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 11 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 19 votes
Rating: 3.5/5. From 19 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 11 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 27 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 27 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

41 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Perry
Guest
Perry
August 11, 2012 7:13 pm

Another winning week for 5Percent! My autotrade broker, Thinkorswim, was able to fill their order for $0.35 so I actually earned 7.5% on last week’s trade. I’m up over 40%, including commissions, for the past 10 weeks! Thanks, 5PPW!!!!!

Bill
Member
Bill
July 2, 2020 10:09 pm
Reply to  Perry

Keep investing with them. You will sustain a 100% loss eventually and wipe out all profits.

Bill
Member
Bill
September 11, 2012 12:57 am

I was a little disappointed when I lost over half of my portfolio in one week. 5PPW sustained a 59% loss. The only problem is that they make it very clear in their website that the can manage losses well and have experience at doing so, so I gave them a try. The first week I made 5%. The second week Trade King did not fill my auto trade order at all and the 3rd week into it I lost $25,000. I was devistated. If you look closely at their performance, they do great for a while, then they lose it all in one hit. And this seems to be rather consistent. I do not see that much of profit over time. I was going to invest alot more, but I think I will cancel 5PPW and stay with 10PPM. They have the ability to get out fast because they do 3 trades a month. Lessonlearned. I would be very careful with 5PPW. It’s very risky.

Adam
Guest
September 12, 2012 7:31 pm

I too am writing this review after having suffered a devastating 60% loss using this service. For $240 a month, you would imagine they’d have better controls for downside potential. After all, lots of loss mitigation strategies exist for vertical spreads (such as reducing short leg as delta crosses 18-20). This service trades vertical options spreads. Either a bear call or a bull put spread order is issued typically once a week. However, some weeks no trade is issued at all. On the plus side, they do publish their performance numbers on the website candidly. I have been with the service about 8 months and I have not generated a gain when you factor in commissions and fees for the service itself. The fundamental truth is that you generate small returns with high probability of success, but when there is a loss, it wipes out months of gains if not a entire years worth of gains as what happened this week. If you look at the track record, large losses always occur. Truth of the matter is *ANYONE* can pick high probability spreads…the trick is to be able to pick market direction. Thats why we pay $240 a month for this…and these guys aren’t cutting it. Avoid until they can prove that they have a better loss mitigation strategy and can consistently predict the market direction.

Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
372
Kennedi Wriggleman
Guest
Kennedi Wriggleman
September 16, 2012 5:57 pm

I was there for the loss and I got three different notifications of an exit trade having been submittd to close down the position so I know that they tried to get out sooner. I turned off autotrading to see if I could exit manually a couple of times by myself and couldn’t catch it either. I turned it back on and let 5PPW handle it for me.

Here’s my thing: The market DID spike 2% in one day driving the price of our spread skyhigh before prices stabilized enough to execute a trade. The only weeks that I remember them skipping a trade altogether were when the markets were too crazy to get into or when news and economic data being released very late in the week were expected to greatly impact the markets. They get caught the same as anyone trading options. Their system is solid and consistent and I know that 5PPW traders were watching becase they had been sending updates and trade alerts.

At the end ofsd the day, they got the job done. The very next day, the market continued to spike and we hwould have finished in the money and would have owed a lot more than what they got us out for.

Keep it up 5PPW – You guys are doing great!

Add a Topic
570
ckendall4938
Guest
ckendall4938
September 16, 2012 11:30 pm

I agree with Kennedi on this. The market was crazy last week and it moved VERY fast. I was looking at the spread prices as 5PPW sent out the trade alerts and they were jumping in 10 cent increments. By the time the order was received and submitted by the brokers, the price was above the limit price in the order.

5PPW continued to increase the price during the day but the market was moving too fast to get the orders filled. Finally, when the markets settled down, 5PPW’s order was filled and the trade was closed down. The markets continued higher the next day and if they did not close the trade down, the loss would have been much worse.

Those complaining probably traded with their entire account. 5PPW suggests to keep the profits from each trade instead of trading with profits from previous months.

It’s trading… these things happen. It’s definitely not due to a lack of trying. It was a very unique situation and I think 5PPW did their best, given the situation.

Adam
Guest
September 17, 2012 4:40 pm

Would like to respond to ckendal4938 and Kennedi.
For one, I do not trade my entire portfolio. Regardless, it makes no difference. If you look at this service’s historical returns…you would *NOT* be making a profit when you factor in costs of the service and commissions…even if you have a great discount broker. Also, while they did try to execute trades to help stem the loss, the fact is that they moved too slowly, too indecisively, and in manner that *HURT* their customers greatly. For the price of the service, you should have had an aggressive exit move at points well above mid-point to simply close it down and stem the loss. Instead, customers were left to catch a falling knife to suffer that beastly 60% loss.

The bottom line…customers have *NOT* made money following this service when you factor it all in. Isn’t that what counts?

Bill
Member
Bill
September 17, 2012 6:45 pm

Look,
Kendall and Kennedi, you can thorw all the numbers and excuses why what 5PPW sustained a 60% loss. That doesn’t help my portfolio on bit. I just started with 5PPW on autotrade because I know nothing about options trading so I thought I would let the experts take care of it. They advertise that know how to minimize losses before the fire gets too hot and they know how to how to get out before too much money is lost. I was emailing back and forth with 5PPW asking alot of questions and I finally decided to try it. 3 weeks into it, I lost $25,000. So, I just cancelled 5PPW, but I’m staying with 10PPM for now. The haven’t sustained a major loss in quite some time and they are doing pretty good. Whoever reads these posts, just ask yourself this; Do I want to risk another 60% loss? They are weekly traders so they do not have the luxury of time on their side like 10PPM. If you look at the performance, they will do well for for a while and then take a huge loss which wipes out any previous profits. I would be careful. If you like gambling then go for it. I suggest you take a look at Active Investor and Trade Mavens auto trade newsletters. They have consistent wins over years. Active Investor has an average of 100% annual returns dating back to 2007. No annual losses and all gains around 100%, some a little less and some years a little more. They obviously know what they are doing because these major gains were in the 2008 crash and also the flash crash. I wish I knew about these guys earlier. Doubling my money every year sounds good to me. I’m going to try Active Investor, Trade Mavens and 10PPM at the same time to diversify trading styles. I’m really not too concerned about my $25,000 with 5PPW because I will make it back in no time with Trade Mavens and Active Investor. Do not risk 5PPW, they do not do iron condors.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
2578
Add a Topic
2955
kimk
Member
September 20, 2012 6:49 pm

Pretty amazing that people still defend them after 60% loss. 2% buffer is a lot of movement in one week? With weekly options, any significant gap will kill the trade, and there is NOTHING you can do about it. The comment on their website that “Losses are cut soon, and managed properly” is a complete nonsense. For weekly options, there is no such thing. If the trade goes against you, the negative gamma just kills you.

Btw, did you notice a nice trick they do on their performance page? Usually the trades start with the most recent trade and go back in time. But after each big loss (they have one every few months) they reverse the order so the big loss is hidden at the bottom. Not many people notice and scroll down.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
570