American Association of Individual Investors

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.7/5. From 59 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 250 votes
If you’ve subscribed to American Association of Individual Investors, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 77 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 77 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 24 Votes
  • 4 Stars 36 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 3 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 56 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 56 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 31 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 4 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 58 votes
Rating: 4.5/5. From 58 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 44 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 59 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 59 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 30 Votes
  • 3 Stars 7 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

17 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
PennyWise
Member
PennyWise
February 3, 2010 12:54 pm

AAII Performance Ratings for over 50 different stock strategies by various authors (newsletter and otherwise) and other criteria. Go to:
http://aaii.com/stockscreens/performance.cfm

While even a blind pig finds a truffle now and then, the best way to evaluate newsletters is their performance over time.

The AAII people take what the newsletter writers indicate are their criteria for picking stocks and compile the actual performace, based on close of business of the stocks as of Friday every week.

This is the only FREE site I know of which gives unbiased data since 1/1/98, year by year and cumulative. It also gives info on turnover percentage, etc. When compared to the indexes, some strategies are profound.

While I appreciate GREATLY what you are doing, I encourage you to also educate your reader about how to evaluate newsletters over time.

Add a Topic
5971
hallie
Irregular
hallie
August 19, 2018 1:25 pm
Reply to  PennyWise

Any blind pig can find a truffle. Snoutless pig, not so well.
(yes, aware ‘snoutless’ was not a word. Is now …)

👍 4
erug
Member
erug
August 21, 2018 1:27 pm
Reply to  PennyWise

Pigs actually have poor sight. And find food with olfactory guidance.

👍 14
lenorel35
lenorel35
December 29, 2012 4:33 am

A wealth of advice and education. The only newsletter I never regretted subscribing to.

👍 5
Chuck
Guest
Chuck
April 22, 2017 10:41 am

This is the single best value I have found in 50 years of investing because it is based on a consistent, transparent methodology. Definitely for the long term investor. Organization is not-for-profit. Monthly magazine (no ads) keeps up with recent academic and industry research. Has been around for over 20 years and I believe has 170,000 subscribers. You may not always agree with them, but their integrity is unquestionable. I have purchase subscriptions for my kids and sister. They may not read the AAII Journal, but they can’t say they didn’t have the opportunity. Very inexpensive and great value. Website is free with great resources, including model portfolios, and paid membership gives access to many types of screens. Highly recommended.

lefty858
Member
lefty858
July 7, 2017 3:21 pm

Have found their stock screens to be of value when my own nuance is added.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
353
👍 4
johnpeds
Irregular
November 27, 2017 4:12 pm

I was probably a little harsh with my ratings since I don’t spend a lot of time with the newsletter . I’m a lifetime member of AAII and do not regret paying for it. In general AAII offers a lot of interesting resources.

👍 15
Lee
Member
Lee
November 29, 2017 10:56 am

I always thought they sounded good, then I subscribed only to find out the info I wanted upped the price. Maybe I misread something, but I cancelled because it is deceiving to find out it’s not what you thought you purchased. Some day I may give them a try again.

Greg
Guest
Greg
January 16, 2019 11:10 pm
Reply to  Lee

Agree with that assessment

TAU
Guest
TAU
October 14, 2019 2:04 pm
Reply to  Lee

On top of this, they apparently are free to change what they give a lifetime member at their own whim. I paid per year for two years, was pleased with what I got for the price. A little over a year after signing up for a lifetime membership, they modified what you could see in the stock screens, making it basically useless. Having said that, one may get occasional ideas from the journal, which in my opinion is at least better than most of the popular financial magazines.