Avant Options

If you’ve subscribed to Avant Options, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Value For Price

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Customer Service

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Phil
Guest
Phil
October 23, 2012 9:34 am

I’m excited to be the first reviewer for Avant. Avant continues to be my favorite options trading newsletter after trying many others. Their trades are safe and consistent. They control their trades well and cut losses when needed before they get away from them. Their performance speaks for itself.

Add a Topic
570
traderamy
Member
traderamy
November 12, 2012 1:51 pm

In the last few years time I’ve subscribed to several different newsletter services. Avant is by far the best all around newsletter I’ve found. I now feel I have wasted a lot of money on more (and less) expensive newsletters hoping for better results. You don’t always get what you pay for! Avant seems to have a modest, yet aggressive-enough approach to trading. The trades are easy to follow. I am by no means an experienced trader, but I’m no beginner either. They are perfect for the person that fits in that category. I plan on sticking with them for the long haul. They seem to have their stuff together.

I originally put this review on investimonials. After I told Avant Options I reviewed them positively them they asked me to also put the review here.

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
570
yellowbelly
Member
yellowbelly
November 23, 2012 5:59 pm

After 6 months my gains match what their site represents. Good honest newsletter with good steady performance.

serious_trades
Member
serious_trades
March 14, 2013 1:31 pm

What is the philosophy of this service? I mean I am not asking for the details of their strategy, but at least a small clue about how they trade. For me this service looks like gambling. They trade a lot because they have to: they obviously need to feed their subscribers with a lot of positions, which at the end are basically all the same: a bet on one direction of the market. When they are wrong they are too slow to open counterpositions to build iron condors.

No need for any “black swan” to encounter huge losses: a market rising 2,5% within 3 weeks is sufficient with their “strategy” to make you lose 40% of your capital. A 67% gain is then needed to recover the losses and come back to the start capital. Good luck…

Add a Topic
2578
👍 -3
serious_trades
Member
serious_trades
March 14, 2013 1:32 pm

I would like to mention the management of the trades of Avant Option for the March options cycle to make people aware of how unprofessional this service is.

They opened around the 22nd of February a bunch of bear call spreads on several indexes (S&P, Dow Jones, Russel, etc.). They were accordingly trading against the bullish momentum of the markets. One or two days later the markets fell, bringing the open positions in a temporary winning area. Avant Options was quick in sending an email celebrating themselves about how excellent their timing was… The problem is that the markets rallied since then. Apart from a meagre bull put spread opened on the SPY since then, all the bearish positions were kept until a couple of days ago where the first tremendous losses were finally cut.

Avant Options felt great about their management and wrote how well they felt in cutting the losses timely enough. As such they manage to “sleep soundly at night”. And that’s also the reason why their strategy is so wonderful… Well the problem is that just after having closed the losing positions on the Dow Jones (through the DIA ETF), they immediately opened a new bear call spread (with only one point higher than the previous losing spread) in order, as they claimed, to recoup the loss of the previous trade. No need to say how amateurish this is. Even a beginner in trading would not make such a mistake. And what should happen happened indeed. This position went wrong as well and the tremendous losses were realised again.

Don’t be lured by the figures shown on the website: there is no sound strategy behind the trades of Avant Options. They are fighting the trend, the losses can be tremendous when they are on the wrong side of the market and the winning trades seem to be more the result of luck than the result of a technical or fundamental analysis.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
4194
Add a Topic
570
👍 -3
avantoptions
Member
avantoptions
April 22, 2013 10:04 pm

Eric Ludwig – Your comments are appreciated. Losses are experienced in any trading style and March’s performance was within our normal trading limits. We have done a through post mortem analysis of March’s trades available here: http://www.avantoptions.com/post-mortem

You posted the same review on Investimonials. Of your 4 other Investimonials reviews, each one is negative about the product or service and we wish you the best in your pursuit of a newsletter that meets your goals and objectives.

ar0180
Member
ar0180
September 28, 2013 7:56 am

I subscribed to Avant Options earlier this year on the basis of good reviews on this site and Investimonials. Unfortunately the performance has been terrible and the losses have been substantial. They did not choose the right strategies and continued to try and predict the market direction. They also did not close out losing trades but chose to continue to roll them over further extending losses. The worst part is they have cancelled my subscription without any notification and when questioned about it they admitted that they were no longer operating due to the poor performance but their website seems to still be accepting new subscriptions. Save your money and choose another service.

Add a Topic
570
daviddream
Irregular
daviddream
December 31, 2014 10:55 am

With option trading you can get whipsawed like that on a regular basis if the market gets volatile.

👍 23

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

More Info