Navellier’s Growth Investor

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.6/5. From 86 votes.
Please wait...
3.8
Rating from 368 votes
If youโ€™ve subscribed to Navellier's Growth Investor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 119 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 119 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 39 Votes
  • 4 Stars 38 Votes
  • 3 Stars 18 Votes
  • 2 Stars 12 Votes
  • 1 Stars 12 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 79 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 79 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 34 Votes
  • 4 Stars 18 Votes
  • 3 Stars 17 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 84 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 84 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 41 Votes
  • 4 Stars 20 Votes
  • 3 Stars 12 Votes
  • 2 Stars 4 Votes
  • 1 Stars 7 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 86 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 86 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 21 Votes
  • 4 Stars 35 Votes
  • 3 Stars 15 Votes
  • 2 Stars 6 Votes
  • 1 Stars 9 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

53 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Karen Kyle
Member
Karen Kyle
May 1, 2017 3:29 pm

Last summer I looked back for 5 years of blue chip and it was worth the price. I just looked at my form 5498 for 2016 it says $172,128. This is my Roth account. When I look at it today it’s 193,000. So I have no issues especially because I buy the account when it’s on sale. And I’m putting any more money in it as I retired the end of 2016.

Karen Kyle
Member
Karen Kyle
May 1, 2017 3:41 pm

Sorry I did not read my review when I posted it. I will not put in anymore money to my Roth IRA account because I’m retired. I am fully invested in his portfolio. As I said I’m satisfied with the results. I have other accounts that I sometimes use other newsletters but also pick my own stocks. Can’t believe what I own in stocks.

wek1936
Irregular
wek1936
June 2, 2017 12:25 pm

I have been very pleased with the Blue Chip Growth letter over the years. I’ve subscribed to 6 or 7 other newsletters and would rate this one as my first choice. After a period of focusing on index funds and not closely following the BCG portfolio for a year or so, in October 2016 I re-started my portfolio of Navellier’s recommendations by taking positions in his “New Buys” and “Top Five” recommendations. Now, nine months later, I have 20 stocks in the portfolio with an overall unrealized gain of 24%. The S&P 500 gain for the same period is 13.6%. Nine months is not long enough for a final judgement, but my earlier experiences with the portfolio were similar.

I like this letter for a number of reasons. It is easy to read and to follow. Navellier’s complete “buy list” of 35 to 40 stocks is easily managed. Trading frequency is relatively low, in the range of 3 to 5 per month. There is not a lot of turnover in the portfolio. Navellier’s instructions are clear and timely. His recommendations for “Buys” and ‘Holds” are given in his monthly letter which arrives via email several days ahead of the hard copy via USPS. I receive an email when Navellier issues a “Sell” recommendation. On-line tools include the Portfolio Grader and the Earnings Center, both of which are quite useful in carrying out due diligence on not only his recommendations, but other stocks as well. . One complaint I have, and it is a small one, is Navellier’s occasional delay in making the call to sell a declining stock. Another minor criticism I have is the lack of an account status on the Blue Chip Growth web site. To find out when my subscription expires, I have to email Navellier— but they always reply. Overall, I would give this letter 4.5 stars.

Today, Navellier’s ad on his web site claims that his Blue Chip Growth portfolio has outperformed the S&P 500 by a factor of 3-to-1 since 1997. The numbers he gives are 387% gain for BCG and 167% for S&p 500….. which looks more like 2.3-to-1 to me, so I don’t know how he gets the 3:1 ratio unless you truncate rather that round the percentages. I’ve not seen an independent audit of that claim, but from my experience with the portfolio, it is a believable number.

Add a Topic
5971
๐Ÿ‘ 46
dorare
Member
dorare
June 26, 2017 7:15 am

can someone update today performance?

rjfp
Member
rjfp
June 26, 2017 10:40 am

Excellent value for the investment advice given. The price is usually around $99 per year. I’ve been following for many years. This is Navellier’s more conservative investment letters and he wants you to have 60% in his conservative stocks, 30% in moderately aggressive and 10% in aggressive. This may somewhat limit the long term return but fits my risk profile as I’m approaching retirement. Although not always possible, he tries to buy and hold a stock for at least a year to reduce taxes. If you’re not as risk averse as I am, his Emerging Growth and Ultimate Growth letters recommend a lot of smaller companies with higher potential. When he lectures at his free seminars, he often states that for most people, Blue Chip Growth is all they need. Even if not a subscriber, you can use his Portfolio Grader to check on how he rates a stock. I’ve found this very helpful when considering a stock not contained in the Blue Chip portfolio.

Add a Topic
1209
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
172
JOHN
Guest
JOHN
September 6, 2017 12:38 pm

I’ve subscribed since 1987. In an up market, his picks are great, and I just sell when he says and buy when he says. It works much better than when I tried to pick some of his stocks over others etc. Beware. He will cheer lead his stocks all the way through corrections and sound like everything is just cherry. Be prepared to lose 40% or more on major corrections. If you do hang in , don’t make the mistake of getting out at the bottom, because eventually his picks will rise. He will not in any way shape or form tell you when to get out of the market. You are on your own. He believes in being constantly invested. You will like the up-ride, but will curse on the way down. Given all that, it’s a very good deal for the price.

lnbressler
Irregular
lnbressler
November 27, 2017 8:45 pm

My experience is from some years ago. I subscribed to Blue Chip Growth for about 3 years, until 2009. At that time, Louis recommended that we sell our Apple stock. That stock later split at 7 for 1. I lost a ton of money by selling.
2008-2009 was the investment opportunity of a lifetime. All the Blue Chips were down dramatically. GE was at 7, IP was around 5, AA around 8, etc. Louis said these were all too risky at the time. I listened to him. We subscribers missed a stunning opportunity to profit. This was his specialty, and he failed us completely. I will never buy any thing from him again.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
๐Ÿ‘ 5
bep1964
Irregular
bep1964
March 27, 2018 4:16 pm

I have been a member through a deeply discounted offer for all 5 services for 5 yrs., as a family itโ€™s quite affordable. The Blue Chip service was $98/2 yrs., I bought ALGN, ASML, ISRG (post split), BAX, I just bought the new buys & as many of the Top 5 stocks & held on. He is very clear buy 60% conservative, 30% moderately aggressive & 10% aggressive which CC was aggressive so you had fair warning. I have made consistent gains w/his service that far outweigh the fees, he gives timely podcasts to market & client upsets & no service or person will ever get it right as much as he does. Yes there are a few disappointments but far many winners & Iโ€™m talking 60%-110% over 1o mos.-16 mos. time, i.e., HTHT, JOBS, NOVT, TAL, TECK, ANET, ALGN, VNTV, IBP, SQM, FMC, AMAT, UHC, ISRG (was at $199 Dec. โ€˜17 now over $400 & will hit $500 easily). He is adept at choosing great stocks particularly in the Blue Chips service he gives you a buy up to price & Iโ€™ve never seen a stock not make it. It might hit a bad quarter but you hold & he has excellent analytical skills so I have made over 65% on my portfolio b/w Blue Chip, the more aggressive but excellent Ultimate & the small to mid-cap service Emerging Growth. He tells you when to buy & when to sell & sometimes you lose but I have found there are stocks of all price ranges & I have done very well & I can come here & add in my own investments b/c I enjoy finding my own gems too.

A little advice if it helps anyone here $SQ was upgraded today to $67.

Three New Buys you might want to consider are VLO, XPO & CAT (I bought XPO in my IRA in 2012 after researching Bradley Jacobs the CEO & knew it would be a huge success, Amazon & HD are oh talks to buy it but w/o a buyout it will continue to grow & it pulled back today to $98 from $102-$104. This stock alone has put my kids through college & will fund a huge part of my retirement so on those New Buys hint hint no charge!
– Julia

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
172
Add a Topic
34
๐Ÿ‘ 61
StLouis1
Member
StLouis1
March 27, 2018 5:02 pm