Cabot Growth Investor

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.0/5. From 14 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 70 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Cabot Growth Investor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 19 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 19 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 10 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 19 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 19 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 9 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 18 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 14 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 14 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

14 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Peter
Member
Peter
March 17, 2009 4:36 am

This letter is a combination of market timing (trend following using moving-average crossovers and a couple of other indicators) and growth stock picking. I have to credit them with staying in cash for most of the bear market. Unfortunately I didn’t follow their advice to the letter. (Does anyone?) There’s a serious point there, though. If you only subscribe to a newsletter to pick up some ideas, but you’re not going to follow the advice otherwise, then why bother and not just stick with the oceans of free information that’s already out there?

But live and learn… I’m cutting back on newsletter subscriptions, but this one I’ll keep for market-timing discipline. I think this is among the better ones out there.

As a last note, I commend them for not indulging in sleazy marketing tactics like so many other newsletters. The do a little touting and selective bragging, but it’s relatively classy compared to others.

Add a Topic
5971
Peter
Member
Peter
March 17, 2009 4:37 am

Sorry, forgot to fill out the ratings so I’ll do it separately this time.

conradC
Guest
conradC
March 17, 2009 12:43 pm

$99 annually. The stock selections pick are mostly not well known companies. But they predicted and advised subscriber to cashout as early as Sept. of last year. overall strategy is more of conservative and equity preservation. Very good in predicting trend

Add a Topic
5971
Axell
Guest
Axell
June 8, 2009 5:58 am

Good, reputable, quiet newsletter with a relative paucity of favored stocks, often featured on other newsletters/research services, and thus a solid source for confirmations. Interesting opinion, written by a well established & respected editorial desk. Recommended, but not essential…

Fabian Hug
Fabian Hug
October 21, 2009 5:42 pm

It’s concise with few recommendations. Clear market indicators, very useful. No gimmicks and affordable. This one is a good buy in my opinion.

Cat-lover
Guest
Cat-lover
February 8, 2010 4:25 pm

Cabot Market Letter started out as a kitchen-table family operation back in the 1970s. It is still run by a bunch of very nice people who love stocks. They make good use of technical analysis to add an element of market-timing that is missing from many stock-tout newsletters. Their stocks make good money in an up-market. They don’t go short or use inverse E.T.F.s, however. Very educational newsletter that is fun and interesting to read. Associated advertising for their other newsletters is done in a respectful and low-key manner. Good customer service, too.

Add a Topic
1640
Add a Topic
899
Jamie
Guest
Jamie
March 17, 2010 1:03 pm

Excellent, professional service. Cabot is well-respected and has earned its reputation. I am very happy with the price (great value), customer service, and, most importantly, the picks and explanations. I have already paid for a second year early in my first year; that’s how impressed I am with their service. I will be adding more Cabot services as my account grows. Highly recommended for growth investors and position/momentum traders. Added note: you always get extra recs via a “watchlist” that are worth an individual look but aren’t part of the 12-stock portfolio. Also – I have had 25%+ gains on quick-turn option calls based off recs, so that’s another great way to utilize the research.

Add a Topic
1640
Add a Topic
1640
sam I
Irregular
July 28, 2010 11:12 am

Beginners should read this and follow.Very practical,easy to follow.They have branched out some ? to make money or they really think there is a need for it.

cautious
cautious
August 7, 2010 9:27 am

Subscribed 7 months ago, mainly on review recos. Conventional, run of the mill picks, really disappointing.
Usually climbs on the bandwagon when it has gone most of the way already. You can accomplish the same by following most conventional free advice after some due diligence, and save your subscription money.

TerryM
Guest
TerryM
November 7, 2010 2:52 pm

I have subscribed to the Cabot Market Letter since 1997. I have them charge my credit card $20 monthly for my subscription.

I have always been impressed with Cabot’s ability to pick winning stocks. They have a great record over the years, and they have the best overall record of any of the several different newsletters that I track. Their model portfolio is up 23% in the first 10 months of 2010, and up 80% since I started tracking it in 2004.

Cabot does not try for a diversified portfolio. They always go for growth. They never have more than 12 stocks in the model portfolio. This makes it easy to follow their buy/sell operations if you wish to do so.

If they have a fault, it is that they do always not sell winning stocks early enough. Sometimes they wait for a profitable stock that has taken a big hit to “come back”. And sometimes they do, but more often they do not.

Cabot does have a 20% maximum loss from the initial buy price policy. This protects them from major losses and they never violate that rule.

Overall, a great letter. I would highly recommend it.

Add a Topic
1640
Add a Topic
1640
Add a Topic
5971