Canadian Edge

If you’ve subscribed to Canadian Edge, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 2 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 2.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

32 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Midge
Guest
Midge
March 11, 2009 12:11 pm

Roger consistently up-dates you through email; he recommends selling appropriately; keeps you up to date on Canadian Government changes, etc. A value investor approach. Have gotten the letter for several years.

Joan
Guest
Joan
March 11, 2009 3:53 pm

Roger knows his stuff in the energy/utility space. Have subscribed to this since its inception after enj Utility Forecaster for years. His problem was that he started a newsletter in an arena that got overly trendy (CRTs). You have to add a bit of your own common sense when you subscribe to a sector newsletter like this not to get carried away buying when the sector gets overly popular and overpriced. He is very clear on what’s safe or risky and why, and on his rationale for his recommendations, which is very helpful in

Add a Topic
1018
newowl
Member
newowl
March 20, 2009 1:27 pm

In addition to the good advice, recommended portfolios etc. Canadian Edge provides updated (20 min. behind) stock quotes on many canadian trusts and corporations. This is a really valueable service. They also provide a link to another service which gives you the ability to review past data on these stocks and also charts to compare relative past performance of up to five stocks at a time. YOu really get your money’s worth with this newsletter. The only possible negative is that he has tended in the past to be a little slow in calling ‘sells’. But he does have a watchlist and gives you all the info. you need to make that decision yourself before he does. I have been a subscriber for over two years.

Add a Topic
993
Add a Topic
5971
Phil
Phil
March 25, 2009 5:35 pm

I subscribed to Canadian Edge when the service was started about 5 years ago. Roger provides you with a ton of data (in easy to read tables) on all the stocks he covers (safety ratings, payout ratios, dividends, reserves, buy sell hold etc.) I got out of the service not long after the Halloween Massacre of Royalty Trusts by the peoples republic of Alberta. Until that out of the blue move by the govt to change the tax structure on trusts I was doing great with Rogers service generating great dividends and capital growth. He gives his in depth analysis on each stock in multiple portfolios so you know how to select your risk level as minimal, moderate or high. I would highly recommend this service to anyone that is looking for dividend income. Roger keeps you well informed.

Add a Topic
993
Add a Topic
152
Add a Topic
2656
Klibros
Guest
July 9, 2009 6:18 pm

I have subscribed to this newsletter twice and just canceled my current subscription.

The newsletter is extensive and covers an enormous number of Canadian resource stocks. The monthly ratings are useful. BUT and it is a big BUT there is no advice about ‘bailing out’ of stocks with falling prices, no suggestion about using ‘stop loss’ strategies.

Instead there are ‘rosy’ reports on stocks as they drop 25%, 35% and even 65%. Perhaps ‘all in good time’ works for those with large bank accounts who can wait out months and years of down time but for me, I expect a newsletter to be a bit more pragmatic.

My Canadian Edge portfolio is down by 22 – 62% and all the Canadian Edge stocks I own are have been ‘buys’ all the way down. Only one was rated a sell and that after it had already dropped by 50%.

So — there is an air of authority in the writing but somehow the newsletter appears more sanguine than practical for those of us who do not have thousands to lose. A dividend of 14% looks good but not when a stock drops by 50% to sustain that dividend – and there is no warning to subscribers that it might be good to ‘bail out’ early on.

Add a Topic
993
Add a Topic
993
Add a Topic
5971
RE
Guest
RE
July 16, 2009 3:33 pm

Overall a good letter and I also have been using the Utility Forecaster for my parents accounts. They claim to know company management, insiders, etc. so I was very surprised they had no hint or clue as to the October Massacre where most of their recommendations were decimated…more than a bit disappointing. I held on to most of the holdings and they did make a good bounce back, but I cant say I will trust them again…

Add a Topic
1018
gps
Guest
gps
July 17, 2009 10:44 am

Subscriber for 4 years. Best newsletter to which I’ve ever subscribed. Thorough, well written, objective. Really like Conrad’s style and conservative, thoughtful approach. He clearly knows more about Cantrusts than any other writer out there. Extremely educational and informative.

Gary
Guest
Gary
August 13, 2009 9:42 am

For information on the health of Canadian trusts, this is an excellent newsletter. For buildinng a portfolio of high-dividend-paying investments, this newsletter is also excellent. I have been a subscriber for about four years now. Here are the shortcomings of this newsletter as I see them:
1. Each issue contains far too much reading and information. He tries to cover too many trusts and in too much detail. He should devote 95% of his reporting on only those trusts in his two portfolios, which would reduce the size substantially.
2. The material is definitely slanted to the dividend side at the expense of capital gains. He offers NO tables of trust price performance over 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 1 year and three years, such as we get from Morningstar for US securities. A trust unit price could be cratering and you wouldn’t be told this in any summarized manner. It’s almost as if Mr. Conrad doesn’t want you to know how your investment VALUE is doing on a monthly basis. Canadian trust performance for the past three years has been dismal, but this information is not brought forward in a clear manner, as such knowledge would no doubt endanger the customer base.
3. The price is RIGHT but only if the above two suggestions were addressed and fixed.

Add a Topic
1823
CE subscriber
Guest
CE subscriber
October 30, 2009 12:52 pm

Was a subscriber in 2008. Lost money in all his picks.
A useless newsletter, better avoid.

Soupy
Guest
Soupy
January 10, 2010 7:40 pm

Have been a subscriber for 2 plus years and have been happy with the results. Roger puts a lot of work into this and his guidance during this last year was very good, not perfect but very good.

I have added and own all but 3 of every position in the aggressive and conservative portfolio, and as of today, and for some time, every position is well in the money and the dividends are paid right on time.

Have met Roger a few times at the money shows and he is a very down to earth person and I believe he (and all at KCI)do their very best for the subscribers.

Add a Topic
152
Woodinville Sucker
Guest
Woodinville Sucker
January 19, 2010 9:34 pm

For awhile Roger provided interesting picks, and seemed to be on top of things. But then came the October Surprise when the funds dropped immensely. Looking back, one can see a drop in most of the stocks affected 2 days previous to the Canadian announcement, but Riger did not seem to know anything. Obviously others were in the loop, but not him. He never asnwered questions about this. I would also concur with the previous statement on 14% dividends being useless with a plummeting stock price. Quite accurate.

Add a Topic
152
Add a Topic
5971