Contrarian Income Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.1/5. From 135 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 643 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Contrarian Income Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 199 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 199 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 85 Votes
  • 4 Stars 62 Votes
  • 3 Stars 21 Votes
  • 2 Stars 11 Votes
  • 1 Stars 20 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 153 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 153 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 78 Votes
  • 4 Stars 42 Votes
  • 3 Stars 16 Votes
  • 2 Stars 6 Votes
  • 1 Stars 11 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 156 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 156 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 95 Votes
  • 4 Stars 27 Votes
  • 3 Stars 15 Votes
  • 2 Stars 6 Votes
  • 1 Stars 13 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 135 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 135 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 65 Votes
  • 4 Stars 39 Votes
  • 3 Stars 16 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 10 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

62 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
76erb
76erb
1 year ago

Last night I watched one of Stansberry’s cohorts, Dr. David Eifrig, recommend MIC in his Income Intelligence letter. MIC is one of Mr. Owen’s recommendations. BTW, Doc Eifrig also recommended BX.

Add a Topic
2186
Add a Topic
996
👍 9
amjmbd
amjmbd
1 year ago

You don’t take anyone’s advice blindly, why would you do it here? I find that Brett “narrows the field” for me. I’ll then use CEF Connect to do some diligence (UII, leverage, etc.), my broker to get up to the minute info, then pass or play. True, I’ve done a lot of passing but, after a year, I’m happy with the results. Of course timing has a huge impact. The key is, as many fellow subscribers have said, that this vehicle is primarily for income generation and, much less so, if at all, for appreciation alone.

Add a Topic
931
Add a Topic
4448
Add a Topic
996
👍 28
Jay
Jay
1 year ago

I’ve been a subscriber for about 2-years now, and fully support Brett’s approach and analysis, but you have to understand the goal is dividend INCOME and dividend growth, versus just share price growth. He recommends investments selling at a discount to NAV, so there is some implied share price growth potential on top of the dividend income stream. I have grown to really appreciate his “Contrarian” mindset, and to listen to him when he recommends selling a particular investment.

If you’re looking for the next 10X bagger, this isn’t the newsletter for you, but if you are looking to build a portfolio of income investments, then I recommend it. Doesn’t mean you can stop paying attention or doing your own homework, but I have found the approach to be very effective.

Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
2821
👍 15
Gordon
Gordon
1 year ago

I’m an old retired guy, who invest for income. Most of my picks have come from gleaning information posted by others on line. I’ve always used my $4.95 a month subscription to Weiss Ratings as a final filter. If a position doesn’t rate a B- or higher, I pass on it. Thus far that has always worked well for me. Many of Brett’s picks or C- or lower. I mark the ones that interest me on my Weiss watch list, and if they I eventually get an upgrade alert they’ve made it to B- I’ll consider a position. Not rocket science, but it’s been good so far!

Add a Topic
996
Mickeymike
Mickeymike
1 year ago
Reply to  Gordon

Thanks for the post. Like your thesis. Which sub is 4.95? i only see 29.95/month on Weiss.

alanbrooks29
alanbrooks29
1 year ago
Reply to  Mickeymike

Mickymike is right – I too only see a 29.95 per month price, which I find a little steep..

realitybytez
realitybytez
10 months ago
Reply to  alanbrooks29

it’s not $4.95 a month. it’s $495 for the first two years. gordon probably forgot how much he paid. there is a $999 lifetime subscription. if you spread that out over 17 years, it works out to about $4.95 a month.

👍 25
Tex
Tex
9 months ago
Reply to  Mickeymike

Checking the site on this day (11.24.19) and see a subscription option for something called “Weiss Ratings Access” for $4.97/mo. Not sure if this is a targeted offer or limited time. This is different than the “Platinum” plan you guys are describing, which was $24.97 as of this date.
Hope this helps if you sign up.

realitybytez
realitybytez
9 months ago
Reply to  Tex

not sure how you found it, but after doing some more digging i can confirm. here is a link to the sign-up page for the weiss ratings access. note that you do not get any of the other premium services that are offered on the site. you only have access to the ratings.
https://weissratings.com/subscribe/access?e=201BEE48

kitkat73
kitkat73
15 days ago
Reply to  Gordon

How did you get a 4.95 /month membership? I looked and it is more than double that amount?

👍 10
Armando Villavicencio
Armando Villavicencio
1 year ago

I checked the claims on Brett’s latest mailing “How to Retire on 8% Dividends Paid Monthly”. None of the ten funds come even close to his claims. Let’s take a look a just a couple.
1. BlackRock Science & Tech – BST claims 5 yr ave. return of 22.32%. 5-yr price change was 23.62% or about 4.72% annual average (simple) gain. Assume today’s yield of 5.55% plus 4.72% capital gains only adds up to 10.27%, not bad but nowhere close to the 22.32% claimed.
2. BlackRock Health Sciences – BME claims 5-yr ave. return of 14.34%. 5-yr price change was 12.68% or about 2.54% annual average (simple) gain. Assume today’s yield of 5.96% plus 2.54% capital gains only adds up to 8.5%, decent but nowhere close to the 14.34% claimed.
All the other results were materially lower than the claims made in the marketing material.

Add a Topic
152
matrixgeo
1 year ago

Hey members thanks for all your information , specific examples and comments. I am evaluating CIR and Stockgumshoe is one of my first stops. It looks pretty disappointing .
Can anyone tell me how with so many negative reveiews CIR gets an overall 4.1 stars…??????
Can anyone pont to other resources to evaluate reports and letters.
I dont ever see any mention of Harvard Trained veteran newsletter evaluator Mark Hulbert & his rigoris evaluation & commentary!
Confused!

Hittman
Hittman
1 year ago