Energy and Scarcity Investor

If you’ve subscribed to Energy and Scarcity Investor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Value For Price

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Farley 5
Farley 5
February 27, 2009 2:53 pm

Energy & Scarcity Investor – Agora Byron King
Byron’s strange picks without regard to technical analysis.
Returns in reverse purchase order: +15.50, +63.57, -61.31, -85.05, -58.11, -57.17, -68.18, -67.00, -56.85, -63.75, -78.38, -74.23, -80.26, -58.26, -62.22, -77.47, & -62.86%.
Byron is loathe to sell anything and as you can see above, his portfolio really hurt his investors. Don’t know why he does not at least have stop loss orders in place. Stupid!

Add a Topic
6137
Add a Topic
6137
Add a Topic
687
armour e. black
Irregular
armour e. black
March 24, 2009 11:06 am

PURCHASED THE WHOLE AGORA FINANCIAL RESERVE AND THEN CANCELED. LOST SIGNIFICANT DOLLARS OVERALL. OF COURSE, I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR MY CHOICES AS THEY CAN PICK OUT THEIR WINNERS FOR ADS. FOR EXAMPLE. THE GEOTHERMAL THESIS HE HAS BEEN PREACHING FOREVER ,IT SEEMS. I BOT ALL 5 COMPANIES $,5,000.00 IN EACH AND IF I SOLD NOW WOULD LOSE ALL INVESTMENT.(HEY,IF ONE DOES NOT SELL THERE IS NO LOSS,RIGHT?)AS GUMSHOE IRREGULAR I AM NOT DOING MUCH BETTER BUT A LOT MORE ENTERTAINMENT FOR MY DOLLARS AND TIME. THANKS

Add a Topic
6137
Add a Topic
200
HFJ
Guest
HFJ
November 17, 2010 10:30 am

Remarkable newsletter with more speculative and risky stocks than the ones picked by Byron King for his OI (Agora) newsletter.Patience can be required for some stocks :o)

Add a Topic
687
Add a Topic
6137
CC
Guest
CC
February 10, 2011 4:23 pm

Have only been subscribed for about 7 months now but I’m sitting on one 200%+ gain, three 100%+ gains, one 80% gain, one 40% gain and have closed out a few “modest” 40-50% gains so far. No losers yet but it has been a major bull market for commodity stocks over the time that I’ve been subscribed. The review that mentioned Byron’s lack of using trailing stops is accurate…and that hurt me with some picks in his Outstanding Investments newsletter with the ’08 crash and the Gulf spill. However many of those stocks did recover from their falls and some are even up now. Byron is a buy-and-hold investor and I will let him explain why in his own words:

“The idea behind ESI is to look out over the medium to long term. That is, we’re looking at companies with development plans over 18 months, 36 months, maybe four years or longer. For the most part, I like seeing a two-three-year horizon, but four years is OK if the project is intriguing.

I don’t worry too much about day-to-day share price gyrations. There’s a lot of volatility in the Canadian junior stocks. The traders in Vancouver and Toronto can run a stock up or down short term. It’s a fact of life, and you have to deal with it.

Basically, I’m looking for companies with deep value. Resources in the ground. Solid management. Ability to raise capital. Ability to execute. And as I’ve said many times, ESI is not a trading service.”

Add a Topic
365
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
899
Fred
Member
Fred
May 16, 2011 8:03 pm

Bought service in February of 2011. Have lost 60%, 38% and 20% in the 3 stocks he recommended. Another stock he advised on buying in an article, I found out through research that he had recommended it 9 months earlier. Within 3 weeks he put a sell on it – thus the boasting of 1000% + gains was bogus.

Add a Topic
5971
pete1265
Member
pete1265
March 20, 2012 6:33 pm

I have taken “Outstanding Investments” for some over one year. I wish that I had saved my $$$. I think that I get more value from more mainstream publications. I am not inclined to go to “Energy and Scarcity.” Joan in Houston

Add a Topic
365
jcoulborn
Member
jcoulborn
February 28, 2013 2:41 pm

Like stock picking in general, your gains/losses in EI will heavily depend on when you invest. BK looked a genius with his natural resource bent through most of the last half decade or so. Then a lot of these picks looked like a nice hole to throw your money in since the junior markets have turned lower. And lower. King does a good job of making you understand at least the bare minimum of the resource investment concepts, which makes it a fascinating letter. However, he frequently doesn’t update on certain stocks, which can be frustrating as your losses continue to mount.

Add a Topic
5971
👍 654
TToedtman
Member
TToedtman
April 26, 2017 8:39 pm

Lost a lot following this newsletter years ago. A lot of speculations that didn’t work. Byron does well when nat-resources are in a bull phase. Spread himself pretty thin with multiple newsletters.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this