Energy Strategist

If you’ve subscribed to Energy Strategist, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Value For Price

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Customer Service

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

9 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Eric Balkan
11 years ago

I subscribed back in 2007 for about 6 months. I also tracked Elliot’s picks before and after that point. I found that his picks did very well when energy stocks were going up, and pretty badly when going down. Well, when you subscribe to a single-sector service, you have to know when to move out of that sector into something else. Elliot won’t tell you, because subscribers are paying him for energy picks and not sector selection.

I was impressed with Elliot’s knowledge of the energy field. There was a lot of good, detailed, background info here. I learned a lot from subscribing, but it’s a pricey way to learn.

RW
RW
10 years ago

“090528Alert–I’m adding US Natural Gas Fund (NYSE: UNG) to the aggressive growth Gushers Portfolio. Buy US Natural Gas Fund under USD16; set a stop-loss at USD12.35 to protect your downside….today’s natural gas storage report was bearish. However, in response to this release, natural gas prices soared. This is the clearest sign you’ll find that all the bad news is priced into the gas market and there just aren’t any sellers out there to push gas prices lower.”

Following this rec would have lost you 23% in no time at all!
I could not believe this recommendation which I therefore did not follow. As I’m sure you now know, UNG dropped below $9 earlier this month. Is it any wonder that I cancelled my trial subscription? How could anybody claiming expertise make such a recommendation in the face of all the evidence to the contrary? I wonder how many poor suckers lost their butts on that one alone. BTW getting my money back was a hassle.

Add a Topic
338
Add a Topic
338
Add a Topic
5916
Bill
Bill
10 years ago

Have been a subscriber since October 2008 and started buying picks in Dec. As you can imagine picks have done well – as well as the market in general. The newsletter is very educational and I feel I have a better understanding of the sector. I like the “How they rate” which rate other stocks in the sector that aren’t in the recommendation portfolios. I would recommend being careful about using short-loss – some of these picks can be volatile. I picked up an MLP at a 30% discount on May 6. Anyway, it is expensive but I plan on keeping it.

Bill
Bill
10 years ago

Have been receiving the newsletter since Sep 2008. As you can imagine, picks have done well – similar to the Dow. The newsletter is very informative. I’ve learned a lot about the sector and about the individual picks. Based on my own investigations into recommended picks I feel pretty comfortable that the staff put in a good effort into understanding the sector and evaluating sector companies.

Add a Topic
4194
John
John
9 years ago

This service drove me half crazy. Gue is almost infinitely knowledgeable–and he is
determined to tell all of it all the time, which makes him maddeningly prolix. An online
issue would come in with, typically, 19 pages of detailed text to read.

What I wanted was crisp conclusions, based on exhaustive knowledge, not endless
lectures as from a university lectern. I much regret ever having subscribed to this
venture in excess.

Brichard
Brichard
9 years ago

Have subscribed for over a year paying $99/qtr. I feel that Elliot Gue is very knowledgable in the energy field. He provides a lot of information to his subscribers and in such significant detail that I often have to read the monthly reports twice in order to fully absorb all the detail. He also has online subscriber “chats” where he answers any and all questions about every six weeks. I also subscribe to Utility Forecaster and there is some overlap between the two publications. I have had mostly profitable experiences with both. My only caution is that both authors (Gue and Conrad), appear to be buy and hold enthusiasts. This is somewhat understandable in the utility and energy sectors. However, as an investor since 1980, I have lived through the tech and banking bubbles and managed to avoid serious damage to my portfolio in each instance. I have learned it is much better to make a bit less in a bull market than to try to come back from a big loss in a bear market. The point being that Conrad and Gue are good stock pickers, and I have made very solid gains following them since Sept 2009, but I do not use them for general market timing.
I have had 40%+ gains on many of their recommendations.
LINE,EROC,PVR,KMP,SDRL are a few price winners. But, the best thing is that all of these are very solid dividend payers and I was able to buy at prices that resulted in all of them paying 7-10% dividends, and the dividend in each case is fairly well protected.
For my money, these are two of the best investment advisors available and especially when you consider the prices of their publications.

Add a Topic
1018
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
152
TC
TC
9 years ago

A phenominal newsletter that will educate you on the markets that are covered, and most importantly, make you money. I have subscribed to many newsletters over the years, and this is by far one of the best.

Bill Kerler
Bill Kerler
9 years ago

For over 8 years I have subscribed to KCI starting with Roger Conrad, then Neil George and now Elliot Gue. Yes,they have made me wealthy with their advice. Elliot is arrogant as an English priss is bound to be. But his foundation is strong analyzing stock recommendations. He is not only limited to Energy picks. In his Personal Finance newsletter he and his team cover the spectrum of stocks intelligently. I think his marketing department goes overboard writing up sales pitches like Bakken, but Gue is first rate, albeit conceited.

Add a Topic
669
Add a Topic
3221
Add a Topic
5971
Robert Lester
Robert Lester
8 years ago

Mr. Gue’s teasers are poetic, like the “Greek goddess of shipping” which refers to Angeliki Frangou, founder of Navios Maritime and Navios Maritime Partners, the MLP teased recently. However, the teased stocks may be old news, and are not necessarily on Mr. Gue’s buy list.
Nevertheless, being on board, and “paid up”, I find the information is valuable to me. Although the $600 or so price tag is steep. The web site has a search tool so you can find any mentions in ES articles of a company you are interested
in. Perhaps Elliot Gue and Roger Conrad should provide a discounted “all you can eat” bouffet for those who want Entergy Strategist, Canadian Edge, Australian Edge and the rest of what these two publish.

Add a Topic
340
Add a Topic
340
Add a Topic
669

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

More Info