Expiration Week Countdown

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
2.9
Rating from 9 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Expiration Week Countdown, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 3.0/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 2 votes
Rating: 2.5/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 2 votes
Rating: 3.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 2 votes
Rating: 3.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

15 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jim
Jim
February 15, 2009 1:32 pm

Schaefer.com Expiration Week Countdown

For $200 for the one week of service, during options expiry week Schaefer sends a bunch of picks – when to buy at what price, and when to sell. Pretty clear and easy, for the most part. Unfortunately, their picks have been terrible.

For the December, 2008, option expiry, Shaefer’s recommendations were 9 of 10 big losers.

As a consequence of the poor December performance, Shaefer offered subscribers the January service free. In January there were 15 picks, of which 13 were losers. To be fair, on 2 of the losing picks, you could have made a small profit if you had sold a day or two before Shaefer said to. The last few picks were opened and closed on the same day – all but one for a loss.

Unfortunately, the winners were not such huge winners to make up for the remaining losers. I lost a lot of money both months.

The idea is good, I think, but either Schaefer has a run of bad luck this winter or they just don’t know how to pick them!

Add a Topic
570
Fabian
Irregular
Fabian
April 8, 2009 7:58 pm

To be fair I tried this system only one month and had performance for the month before and received recos for the month after. On a three-month history, there was no way you could make any money with this system. I lost a bunch.

John
John
December 22, 2009 11:19 pm

I have received this service for three months. Each month, during option expiration week, I receive about 12 recommendations for purchase of options that will expire at the end of the week. Most have been calls, some puts, and a few more complex straddles, etc. You receive specific instructions on what to buy and a maximum entry price, then you later receive instructions on when to sell. Of 36 recommendations, only 12 have been winners. With only five days (or less) to expiration, you can be torpedoed by a general market move in the wrong direction. In such a volatile market, I think it is too risky to be locked into such short-term options.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
570
Computer Expert
Guest
Computer Expert
April 11, 2010 10:29 am

I was caught-up in the December mess, never heard about the follow-up freebie in January and when I tried to e-mail and call to get more info, I didn’t get a response for over three weeks.

I just got another invitation and as tempting as it is, I think I’ll pass. Once learned, twice burned.

Kim
Member
Kim
April 12, 2010 8:38 am

To be fair, I did not subscribe to this service, so I would not give any rating.

However, please be advised that according to Hulbert Financial Digest, Bernie Schaeffer’s Option Advisor Aggressive Portfolio lost 20.0% annually since inception in 1982, compared to 10.6% average annual gain of the Wilshire 5000. It makes it probably the worst newsletter ever. Be aware of Bernie Schaeffer’s record.

Lakshmi
Guest
Lakshmi
July 9, 2010 12:06 pm

I subscribed to this service for June 2010. To my recollection, almost all the trade recommendations ended in losses (on top of the $200 service fee). I won’t recommend this service. May be, they got it wrong for last month. However from these reviews, this doesn’t seem like a rare occurrence. Had I read these reviews before, I wouldn’t have subscribed to this service. The risk / reward ratio does not seem good.

As the reviewer “Computer Expert” mentioned, I got this month’s invitation. I’ll pass it too.

wes
wes
July 9, 2010 12:48 pm

Quick Strike Trader
Hyperion Financial

I think we all may have seen the top forming. It was too good to be true. The markets rally was held up by vapors.
So, i decided to subscribe to a premium service for professional guidance, and some extra cash, through the coming downtrend. I figured leveraged ETFs would be the way to go. I had already been taking several Hyperion services. Penny Stock Breakouts was having a rough time making any strong returns and it was a buy and hold service. Not quite right for the coming test of 3/09 levels. One would think that for $895 you would be buying a higher quality of technical expertise. IT HAS TURNED OUT TO BE A MISERABLE ERROR. Eight recos to date seven losers and one meager 9% winner. Keep in mind we’re trading leveraged ETFs. I began with normal position sizing and by the end i was down to 1/2 my normal position size. I still lost more than the cost of the sub.. When i talked with the customer service “manager” she informed me that “it wouldn’t be fair” to her “other” clients if she gave me a full refund 65 days into the sub. – their cutoff is 60 days full / pro-rated after. The last losing trade closed yesterday (day 64).
You’ve got a lousy service, Hyperion. A money losing service. But you want to keep my money on “technical” grounds. Give me a break. Had the service also given helpful technical advice along with your picks it may be something else. A scant description of support on one reco.. A dribble of reasoning on another. I forwarded several “reasonable” technical questions to Correy and not a single answer. You guys are playing like know-it-all brokers. “We know better than you so we don’t have to answer your plebeian questions.” That’s the customer service angle.
I can’t think of one redeeming quality of this experience.
I wish the 5 consistency stars had no effect on overall rating cause Correy was VERY consistent(ly) (off his game). So 5 stars for consistency.

Add a Topic
1836
Add a Topic
1836
Add a Topic
5971
Adam
Guest
Adam
July 13, 2010 7:07 am

I tried Schaeffers “Experation week” and they are Consistently wrong!! every trade was Wrong!! don’t wast your money.

Adam
Guest
Adam
July 30, 2010 9:26 am

I tried this service and it SUCKS….stay away from Shaeffers, Ive tried a few of there services and there all Bad.

Larry
Guest
Larry
September 11, 2010 5:17 pm

My overall returns from this subscription service in the past have always been tempered with the many additional recommendations/ideas that do not work out so well, so one needs to be aware of the overall picture here in terms of trying to achieve any semblance of consistent profitability. Having said that, some additional technical/fundamental analysis and/or research on one’s part is always required in order to proactively eliminate the additional recommendations or ideas that won’t work out in order to increase one’s level of profitability (i.e., don’t blindly follow all of the recommendations that they make). I find that this service will recommend a few nice winners for you, but you’ll definitely have to be able to weed out the non-winners (or losers) that also get recommended in order to make the service a profitable venture on a consistent basis. In fact, I’ve gotten to the point where I will weed out all but one or two of the recommendations during each expiration week of each month. For example, last month (August, 2010) I eliminated from consideration all of the recommendations offered but one, which was one of the Netflix (NFLX) call options that was set to expire at the end of that week (Call -> NFLX -> AUG 21, 2010 -> Strike Price $110). I selected this particuar one out of the bunch they recommended due to the recent high levels of volatility associated with NFLX’s stock price and volume at the times. And this particular option call did quite well that week (i.e., more than enough to cover the cost of my annual subscription). In a nutshell one is usually able to select one or two winners to play with from their list of recommendations made each expiration month; but my experience has been that most of them are usually worth ignoring after doing a little bit of research on them. Doing one’s homework is definitely required here. Hope this helps!

Add a Topic
342
Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
5971