Extreme Value

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.2/5. From 24 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 106 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Extreme Value, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 10 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 4 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 25 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 25 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 17 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 26 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 26 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 9 Votes
  • 4 Stars 11 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 24 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 24 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

24 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Herb
Herb
February 17, 2009 8:50 am

Gumshoe,
I lost money on them, what more can I say? Can’t buy everything.
On an aside, speaking of gold, would like to see your discussion of Giurino’s email blasts regarding buy bonds and sell gold. Which bonds, which golds, and how to proceed?
Thanks for your great effort for us, much appreciated and respected.
Herb

Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
718
Add a Topic
210
Rob L.
Rob L.
March 21, 2009 8:48 am

I would probably edge this up to five stars if not for the author’s insistence on “buy and hold.” Some markets (cf. 2008-09) are NOT made for a stubborn buy-and-hold investor, and require a bit more mobility.

Having said that, Dan’s analysis is usually spot on, and his emphasis on financially secure companies (especially for current investment) has been well worth following.

joe
Guest
joe
March 21, 2009 8:53 am

I was a subscriber to Dan Ferris’ Extreme Value. If you are a value player and can wait out the storm it is a top-notch letter. For the common man it is ridiculously priced and maybe Dan wants it that way. Unlike the other Stansberry editors who used stops to avoid the beating the market just went through Ferris is the true value buy and hold investor. I admire his fortitude, but it’s not much fun to watch a portfolio plummet while paying $800 a year for the newsletter. The other editors at Stansberry have been very flexible in avoiding the market carnage. Ferris’ strategy is long term and I think he is one of the best value analysts out there, the letter just doesn’t suit my style which is more akin to PSIA by Porter Stansberry which is run like a great hedge fund without the fees. The 12% Letter is also excellent. Tom Dyson has shifted gears without shifting focus and his advice is working.

Add a Topic
1020
Add a Topic
182
Add a Topic
388
JohnnyHeck
Guest
JohnnyHeck
April 25, 2009 11:29 am

Dan is an ardent fan of what he understands as the Warren Buffet methodology of buy value and hold forever. But unlike Buffet, Dan is forced to modify value based on the prevailing winds in order to come up with new stock picks even in an overvalued market. Also unlike Buffet, Dan believes that companies that buy back their stock at higher than book value prices are actually returning money to their shareholders – you just try to spend of that “money”! Because he is too young to understand prolonged bear markets and does not need income from his investments, Dan does not seem to understand the value of dividends and how their absolute level really determines whether a stock is undervalued or not. Dan really believes in his picks as true value but seems to get a little hyper lately as he detects that his subscriber base does not appreciate trying to catch “falling knives” because he is early in his selection.

I subscribed to Dan’s letter for almost 3 months during the “free look” period. But because his porfolio has not got any income strategy and he has no capital preservation strategy, I didn’t think a person nearing retirement like myself could live with it happily.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
996
JPL
Guest
JPL
March 6, 2010 9:54 pm

Hi, Folks,

The comments below relate to Steve, who had recently asked for help in the “Chris Weber..” review, “to improve my finances through investing.” So I’m taking this opportunity to make a review of “Extreme Value”.

“Steve, you mentioned that you’re very cautious. That is a good thing – i.e. to consider the risks before investing any money, and you want safety.

Please consider Extreme Value, from Stansberry & Associates. It’s a very good newsletter.

Pros :
Dan Ferris has recommended many good quality stocks at a “cheap” price. For example, he recommended IEP at $22, now it’s nearly $50. But please don’t buy it now, because it’s above his recommended price. ROY was recommended when it traded at about $2.50, and it was recently bought by Royal Gold at more than $7.

He recommends stocks only when he believes they’re good picks.

His recons are good for patient investors, like the “buy & hold” type. If you want safety, and don’t want to trade too much, then please use proper position sizing.

If you “have never invested before” as you indicated, then you’ll learn a lot by becoming a subscriber. They also have a free “S&A Digest” to all subscribers, which is very educational, interesting and fun to read. You’ll learn how to invest, be given excellent stock picks, and how to invest safely.

They have a money back guarantee, less 10%, in case you decide to cancel.

Cons:
Dan doesn’t use stop-loss orders. Rationale is that the recommended price is already very good. And if stock goes lower, then it’s an even better buy.

Because he recommends stocks only when he believes they’re good picks, sometimes the subscriber receives no recon for several months. It might try your patience.

If you want safety, you need to be disciplined not to add to your positions after stock goes up above recommended price.

Regular price of Extreme Value was $1000 when I subscribed, sometimes half price.

If you should decide to subscribe and invest, please don’t put so much money at risk, that if and when stock goes down, lest you’ll suffer unbearable financial paper loss or mental stress.

Disclosure: I’m an “Extreme Value” subscriber, very satisfied with his newsletter, and presented my opinions, only because you asked for help. Also, I’ll be posting this on the “Extreme Value” review, if you don’t mind.

I hope the above helps.”

JPL
03-06-2010

Add a Topic
2565
Add a Topic
182
Add a Topic
182
J. McLeod
Member
J. McLeod
April 7, 2010 2:36 pm

I have subscribrd to extreme Value Newsletter for a little over 2 years. It has provided me with cosistent winners . Some take a few months to develop but I would say his winners have out weighted his losers by 80%. Several of his recommendations, such as Roy were up over 100%. Altius and Sprott, actually trade lower after his reco, before they started climbing. I think one should trade his reco’s with at least a 3 yr. time frame.

Add a Topic
182
adi
Guest
adi
May 3, 2010 4:18 pm

I would probably edge this up to five stars if not for the author’s insistence on “buy and hold.”
Having said that, Dan’s analysis is usually spot on, and his emphasis on financially secure companies (especially for current investment) has been well worth following

R. George
Member
R. George
October 7, 2010 10:14 am

It has been a few years since I subscribed to Extreme Value, but I remember the picks did not do very well for me, especially at the expensive price of subscriptions. I subscribed at a special price of
$700, below the regular price of $1,000. I got a quick refund during the trial period and was glad I did. I have had much better advice from several of Stansberry’s other pubs.

Add a Topic
182
Grand Poobah
Irregular
Grand Poobah
December 22, 2010 12:01 pm

No newsletter will always give you great advice. The burden of coming up with new picks each month is too great. That said, Dan Ferris is better than most. He researches companies more deeply and focuses on valuation, which suits my needs. Some of his picks, such as Tejon Ranch, have not gone anywhere for years, which makes me wonder why they’re still picks, but I have made good money on others. I have read his newsletter for more than five years, and it’s my favorite at Stansberry. My worry is that now that Ferris is also writing The 12% Letter he will be spread too thin. Newsletters often go through cycles, as marketing concerns or the extra demands brought on by past success kick in.

Add a Topic
1020
Add a Topic
1396
Add a Topic
6