Ferris’ “The Hands-Down, No. 1 Pick of My Career” Pitch

What's the Extreme Value pitch about? They say "ONE Stock Could Return 20x Long Term and Save Your Retirement in the Coming Crash"

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, March 5, 2019

We’re seeing a lot of questions this week about a new promo from Stansberry for Dan Ferris’ Extreme Value (currently $1,499, no refunds), so that’s our focus for today.

Here’s the intro to the ad “presentation,” which is staged as an interview Stansberry’s Jared Kelly did with Ferris… including plenty of 60 Minutes-style back-and-forth in someone’s parlor, along with a chat while they walk around the neighborhood with a trailing camera. Say what you will about the silliness of these teaser ads (and I’ll agree with you), but they are at least looking more professional these days.

“For the First Time in Six Years:

Stansberry’s Most Secretive Analyst Comes Forward –

“Says ONE Stock Could Return 20x Long Term and Save Your Retirement in the Coming Crash

‘If I had to put all my money in one stock, this would be it.'”

There’s a lot more of that chatter about how this secretive analyst begrudgingly agreed to appear on camera for an hour to discuss this idea, just because this is the “single opportunity he’s spent over 20 years searching for in the markets” … as if Ferris isn’t a newsletter writer whose livelihood depends on recruiting new subscribers every few months.

To be fair, Extreme Value is not promoted as aggressively as many letters, and that might in part be because Dan Ferris doesn’t come out with a new idea every month — he has gone for years with only an occasional new recommendation, I’m told, which must be hard for marketers to work with, and so he cultivates the image of the curmudgeonly value investor who waits around for years for the right buying opportunity (that might be too cynical of me, that may actually be his personality and not just a cultivated image… but that’s how Ferris is sold to us).

So what is it that he’s recommending now? Here’s how Kelly prefaces it:

“Considering the accuracy of his recent warnings, you might think I’ve cancelled all my meetings and taken a 5-man crew from Baltimore to the Pacific Northwest simply to record another gloomy message about the market’s dire prospects going forward.

“But that’s not what’s happening.

“Just the opposite.

“I’ve made this decision because the man you’re about to meet has agreed to share a secret that he says could quite literally save your retirement in the next few years if you take action today.

“He’s told us that he considers this THE single best investment opportunity he’s ever run across in more than 20 years. And predicts it could easily see a return of 20 times your money, over the long haul.”

And the “interview” with Kelly includes plenty of those quotes about this exciting opportunity:

“I’ve been analyzing stocks for well over 20 years.

“And I recently found the one to beat them all. It’s the single best opportunity I’ve ever found.

“It’s not even close. I don’t know how I can be any clearer.”

And, as we get a bit further through the interview, it becomes clear that this is about gold… which he says is where “people always, always put their money to protect their wealth when the world is coming apart.”

Which jibes well with his general bearish stance about the overvaluation that’s rampant in the markets. It’s clearly not just a “buy gold” recommendation, though, since, as Kelly notes in the interview, “there’s no way gold is going to go up 2,000%.”

And Ferris is not recommending a gold miner, which is the popular way to play gold with a lot of leverage since sometimes a nice gold discovery made during a gold bull market can get you 10X gains quickly. He says this is an investment with a much wider ‘margin of safety.’

Which means this is starting to sound a little bit familiar… I wonder if Ferris is pitching the same stock he touted a little over a year ago as his favorite gold investment, and then repeated a couple times in 2018. That would make the urgency of this special “interview” seem a bit odd, no?

We’ll keep an open mind, as usual, and check the clues first…

Next clue? Ferris says this is “The world’s next great royalty company.”

Crud. That makes it sound even more like this is a repeat of an older idea. But still, open minds, open hearts, we’re looking for more clues. From the ad:

“A ‘royalty’ is a payment you receive over and over again from a single asset. You can either buy a royalty-paying asset with cash… or you can earn royalties from something you created yourself… like a book….

“But new opportunities to get in on these potentially lifelong income streams don’t come around very often.

“The secret of the royalty business is having the knowledge and discipline to tap into a stream of royalties worth far more than the upfront cost to acquire them.”

I love royalties too, of course, and have invested in quite a few royalty-based investments over the years, so I’m still open that idea. But is this still the same “royalty” stock he pitched in the past?

More clues? It’s not Franco-Nevada (FNV), Royal Gold (RGLD) or Wheaton Precious Metals (WPM), which Kelly mentions in the interview (those are the three biggest mining royalty companies):

“Dan Ferris: Those are great companies. But they’re not what I’m recommending today. They’re nowhere near as good and I would be extremely surprised if any of them produced gains even half as big as this opportunity, no matter what happens to gold.”

And though he mentions Altius Minerals (ALS.TO, ATUSF), another royalty company (and one of my larger personal holdings), that’s not the recommendation today (Ferris says Altius was his no. 1 recommendation for years, and the huge number of teaser pitches about it we covered can vouch for that… and still would be no. 1, if not for this secret stock being touted today).

So yes, we’re coming down to the details and it’s seeming more and more like this is a repeat. But I continue to live in the present, and I’m trying to look with fresh eyes… what else are we told?

“Throughout our conversation, Dan refers to this unusual company as ‘the Best Gold Business on Earth.’

“And while the obvious connection is that it collects millions of dollars a day from gold…

“What interests Dan is the extremely unusual way it does so – a little known secret of the gold market that has nothing to do with mining or exploration….

“…and comes with less financial risk even than other royalty firms like Franco Nevada and Royal Gold.”

He also says that this stock could double or triple even if gold stays flat and nothing goes right, and would have to rise 50% to get to “a basic fair valuation,” but that the real opportunity for 20X returns is if the gold market goes bonkers again.

More clues:

“The Best Gold Business on Earth collects a fat, steady royalty-type payment not on a mining operation… but on a big chunk of the gold market itself.

“They essentially take a cut based on people’s desire to own gold.”

So yep, this is the same idea he was talking up a year ago. More clues come in the form of his references to “Mr. X,” who had “legendary” returns with his investment funds and is a key source for Ferris, and whose business was bought by the “best gold business on earth” for “upwards of $80 million.”

And that’s clearly a reference to Rick Rule, who has been a huge friend to natural resources newsletters everywhere and a big promoter of junior mining investments, and whose Global Resource Investments was bought by Sprott for something like $80-90 million in stock in 2013 (Rule is still a Sprott executive).

So yes, Dan Ferris is still touting Sprott, Inc. (SII.TO, SPOXF) as the “Best Gold Business on Earth,” with language that’s pretty similar to the past ads that drove questions our way and led to an article that we published in late February then re-shared when questions came in again in April and August of 2018.

So it’s been a year and a week since Extreme Value was first heavily promoted using this “best gold business” idea… and so far the shares have lost about 16% (including dividneds) while gold is down about 3% (if you go back a bit further than 2/28/18 to get rid of the impact that Ferris’ publicity had on the Sprott share price, it’s a little better — from 2/5/18 to today gold is down 4% and Sprott is down 7%).

That doesn’t mean it’s a terrible idea, but it does mean we have to divorce the notion of whether this is an interesting investment idea from the notion that Ferris or the Stansberry marketing machine is going to be able to pinpoint the absolute best time to buy the stock. It’s that urgency of the “once in a lifetime” stock idea and the “we convinced him to go on camera for the first time” language that gets the blood racing, and that kind of urgency is critical to selling newsletters… people don’t cough up $1,499 easily, they need to be pushed into thinking that this is an “act now!” moment.

So we’ll ignore that and just step past the “this is the key moment for gold” or for Sprott language, since Ferris obviously doesn’t know that and none of the other pundits do, either… what’s interesting about Sprott, and how has their business gone lately?

Well, this is where I need to tell you that I now own a little bit of Sprott. I didn’t last year when I covered this ad, but when the shares fell apart while gold was doing OK I did open a small position.

So in order to avoid reinventing the wheel, I’ll just share with you what I wrote to the Irregulars on January 4 when I added a small Sprott position to the Real Money Portfolio (I also added to my much larger Sandstorm Gold and Altius Minerals positions at that time)… what follows first appeared in the Friday File (which all Irregulars get), and has been lightly updated.

I still agree that Sprott shares are likely to be levered to gold, mostly because of the Canadian asset manager’s heavy reliance on management fees for its exchange traded funds that provide liquid (and redeemable) access to physical gold. That hasn’t really been the case yet, at least in any kind of direct way, so this likely tendency that I see (and agree with Ferris on) certainly isn’t proven.

Sprott should be increasingly levered to those management fees IF we get a surge of interest in gold that lasts longer than a few weeks. Sprott charges a management fee to its trusts — the fee for the Sprott Physical Gold Trust (PHYS) is 0.35% of assets, for example — and the fee goes straight to Sprott to cover their “management,” it doesn’t cover the actual operating costs of the Trust (like storage, taxes, lawsuits, etc.) They say that if the total operating costs exceed 0.65%, including all those other costs, then they’ll reduce their management fee accordingly… though they do leave themselves some leeway for “extraordinary costs,” presumably stuff like big legal judgements or dramatic tax changes.

The Central Fund of Canada acquisition was the big reason for Ferris’ excitement a year ago, since that dramatically increased the assets under management for Sprott — and that closed-end fund, which has been renamed Sprott Physical Gold and Silver Trust (CEF) currently charges a 0.4% management fee.

And that’s a lot of money for assets that shouldn’t require much “managing” — they’re not trading in and out of complicated companies, they don’t need a lot of analysts traveling around the world and wining and dining management teams, they’re literally just buying gold bars in storage when people demand more shares of the Trust, and selling them when shares are redeemed for physical gold… so this is obviously an extremely scalable business. If, for example, they can convince more people to choose PHYS over the GLD ETF, the longtime market leader from State Street, the returns could quickly escalate.

Let me illustrate a little:

GLD has about $32 billion in assets right now, down from a high of about $75 billion during the gold surge in 2011-2012… PHYS has about $2 billion in assets and CEF about $2.6 billion, and those are by far the largest funds Sprott manages. Sprott receives 0.35% per year on the $2 billion in PHYS and 0.4% on the $2.6 billion in CEF, so that would be a total of about $17 million.

What happens if gold drops? The assets drop — it’s marked to market continually based on the gold price, after all, so if gold drops in price by 20% then, assuming no net creation or destruction of ETF shares, the assets under management (AUM) would be down to $3.8 billion and the fee for those two funds would drop to $13-14 million or so. Sprott wouldn’t have done anything, but the management fee is a function of the value of the fund so their revenue drops just because gold falls.

That’s not the half of it, though, because rising or falling gold prices change investor behavior — remember when gold surged higher in the first half of 2016? The price of gold went up by 25% in about six months… but the assets under management for the GLD ETF were up by 90% at the peak, because the rising gold price attracted new investors who wanted to buy GLD shares as their easiest way to get quick exposure to gold. ETFs expand and contract with demand, so when there is net demand for shares they create new ones, buying the gold to cover themselves… when there is net selling of shares they destroy shares and effectively redeem them, selling the gold.

So during that six month period, when both PHYS and GLD saw their AUM roughly double, their management fee would have doubled… even though the price of gold only went up by 25%. That’s the leverage of being an ETF manager… and, as both of these managers found last year, leverage works in both directions. In 2018, the gold price fell by about 9% from January to the October low, and yet the AUM for GLD dropped 20% at the low and PHYS dropped 16%.

What you really want from Sprott, I think, is for their management fees to easily cover their total expenses… that gives them some reasonable chance at outsize profits when other income sources come in, like their interest income or their carried interest from the private partnerships that they also manage (most of the ones that have any chance of generating fee or incentive income are their lending funds — managing outside money to lend to natural resources companies… the more venture-type funds of various sorts are so far underwater right now that the existing ones might never earn any incentive fees, though they do start new ones all the time so there’s some hope for the future if the sector turns).

And that’s about where they are right now — in the third quarter the net management fees were $13.7 million, making up almost all of the net revenues of $15.4 million, and the total expenses were $13.4 million. So even though management fees are down considerably from where they were in the past couple quarters, mostly because of redemptions in the Central Fund of Canada CEF that they acquired early in 2018, they were still profitable even before what turned out to be a pretty solid fourth quarter (announced last week).

Not super profitable, mind you, but they did earn a penny a share in the third quarter and four cents in the fourth quarter, thanks to steady management fees and some mark-to-market gains on investments as gold did pretty well in the fourth quarter… and an “Adjusted base EBITDA” of four cents per share in both the third and fourth quarters, which covers the quarterly three cent dividend. The dividend is growing pretty meaningful again with the decline in the share price, it’s now up to 4.8% as of yesterday’s close (the stock jumped 10% this morning thanks to the widely-distributed Stansberry promo, but it was at $2.52 yesterday), and they can likely sustain that dividend without any pain as long as there aren’t a lot more redemptions in the CEF Trust, and as long as they don’t see substantial declines in gold that scare people out of the PHYS Trust ETF.

Those are meaningful caveats. And beyond the risk of gold falling again, anything can happen to this company — particularly because they’re also involved in much more opaque financing in the natural resources market, doing stuff like lending money to (or investing in) frightening little tiny gold miners. Sprott was a substantial broad-line mutual fund provider in Canada for a long time, but has now really gotten out of the “normal” asset management business, they’re back to focusing on Eric Sprott’s (and Rick Rule’s) favorite markets in gold and precious metals and natural resources… which takes some stability away from the business, but does make them a little bit less susceptible to competition (there aren’t many big asset managers plying their trade in the natural resources market, not after losing money for this long).

And there isn’t quite as much cost competition in the gold ETFs as we see in the rest of the ETF space, at least so far — the GLD ETF has an expense ratio of 0.4%, which is really high compared to the largest ETFs in other sectors that charge less than a quarter of that amount, but they seem to get away with it just fine… Sprott’s PHYS and CEF offer a slightly more transparent exposure to physical metals, in promising to actually have allocated gold (or silver) storage for each share and to redeem large positions in physical metal, which gold bugs think is REALLY IMPORTANT and are willing to pay a little more for, so they seem to be able to get away with charging a still higher effective rate (and not really disclosing it nearly as clearly as GLD does).

There is, importantly, a lower-cost competitor that’s taking share right now, AUM for the iShares Gold Trust (IAU), which is also very large (about $12 billion in AUM) has been climbing faster than GLD in the past year or two, likely because of its lower fees (0.25%), and other much smaller low-cost competitors like GraniteShares Gold Trust (BAR, 0.17% — AUM only a few hundred million) are also trying to attract attention. IAU would be the big worry for me when it comes to Sprott, since they’re taking share from both GLD and PHYS and threatening, perhaps, to spur a bit of a price war in gold ETFs (just this year, IAU’s AUM is up 8% while GLD’s is down 2.5% and PHYS is down about 2%).

That doesn’t mean price competition will destroy the business overnight, and Sprott does still have the marketing advantage of allocated and redeemable gold backing the shares of PHYS and CEF and their other physical exchange-traded trusts. That’s what makes them stand out among the “gold bugs,” if not among regular institutional investors who trust GLD and IAU just fine… but the underlying worry is that I don’t know if that will work in the end or not, and they are small enough that they are likely to lose a price war to iShares or State Street if it comes to that. With marketing and a focus on growth, perhaps they could balloon the AUM and cut their management fee, I don’t know, but they do have some established market presence and they will also get a natural and pretty large growth boost just from a rising gold price… at least if the history of 2016 is any indication. And if you’re enthusiastic about natural resources having a good year in general, or seeing another real boom, that would be good news for Sprott in general.

The ad also hints at a cryptocurrency angle, and there is some reality to that — Sprott has been working on a way to trade “digital precious metals” using a blockchain, particularly with the OneGold partnership with gold coin retailer APMEX and Tradewind Markets. That could possibly create some incremental revenue someday for Sprott, but I wouldn’t hold my breath — gold retailing is a much lower-margin business than asset management, so they would have to attract a huge volume of money to this for it to have any impact.

So yes, Sprott is looking a bit better to me now than it did back when I first covered Dan Ferris’ pitch in February of 2018, when the takeover of Central Fund of Canada was first getting attention (and ballooning Sprott’s AUM). I think the stock is too beaten down now, or at least was before this morning, and I do still hold some that I bought at the beginning of January as a “maybe gold will rise sharply this year” speculation. It’s a tiny position for me, and there’s no reason to chase the Stansberry bump the shares got today, but it might be worth watching if you’re looking for a gold play that’s less risky than miners.


Irregulars Quick Take Paid members get a quick summary of the stocks teased and our thoughts here. Join as a Stock Gumshoe Irregular today (already a member? Log in)

Share your thoughts...

46 Comments on "Ferris’ “The Hands-Down, No. 1 Pick of My Career” Pitch"

Notify of
avatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

JayBee
Guest
0

SPOXF pays a dividend soon.

JohnGone
Guest
0

Thank you Gumshoe par excellence, Travis! I spotted this promo yesterday and checked your last write up on Sprott. I am a fan of their PHYS because of the physical allocation per share, but it has been rough sledding for sure.

Adding SPOXF to watch list.

Mark
Guest
0

Why do you continue to listen to any of stansberrys crap? Get a dart board out, that’s all they’re doing Do you know who PT Barnum was?

sct2ali
Irregular
101
Mark: that’s an unfair comparison, I think. Contrary to his image, Barnum actually did a lot to help people. Highly recommend the movie out now “The Greatest Showman” about his life. Porter Stansberry (who was found guilty of fraud by a court – and fined $1.5 million – back in like 2005 or so), and people like Ferris who work for him, regularly use the most shameless “crap” to try to sell their outrageously expensive newsletters. As readers here well know. Am not sure Barnum would have stooped that low. Interestingly, Dan Ferris’ newsletter service, Extreme Value, got an “F”… Read more »
deanbob
Member
641

If Ferris’s positions are neither bought nor sold, then the rating may not have value to a long buy and hold investor. Many multimillionaires are know to remain in positions that oscillate wildly before return 100x.

frofro
Member
17

Thank you Travis, this is just the best stock page to be a member of 😀

Dave S.
Guest
0

Travis, you can sure move a stock. 😉

fabian
Guest
0

Stock Gumshoe you should register with the FED. SII is up 12% this morning. I’m long this stock since 25% ago, for the dividend and following a reco from Wyatt.
Stansberry is the only research / letter co. that provides its performance figures. Always interesting but their performance doesn’t justify the fees they ask for. Way below a S&P Etf.

Tom M
Guest
0
The same Stansberry who has been predicting the demise of the dollar for the last 10 years. They must be running behind in recruiting suckers for their subscriptions. Whenever you hear things like…the number one pick of my career…run for the hills. There is no way they can predict what percentage return you might see on one of their investments (unless it is a defined return with interest rates or dividend rate) or even if it will materialize in a month, year or ten years. Nothing against gold or mining shares. It’s just that these aren’t the heydays of the… Read more »
taubie
Member
0

Thanks for the warning on the reason for a quick jump in Sprott price. Seems like patience will be rewarded here as to when to jump in.

goldstockbull
Member
90
You would have done 3x better simply investing in GDX over the past 3 months (+13%) than investing in Sprott (+4.5%). Take away the Stansberry price pump happening today and you would have lost around 10% in Sprott while GDX went up 13%. Plus, there has been zero dividend growth. Yet they say: “THE single best investment opportunity he’s ever run across in more than 20 years!” C’mon guys, $1,500 letter for picks like this? It should be an insult to investor intelligence, but I know people still sign up to get picks like this. Our top mining stock pick… Read more »
93vette
Member
8

Thanks Travis! I finally joined the Irregulars because of this post…saved me $1500! Glad to be part of the tribe!

Joe Esty
Guest
0

“Best gold business” Really? Overlay the gold price and Sprott’s share price on a chart, you might beg to differ.

jimbo16
Member
126

Good write up Travis. I will put SPOXF on the radar, i agree it is an interesting play.

fjmason
Member
50

I bought Altus years ago at Ferris’ recommendation then saw it lose 40% of its value and languish for years. Finally sold it for a small loss and was happy to be out. Not going to make that mistake again.

christophe
Guest
0

Me, too. Lost more money on Stansberry than anyplace else I’ve ever worked with. The higher the newsletter, the higher the cost, the higher losses. That was my experience

vivian
Guest
0

excellent article! your knowledge of stock promotion is turning out to be useful to precious metal investors. Who would have thought?

Paul Simpson
Guest
0

I would not touch anything associated with sprott ever. I “invested” in its Canadian Equity Fund eleven years ago as a no-brainer, and it is down 80%! The only ones that benefit are the so-called “managers” who get paid regardless of the results. I have never invested in mutual funds since.

stockgumchew
Member
49

LOL “Secretive” Analyst. Dan Ferris has been hosting the Stansberry Investor Hour Podcast since last November when Porter Stansberry went MIA (hopefully to write his book on Buffett).
Ferris was also interviewed in a Stansberry Infomercial a few years ago.
He has to be a great analyst though: TWO “once in a lifetime” picks (Altius and Sprott) in one lifetime!

JackInTheBox
Irregular
86

@Travis we should have a thread here, where you (and the #Gumshoe community) talks about what would be the stock of their choice, had they been forced to put their entire net worth into it!

Yola
Guest
0

I hope I never am forced to do it, but HSY might be my choice. I’m quite certain my grandchildren will eat chocolate and Hershey’s is amazing.

Alan Malmberg
Guest
0

Hershey’s may be a good company, but is not really good chocolate IMHO. I used to like it as a kid in smores and just eating the bars, but now I have alot more refined taste. There are much better chocolates out there like Lindt, Belgian chocolate, etc. Dark Chocolate is the way to go and the best is from Central and South America that I have tasted. Is also alot better for you than milk chocolate is.

mobilecc
Member
62
I own a bunch of gold stocks. The best one I own is KL, an Australian miner, because they consistently make money like any well-run business, followed by B2Gold (BTG). Many of the others are speculations whose yoyo stock price essentially depends on the daily price of gold or good/bad news about their own operations. The most consistent winners (lately) in the precious metals spectrum are the royalty/streamers, and the three that almost always do well are Wheaton Precious Metals (WPM), Royal Gold (RGLD) and Sandstorm (SAND). None of Sprotts stocks have ever done well for me. I suppose in… Read more »
Zeflik
Member
23

I own B2Gold since September 2018 and it grew 42% taking the stock price of March the 12th.

frank_n_steyn
Irregular
190

Travis, I would like to ask a simple question about gold which I have assumed to know the answer to : Is gold an inflation hedge or a deflation hedge ? Gold performed extremely well in the inflationary 1980s and 1990s. and into the early 2000s, as I, and many others expected, but in your opinion how would it do in a rare deflationary period? And 2nd part, is it possible at all that we could enter a deflationary period?

Carbon Bigfoot
Guest
0
Let me answer the 100% issue from my perspective. When Nixon took us off the gold standard that meant that the $ was reduced to fiat currency. Gold doubled from $35 to $71/oz. At the time I could barely meet the expense of raising a family. It wasn’t until the 1980s when I bought my first four ounces of gold at $350/oz.—I still have it—as well as every ounce I have bought since. Although I buy other metals they are only collectibles that are certified as MS-70 or Black Diamond. They rarely depreciate but the premium over strike price does.… Read more »
Carbon Bigfoot
Guest
0

Correction–Asset Strategies International out of Maryland—Old-Timers Disease.

wryter
Member
6

Unless I’m suffering from Old Timer’s Disease I think Nixon took us off the Silver standard. Seems I read somewhere it was Kennedy took us off the Gold Standard. In any event your points are well taken.

Investing in “collectible gold and silver” should exempt it from confiscation in the event any future President pulls a FDR on us and requires us to turn over our gold. Even FDR excluded collectible coins.

Also, recently, such coins have been trading very close to bullion prices.

John
Guest
0
Inflation comes about by ‘virtue’ of not having Political or Gvmt employee’s term limits in any Gvmnt Depts. Politics’ lead to unattainable ‘fantasies’ without much logical or scientific ‘grounded research. Let me explain. No Govmt keeps within their given budgets. This simply implies their ‘bank ‘FED ‘or any other ‘Fnc’l Institution’ needs to produce (print ‘ALL’ the necessary funds) to keep a nation liquid. This overspending simply leads to debt. Meaning debt interest rates, which simply means A hundred dollars will have less real consumer purchasing power ($100 less this interest rate paid is therefore less money). Overspending in budgeting… Read more »
Add a Topic
717
william
Guest
0

i had a position in CEF, but sold it at once when Sprott took over. He quadrupled the management fee and the stock has done nothing since the takeover. Former management of CEF just tok their money and ran. It is now possible to redeem shares for physical gold, but it is a very complicated and and expensive process. Altius Minerals, the former Ferris pick in which to place 100% of your funds, is not much better.

jflynch
Guest
0

Travis, thank you for the thoughtful writeup/analysis….lots of work!

pieter132
Member
67

For me the better choice is goldmoney.com both as investment and to used privately/business. Just as a stock one needs to time purchase of this stock.
With this company you have basicly the opportunity to store your money in gold,
have a bank card, transfer gold to any goldmoney members and transfer your gold anytime you want to fiat. And have too the upside with gold as a store of value.

Mark
Guest
0

Stansberry and his “bell ringers” are truly nothing more than touts. Still wtg for Sjuggard’s “melt up”, NASDAQ to 15,000. PT Barnum was right, a sucker born every minute, or maybe these days every 30 seconds.

adbrpb
Member
21
Hesitated a bit before writing my reaction to Dan Ferris’ latest and the Stanberry Investment group in general. I have followed Porter, Doug Casey and Bill Bonner for the past decade. Began an Alliance member with Stansberry 6 years ago (get everything he publishes and everything he ever will publish in perpetuity – the entrance cost was $10K at the time with a yearly maintenance fee. To say it was the best investment of my life is an understatement. I closely Follow Steve Sjuggerud, Dr. David Eifrig, Dan Ferris and Porter – learned more about investing from them than all… Read more »
lindacampbell
Member
32
Hi adbrpb, I appreciate and second your comments about the educational value of Stansberry et al. Because of them, I knew enough to become a charter member of Tradestops and could afford to do so because of my ongoing profits from Sjuggerud. I’ve also made about 30% from several of the moonshot recommendations in 3 or so months to date and am significantly up with the Revlon bond from Credit Opportunities. I am pleased as well with Doc’s recommended AMZN, BX & AXS. That said, I take personal responsibility for each trade I make and do my own research before… Read more »
Add a Topic
34
Add a Topic
4244
Add a Topic
4273
R K LAKHOTIA
Guest
0
Travis after reading your account, I would say that you are doing a great service to readers. Influenced by his hyperbole marketing, I subscribed to ‘Extreme Value’ in 2015. Bought two stocks PHX and Altius Minerals Corporation as recommended by him. Both stocks are still under water. I should have sold long back, booked the loss and moved on….. Lesson learnt is to never subscribe to high price investment letters. Information is free and freely available on various Financial websites, Seeking Alpha and FT. Perusing these details, I have a small positions in FNV, SLV, RGLD and GNR. Positions keep… Read more »
Zeflik
Member
23

After studying the publicly available information I bought some stocks of B2Gold (BTO) and currently they are trading +17% after 10 months and still has room to grow, however yesterday ER announcement are slightly disappointing in comparison to estimates.

eightpct
Irregular
10

RK, I think a lot of people share your experience and I can sympathize with your situation. However, Dan makes it pretty clear he is a value investor (i.e., buy and hold and hold and hold). I’m pretty sure he would have talked you out of the subscription if your timeframe was 2 years or less. In all fairness, he should sell 10-year subscriptions to weed out traders/short term investors from long term investors.

wpDiscuz