FibTimer

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.5/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
2.5
Rating from 16 votes
If you’ve subscribed to FibTimer, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 2.0/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 2.5/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 1.8/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 3.5/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scott Fife
Guest
April 15, 2009 3:41 pm

Fibtimer… I really wanted to love Fibtimer and maybe I didn’t make money because I didn’t give it enough time. They apparently posted some low double digit returns for all of 2008 but I started my subscription about the end of October. They offer a lot for their $300 per yr subscription price. You can follow their ETF timer, REIT timer, small cap timer, currency time, stock timer or all the above. I followed the ETF timer and I lost money – there are a lot of recommended trades and I think you must have the won tons to do all the trades and hope that the winning trades outnumber the losing trades. Probably if I “re-up” one of my subsciptions this would be in the top three choices.

Add a Topic
900
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
900
JoeSchmoe
Guest
JoeSchmoe
August 17, 2009 4:56 pm

The site is nicely designed and has a lot of gadgets which gives it the “feel” they know what they are doing. However, I found their timing to be slow and after-the-fact. For the average investor who knows how to use Google and a few charting tools, I would think you would do just about the same on your own.

Fluke Smith
Guest
Fluke Smith
September 3, 2010 11:30 am

Dishonesty is the hallmark of the site. Neither TimerTrac nor any other service reports their results to subscribers on a monthly or quarterly basis. Their free newsletter omits the last quarter’s results if their are poor but touts them if they exceed the benchmark. their use i.5 times leveraged funds for S&P and small cap which can results in substantial losses since these are mutual funds and you sell the afternoon after a bad day, typically. So many investors use tight stops that the damage has already occurred before this service issues a sell signal. I was whipsawed so many times (repeated losses in the same asset class) that I discontinued. Since the market has spent so much time around its 50 and 200 day moving averages, the sell and buy signals are very frequent and results in trading costs as well as losses. This system could only be used by someone with accumulated tax losses or inside an IRA since nearly everything is short term. Plus you have to worry about the 31 day rule if non-IRA–you are in and out of the same funds all the time and never know if there will be a gain. If the market stays basically flat for a long period (as in the 70’s), the whipsaw losses will kill you in a system like this. There must be something better.

Add a Topic
334
Add a Topic
899
sjp1
Member
sjp1
December 3, 2013 1:11 pm

Fibtimer states that TimerTrac.com rates their stock market timing as number one.

However, buying and holding a S&P 500 Total Return Index Fund or Exchange-Traded Fund, like SPDR, would generate a profit that is essentially the same as using the Fibtimer S&P 500 buy and sell signals, switching to a money market fund upon a sell signal. This performance comparison covers the period from May 2004 until December 2013.

If TimerTrac rates Fibtimer as number one, then every other service that it tracks performs worse than the S&P 500 Total Return Index! Hence, neither Fibtimer or TimerTrac provide any tangible investment value.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1340
Add a Topic
1340
👍 2
Mark Belami
Guest
Mark Belami
December 15, 2016 12:43 pm

I have been a FibTimer Subscriber since 1/1/2011. I traded every buy/sell alert in 2011 (about 150 of them) only to end the year with a 9.5% loss.
After that, I lost faith in their system, but stayed subscribed. I tried my own approach in 2012,13,14 only to break even after those 3 years. FibTimer at the same time raked in 250% profits. (I know because I stayed subscribed).
I decided to start trading according to FibTimer again starting 1/1/2015 but once again finished 2015 after 100+ trades with another 10% loss. I decided to continue trade with FibTimer in 2016 and to date (12/15/2016) I have a loss of 5%. Will 2017 with FibTimer recover my losses? – There is no way to tell. I will keep trading their Alerts and see what happens.

Ed Schenlli
Guest
Ed Schenlli
April 5, 2017 1:38 pm
Reply to  Mark Belami

Mark, I had the same experience with Fibtimer. My percentages almost match up exactly with yours. I switched to Mechanical Market Timing… much better service and their gains are real.

Kevin Durham
Guest
Kevin Durham
June 21, 2018 11:22 pm
Reply to  Ed Schenlli

I switched too! I subscribed to mechanicalmarkettiming.com shortly before the huge market dip in February 2018. They nailed the down turn, and I ended up using their signal to short the market until their next long came out. I’ll never use another service. I don’t know what their algorithm looks like but it is right on. Gains all day!

Add a Topic
899
Pipppy
Guest
Pipppy
November 15, 2018 8:09 pm
Reply to  Kevin Durham

How has mechicalmarkettiming.com done for you folks in the last few months? Have your results matched theirs? I ask because in looking at their published trade history I found some price discrepancies. For example on 3-Aug-2018 the PDF file with results says they went long SPY at 279.5. The problem is that all the sources I looked at (Yahoo, TradingView, Investing.com, TD Ameritrade…) show the low for the day as 282.33. So how could MMT or their subscribers get an entry price of 279.5? I checked about a half dozen published trades and all had this type of issue. Maybe it all evens out in the long run, but I have looked at enough services to know that transparency is everything. Anyway, looking for what you have experienced. Thank you.

Add a Topic
6068
Add a Topic
2798
Add a Topic
2740
Bill
Guest
Bill
February 27, 2019 5:47 pm
Reply to  Kevin Durham

Are you still with mechanicalmarkettiming.com? How did your fair during the December 2018 correction?

Kevin Durham
Guest
Kevin Durham
July 10, 2019 6:24 pm
Reply to  Bill

I am still with Mechanical Market Timing and their shots have been spot on. You won’t catch the peaks, but you will catch every trend. Once in a while they will issue signals back to back, but it always keeps you with the trend. They post all of their latest trades on the members page which you can check out with the free trial. Even with this year’s bull run they are ahead.