Forecasts and Strategies

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.3/5. From 12 votes.
Please wait...
4.2
Rating from 50 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Forecasts and Strategies, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 18 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 10 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 10 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 12 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 12 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scott Fife
Guest
April 15, 2009 12:55 pm

I briefly Mark Skousen’s newsletter. They advertised triple digit returns and maybe if you follow his advice exactly, over long periods you’ll make money but I sure didn’t have a good start. On November 4th 08 he recommended buying JNJ and FPL. The former is down over 16% and the latter is up about 5%. I canceled my subscription within the freelook period. I decided that if I wanted blue chip recommendations I could just look at Buffet’s current holdings… for free.

King
Guest
King
January 1, 2010 2:26 pm

This one has been around for 30 years (as of January ’10). I’ve been a subscriber for about a year now. The post-crash bull has been good for Dr. Skousen’s picks. He recommends a blend of natural resources, stocks and interest-bearing investments with a pretty significant tilt toward dividend yielding stocks.

One feature I like is that the monthly letter is supplemented with a weekly recorded message that subscribers can listen to every Monday. In these, he gives more timely advice. For instance, in one of these call-ins, he recently advised getting out of BAC after it lost about 10% but avoided steeper declines if it had been held until the next monthly installment of the newsletter.

The best recommendation he has made for me is EMF (Templeton Emerging Markets Fund) which has made me about 30% since I bought it on 9/1/09.

It has been well worth the subscription price.

Winston
Guest
Winston
April 20, 2010 11:46 am

I subscribed to Skousen’s newsletter in the late 1980s. At that time he said he refused to buy any government paper because doing so contributed to the Fed’s inflation machine.

Add a Topic
717
mindtrap
Guest
mindtrap
April 20, 2010 11:55 am

After reading your take on Mark Skousen…I can tell you this because I heard it out of his own mouth. The answer to the silver question is SLV. The answer to the second one, which I
believe is the REIT, is Analy. The third I’m not familiar with. Hope this helps a little.

Add a Topic
443
richard x
Irregular
April 20, 2010 12:20 pm

My subscription several years ago only led to losses.

Add a Topic
285
M
Guest
M
April 20, 2010 1:17 pm

Skousen’s Forecasts and Strategies is not only a very good educational tool, in my opinion, but the advice given is solid. I made outstanding profits in 2009 following several of his recos. By the way, the third stock in Skousen’s teaser is not AGD. AGD is not a Skousen recommendation. I enjoy the Gumshoe articles, which I think are usually right on. Best wishes.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
452
ljv57
ljv57
April 20, 2010 8:53 pm

I signed up for Skousen’s Forecasts and Strategies on 4-13 2010 his 3 picks are nly, aod not agd and slv with nly 14% they just cut there last div rate to .65 from .75 every 3 months, aod 15.5% hope this helps. Plan on canseling he tries to get you to upgrade to get more picks

catsdoorman
Guest
catsdoorman
April 22, 2010 1:20 am

I took a trial subscription to Skousen’s newsletter after hearing his talk about the year 1776. A fine 30 minute talk.
He recommended SUN and VRB. Sun was selling for $3.50 and he
predicted about $6. I bought and sold it within the year at
$5.50. VRB an energy storage company was recommended at $0.68. I bought and sold it at $0.20 a year before it tanked into bankruptcy. Overall I made money on the two recommendations but feel that he is a better economics lecturer than stock picker.
His book on economic history is worth reading to relearn the capitalist economists in history whose ideas have been dismissed by the current Keynesian followers intent on destroying capitalism in the Western world.

Add a Topic
5971
Garrett
Guest
Garrett
January 12, 2011 5:05 pm

Skousen is my favorite. He thinks just like I do and offers specific picks that follow his themes. I also subscribe to 2 of his trading services…High Income Alert and Hedge Fund Trader. I really like these also. Skousen is not too wordy and is very logical. I like his viewpoints. I have made a lot of money following his advice. I don’t do everything he suggests, but I do most. He is not overly bullish or bearish. He has been doing his letter for over 30 years. We are very fortunate to have his expertease to follow. I think I will really miss him when he retires someday.

Add a Topic
452
Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
452
Jmarie
Member
Jmarie
February 25, 2011 1:24 pm

I’ve been a subscribe off & on for 3+ years. His advice is OK (hasn’t made me rich yet) but nothing great. I do like the fact that he addresses overall portfolio balance & recommends a variety of things rather than just one or two types of recommendations. I think he devotes far too much space to who he knows, where he has & is speaking and how important he is. A little bit of that sort of thing goe