Global Investing

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.7/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 13 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Global Investing, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 4 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 4 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 2 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 2 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

18 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Techiepom
Guest
Techiepom
July 3, 2009 11:30 pm

Global Investing, http://www.global-investing.com

This is a highly personal newsletter written by a seasoned investor, Vivian Lewis, who specializes in international stocks, drawing on her own research and that of a diverse collection of contacts from around the world. It’s in blog form, written daily, with updates on portfolio stocks as well as comments on the world. The editor travels a lot, in South Africa right now. Great reading, and you feel that you get to really know her.

There’s a free version of the letter, the first half of each day’s missive without the stock-specific comments. You can also see, for free, recently closed positions.

I’ve had some big winners in my 30 months on board – she picked DRYS at about $10 before its big rise, and was in ADY well before its 300% jump this year. The international contacts really help – someone in Japan tipped her off that the Nintendo Wii was going to be hot before anyone in the US had heard of it, and I got a 120% gain out of NTDOY. Some duds of course, like too many banks during the fairly early stages of the banking collapse, strongly recommending BCS on its slide down. My biggest loss was on ORKLY, for which Vivian issued a sell right at the bottom last november. The circulation is small enough that enough that Vivian can recommend microcaps as well as big companies without moving the market badly.

Focus tends to be fundamental rather than any timing. Before the recent crash she was very high up in Hulbert’s ratings, but issues few sells on the way down. She sold half of DRYS at $100+, rode the rest down to the ground. Publicly kicks herself repeatedly. Quie a few stocks have remained buys while losing >50%. She doesn’t seem to believe in stops.

Main drawback at present is that Vivian has no support. She was writing through the defunct Rightside Advisors stable. Now she’s alone. You get the daily blog, and can see the portfolios on the website, but can’t search back to see the original rationale, which may go way back, like TEVA recommended at $1 in 1991. On the other hand, she cheerfully responds to queries in person.

This letter is a great way to look over the shoulder of a pretty successful investor and fascinating person with an off-the-beaten track slant. Check out the free version and you’ll see what I mean. I’m not especially wealthy but find the subscription, $459 for 2 years, well worth it.

Add a Topic
22
Add a Topic
1029
Add a Topic
4698
vivian lewis
Guest
August 23, 2009 4:26 pm

I am refraining from giving my newsletter the maximum number of stars because I edit it. We sold ORKLY in order to buy Renewable Energy Corp., a subsidiary of Orkla with its own listing, also in Norway. We cannot own every stock in the world and we have to limit our number of positions and amount of invested money.

RNEWF quickly quadrupled. It went up much faster than Orkla. And there is nothing wrong with taking a loss, esp. in 2008 when everyone did.

please visit http://www.global-investing.com to learn more.

vivian, the editor

Add a Topic
2676
Add a Topic
2388
Add a Topic
5971
Kim
Member
Kim
February 12, 2010 10:05 am

This newsletter claims to be “ranked 2nd top performing newsletter portfolio by Hulbert’s Financial Digest for the past decade”. However, latest Hulbert ratings show 11.0% average annual return in the last 5 years, 9.3% in the last 10 years and 10.2% in the last 15 years. This is decent performance, but it is not 2nd top, not even in the top 5. The newsletter lost about 40% in 2008.

The newsletter is also not cheap – the current price is $269 and it is going to be increased. “Outstanding Investments” which is ranked first and second in the last 5 and 10 years is charging $79 per year. “Cabot China and Emerging Markets” charge $99 for a year or $177 for two years. According to Hulbert, they have annualized gain of 21.4% in the last 5 years, compared to 11.0% return of “Global Investing”.

The daily commentary is not bad, but nothing special. The newsletter maintains three portfolios, with total of about 70 stocks. Not exactly practical for an average investor.

The bottom line: decent performance, long time track record, interesting to read. It is not a bad newsletter, but it is not cheap and there are much better options.

Add a Topic
365
Add a Topic
1640
Add a Topic
108
tom
Guest
tom
November 29, 2011 11:47 pm

Global Investing is great but please stay away from this newsletter!

she only talks about her winners with no talk about her losers. never tells you when to sell which is more important than when to buy.

any monkey can pick a stock thats moving up, real talent comes with knowing when to sell – this newsletter will loose you money on trades and the crazy fee you pay to hear “my editor” rant

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
372
zygmo
Member
zygmo
June 7, 2013 2:44 pm

Ms Lewis brings a unique perspective and hard work to her newsletter. I have been a member for several years and find her advice helpful and profitable, though I do not follow to the letter. ALL results are posted in the historical area, so cannot understand negative comments about that.

In addition to her unique investments, her insights into the world are eye opening and worth the cost of the letter on their own. I have at times had email correspondence with her that makes me feel like a unique friend. Yet she always maintains her professionalism.

Ms Lewis is a valuable resource for anyone interested in expanding their international viewpoint especially on investments.

sukiepongo
Irregular
sukiepongo
September 23, 2013 6:32 pm

I love this newsletter. Unlike pound-your-chest pundits or doomsday prophets, Vivian Lewis assumes her readers are adults. With her unique perspective and super smarts, she brings to the table a breadth of knowledge I find valuable. After just three months, I know so much more about world politics, biotech, finance, and other subjects. Anyone can get her free comments about the state of the world, but you need to subscribe to receive her specifics about stocks. She posts a round-up every Sunday that gives her record, which is excellent, and she responds by email to her readers, which made my subscription feel personal yet professional. I think she’s a mensch.
My only disappointment is that she mentions a list of stocks for those with little money to invest, which I never managed to locate on the site; I suspect it was too much updating in addition to the stocks, funds, and sold stocks that she handles every week. This newsletter is clearly a labor of love for Vivian. I applaud her and highly recommend her service.

jmarkar
Irregular
jmarkar
September 27, 2013 1:19 am

I have to say Linnea’s note summed it up for me pretty well. I have really enjoyed Vivian’s writing style, and have jumped on 3 or 4 of her recommendations. It’s only been 3 months for me as well, and though I am still waiting to see if my picks will turn real profit, none have lost any ground.
The biggest value for me is tapping into her international “team” to receive diverse insights into the broader world market, current events, etc. I have only been actively investing for about 5 years.. brought on by the necessities of the crash and a family illness. The biggest surprise since I began has been the astonishing widening of my horizons and increasing grasp of the macro political/economic systems and the powerful “butterfly effect” of small innovations as reflected in the flow of the capital and equity markets. I think that Ms. Lewis’ newletter has effectively contributed to stretching those boundaries for me, which is my first measure of value of information. There is clearly enough insight in each issue to allow me not to just mimic her picks, but to gain insights enough to seek out more information and extrapolate to make my own discoveries in related fields. I think is valuable enough for me to continue my subscription, though I will certainly re-evaluate periodically as I do with all my information resources.
I also have not been able to find that “beginners” portfolio on the site. It hasn’t appeared in her regularly published portfolio updates, but is mentioned prominently on the site.. so help us out Vivian. Thanks for the easy read style. More of a conversational tone, but still substantial.

👍 110
jcoulborn
Member
jcoulborn
September 27, 2013 11:53 am

I, like several others here on Stock Gumshoe, subscribed because I’m an Irregular and Vivian, the editor of Global Investing, was trying to get word out on her newsletter. Therefore I only had 3 months of subscriptions, which will clearly alter how I feel about her performance.
Vivian writes a daily update, which is filled with some personal commentary, market expectations, and some other analysts opinions. It truly is a global portfolio she runs, with investments as diverse as Chinese biotechs, Irish betting stocks, Israeli oil, and many others. In addition, she does “get her boots on the ground” as she traveled to multiple countries during my reading.
All that is well and good, but there are a few things that irk me. First, she doesn’t really put out “buy” and “sell” alerts that I saw. She owns the stocks she recommends, so you’ll get an update that she sold/bought/averaged up or down. This can put you a day behind, and if she sold for material reasons, might impact your gains/losses.
As well, she does have a habit of being a bit of an “I told you so” whenever her theories are proven correct. Of course, she’s a newsletter writer, so that’s on par with the other writers.
Some of her picks are for the very long haul. She’s owned one stock for nearly 20 years, and it has increased by over 1000%, so she’s not too fickle, presumably.
Overall, I enjoyed the daily commentary. For those who read the comments here on Stock Gumshoe, which you should!, you’re probably aware that she’s very intelligent and doesn’t shy away from her views. If reading the forthright views of a Jewish woman upset you, then you should probably look elsewhere. I know that some people in the comments section haven’t appreciated her as much as others. I find her at the very least amusing, though sometimes a little too into patting herself on the back.
Realistically, it’s pretty hard to evaluate her performance. The last three months have been pretty good, overall, for the stock market, so her gains will be skewed. Her closed positions were decent, on average, with only a few spectacular gains and few huge losses. Still, a global portfolio does give one, presumably, some diversification, so this might be one you’re interested in.
She definitely gives you a global view across many sectors.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
5971