“Tiny $0.80 Geothermal Company Is Now Generating Revenue: BUY!”

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, March 2, 2009

That’s the subject line of a recent ad from Jeff Siegel for his Green Chip Stocks newsletter, as he issues a new buy recommendation on a stock that he has written about several times before.

It’s a geothermal power generation company, which was a huge favorite of investors for quite a while in 2007 and 2008 when energy prices were climbing and alternative energy stocks of all stripes were taking turns being the “flavor of the month.”

We’ve seen many of these stocks teased by newsletter writers over the past couple years, including the one we’ll look at today, not just by Green Chip Stocks but by several other newsletters as well.

So what is today’s pick? And with almost every single stock in the market falling like a stone today, is it worth a gander?

Siegel tells us the story of going to meet the executives of this particular company a few years ago:

“After I checked into the Marriott, dropped off my luggage and freshened up, I was escorted to downtown Boise, where I was to meet the top brass of my latest blockbuster renewable energy play.

“I met them at the Basque restaurant Leku Ona, which means “good place.”

“I was pretty excited to meet the officers of the company because single-handedly these guys sealed the deal to construct and operate the first-ever geothermal power plant in the state of Idaho. This is huge considering the DOE ranks Idaho 3rd in the nation in potential geothermal energy capacity. Only California and Oregon are bigger.”

And the story continues …

“Now, the next day – on Saturday, July 29, I attended the groundbreaking ceremony at the site of the new power plant, which is situated in a town known as Raft River.

Are you getting our free Daily Update
"reveal" emails? If not,
just click here...


“Raft River is the most unlikely place to find the early stages of the American geothermal revolution. It’s a jerkwater outpost that’s a 3-hour drive from Boise. When I say “jerkwater” I mean this place is isolated from civilization. I counted only 6 residential homes and just one diner on our way in.

“But I couldn’t have cared less. This was an historic day for the state of Idaho and for the entire geothermal energy market.

“You see, the geothermal power plant at Raft River would soon become the only geothermal power plant in the state of Idaho. So this tiny $0.80 company had a virtual stranglehold on the Gem state. “

He goes on to explain the potential of this company …

“And were talking about a mountain of cash in return. This one single project has a potential worth of about $140 million in annual revenue!”

And then he goes on to explain why this stock should be bought now — I’ll give you a little hint: he thinks it’s a bargain, because it’s once again as cheap as it was when he first touted it:

“I recommended this geothermal stock to my readers on July 25, 2006, when it was trading for around $0.80 a share. By October 31, 2007, the stock hit $4.78 a share – delivering Green Chip investors a 497% gain – in less than 14 months….

“Less than 3 years ago, this company had no operational power plants, no revenue stream, and only one other property besides the one in Idaho.

“That’s when we first got in and watched it soar nearly 500%.

“Today however, in 2009, the company has 2 operational power plants, a consistent revenue stream, and another property that it’s currently developing.

“But it’s trading at $0.80 a share again!”

No mention is made of having told his investors to sell when the shares were anywhere near $4.78, of course (he might have, I have no idea … but it seems unlikely that he would have made a good sell call and not bragged about it).

So what is this geothermal company that has an operating power plant, and some actual revenue?

I’m so glad you asked!

Siegel says it’s a better stock now than it was last time he recommended it, since the company has advanced while the share price has collapsed. And he doesn’t spare the hyperbole:

“Bottom line: This is perhaps the greatest, and most ignored bargain on Wall Street.”

And the Thinkolator tells us that this stock is …

US Geothermal (HTM)

I wrote about this stock close to two years ago, when Green Chip Stocks was promoting it very heavily with teaser ads — back then it was still traded over the counter and hadn’t yet moved to this AMEX ticker symbol, but investors were jumping on in droves … by then the shares had already been talked up to about two bucks, and they were well on their way to the highs of well over four dollars that they reached about six months later.

US Geothermal does indeed have a geothermal power plant in the Raft River area that they were just starting to build back when Siegel touted the shares, and their revenues have been climbing significantly (and are expected to climb still further, according to the one analyst who follows the company). That one analyst, according to Yahoo Finance, does not expect earnings, though — he (or she, haven’t checked to see who it is) thinks they’ll be up to 3.4 million in annual revenue by the end of the current month, and to over $7 million in the year that ends next March, but still losing seven or eight cents per share per year.

You can see the company’s financial reports here — they released their last quarterly report a few weeks ago, and reported a net loss of one cent per share for that December quarter (they’re on a March fiscal year, so we won’t see an annual report for several months yet).

It’s hard for me to guess how and when a big capital project like this is going to make money — and after that, when it will begin to be profitable for the investors, but it is nice that (unlike some geothermal story stocks) they are actually generating electricity, and they’ve been funded primarily by equity so they don’t appear to have any big debt problems at the moment.

They’ve also got a couple other properties that they may be working on for new plants in the years to come, and it’s quite possible that they’ll benefit from any additional “green energy” stimulus spending or credits in the years to come, but I wouldn’t necessarily count on anything exciting like earnings or dividends anytime soon — this is a small company paying all the overhead for a fairly expensive power plant that’s a long way away from most of the customers who’d like to pay a premium for “green” energy (a similar problem to most of the wind energy companies — most of the States that mandate green energy purchases are on the coasts, most of the good wind and available real estate is in the plains). And as natural gas prices collapse, the impulse to pay a big premium for geothermal energy might be lessened.

Who knows, maybe we will see a “smart grid” and a better power transmission infrastructure built over the coming decades, which could only help the appeal of remote generation projects like US Geothermal’s Raft River plant.

Most current geothermal generation in the US is in Northern California, at the Geysers — so you can also look at some of the companies working there, from Western GeoPower (WGP, trades in Canada) on the small side to Calpine (CPN) on the large side. (Calpine emerged from bankruptcy not that long ago, and Western GeoPower was still, last time I checked, a ways behind HTM — they’re aiming for an operational plant in 2010).

There’s also Raser Technologies (RZ), which has also been teased many times — they’re working on lower-temperature geothermal generation in Utah and elsewhere; and Ormat Technologies (ORA), which is vertically integrated, meaning they build and operate plants and design generation equipment, and is the largest pure-play geothermal company I know of, (and the only one that’s profitable).

If you’ve looked at US Geothermal before — and I know many of you long-time Gumshoe readers have, since it has come up several times over the past couple years — please let us know what you’re thinking. My general preference is for companies that are profitable these days, but maybe I’m just a nervous nellie — and God knows, the profitable ones are falling just as hard as the unprofitable at the moment.

And of course, if you’ve ever subscribed to Green Chip Stocks, please click here to share your opinion of that service.


guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

21 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
niall
Member
niall
March 2, 2009 4:19 pm

I wonder if as a US investor you would be better to look at the Australian geothermal development company GDY. It too has just reached the production stage and it too requires a lot of capital yet to scale up production. But you would be able to take advantage of the currently strong US dollar and enjoy a little currency risk diversity.

Add a Topic
200
John Mattingly,farmer John
Guest
John Mattingly,farmer John
March 2, 2009 7:15 pm

Travis, thanks for the insights. I know up here in our neighborhood people are doing small scale stuff, pumping water down a few hundred feet and harvesting the heat differential for both heating and cooling. But right now, even GOOD utilities are being hammered, so it’s hard for me to see much upside in this one.

To play off your remark about the market falling like a stone, the gravity of that remark was not wasted on me. It doe strike me that much of the current downward pressure on the market is that we are gong thru a re-evaluation of the the basic metrics of VALUATION.

Equities, like stocks, real estate, and even to some extent bonds, reside in an imperfect market – that is, it isn’t like valuing #2 yellow corn, which is the same corn in Indian as it is in India, But a house in one place isn’t the same as a house somewhere else, nor is equity in a utility a simple valuation process.

On one hand, I want to say that VALUE for all equities will ultimately reach a point where they will be determined by net revenue divided by a desired cap rate. If that assessment is true, I will go out on a limb here (go ahead, get your saws ready to give me a fall) and say that markets will stabilize once we get to back to THE VALUES THAT EQUITIES AND REAL ESTATE COMMANDED in 1995.. Another way of saying this is: the world economy must shrink that much to reach a sustainable YIELD on capital in ALL EQUITIES MARKETS.

It’s going to hurt, but I recall eating pretty well in 1995, and I also did not believe in any of the “growth” that occurred after that year. After that year was the birth of the 0% financing stuff, acceleration of the tech bubble to absurd proportions, and a miscalculation by Greenspan in loosening credit after 9-11. Then the tricks and games that followed really reached the height of craziness. It all caused what I called an EERIE BOOM, a kind of growth based on debt rather than real financial capacity. A focus on payment, not price (that one really put the red flag in my face) I watched, but didn’t want to play, and was on record saying in the January of 2008 in 3 publications that it was time to move Wall Street to Las Vegas.

BUT, I hate to bet against the USA, so I have been nibbling at stocks that, let’s face it, if they go broke, their book value is a multiple of their their share price. This is a B/P ratio, And it works pretty good. Look at the market today. Any stock you can buy today that is selling for what it sold for back in 1995, is POSSIBLY a real value.

What does the THINKALATOR think of them beans?

Add a Topic
540
Add a Topic
1274
Add a Topic
1278
SageNot
Member
SageNot
March 2, 2009 8:00 pm

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/ta?t=1y&s=ORA&l=on&z=m&q=l&c=rz%2Ccpn%2Cwgp.v%2Chtm

Jeff is trying to pick winners in a blizzard. I had a short subscription to his service in the winter of 2007/2008 & most of these Geo stocks were higher then, incl, ORA.

He’s an attentive guy, he even replies to emails, but he’s working in a very beaten down set of industries.

Add a Topic
899
sean
Guest
sean
March 8, 2009 12:45 pm

Fellow Investor,

The clock is ticking, so I’ll be brief.

Now that President Obama has signed off on the stimulus package which will send billions of dollars into the green energy markets, a powerful GREEN OPEC is forming.

Their goal is crystal clear:

To seize control of the KEY INGREDIENT behind the lithium-ion battery, which is not only set to drive the electric car boom of the next 10 years…

…but also to grab $2 billion in stimulus money in the weeks and months ahead.

Who, exactly, is behind this “Green OPEC?”

Here a few names that you may already be familiar with: Venezuela’s Hugo Chavez and Iran’s Mahmoud Ahmadinejad. That’s right—and precisely what makes this whole situation so dangerous.

As you’ll learn in tonight’s Global Growth, they’ve teamed up with Bolivia’s Evo Morales, whose country controls 50% of the world’s supply of lithium, to drive lithium prices higher and undermine America’s green energy future.

You needn’t take my word.

Bolivian Mining Minister Luis Alberto Echazu told Time magazine essentially the same thing last month:
“The days of U.S. car companies buying cheap raw materials to sell expensive cars are over.”

Surprisingly, the biggest profit-taker won’t be Bolivia’s lithium industry but a little-known South American lithium miner with 359% earnings growth and 79% profits year to date—and no love lost for Evo Morales.

You’ll read why in tonight’s Global Growth.

The Battle for Our Green Energy
Future Is Just Beginning

Louis Navellier here with one of the most shocking developments in the green energy markets—the move by Bolivia to control the key ingredient behind the battery boom: lithium.

As you’re about to discover, the battle started in 2006, with Bolivia’s socialist president aligning himself with Venezuela’s Hugo Chavez and then signing a $1 billion energy and mining agreement with Iran in 2008—all while ordering troops to seize British Petroleum installations.

That’s just the beginning.

With President Obama’s new energy plan set to invest $2 billion in lithium powered batteries, Morales’ efforts control to the lithium market are about to reach new heights.

As I write this, Bolivian government officials are not only rebuffing overtures from Japanese, French and American firms to buy up lithium…

…but are cozying up to Hugo Chavez and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad to put the squeeze on this new energy source.

Bolivia’s goal is twofold:

1. To become the Saudi Arabia of Lithium, and

2. To control the price of lithium throughout the world.

The reason is simple:

America’s is pinning its green energy future on the electric car that will be driven by the next wave of lightweight, lithium-ion batteries.

Why is lithium so important? It’s because lithium batteries can not only store energy longer than any other battery on the planet but can also deliver mileage nearly equal to that of gasoline powered vehicles.

This is why Bolivia’s president is working overtime to control the lithium markets and America’s energy future.

As the International Herald Tribune declared in a front-page Americas article last week:

“Bolivia has the lithium, and the president intends the world to pay for it.”

That’s what makes the whole situation so crucial to our country, our economy and your future wealth as America throws $2 billion directly into this sector.

This is why the lithium markets are about to go ballistic as the Bolivian-driven supply/demand squeeze pushes prices higher and higher and Evo Morales makes good on his promise transform Bolivia into the Saudi Arabia of Lithium.

For these reasons, those companies who mine lithium outside of the GREEN OPEC sphere of influence are going to make almost obscene profits.

If you can take an ownership stake in our top stock here, you’ll make money hand over fist as lithium prices rise and free market forces bid your holdings higher and higher.

Details here.

This One Little Stock Could
Make You Rich

The reason is simple:

While Bolivia may control 50% of the world’s lithium, our company controls 30% of the world’s market share.

How can this be? Because unlike Bolivia’s vast untapped reserves, this company has one of most sophisticated mining operations in the world. And—most important—the company is located in a country that is very friendly to America’s energy needs.

So while Bolivia attempts to send the lithium prices higher our company will not only see its market share increase but will automatically profit.

Which is why the company’s 359% earnings growth and 82% profits in the last 12 months are just a sneak preview of what’s headed your way.

Grab It Now Before It Doubles Again

With America set to spend $2 billion on lithium battery development, it’s only a matter of time before lithium demand jumps and Bolivia’s leader works to choke off supply.

The result will not only create a stampede for lithium, but also put powerful upward pressure under the stock price of our world-class, U.S.-friendly lithium company.

Since the President has already signed off on the stimulus package, my palms itch in anticipation of the profits that are headed our way.

Full Details in Tonight’s Global Growth

In it, you’ll read how the coming lithium squeeze will send our No.1 lithium stock soaring.

In addition, you’ll get the full details on our time-proven Global Windfall strategy that has not only reaped documented profits of 928% since 1997…

…but also has turned a $100,000 stake into $1,280,000 with incredible fast-moving trades like these.

* China Life, up 187%
* Wimm-Bill-Dann Foods, up 139%
* Net Serviços de Comunicação, up 97%
* Fiat, up 92%
* ABB, up 88%
* Tenaris, up 76%
* TBSI, up 60%
* Energias de Portugal, up 50%
* Banco Bradesco, up 49%
* Diana Shipping, up 48%
* British American, up 48%
* Sodexho, up 48%

As you’ll see in tonight’s issue, with Bolivia’s actions pushing up the Alpha-rating on our top-rated lithium miner, even these BIG gains could look like chump change.

My money-back trial guarantees just that.

70% Off Today Only

Make no mistake about it—a handful of investors are going double their money as Bolivia squeezes the price of lithium higher and higher.

You can be one of them.

If you take a position—even a small one—in our No. 1 stock in this sector, you could be looking at 65% to 95% gains in four to six weeks after Obama floods the battery sector with $2 billion in new spending.

My $396 Trial and Money—Back Guarantee
Make You a Winner No Matter What

A year’s subscription to Global Growth regularly costs $5,000, and you have to sign up for a minimum of a full year.

Because the profit potential on this lithium stock is so great, my publisher has allowed me to open the door for a limited number of 90-day trials for 70% off our quarterly price—just $396—and with no long-term commitment and a no-questions-asked money-back guarantee.

For simply saying yes today, you get …

1. 90 days to try our service
2. 90 days to buy our stocks at their lowest prices
3. 90 days to see my A-rated lithium stock pay off for you

And then decide.

Please don’t think I’m sticking my neck out here:

After all, my readers who joined me 10 weeks ago are already sitting on near 45% gains here.

That’s no fluke, either.

Over the past 10 years, my Global Growth system not only has beaten the S&P 500 by $20-to-$1, but has delivered 928% returns—turning a $100,000 investment into $1,280,000.

When you deliver results, people stick with you. I’m convinced you will, too.

And my money—back guarantee promises you’ll catch the next wave of profits—or your subscription will be promptly refunded.

Your Window of Opportunity
at Closes at Midnight

The bottom line here is this:

My Global Growth service is for investors who want to own the best stocks, want to collect the biggest profits, and are willing to act quickly on my unhedged recommendations.

If you are willing to invest in my recommendations, you will enjoy the benefits that my Global Growth system has brought to others, and you will never invest any other way.

If you can’t take me up on my 70% discount and money-back guarantee before midnight, chances are you wouldn’t buy my recommendations anyway and I would be remiss in accepting you as a new reader.

That’s why you’ll have to make your decision today. The power of positive earnings momentum is accelerating earnings in our $24 battery doubler.

So if you’re going to profit from this move, NOW is the time.

You have my promise that you will profit, or your money will be promptly refunded.

Sincerely,

signed- Louis
Louis Navellier
Editor, Global Growth

Add a Topic
1614
Add a Topic
207
Add a Topic
2096
SageNot
Member
SageNot
May 22, 2009 8:41 am

My PC is printing postings from March, 2009, (even one of my own) am I missing something, or did you want this rehash Travis?

BTW, I’m still on the road, have a Happy Memorial Day W/E, drive carefully folks!

Jerry G
Guest
Jerry G
May 22, 2009 8:51 am

Can any of these GRREN stocks make any money without sudsidies from the government? Yes we all love a clean, green environment ….but what about “REALISTIC” alternatives like Nuclear and Natural Gas ……EXCELLENT clean fuels whci we have in ABUNDANCE. it took awhile ,but we can now see that ethanol additives in gasoline were worthless…..and a BIG failure …..do we have to repeat this with Geothermal and Wind?
Just think , OBAMA will have us all driving “Clown Cars” with windmills on the roof LOL

Add a Topic
338
Add a Topic
179
Add a Topic
200
Ray Voigt
Guest
May 22, 2009 10:13 am

Travis, I would assume the Navellier teaser above will recieve a quick toss in the thinkolator. We know you like to expose his secrets. Hopefully even at 70% off. Love this site.

Ron H
Guest
Ron H
May 22, 2009 10:58 am

Such rosy short-term predictions have investors swooning over Sociedad Química y Minera de Chile S.A., or SQM, the Chilean fertilizer and mining company that produces nearly a third of the world’s lithium carbonate and whose leather-skinned employees brave the Salar de Atacama for the sake of gadget lovers. In the past three years the Big Board-traded shares of SQM have climbed from $11 to $22. In the first six months of 2008 SQM reported a profit of $191 million, up 103% from a year earlier, on sales of $787 million, up 41%.

Add a Topic
107
Add a Topic
2368
Add a Topic
2096
jeff
Guest
May 22, 2009 12:19 pm

I contacted Siegel a couple of years ago, asking why we shouldn’t drill ANWR. He replied that the oil there would last America for perhaps a year or so, implying the false premise that we would discontinue importing oil. Yeah, right. I was born at night, but…

If the guy would simply say, Hey, the fix is in, and YOU can profit from it, I could handle that. But this “great idea” aspect (requiring huge infusions of taxpayer dollars) is nonsense.

If not for the pump and dump nature of exclusively green co’s (as opposed to established co’s that are adding green projects to current activities, eg, BP), based largely on “great ideas” (and aren’t they ALL “great ideas”: anyone out there pumping “if you’re completely stupid, this is for you” stocks?), there doesn’t seem to be much “there” there.

“As the Economy Tanks,” our national soap opera, will likely cost Obama a lot of dem support as dem reps (all House reps are up for re-election in 2010) from states with oil, coal, other traditional power sources will be heading for the exits, distancing themselves from Obama’s “ideas” that are destructive of these respective states’ economies.

Let’s all move to Detroit! Better: send Obama to live in Detroit. I suspect that The One would soon become Just Another Statistic.

Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
771