Intelligence Report

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.0/5. From 23 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 89 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Intelligence Report, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 25 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 25 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 8 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 4 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 19 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 19 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 10 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 11 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 23 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 23 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 10 Votes
  • 4 Stars 8 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

37 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Obie
Guest
Obie
May 26, 2010 7:32 pm

I subscribed for three years, and overall, find this newsletter rather average with some serious shortcomings.

For one thing, Dick Young likes to rant about his political beliefs. I really don’t care what those beliefs are, but I am paying for investment advice, not political advice.

Secondly, Young lists a whole bunch of investments, but he does not recommend any type of allocation. Furthermore, his exposure to equities is quite limited. So during up markets he will brag about how much % your investments grew (well, it depends on how many of the zillion selections you actually bought and also how much you had in fixed income vs. other). In down markets, he will brag about how due to his extremely conservative bent and very high % of fixed income, you lost very little money (well, again, it depends on which stocks you owned and also whether you really had 60% of your portfolio in fixed income).

Finally, some of his picks have been real dogs, yet he doesn’t advise selling them.

I would not recommend this newsletter. There are better ones that are much easier to follow.

Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
996
charles l
Guest
charles l
June 20, 2010 4:47 pm

I subsribed to Youngs newsletter about six months ago. since then I received advertisments for additional stock recommendations that are his top picks (for hundreds of dollars more). When I suscribed I throught his monthly newsletter was his best stock choices, I guess not. I find this somewhat disgraceful if not close to being dishonest. I will not recommend nor renew my subscription.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Wayne
Guest
Wayne
September 13, 2010 1:03 am

Truly awful letter written by a total fraud. Aside from this fraud espousing his fascist, paranoid, tea party viewpoints in an investment newsletter nonetheless, one hears the same old broken record of how you need to buy commodities since the sky will fall tommorrow.

Doing a little more research I found that this ultra right-wing fascist lives in super liberal Key West and in fact manages no money whatsoever. He is retired and his son manages an office about the size of most peoples’ closets in Naples.

I then looked a little further and found that the few funds the son manages either have a negative return or it is in the low-single digits.

In fact, the only money this guy makes is from peddling his newsletter and maybe from Glenn Beck for following Beck’s views that Doomsday is tommorow and the only way we can save ourselves is to vote for more right-wing fascists and buy gold. In short, this guy is a fraud and a fascist- I would avoid him like the plague!

Add a Topic
1340
Add a Topic
5242
Add a Topic
210
Mark
Guest
Mark "Sparky" Mariani
March 4, 2011 9:54 pm

Not as advertised.

The only logical explanation is the advertisement I received was created and sent to me by an independent (from Young) business who got a commission for reeling in a new subscriber. It appears to me that Young was not cognizant of the advertisement by which I judged him!

NotTerriblyHappy
Member
NotTerriblyHappy
June 11, 2011 7:12 pm

Been comparing Young to Leeb. the recent most notable separation is Unilever. Young says buy–Lebb says sell. The one thing that annoys me of all the newsletters is that I buy the product but then find out from all the e-mails is that to be “truly successful” I need to re-up my current subscription or I need to subscribe to their “cash cow/premium” news. I can subscribe for 6 months risk free and they will refund my money. If they are truly confident–how come you don’t GIVE me the trial period?? If you are as good as you think then if you make the the 200% return I doubt that I would not subscribe.

Albert
Guest
Albert
June 19, 2011 6:09 am

BS … I just let a subscription run out. I got suckered in every few years from his mailings … never again. Guy writes cute stories and always says ‘make it a good month’ .. but rarely follows up on his huge losses. I bought some stocks only to watch then dump like 90%. The guy uses stops and never remembers his big losses. The ‘lost $5000 once in my life” is BS. His subscribers lost millions…

So-So
Member
So-So
July 17, 2011 5:36 pm

Been a subscriber to both Young and Leeb for some time. Neither one has made me a big winner in anything. Maybe because I can’t find it in me to blindly follow the picks and maybe because it seems lately the ones I have followed have immediately if not sooner go into the hole. As with others, I find it offensive that I pay good money for good advice only to find that I need to upgrade to a higher priced newsletter to get the “real story”. Also find it interesting that Young’s investment firm won’t touch you unless you have two million to invest. I guess they just sell the crumbs to the little people. You have to wonder if these guys were that good, how come they don’t keep it a secret and wind up ruling the world? I have to think that if I knew the answer that sooner or later Bill Gates and Warren Buffet would come see me for their weekly allowance (as long as they did their chores that is). I subscribed to Value Line and did pretty well on my own and with all the people I’m paying for advice it has now become the economical option so I’m going back to them. If I do subscribe to another newsletter it will be the one Richard Band publishes–I think it was called Profitable Investor. It’s the only one that I actually made money off of and in retrospect if I had done what he advocated 25 years ago Bill, Warren and I would be on first name basis. Hopefully he hasn’t gone to the dark side and I can profit from his advice again. Richard–Please forgive me!!

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
630
Add a Topic
2688
Ron
Guest
Ron
October 29, 2011 5:54 pm

I have been getting Young’s newsletter for years now. I read some of the criticisms and there are no specifics. What’s up with that? If you have a problem, spell it out. With details. I do not invest through them. I read through their recommendations and pick and choose what I want to buy. I have not missed with his recommendations.

b kolo
Guest
March 2, 2012 12:22 am

Subscriber for about 20 years.
Young suggests 32 stocks over $300K investable, Or mutual funds under that amount.
Gives a great opportunity to make money with that many dividend stocks even if prices dip.
He advises Vanguard Wellsley Income for anyones mother- he has been right. If you are near or at retirement, you will make money with this guy.
He also likes utilities, natural resources especially the pipeline stocks that move them
which are less affected than owning the gas and oil stock cos. outright.

Add a Topic
334
Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
996