Leeb’s Million Dollar Portfolio

If you’ve subscribed to Leeb's Million Dollar Portfolio, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Value For Price

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote

Customer Service

No votes yet... cast yours!
No votes yet.
Please wait...
Your vote
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

32 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Richard Brown
Guest
Richard Brown
April 29, 2010 9:07 am

If I had suscribed to all of Dr. Leeb’s publications would I be broke now?.

philip harden
Guest
May 3, 2010 10:47 am

i have not bought anything yet i don’t really know how.i have got no directions on what something cost or what.
hope to heer soon.
philip harden

Terry Quinn
Guest
Terry Quinn
May 6, 2010 8:24 am

This is a follow-up to my April 5, 2010 report on MDP.

I finally received my refund of my cancelation of the Million Dollar Portfolio on 28 April, 2010, approximately 3 months after I canceled on Feb 1.

It took me 9 telephone calls to get the refund. The first month of the delay was because they were using the wrong credit card number to post the refund (although I had just give them the new number a day before to pay for a subscription renewal to another of their magazines that posted the charge on that new credit card six days after the order).

Each time I called, I would get more promises that the refund would occur, but then it would not happen on the date that it was supposed to happen.

Along the way, I think I learned a couple of tricks to help improve success with telephone service representatives.

First, let them know early and repeatedly that you will be relentless, and that you have the time to repeatedly make phone calls to check on status. If their strategy is to outlast you, this might make then think twice about that.

Second, spend lots of time on the phone with them. (They are measured on how quickly they get each call finished). Be very pleasant. For example, if they say they are sorry the refund is taking so long (something they are trained to do), thank them in great detail for their willingness to express their sorrow. Then go on and explain other things that have been going wrong recently in your life, and how the refund of MDP, while one of those things, isn’t as bad as your other things. If you talk extra slowly, they may also mistake you for being very old, and that is okay, too, because they will be more polite.

If they mention someone’s name, even their own, and it is the same as someone you know, tell them that, and find out if they spell it the same way. You get the idea.

Two things I learned during their exasperation:

1) Million Dollar Portfolio will only process a certain number of refunds per day. (I think Bill earlier said only so many per week).

2). While the different Leeb Newsletters are managed by the same help desk, the individual newletters have their own editorial and management staffs, and policies. I was told that you might get quick refunds from one, and MDP would do a lot worse.

I share the opinion that Stephen Leeb may be a good person personally, but given my experience with MDP, I cannot share that opinion about his business. I’ve been a long time Complete Invester subscriber, but I’ve lately been using Jim Cramer’s Action Alerts Plus, and am finding it to be much more consistent and logical than what I’ve seen from the Leeb publications. I’ll continue to monitor TCI for a while, but my confidence is waning with the Leeb organizations, and building with Cramer.

Terry

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
986
SB
Guest
SB
May 30, 2010 3:59 pm

Horrible service. Opened and closed the account in a week because nothing is really helpful. Looks like a bogus service…and nothing real. It has been 6 weeks already and the amount was not refunded yet. Called the customer service atleast 10 times and they still say it is coming soon. NOT WORTH TO TRY THIS SERVICE. Opened a dispute with my credit card company and they are taking care of this transaction. My mistake was not looking at public reviews about this company….

Gary
Member
Gary
June 30, 2010 2:56 pm

Cancelled after 3 weeks, April 5, 2010. June 30th still no refund. Time for New York attorney general to help – 800-771-7755. They are interested to here from others. They are very helpful and it’s all free.

Mike E.
Guest
Mike E.
July 10, 2010 4:31 pm

In January 2010 I decided to give Leeb’s “Complete Investor” a try under a “special promotion” for $39 for 1 year. This consists of a short email about once a week with some basic and at times generic market/stock advice. Mostly he’s recommending gold and other metals and commodity items. I wasn’t overly impressed, but I did get a few decent ideas. I’d say for $39, it was an “ok” “newsletter” (Hard to call a 3-4 paragraph email a newsletter). I’ve subscribed to another investment newsletter for many years that has been pretty successful for me. I thought this Leeb newsletter would be a good sounding board or comparison to the recommendations in my regular newsletter.

Unfortunately, Leeb has an very aggressive mass marketing “spam” system, and my inbox was bombed with 2-3 emails a day – every day, from Leeb soliciting me to subscribe to any number of his other newsletters. I’d have to sort through all the Leeb “junk” email to find the one good one. A very unprofessional and cheap way to run a business. I’ve managed to get it cut down, but I still get several spams from Leeb each week.

Despite my better judgment, on May 28, 2010, I ordered one of his other newsletters (Million Dollar Portfolio) after listening to one of his free investment webinars – which looking back was obviously just a sales/marketing gimmick to scare folks into ordering this newsletter. He touted this “Million Dollar Portfolio” as a brand new program he was initiating. Little did I know he’s been using this pitch for a long time. The cost was $129 for 3 months, with automatic renewals. This was promoted with a 30 day, no questions refund guarantee. After reviewing the initial newsletter I was very disappointed with what I saw – or more appropriately what I didn’t see (same reasons as other posters). Within a week I called and cancelled and was told a refund would be put thru on my CC within 2 weeks. Over a month later, no refund. I called again on July 6 and was told it was still “in process”, which is just garbage. Any professional, reputable company will process your legitimate refund within days, not months. Leeb obviously makes his money bilking folks who stupidly subscribe to any of his hundreds of newsletters.

I’ve notified my credit card company to dispute this charge and prohibit any future, recurring charges from this company. I have a tentative credit pending AMEX’s investigation. Bottom line: Stay clear of anything with Leeb’s name on it!

Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
210
Tom Heck
Guest
Tom Heck
July 27, 2010 10:27 am

Initially involved with Leeb many years ago with “Personal Investor”. Found it to be a good service, actually made some money with it. Couple of years ago, Leeb had an Options System. Lost my ***. Saw the Million Dollar product, seemed to fit what I was looking for. Still had trust from the Personal Investor days. Doesn’t mention 200 stocks per day, like others (Cramer) just to be able claim a hit on one of them. However, after about a month, three trades, three high percentage losses. SPY short twice, GLD long once. Like others, the books never show up, etc. The only way your portfolio will end up at 1 million $ with this service is if you start out with 4 million $.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
899
Russell Dilley
Guest
Russell Dilley
September 21, 2010 3:11 pm

Mr. Leeb has two news letters that are very good. Income performance letter and Complete investor. What is bad about this company is complimentary items offered that never arrive. Like free silver dollars with your paid subscription and free airline tickets that you never see. Leebs Milion dollar portfolio is highly advertised and in my case nothing (zero) information was received. I cancelled the subscription and received an acknowledgement of it in July. I have called customer service four times and written emails which were acknowledged to no avail on getting a refund. I do think times are hard for them, but would appreciate it if they had a honest straight talking employee working for them.

Russell

Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
443
Steve
Guest
Steve
October 6, 2010 11:50 am