Moors says “This New Device Is Expected to Spark a $35 Billion Bidding War” … what’s this “Electro-Wave Inversion” Business?

by Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe | August 16, 2019 1:01 am

Moors says huge orders are coming for this little company starting April 1 August 21 thanks to "Executive Order 13795"... what's being teased by Micro Energy Trader?

I’ve been getting buckets of questions about the latest pitch from Dr. Kent Moors for his Micro Energy Trader ($3,500/year, limited “performance guarantee” refunds possible), so that’s what we’ll dig into today.

The pitch is typical of Moors’ stuff, in that he conjures up this idea of an earth-changing new technology that is the province of “one little company” and will make you rich, with 50,000%+ returns… in the past, that’s always been a wild exaggeration (to be generous), but we’ll start out with an open mind. Here’s how the ad begins:

“ELECTRO-WAVE INVERSION

“It could create 2.7 million American jobs…

“Save 610,000 lives from deadly diseases…

“And unleash $3.9 trillion to the U.S. economy…

“Delivering early investors the profit opportunity of a lifetime”

So what is this “electro-wave inversion?” The spiel is that it’s a new and advanced imaging technology of some kind that can see through the walls of Fort Knox…

“Practically NOTHING’s ever been able to breach Fort Knox.

“Until now…

Are you getting our free Daily Update
"reveal" emails? If not,
just click here...


“You are looking at one of the most important innovations in modern history.

“So important, it just received special clearances…

“From both the U.S. Department of the Interior and the White House.

“And it could deploy any day now.”

More info?

“This specific EWI device is around the size of a quarter in diameter.

“And it’s just about an inch or so tall.

“Yet this tiny miracle has the power to unlock $3.9 trillion in new wealth…”

Laying it on thick, right?

What else?

“12 global Fortune 500 corporations…

“With collective market caps clearing $2.1 trillion…

“Are lining up to cut $50 million checks to a tiny $8-per-share tech company…

“Just for the rights to ‘beta test’ this technology…”

OK, so it’s $8 a share. That’s one clue. And it’s a small sensor of some kind. Other details?

“There’s only one way to describe these devices…

“It’s like having an MRI machine that can see 10 miles deep into the Earth’s crust.

“All while fitting in the palm of your hand.”

OK. And apparently it’s got other uses as well beyond those Fortune 500 corporations…

“For the U.S. Navy, it can be 100 times more accurate at spotting enemy submarines than the best military-grade sonar.

“The United States Geological Survey could use one to detect volcanic eruptions in Krakatoa, Indonesia… two days before it even takes place.

“And Barrick, the $15 billion gold miner, could use one to find 92 times more gold in a single year… than has ever been found throughout all of history.”

And, of course, the big promise:

“Ahead, I’m going to show you how a modest $1,000 stake in this tiny firm at the heart of these EWIs could grow into a $557,560 jackpot.

“But first, it’s critical that you’re aware this could all happen in a flash…

“Because this tiny company has already turned the global $1.4 trillion energy industry on its ear.”

OK. So what’s the rush? Apparently there’s some kind of plan to “greenlight” this technology right away… back in February, this is the wording used:

“I’m going to examine what could be a government-mandated, nationwide rollout of this technology on April 1.

“And most importantly, I’m going to reveal the one tiny company that is perfectly positioned for an event of this magnitude.

“It has been awarded 107 patents for this technology.

“And could soon begin collecting check after check from some of the largest U.S. energy companies.”

Now that’s been updated to say that…

“Executive Order 13795 goes into effect on AUGUST 21”

And…

“… on August 21, top executives from some of the world’s biggest companies – including Exxon and BP – will be attending a private meeting in New Orleans… just to bid for the exclusive rights to use this technology.

“I’ve been asked to take part in this meeting. And I can tell you this is going to be one hell of a bidding war.

“These companies are ready to throw tens of millions to get their hands on this technology.

“And it all happens on August 21.”

Other clues?

“… this company is manufacturing one of these devices every four seconds…

“Just to meet the overwhelming demand.”

And it’s still quite small, but has some big backers…

“Its market cap is just $114 million…

“Bill Gates has personally invested $60 million into this.

“Hedge fund billionaire James Simons’s firm, Renaissance Technologies, has over $8 million riding on this $8 stock.

“And over 18 multibillion-dollar institutions have backed them as well.”

OK. Pretty much every publicly traded company has “multibillion-dollar institutions” backing it, and Renaissance Technologies means essentially nothing when it’s on the holdings list of a company (yes, James Simon’s firm is arguably the most phenomenal money manager in history, but their advantage is quantitative analysis and rapid trading, knowing what they owned last quarter is not generally very useful).

So what is this sensor? It’s something to do with “infrasound,” which is lower-frequency sound than humans can generally hear….

“Infrasound can be over

“10,000 times LOWER than ultrasound.”

And, no surprise since this is Kent Moors we’re talking about, this is really an oil and gas story…

“While this technology is attracting the eyes of the U.S. Army, Navy, and NASA…

“To completely replace satellite, GPS, radar…

“And even some medical equipment…

“There’s a reason this $114 million market-cap company…

“Controlling ALL of their 107 EWI patents…

“Is foregoing easy U.S. Government cash…

“Just to disrupt a MUCH more lucrative segment.”

OK, so who is it that makes these little sensors and is going after a big US market? The only other clue of note was that the stock is listed on the NYSE… so, Thinkolator sez he must be teasing us about ION Geophysical (IO), the seismic services provider that has ridden the offshore oil and gas boom up and down several times in its 20+ years as a public company… mostly recently “down” in a big way since the 2014 collapse in oil prices.

ION Geophysical was at a $114 million market cap back in mid-January (when it was indeed at $8 a share, so that’s a good match), though it had a good start to the year and reached $200 million and $14 or so at the peak (it’s now below $100 million and $7/share).

The insider mentions were roughly accurate as of earlier this year, Rensaissance Technologies and Gates Capital Management were large shareholders of IO, and are still, though it looks like the copywriter screwed up — Gates Capital Management is an asset manager run by Jeffrey Gates, with a few billion dollars under management, and has nothing to do with Microsoft’s Bill Gates. Gates Capital owns about a million shares at roughly $7 million in value, so maybe someone also mixed up their decimal points — if anyone had invested $60 million in this company anytime in the past couple years, they would own roughly half the company… which doesn’t typically happen with small caps in the public markets. And no, there haven’t been any substantial oil or seismic data investment made by Bill Gates, at least in public companies in recent years (his holdings are generally listed under Cascade Investments or, more recently, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation).

It’s not a perfect match, though — Ion claims “approximately 500” patents, so I don’t know where the “107 patents” bit comes from. They are indeed a manufacturer of geophones, through their Sensor subsidiary… and, yes, they produce a new one every four seconds at their factories. The images in the ad appear to be of the SM-24 rotating coil geophone, which is their core product — you can read all about it in their brochure here.[1]

Ion is much more than a maker of geophones, thankfully, because sales volume has been pretty light in that area — they reported six months ago[2] that only about $8 million of their $75 million in revenue came from devices, and that’s been a fairly consistent percentage… it’s a little lower now than it has been in the past, mostly because there isn’t as much seismic data collection going on at the moment, so there isn’t as much demand for the big towed sensor arrays that are dragged behind ships to collect subsea images for oil companies.

No, ION these days is mostly a services company — they provide analysis of seismic data, and sell access to the data they’ve collected in the past (their “data library”). This can be a really good business if you get the right data, mostly because creating and processing a good seismic “map” of an important exploration area can return your investment fairly quickly if you get a couple key customers to subscribe to the data right away, and then you own the data in perpetuity and odds are pretty good that some of it will be useful to another customer in the future.

And ION has also been on the short end of a very long legal stick for almost a decade, having been sued by WesternGeco and ordered to pay damages in a patent case that went to the Supreme Court — and is now back in the Circuit Court of Appeals to determine whether ION owes further back profits from foreign use of WesterGeco’s patents. That determination seems to be the primary reason for the stock’s recent run, since the announcement came on January 11 — ION is not out of the woods, from what I can tell just from reading their press release, but things are looking up, partly because some of the patents in question are themselves questionable.

The stock price seems to have ridden this legal case to some degree, which is understandable since it’s a small stock and the initial award of $100 million or so was more than the market cap in 2017. And ION was a billion+ dollar company before the 2014 collapse in oil prices really gutted the value of offshore seismic fleets and seismic data libraries (if oil is below $50, the enthusiasm to do very expensive offshore exploration and development, at least in deep water, is severely diminished). I haven’t looked into the lawsuit developments since February, so it might be worth following up if you’re interested in that aspect.

How else does this match? Well, the tease points out that this “Electro-Wave Inversion” was critical in finding a big new shallow-water oil discovery in Mexico in 2017… and that this secret company was integral to that discovery. Which is true[3], but it had nothing to do with new “infrasound” data or breakthrough sensor technology, it was because of ION Geophysical’s reprocessing and imaging services — their analysis of old data, not the collection of new data with some magical new technology. And yes, most seismic data is collected on “infrasound” frequencies.

In fact, the most basic technology that the tease refers to has been around for more than a century — the big quotes about how this is “one of the greatest scientific achievements of all time” (European Journal of Physics) seem to be references to the very concept of electromagnetic induction, discovered almost 200 years ago by James Faraday (and maybe almost simultaneously by Joseph Henry). That is obviously a foundational part of the modern understanding of electricity and physics, and led to most of the designs for electric motors and generators, as well as being a key to developing these sensors which detect minute movements of magnets along their coils (I’m sure that’s a gross oversimplification).

And there are other clues aside from the “107 patents” that don’t quite fit — there’s a bit about how this company is working with ExxonMobil for the first time…

“ExxonMobil has entered its first agreement with this small tech firm.

“They’re deploying EWI devices to a project in Africa.”

And it’s true that last year, ExxonMobil was responsible for more than 10% of ION Geophysical’s revenue (as was Petrobras), and perhaps that higher level of sales to ExxonMobil was related to their oil work offshore Ghana, where ION has participated in a few thousand kilometers of data collection in partnership with GeoEx to support Ghana’s first licensing round, but ExxonMobil has also been a customer of ION’s in the past.

Though there are also some good specific matches — like the word that Shlumberger “turned to this small company to analyze an 80,000-square-kilometer site,” which jibes with Shlumberger’s work with ION Geophysical offshore Mexico starting back in 2016[4].

The “US government” stuff that was attached to the “April 1” deadline in the first version of this ad is all about offshore US oil exploration — as you’re probably aware, the Trump Administration has pushed forward to do more offshore oil exploration, particularly in the Atlantic[5], and that will first require a lot of seismic data collection (there’s been no real data collection or exploration offshore the east coast of the US for probably 30+ years, and not much before then). That would probably create more business for ION and the other seismic providers, and the administration has provided the first level of approval for the seismic data collection[6] (needed mostly because of the potential that seismic air guns, which create the sound that echos off the layers of earth underground, have the potential to at least harass marine mammals… which requires government permission), though in my inexpert opinion it’s not likely to dramatically change ION’s business overnight (and it will probably be slow, in any case, since some states will object and the plan is not really even in place yet). ION does not even really mention the possibility of Atlantic seismic collection as a near-term business driver in any of their investor info, they are much more focused on areas where exploration is already well advanced like offshore Brazil and Africa and in the Gulf of Mexico.

That was the original version of the ad, though — now that April 1 date has passed, with no real impact for any seismic companies (as expected), they’ve moved on to a new invented deadline — August 21 is now the day… here’s what Moors says in this updated version:

“These companies are ready to throw tens of millions to get their hands on this technology.

“And it all happens on August 21.”

Yes, August 21 is an important date for offshore oil — though it’s not necessarily going to bring any huge changes right away for ION or any other oil service firms, all of whom have seen falling share prices lately (IO is down by about 40% since the first version of this ad ran late in February, and by more than 50% since that first “April 1” deadline… April Fools!). August 21 is the day that the Federal Government is selling more offshore oil leases in the Gulf of Mexico as part of President Trump’s plan to open up more US waters to oil exploration (the April 1 date was about East Coast exploration, which is much earlier stage), and those who want to buy those leases will have to explore them, almost certainly using seismic equipment.

How about that other stuff they hint at, how this could also save lives? Here’s a bit of tease…

Physics Today reports EWIs could have life-saving medical applications.

“Primarily, preventing cardiovascular disease.

“That’s right…

“By detecting infrasound, EWIs could find slight irregularities in heartbeat and blood flow.

“These are DEADLY precursors that lead to heart disease….

“Professionals are blown away by the results.

“Molecular biologist Nigel Flynn noted “[this] technology will dramatically impact mortality rates of the world’s leading cause of death and extend human lifespan.”

“It could save 610,000 lives in the U.S. alone!”

So that’s pretty much just hooey. Not that the technology doesn’t exist, it does — it just doesn’t mean anything for IO, or anyone else in the near term. And it’s not “a professional” who thinks it will “dramatically impact mortality rates,” it’s the Chairman and President of the company that’s trying to develop a commercial sensor that uses this kind of “passive listening” technology. They’re called Infrasonix, and they’re currently trying to develop a prototype of what they call an “Infrascope,” which essentially just collects sound at low frequencies and can therefore listen to things like the blood flowing through the body.

But the “hooey” is that this doesn’t have anything to do with ION Geophysical, or with any other manufacturer of infrasound detectors or sensors. They haven’t even designed a product yet, let alone try to source the parts, and there are at least dozens of manufacturers of sensors that can detect infrasonic frequencies, none of whom would have their financial picture changed meaningfully by this in the near term (no, in case you’re curious, Infrasonix is not public — this is a crowd-funded startup that will probably raise more money to take their next steps fairly soon. I’m sure they’d like to get involved with a large medical device or wearables company to commercialize a product, but there are also tons of other researchers working in this area. Infrasonix licensed their technology from NASA, for whatever that’s worth, and, again (and perhaps obviously), has nothing to do with ION or any of the other major seismic sensor companies… it seems to just be a story that makes ION’s sensor business sound more important than it is.

So yes, seismic data and infrasound sensors are a real thing. And they have made a huge difference in oil and gas exploration, and the technology does continue to improve in an iterative way each year… though it’s not really controlled by a single company or owned entirely by, in this case, ION Geophysical (there are several decent-sized seismic data companies, including some fast-growing Chinese competitors). Moors’ copywriter seems to be using a fairly typical trick, explaining the incredible value and importance of seismic data for oil exploration… but then skipping a bunch of steps and implying that this whole technology is somehow new or owned by “one little company.”

ION itself might be interesting if you’re patient… they’ll need another surge of interest in offshore oil in order to really become profitable again, but those surges have tended to come about every now and then as oil prices surge, and some reasonable people are predicting that we’re on the cusp of another offshore oil boom if global demand continues to increase. They’ve also delevered quite a bit, and they think they’ll be able to repay their upcoming 2021 debt when it matures, so that provides some comfort. They’ve continued to say that they expect 2019 to be better than 2018, subject to exploration budgets, which isn’t saying a lot because 2018 was terrible… but better is, well, better than worse, and IO has seen revenue rebound a bit this year (not enough to get them back to profitability, and analysts don’t think they’ll be profitable next year, either… but they’re losing less).

Mostly, what matters is oil prices — higher oil prices and the expectation of higher future prices are what determine investment by the big energy companies, and if they invest more than they buy more seismic data, and spend more money building new seismic arrays or vessels and upgrading to the latest technologies. Here’s the chart for the last 10 years that shows WTI crude oil prices (blue), ION Geophysical revenue (red) and the IO share price (orange). It looks pretty clear to me that the 2014 collapse in oil prices dramatically impacted ION’s revenue, and it has never recovered… which has not given the share price much room to recover. The share price does respond temporarily to bumps up in oil prices (like we saw last year), but since the oil price came back down after those recent highs, it didn’t translate into more exploration spending and more revenue for IO. Maybe it will in the future if oil prices recover or at least stay above $50, but oil prices are in many ways just a guessing game that has a lot to do with global demand and GDP growth, with a side of war and Middle East brinksmanship thrown in.

WTI Crude Oil Spot Price Chart[7]

And that’s about all I can tell you. Interested in ION Geophysical? Think you’ve got a better match for those clues? Let us know with a comment below. We’ve left the original comments from the February version of this ad and article below to get you started.


Endnotes:
  1. read all about it in their brochure here.: https://www.iongeo.com/content/documents/Resource%20Center/Brochures%20and%20Data%20Sheets/Brochures/BR_SEN_Geophones_091509.pdf
  2. reported six months ago: https://www.iongeo.com/News_and_Events/Press_Releases/Press_Release/?id=2386433
  3. Which is true: https://www.iongeo.com/News_and_Events/Press_Releases/Press_Release/?id=2289102
  4. Shlumberger’s work with ION Geophysical offshore Mexico starting back in 2016: https://www.offshore-mag.com/geosciences/article/16754841/schlumberger-westerngeco-grabs-gom-wins
  5. Trump Administration has pushed forward to do more offshore oil exploration, particularly in the Atlantic: https://thehill.com/policy/energy-environment/419127-trump-moves-toward-offshore-oil-testing-in-atlantic
  6. ministration has provided the first level of approval for the seismic data collection: https://www.usnews.com/news/business/articles/2018-11-30/trump-admin-approves-seismic-surveys-for-atlantic-drilling
  7. [Image]: http://ycharts.com/indicators/wti_crude_oil_spot_price/chart/#/?annotations=&annualizedReturns=false&calcs=include:true,id:price,,include:true,id:revenues_ttm,,&chartType=interactive&colors=&correlations=&dateSelection=range&displayTicker=false&endDate=&format=indexed&legendOnChart=false&maxPoints=850&note=&partner=basic_850&quoteLegend=true&quotes=true&recessions=false&scaleType=linear&securities=include:true,id:I:WTICOSNK,,include:true,id:IO,,&securityGroup=&securitylistName=&securitylistSecurityId=&source=false&splitType=single&startDate=&title=&units=false&useEstimates=false&useHttps=false&zoom=10

Source URL: https://www.stockgumshoe.com/reviews/micro-energy-trader/whats-this-electro-wave-inversion-business-from-kent-moors-are-7-1-million-ewi-devices-shipping-april-1/


  1. 139 |
    Avatar
    Investor Clouseau
    Feb 27 2019, 04:43:04 pm

    Off topic, but…

    Can you see yourself ever revisiting $TDOC, maybe with their after-hours drop today? I’ve only been following it loosely since you stopped out, but I got the impression their CEOs indiscretions blew over rather quickly though there’s probably still a suit pending and I have no idea how that could financially impact them as a high growth and high hopes type company.

    I really like what they do and I think that industry is riding the wave of the near future.

  2. 19 |
    Avatar
    retiredrancher
    Feb 27 2019, 05:10:49 pm

    This really is a tough sell. After a quick review of their financials over the last several years, and comparisons to their peers, this doesn’t even qualify as a good house in a bad neighborhood.

  3. 43 |
    Avatar
    777stock777
    Feb 27 2019, 06:12:25 pm

    Probably a couple things going on here, an Electro-Mag array sensor that enables the measuring of resistivity in the earth, great for finding oil (highly resistive) as well as gold and other PM’s (very low resistance). Only good for shallow depths – maybe down to 7000 ft. Resolution can be an issue but working on this. In addition, yes they have the seismic thing. Both have been around awhile, both keep being improved. But cannot begin to think this is a good investment at this time.

  4. 13
    Avatar
    talagoudis
    Feb 27 2019, 07:25:24 pm

    Oh my gosh, I found Ion Geophysical through my own research, then I found this post, which explains ALL of it! Really wish I had found this first. Quick question though: do you think this is worth investing in? I really think green energy is on the rise, so should anyone invest in oil?

  5. 25
    Avatar
    lease4less
    Feb 28 2019, 01:32:57 am

    “For the U.S. Navy, it can be 100 times more accurate at spotting enemy submarines than the best military-grade sonar.”

    IF this were in any way true, the DoD would instantly slap a Top Secret US military use only, not for export or commercial sale block on the technology for genuine national security reasons. No way the Govt would EVER let this tech out into the wild. Could you imagine if our adversaries bought this tech??

    • Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe
      Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe
      Feb 28 2019, 07:13:39 am

      There are lots of sensor technologies that are gradually making submarines much less of a “stealth” force — sound detection tools that are similar to these kinds of sensors as well as arrays of magnetometers and other sensing/listening devices… along with, importantly, the computing power to analyze and soft all that data from thousands of sensors.

    • Avatar
      R Gray
      Mar 3 2019, 12:55:05 pm

      If this tech can “see” thru walls as promoted
      Perhaps our adversaries already have it with embassy personnel getting sick from this type of surveillance ?

  6. Avatar
    dan yariv weisbuch
    Feb 28 2019, 07:48:08 am

    Travis, hi!!
    i enjoyed again your writing and soul-search articles.
    to my sorrow Moors is part of the analyst pushes that have no physics knowledge , donot understand the product they sell and may induce naive public in error with fabricated numbers.
    you really do a service of bringing the horizon to its real location and contribute to the alert the public to the snakes grease sellers.
    thank you!

  7. Avatar
    Nancy
    Feb 28 2019, 11:03:53 am

    The “Moors” I hear the less I like!
    The selling marketing of this STUFF is what is interesting as it is an intentional interface of an underlying dynamic between interested parties, a triangularity with outreaching fingers to us the “pumped-paupers” ➡️“PUMPEES!”! !
    How does this come to mind?
    Before accesding The Writing/Research of the Thinkolater came across my desk, I realized there were better more stable energy metals on the Periodic Table than Lihuum! The chase for green energy storage was on, so first I figured ourcavout a Canadian ore mine in with all kinds of core testing, sample mineral core drilling successes, but STALLED AS AN OPENLY STATED PART OF THEIR INTENTIONAL BUSINESS PLAN! So in actual stock marketing delayed abeyance! Why awaiting a price rise to make the mining permissible, re an anticipated return to the 1970’s glory days withvac price rise in the world wide ore cost per pound! Soooo! Actually not urgent at all!

    The company had strategically planned before full scale mining would start, engaged in intentional waiting for the price on something he charged a promo-pumped item fee for from $2955-$3500.

    Fortunately discovered the company was composed of real serious mined-actual career experts! Good folks! Got 30,000 shares; will work out probably, but no “speed” in sight…urgency required by nothing but someone else’s ’ bank account balance calling out to our wallets!
    I am no chemist or physicist but simultaneously surrounded by them in my family for 4 generations of professors, business chemists! Asked for a metal better than Lithium; for a variety of reasons-but it dies not burn, is afvantageouskybused in steel production, thusly Vanadium came to mind!

    Re. Vanadium! Found a promotional stock “promo-‘ mercial,” there was pressurized, urgency in this also!
    Guess who?
    Must act by the 1st of Nov. 2018! “Cannot predict 100%,” but he made it sound like it would soon rise to $30.30 a share in two months! Explained the purported rise in cost must get in it fast due to constraints in terms of a quasi-regulatorily required technical investment/corporate offering deadline thing re.stocks , options, and price hold-backs (not his exact terminology)! Sinnalled was-buy now at $3.30 or the sky is the limit to it’s stock up-tick, so immediately get in as this stock’s price will rise after this official date of the stock’s status’ change on Nov. 1, 3018!!

    Figured it out, where the mine was who were the leaders in the picture! The stock has never hit the $3.30 zone after I bought; held up the price for a first few weeks! Has never returned! I have only 500 shares! Had I waited could have almost purchased increased quantity, almost have doubled it-notca total waste, because in th company are they are really decent seasoned leaders over their decision-making processes, as other business they have successfully grown over decades of prior successes!
    Seems like this fellow’s a better evaluator of decent mining people and just wants to help them out (slightly) but in doing so is almost defrauding the service purchasers (“pumpees” as to what they are buying!
    To this rank amateur!
    How is this marketing device triangularity devised? This fellow: 1.) the opportunist-entrepreneur, 2.) the “publisher-“marketer of stock-advantageous buying info; 3.) the owners of the business needing stock-pumping…that’s the triangle! Where does the “ ‘pumpee-sucker” fit in? That’s the question-WE DON’T FIT IN…WE’RE the dollar strewn tarmac they just roll on out of town to go to exciting places! “Used!l And that means one willingly gets out the credit card/check book!
    There is an intrinsic believability scam in making the promotional info feek like, look like someone is providing “one” with a “due-diligence” service …reassuring so one us freed up from that girca price tag! Maybe ok to bill for that, but whatcine gets is not there at all until later, if one is “lucky: ” it -may seem a bit of a “con”!
    The only “fit” is the one you’d have if you had paid the same sized fee to the pumper as the cash amount one could have used and spent onboard going solo as a modest, but in cheap stocks, as promoted, a sufficient starter, investment stake! !
    ➡️Latest is the Mike Burdink •secret• stock price discounting Ticker codes, the secret stickers are about 12 digits (est.)-encrypted numbers to access through a •secret• “800” call phone call! It offerered a bonus $5,000.00 personal check, that was a hard negotiation between the pumper and the publisher! At first it sounds like cash! But nope; $5,000.00 free, of more stick/investing promo store stuff from the pumper’s publisher! This annual cost $1450.00+, or $500. a quarter year without the “store coupon-check”
    Love the words •tiny•,& •secret•! They are now “code-whistles!”
    Do not quit! When my “shopping” debit card allows- I will join the premium ranks!

  8. Avatar
    Paeter
    Mar 4 2019, 11:17:44 pm

    You are correct in your guess that it’s IO that he is hinting about. If you go on the ION geophysical website, you will see the exact photo of the under sea oil field that he shows.

  9. Avatar
    Jami Moore
    Mar 12 2019, 02:35:50 pm

    Thanks for the info, I don’t mind buying a subscription to real good info that will make me money but don’t need anyone exaggerating or lying about a stock to get people to buy into their memebership to get the info on the stock.

    • Avatar
      PoliticallyCorrect
      Mar 30 2019, 11:51:35 am

      Jami – you are so right.

      One of the first things I read about investing was [unfortunately] a Dr. Kent Moors article.

      The article was extremely long, included pictures of Moors onsite at the properties, and gave extensive descriptors of everything from research to prognoses.

      In the article, he espoused seven sure-thing-type oil/mining companies which had been targeted by this very small, very exclusive group to which Moors had made a presentation, or in which he had participated.

      Of course, you had to spend thousands of dollars to gain access to the names of these seven unbelievably wonderful companies, which I did.

      As opposed to the other Moneymappress advisors, there was nothing on the site to recommend using only 2% or 5% of your portfolio, to prevent intractable losses.

      Having just decided to divest from a profitable GS fund, I took the $70K, and divided it equally among the seven companies.

      Immediately, the seven companies’ stock price plummeted, and lost 50% or more of their value.

      Many of the other advisors on MoneyMapPress are helpful, honest, and warn every time about only using a portion of your funds that you are comfortable with losing.

      No so Dr. Moors. Very bad advice. Ridiculous cost for membership that provides no useful information. EXTREMELY unhappy with him.

      • Avatar
        Been There Donethat
        May 11 2019, 11:52:58 pm

        I hope you disputed the charge with you credit card for not being the product promised? You should be able to get that credited back to your card. Demand it, I never take no for an answer and have not failed yet! Good luck!

  10. Avatar
    Ampman
    Mar 14 2019, 02:23:49 pm

    I can’t believe Kent Moors’s newsletters carry much hype. I’m an engineer/inventor in electronics and I find his writing makes no sense. I would hate to waste time reading such a misleading report the main purpose of which is to tease readers into subscribing to another report/analysis service. I wonder what non-engineers do with his hypes. So far I bought nothing he recommended. They would have lost me serious money.

  11. Avatar
    Tech Investor
    Mar 27 2019, 10:23:27 pm

    “ION, however, claims ‘approximately 500’ patents, so I don’t know where the ‘107 patents’ bit comes from.”

    “It has been awarded 107 patents for this technology.”

    Ion may have “approximately 500” patents; however, possibly only 107 patents are related to “this technology.”

  12. Avatar
    ODILIA
    Apr 1 2019, 04:39:40 pm

    I’ve said it before why are stock advisors making it very difficult to know what company is one of the stocks we need to invest in? We pay a fee, so please give me the information I paid for. It’s not right. As it is there are not enough hours in the day or night. Need help.

    • Avatar
      Ralien
      May 5 2019, 06:42:45 pm

      This is a long winded email, but will try to keep it as short as possible.

      I feel all of your pain(s) as I have lost over $100k in the last year from the likes of Agora Financial and other smaller bands of thieves (AMP trading, Ninja trading etc.) Every time I bought their so called “SECRET STOCKS” they would have a ton of shorts come in and drive it down. After I finally figured this out by looking at the stock a few days prior to my buying it it was obvious that the stock had already made a run higher and these guys were waiting for suckers like me to pay high so that could sell out or short it.

      So I paid to get trained by a company call Online Trading Academy ($45k) not sure it will pay off but I have learned a few things about trading these dangerous markets. They are rule professed by all the top level traders.

      1. Its all manipulation (by anyone having the ability to buy heavy amounts of stock, puts, calls and what not. Check out YouTube “Crammer manipulation” it tells the whole story how he calls all of us “idiots and suckers!
      2. I will not invest in anything putting more then 2% of my total account at stake on any one stock or option or currency (3% on something that I have traded before and did well at) And you should always keep about 25% to 35% in cash just in case you find a really good trade or the market slides hard enough to take a large part of your total assets.
      3. I will always put a STOP LOSS at 5% to 10% above my target price. This will insure any loss will be only 10% max of the purchase price. $30 stock with a max loss of $3 per share if the trade moves against me.
      4. Gold and all metals for that matter fall as the market falls. Check this out for your self. Don’t take my word for it. That is why cash is always good to have when a market falls. (Google K-Wave and you will see what I am talking about)
      5. Take your money out of 401k’s (move it to self directed accounts like TD or Etrade etc.) and any mutual funds, make them self directed 401k’s or IRA’s but don’t let these bad guys hold your money. When the markets start to slide they will not answer your calls to get you out until days later and you have lost a high percentage of your portfolio. They are told by managers to not sell your positions so that all the big boys (their bigger clients) can get out first.
      6. Create a simulated trade account first and learn to trade safely before putting your money in the shark pit (or snake pit if you prefer) Trading patterns are just the way it is done in the markets. Everyone (market makers, hedge funds and all the guys that can afford to buy the talent) have an algorithm to run stocks up and down at their will. So learn how these patterns work and you too can catch a few dollars from these manipulations.

      • Avatar
        Bob Sullivan
        Jul 5 2019, 04:45:13 pm

        It sounds like you have learned a great deal about these investment opportunities that has come at an enormous financial cost. I have been looking at these investments and for nearly 20’years trying to find the right opportunities. Mostly finding them to be scams that I avoided through fear and luck. However, others have proven to be losses. I have a neighbor who has a hedge fund that he reports earning great profits with 1 to 2 % shifts in the market. He worked for years on Wall Street. I want to invest but my wife doesn’t trust him. Now, I found another opportunity to invest in smaller companies that may have more inherent risk but with more information and less manipulation could provide greater return. I’d like to discuss this with you to ask what you think.

  13. Avatar
    FRAN8MORRISS
    Jun 2 2019, 11:49:21 am

    Travis or Steve
    What is this about pulling everything out by June 19th?
    Thank-You
    Frank8Morriss
    The stock I was supposed to post on May 31st, I never got from Matt McCall. I have sent about 10 e-mails to him, but still no response.

  14. Avatar
    Mike Barnard
    Jun 19 2019, 10:29:22 am

    Thanks for the heads up. I was thinking of taking a serious look but you’ve covered all the issues extremely well and revealed much of the BS!
    On a separate note I wondered if you’ve done a similar review on mandate 232 due for a decision by Trump on 13th July 2019 and the likely effect on US uranium prices and the consequential share price outlook for certain USA producers?

  15. 22 |
    Avatar
    kaseymoe
    Jun 24 2019, 06:04:23 pm

    The chart tells the tale and it’s not strong: Use any chart program on symbol IO and you’ll find a downward move from $30 in April 2018 to current price under $8. I don’t even see much of a bump from this current round of hyped-up ads. Thank you, Travis – the Truth- Sayer.

  16. Avatar
    vivian lewis
    Aug 17 2019, 06:32:37 am

    Schlumberger Ltd., s’il vous plait. It is an Alsatian French family name and spelled as if it is German. the company was created by two brothers of that name who developed methods for finding oil and gas using feedback from drilling rigs back in the early 20th century. It is now incorporated in the Dutch Antilles and run from Paris and Houston, currently by a Norwegian who is to be replaced by a Frenchman next year. Shlumberger is wrong.

  17. Avatar
    Max Schwartzmeyer
    Aug 17 2019, 09:25:10 pm

    So Travis, and of course you Savy readers of his, if someone was to be getting a “small” inheritance and they wanted to invest like 5k in like 10 “great potential” stocks where would you be putting your money ??

    • 34 |
      Avatar
      money tree
      Aug 26 2019, 10:05:37 pm

      Hey Max, Good for you to be looking at investing.
      Because the #1 rule of investing is TIME.
      Warren Buffet
      Travis offers great insight with his “real money Portfolio”, but the point is that :
      Travis is sharing what he is doing, so others can think about if they want to do it. and he is NOT specifically recommending.
      That’s because 1: legally, it is tricky –
      and 2:-everyones situation is different. So it is hard to advise anyone without some good financial planning… How much real estate, how soon you need cash, time horizon…
      That being said, Travis offers great ideas at a great price. I also love the Motley Fool advice.

      I encourage you to really diversify in several ways.
      First, its PERFECT that you want at least 10 stocks ! That is a minimum! It seems no matter what you do, even if you are diligent, the 80/20 rule will apply. 80% of your returns will come from 20% of your stocks. So usually out of 10 stocks: 2 will be losers, 6 will mirror the market, and 2 will crush the market giving you outsized returns. For example, Who knew an online bookstore would become a trillion dollar company, Amazon. They crushed it.

      Second, you could include some bonds in the form of a bond fund, or Bond ETF’s. A lot of advisors recommend 20% of portfolio be in bonds because it protects these assets and gives a yield. You’ll be glad if the market gets cut in half. It is personal preference though. How sad will you be if your portfolio gets cut in half. Can you sleep?

      Third, there are stocks and ETF’s which further diversify your holdings. For example, the company Berkshire Hathaway, Run by the famous Warren Buffet, is a compilation of lots of companies, so it is already diversified. He usually beats the market by buying good solid value and holding long, long term.

      Fourth, Study: “Dollar Cost Averaging.” It almost always wins. Especially right now with a lopsided market, global growth slowdown, and trade uncertainties. Populism is exploding and that is not often good for trade. Long story short… Don’t be in a hurry! Invest your money in 3 different stages: $3.3k now, $3.3k later, and $3.3k even later (at least a year later, or even two!). Buy when “there is blood in the streets” and no one would touch the market with a 10 foot pole… and then look away and hold your nose! It’s probably gonna stay stormy.

      Why did I say the market is lopsided? because some sectors are super cheap! Like banks and oil. They are on sale! Because people are scared of declining oil demand and slowing economy and negative interest rates which is tough on banks.
      Other parts of the market are on FIRE! Expensive. Like technology and software-as-a-service. Because some fo these are growing so fast, it is crazy to imagine what they are worth.

      There is so much to learn 🙂 and it is fun!
      I think Travis newsletter is a great find, because for a low rate you can get some good ideas. With $5k you don’t want to spend too much on a service, because it eats into your potential gains. So I would NOT spend more than $250. (5% of your investment capital!) As this thread shows- Do not buy Kent Moores newsletter. I tracked his performance on a spreadsheet, seriously, and it was AWFUL.

      What is the story of the future? If you guess right, and invest accordingly, you will do spectacularly well!
      I’m guessing: Internet-of-Things (a chip in everything), Cyber security, Health care, Artificial Intelligence, Big Data, Genetics, Machine learning, G-5, Liquid Natural Gas, Batteries, eSports, Virtual Reality, cashless society, Marijuana (tricky)… ..What do you see? (i get so excited!)

      Everyones portfolio goes up and down! Don’t chicken out. If it is down after a year, keep waiting for five years. If you need this money soon, buy a CD. All the studies show, over and over that buying good companies and holding yields the highest returns. The more someone trades, the less money they have in 10 years, 99% of the time. Factual studies, not my opinion.

      Be careful! Penny stocks are usually NOT the answer. Take your time and enjoy the ride.

      So for ideas- study these: some banks(BAC, WFC, BRK.B), some internet cloud & data(MSFT, AMZN, TWLO, TTD, MDB), proven winners & internet(AAPL, AMZN, DIS, SHOP, FB) tech (WIX, TXN, TSLA) safer dividends like oil pipelines & Infrastructure, and consumer goods (ENB, NEE, BIP, PG), eSports (TTWO, ATVI), 5-G (VZN, AMT, XLNX, KEYS, KEM), Bonds (TGLMX)
      You could throw in some Gold, Silver (FNV, AG)

      READ! perhaps “Beating the Street,” Peter Lynch
      Nothing wrong with 15 stocks, It’s way better.
      Good luck. Enjoy Investing 1/3 now…
      { whew, that was a lot. sorry if you didn’t want all that. Perhaps you r already well invested and I just didn’t get it from your question 🙂

What These Icons Mean