Morningstar Premium Membership

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.7/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
3.8
Rating from 53 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Morningstar Premium Membership, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 18 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

13 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Enginer
Guest
December 12, 2009 7:21 pm

I p$175 per year for the Premium level service. At the time I subscribed I also had a subscription to Investors Business Daily. They provide complementary services, but with a lot of overlap.

I primarily use them for stock advice and often find the two differ in their short term ratings. I like the Morningstar concept of wide moat – meaning a company that isn’t easily challenged in it’s field. I dropped IBD for cost and stayed with Morningstar because of consistent good long term recomendations

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
1823
Elgordo
Irregular
Elgordo
January 26, 2010 2:13 pm

I’ve subscribed to MorningStar Premium for 5 or 6 years and am satisfied with it.
Selects undervalued stocks with entry points. Their writeup on the stock is very good. Estimates its intrinsic (fair) value), if it has a wide, narrow or no moat, bull and bear cases for/against the stock.
They have a free non-premium service on the web that you can sample.

Add a Topic
1823
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Dale
Guest
Dale
January 26, 2010 5:38 pm

The Morningstar premium service is a good place to get information on stocks you are thinking about purchasing. There is plenty of information on a wide variety of stocks and mutual funds. Sometimes there is too much info and their analysis is a little all over the place but still worth checking out. They do change their valuations quite often as well which could be a good or bad thing depending on what you are looking for. All in all a good companion when you are doing your homework but I would’nt take their buy and sell entry and exit points too seriously.

Add a Topic
1823
Add a Topic
334
Sue
Member
Sue
July 19, 2010 4:27 pm

I have subscribed to Morningstar Premium for several years. I do not use it as a “newsletter” in the sense that the others reviewed here offer stock picks. I began my subscription to get star ratings on mutual funds, but now use it in overall analysis of stocks I am looking at based on information from several sources. I am not as impressed with their ETF analysis or screens, but again, Morningstar is just one of many sources I use in overall investing analysis. I am still subscribed to Investor’s Business Daily but find myself using Morningstar much more often. Also, Morningstar has some good daily articles (you can get those in free version).

Add a Topic
1823
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
334
jxmmd
Guest
jxmmd
January 5, 2011 10:32 pm

I have been subscribed for 2 yrs. Wasted my money on their Options course and M’star premium. They have horrible service and emphasize only fundamental analysis with “buy and hold” as their principle emphasis.If you want a blend of fundamentals and technicals I would recommend other services eg. Investools. This serviceis a waste of money.

Add a Topic
570
hblytt
Member
hblytt
April 27, 2013 6:55 pm

I will start by saying I agree with jxmmd. M* is Fundamental analysis. Let’s say I bought a 5-* stock. It’s a bargain at the price, when it’s day comes, etc, etc. Two months later, it’s an even bigger bargain. In other words I’m losing money on the stock. As far as it goes, the fundamental analysis is a good thing. But I need more. So I also subscribe to Investors.com. Another $150 or so/yr. Their take on fundamental is what the company’s quarterly earnings increase is Now, not in the future. And there is a lot of material on both sites. A whole lot that’s worth learning. I go to a job every day. But I can’t help wonder: If I could sit in front of my monitor all day every day, improving my investing game, could I make more than my job?

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
3885
👍 11
miltonmoney
Member
June 7, 2013 7:47 am

very through homework done here..great newsletter,exspensive but damn good.

👍 16
hblytt
Member
hblytt
September 17, 2013 10:13 pm

Morningstar is more than just a newsletter. They do have a buy-and-hold emphasis that gives me hives. But they have contributed mightily to my investing education. However, that’s not the reason I’m writing. My friendly local public library supplies me with free internet access to M* and to Value Line. I will probably continue my subscription to M* and possibly to M* Dividend Investor. But Value Line is above my pay grade. I am thrilled to find I can not only access it gratis through my public library but in the comfort of my home office.

Add a Topic
1823
Add a Topic
372
👍 11
miltonmoney
Member
February 5, 2014 7:06 am

a bit pricey at first ,but you get your monies worth.VERY thougher in information. GREAT for a NEWBIE too.a/1…..

👍 16
Ed S
Guest
Ed S
February 12, 2018 5:51 pm