Motley Fool Options

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.5/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 57 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Motley Fool Options, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 18 votes
Rating: 4.1/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 4.5/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 3.5/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 2 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

10 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ELGORDO
Irregular
ELGORDO
January 4, 2010 12:04 pm

MOTLEY FOOL OPTION SERVICE. Their suggestions consist mainly of selling puts, covered writes on stock and selling calls. I’m dissatisfied with their service as with my experience these are things I can do easily. In addition selling calls, puts and doing covered stock exposes you to possible large losses.
Their recommended purchases of calls and puts are very few and that is the type of option service I’m interested in. By buying options, losses are limited and there is a chance of a good score.
For an experienced option trader I don’t recommend the service.

Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
QRon
Guest
QRon
February 19, 2020 2:54 pm
Reply to  ELGORDO

wrote: “… doing covered stock exposes you to possible large losses.”
Actually, covered calls are one of the least risky options strategies. Covered calls are one of the few options strategies that are allowed in tax-advantaged accounts like IRAs.

I’ve been a subscriber to Motley Fool’s Options service for over 10 years. I’ve learned a lot. As someone else pointed out, it takes time to learn and understand options trading. The service has more than paid for itself each and every year I’ve been a member.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
329
cautious
cautious
March 11, 2010 4:44 am

Subscribed in August, hoping to learn and profit. The educational aspect is good, the practice is mediocre. Not worth the lofty price.

mmkmmk
Member
mmkmmk
January 13, 2013 2:47 pm

This is a waist of money.

👍 1
dauplat
Member
dauplat
February 26, 2013 1:32 pm

I’ve been investing in stocks and options for over 20 years now, and I really enjoy Motley Fool Options. I used to do just buying or selling calls or puts. Now I’ve learned how to increase my profits with spreads, straddles, strangles. Haven’t tried an “Iron Condor” yet, but they explain how to do it.

They seem to have a good percentage of winning trades (80-90%). I pick and choose the ones i implement, and I’ve made enough to pay for my subscription for the next 20 years.

You need to be a little patient sometimes. They have enough readers that when their recommendations come out, the volume of those issues jumps enough to possibly skew the price temporarily. Wait a few hours or more, and you’ll be fine.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
570
👍 4
rxedward
Member
rxedward
October 28, 2013 5:16 pm

A great service for trade ideas no matter if you are a veteran or a newbie. Even pro’s can use a different look at options. In the option markets there is so many different trades you can make the motley fool options service help you realize some excellent opportunities you may not think of.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
570
mike
Guest
March 27, 2017 3:37 pm

They enable the fools to access a vast amount of information. In my opinion it is way to much past (irrelevant) history of their accomplishments and not enough actionable put and call trades. Most of this is a distraction. Volumes of opinions by other subscribers that really can be an overwhelming amount of reading for some of us. Also like most others they are constantly pitching their other products for sale to the fools.

Nick
Guest
Nick
April 19, 2018 7:23 pm

I enjoyed there service i put a video review together on it
Review of Motley Fool – Options Service
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwfELn5W8GA

Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
570
Joo Beng Koh
Guest
Joo Beng Koh
August 5, 2020 3:20 am

I actually did appreciate the service. It was very educational, and showed me when, why, and how I should use Options correctly (i.e. safely and not as a “gambling” tool) – not for everyone I know, but it suited my style of investing. Unfortunately, they have stopped accepting new subscriptions, and I couldn’t even extend my old subscription – they are trying to get me to purchase one of their other services which have MFO as an add-on, I guess because they’re winding down the service. I still have some positions open that were closely following the MFO recommendations, so if anyone can point me to how I could still follow these last moves, I’d appreciate that!

markdavis65
Member
markdavis65
October 12, 2020 2:46 pm

I’ve had good results with MFO
The service is well worth the cost. The service paid for itself in one trade.
The education on options was well worth the price as well.
They stay on the safe side of options – i.e. covered call, writing puts, synthetic longs, bull call spreads, strangles.
There are more exotic trades, but I stick with the ones that I understand the best.
They have a