Motley Fool Rule Breakers

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.7/5. From 92 votes.
Please wait...
3.6
Rating from 439 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Motley Fool Rule Breakers, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 137 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 137 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 44 Votes
  • 4 Stars 45 Votes
  • 3 Stars 26 Votes
  • 2 Stars 11 Votes
  • 1 Stars 11 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 99 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 99 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 26 Votes
  • 4 Stars 36 Votes
  • 3 Stars 22 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 111 votes
Rating: 3.4/5. From 111 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 27 Votes
  • 4 Stars 26 Votes
  • 3 Stars 27 Votes
  • 2 Stars 22 Votes
  • 1 Stars 9 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 92 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 92 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 23 Votes
  • 4 Stars 36 Votes
  • 3 Stars 18 Votes
  • 2 Stars 8 Votes
  • 1 Stars 7 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

33 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sitka Charly
Sitka Charly
2 years ago

Are the monthly stock picks for Stock Adviser and Rule Breakers the same?

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
421
Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe
Reply to  Sitka Charly

No, they are separate services. There’s probably a little overlap in their portfolios, but they don’t issue the same recommendations at the same time.

👍 15837
Helen Saunders
Helen Saunders
1 year ago

Perhaps I am not using this paid for service correctly. However, Rule Breakers and Stock Advisor do not give me the answers to questions hinted at stocks worthy of investment even though I am a subscriber. I paid for my subscriber but detest having to waste time searching for promised answers.

Add a Topic
421
Add a Topic
477
rochelle linnetz
rochelle linnetz
5 months ago
Reply to  Helen Saunders

I feel exactly the same way. I’ll get an ad from MF but I can’t find it in my subscriptions.

Add a Topic
4656
Michael
Michael
1 year ago

I have had a subcription to Rule Breakers for 2 years. The good is that they expose you to companies you never heard of and present some logical reasons to buy based on research and market related conditions. The bad is that since they invest for the long term they usually do not provide and explanation for poor performance over a quarter until the impact of that performance decline has already appeared in the stock price. One needs to consider that long term might be a great outlook but a 6 month low period deprives one of investing in other Motley recommendations that are in high growth cycles. This is where I think things fall short. All in all it is a good value as a trial and then decide for yourself.

Add a Topic
421
eberle
eberle
1 year ago

Very poor customer service. I have to search for the recommendations. I do better on my own

Mike
1 year ago

I have been a member of Rule Breakers for a year now. I would highly recommend it, but you have to review the RB recommendations and “Do your Homework,” as Jim Cramer would say. I think they do a great job identifying potential stocks for a portfolio. I initially invested about $11,000 in about 10 Rule Breakers stocks in March 2018 and within 6 months, I was up $4,300! Then we had the market meltdown. I held on, as I am following the long-term strategy that Motley Fool recommends. By late-December, my gains were almost completely erased. Now that the market is moving upward, I am up by $3,100 as of January 18, 2019. Some of their recommendations are more speculative than others, so I recommend doing your own in-depth research on each company you are interested in. Overall, I think that RB is a great service.

Add a Topic
421
M
M
1 year ago

I subscribed to the new Artificial Intelligence Motley Fool service and found it to be realistically somber about AI short term prospects in contrast to my other sources. Excellent discussions of the subject for background and the status of present companies. Probably saved me the high cost of the subscription.

👍 14
rbwwinters
rbwwinters
8 months ago

I have subscribed to both Rule Breakers and Stock Advisors for at least 5 years. I have gotten a number of good picks from each service. Prime examples include Shopify and Align Technology, both purchased on recommendations in 2016. OKTA is a stock I bought in early 2018 based on a SA recommendation. These certainly were companies I was not aware of before learning about them in MF. As someone in this chain has written, the picks of David Gardner are doing especially good.

I don’t buy everything they recommend, your do have to apply your own thoughts about products/markets but I have been very happy with the 2 examples above and a good number of others.

Recently subscribed to Supernova for 6 months but decided to let that lapse. Overall it wasn’t beating the market – got some good winners such as ROKU and ODFL and some losers such as TWLO. Figured the picks being touted in Supernova should be coming up in the other 2 services if Supernova was the “best of the best” and didn’t really need to pay for a 3rd service.

Not sure why some people were saying they couldn’t figure out what the recommendations were – it is very easy to find their “current best buy” recommendations in both services.

I will say MF can be annoying with constant mailers asking me to buy more services, such as Supernova.

Add a Topic
5541
Add a Topic
3469
Add a Topic
421
👍 4
Bev
Bev
1 month ago

I have found through out the years that Fool never tells you exactly What The Stock is , especially new ones . Even after “subscribing ” You get tons of emails , each one a book to wade through and still no revealing of the stock they are talking about . This is a waste of time and frustrating.