Motley Fool Stock Advisor

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.6/5. From 200 votes.
Please wait...
3.8
Rating from 876 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Motley Fool Stock Advisor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 256 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 256 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 99 Votes
  • 4 Stars 70 Votes
  • 3 Stars 39 Votes
  • 2 Stars 29 Votes
  • 1 Stars 19 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 209 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 209 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 64 Votes
  • 4 Stars 83 Votes
  • 3 Stars 36 Votes
  • 2 Stars 13 Votes
  • 1 Stars 13 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 211 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 211 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 89 Votes
  • 4 Stars 51 Votes
  • 3 Stars 26 Votes
  • 2 Stars 25 Votes
  • 1 Stars 20 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 200 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 200 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 60 Votes
  • 4 Stars 63 Votes
  • 3 Stars 30 Votes
  • 2 Stars 22 Votes
  • 1 Stars 25 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

130 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
kickbk00
Member
kickbk00
August 3, 2017 9:29 am

I am a member of an investment club…… Yes, I know, they never do well and never make it past one year as a club.
We are celebrating out 20th anniversary this year.
We decided to take a “tour” of the Fools headquarters about 10 years ago. If you haven’t done it, take one, it’s well worth it. After the tour, we were escorted into one of the” board rooms”. Low and behold, in came on of the stock pickers from David’s team and one of the vice presidents. I am sorry, their names escape me after 10 years. They actually sat down for down with us for a hour and a half to just chat. That alone was surprising, I think they were “intrigued by us because, we were still together after 10 years, and we are a all women club ( honestly, some of the ladies are quite funny and had them in stitches over some of our comments). The only thing missing was some cold beer and chips! We knew they couldn’t give us any stock advise as we were going in to take the tour. We showed them our portfolio, and they were impressed.
They were really fun and gave some tidbits for choosing a stock.

First fool rule- never invest in anything you don’t know or understand.
Second fool rule- Look to see if the CEO is a visionary (ex: Steve Jobs, Jeff Bezo, etc)
These two simple fool rules advice alone has the clubs portfolio up over 166%. We love the Fools Stock Advisor news
letter. Sorry for the long winded clip!

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
👍 36
Richard Hoffman
Member
February 2, 2018 8:15 pm
Reply to  kickbk00

How does a person decide if a CEO is an actual visionary such as Elon Musk ? Jeff Immelt (GE CEO) looked like a visionary when he began investing in the Internet of Things, and telling the stock holders everything was going well (down the drain). Elon has the talent to convince the stockholders that everything is going along smoothly,
when they are unable to meet the production schedule, and are in need of funds.

Add a Topic
3239
Add a Topic
5076
Add a Topic
5971
B. B. Stanfield
Member
B. B. Stanfield
August 6, 2017 4:32 pm

Ever read the Richest Man in Babylon? Excellent advice and if you follow the ideas you can’t go wrong in the long run. Trick with most advisors is that they seem to push themselves with ads and newsletters and subscription pitches. If they were as good as they advertise then people would come running to them with cash in hand. Like many here the constant pushing of services and collecting fees is maddening. They make their money from you, not from investing. They’re selling something – advice. Like most things, worth what you pay for.

I subscribe to The Street and The Motley Fool Advisor. They both are excellent in providing rationale and recommendations and following them has provided me with this view:

The Street is conservative, doesn’t take large risks, is big on actively managing their portfolio and will likely match or outperform the standard indexes over time. It is a lot of work to track, evaluate and manage such an active portfolio. The other side of that is you must pay attention to your business or someone will take it from you. (The Richest Man in Babylon talks to this.)

For The Motley Fool I’ve come to the conclusion that David has the best performance recommendations overall. The combined results seem to be more scattered and leave more to the individual to figure out what is best for their goals. Almost too many options which can leave one hanging……….but it does provide enough variety to satisfy multiple goals for their customers so a lot to pick from successfully.

I put both portfolios, (The Street and The Motley Fool), through the Folio Investing, Scottrade and RBC Investment Management analysis programs. What I learned is that if you purchase and track all of The Street portfolio moves you will likely lead the S & P 500 slightly over time. If you purchase the Motley Fool monthly recommendations you’ll do far better. If you purchase the Motley Fool Starter Stocks you would make between 10 – 12 times more than the S & P 500. All this over a five year period. The best path between these options is obviously the Motley Fool Starter Stocks listing.

To assist in my investing I’ve combined the input from these advisors, the analysis tools listed above, and developed a hybrid portfolio. I have a reason for owning every company and track each to some degree daily when possible. Now that I’m retired I have more time to do such things and found that I actually spend less time on investing.

The best thing is to do as the basic advisors tell you; know what you’re buying, owning, and when to buy and when to sell. Don’t get greedy and don’t panic. You’ll miss a lot of times, but for those few you hit dead on, they will far outweigh the poor choices. Overall you can do extremely well.

I’ve been able to generate enough income to cover ½ of my retirement needs in case my pension incomes ever hiccup. That’s getting rolled back to pay off debt, improve my real estate holdings and further diversify investments. I had never expected to be in this position. A lot of hard work, sacrifice, luck and common sense went into getting me here. So, my analysis results without going into too much detail:

If you take a $300,000 portfolio configured as I have described it would be up over $42,000 in the past two years. Another, configured slightly differently, a $300,000 portfolio would be up $31,000 in the same time. A $100,000 portfolio would be up $18,000 in 16 months. A $3,000,000 portfolio is showing up over $552,000 in 20 months. All from following the advice and processes I’ve developed.

Note that the markets have risen recently and these have not been tested against a down market. The statistics say that they should fall far less than the indexes in general.

There is a correction coming at the very least. I’ll be monitoring the performance very closely and make adjustments where indicated.

Now if I had all that money to actually invest I’d probably not worry about my income streams in retirement. What I do have is growing because of the support from advisors such as The Street, The Motley Fool and others. My experience says to pick a method that you’re comfortable with, that works for you and stick with it. Make adjustments where needed and you can’t go too badly off the rails.

Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
372
jimaker
Member
jimaker
November 27, 2017 2:31 pm

I not only appreciate their stock advice, but their ethic over the years and scarcity of pitches to upgrade to their other services, so I get a minimum of undesired emails from them. Fantastic folks with a good heart.

Add a Topic
5971
James Maclin
Irregular
November 27, 2017 5:58 pm

I have only just joined and have been to happy. Each week they try to get you to
upgrade. I will not renew.

xx22
Member
xx22
November 28, 2017 8:48 pm

I’ve done very well with the Stock Advisor. Just ignore all the new super deluxe $5,000 big sale $1,000 off today only hustles.

Add a Topic
5971
👍 2
kickbk00
Member
kickbk00
November 29, 2017 10:07 am

My investment club follows the stock advisor. We buy what the fools recommend, only if we understand the company they are talking about and if the CEO a visionary. This philosophy has raised our portfolio well over 200%. Can’t say enough good things about the stock advisor and the fools.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
👍 36
Antoine Garbolino
Member
Antoine Garbolino
November 29, 2017 10:49 am

Rather good picks pertaining to the underlying companies but they should pay more attention to the price of the stocks as they advise to buy even with very high P/E ratios or where the stocks are at a maximum high.In that case it is better to keep those stocks on radar and wait one or two months to buy.

Add a Topic
372
rodger27
Irregular
December 4, 2017 3:47 pm

I have subscribed to Motley Fool Stock Advisor for the last 10-15 years. Their records is very good but you have