Motley Fool Stock Advisor

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.6/5. From 200 votes.
Please wait...
3.8
Rating from 876 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Motley Fool Stock Advisor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 256 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 256 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 99 Votes
  • 4 Stars 70 Votes
  • 3 Stars 39 Votes
  • 2 Stars 29 Votes
  • 1 Stars 19 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 209 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 209 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 64 Votes
  • 4 Stars 83 Votes
  • 3 Stars 36 Votes
  • 2 Stars 13 Votes
  • 1 Stars 13 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 211 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 211 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 89 Votes
  • 4 Stars 51 Votes
  • 3 Stars 26 Votes
  • 2 Stars 25 Votes
  • 1 Stars 20 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 200 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 200 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 60 Votes
  • 4 Stars 63 Votes
  • 3 Stars 30 Votes
  • 2 Stars 22 Votes
  • 1 Stars 25 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

130 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Michael Hoffman
Member
Michael Hoffman
September 12, 2018 11:08 am

I’ve followed the Foll since nearly its inception and always been impressed with the quality of the analysis across their reports. I’ve been a Stock Advisor and Rule Breakers client for the past few years, finally giving them something ($$$) back for all the education they provided me through the years.
I would never buy ALL of their recommendations — one of their top rules is “buy what you know” — but their analysis allows me to understand certain companies better and make knowledgeable decisions.
Bottom Line: the stocks I’ve followed their recommendations on have provided an average 125% increase over the past 2 years. I cannot complain about that — The investment gain would pay for the next 15 years of the subscription price.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
421
Add a Topic
372
xyz123
xyz123
September 12, 2018 10:27 pm

I’ve been trying out a few “experts” and recently checked my Motley Fool track record from email alerts I’ve received this past year and I have to say I wish I went with the Motley Fool recommendations instead of the others. 30 of 32 stocks pitched via “buy now” alerts and scorecard emails would’ve made me money. Of course that would depend on when I bought and sold as in any case. I’m still searching and testing but Motley Fool has my vote of confidence right now. FYI, I’m no expert, just a rookie getting up in age with little time left in life to figure it all out myself.

Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
329
👍 13
Scott Freeman
Guest
Scott Freeman
September 13, 2018 12:10 am

I’ve been a subscriber to Stock Advisor for 4 years now. I trust their research, and they’ve given me some great ideas (MELI, ATVI, CRM, amongst others). I always follow up with my own research before investing though, as everyone should. The only ding for me is their incessant e-mail marketing.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
736
clark kent
Guest
clark kent
September 23, 2018 9:13 am

I subscribed to motley fool stock advisor and took a flyer with them in rule breakers and a couple others. I was building in my 401k and used this service for about 3 years. They do excellent research and they have access to much information that commoners do not. This gives them an inside track that most of us cannot match and they know how to use it. I accidentally ran 250 thousand up to 1.2 million in one month and canceled my subscription. No taxes, was in my 401k as mentioned. I rate them high on everything. The only problem I have with them is the way they are begging for new subscribers. I have almost put them on a spam list, but they have excellent recommendations for the most part. I also play options for the most part so I don’t fit well with their long term view; I like buying and selling frenzies where the volatility and mob mentality makes me a lot of money quickly(tlry, cron, cgc for the last month, amd before that). If they would stop the incessant emailing I would buy the service. Probably. In the meantime, I just want tips on what to look at, and I get that from gumshoe(Many thanks!) and fidelity, where my 401 is still located. Last week I bought tlry october 19 $110 calls in a roth account I set up to make profits when it hit 98 dollars a share on a down moment. I sold when tlry hit 240. That is the best I have done in a while. For steady income I sell weekly calls, and when I decided I wanted some cron, I sold some 12.50 weekly puts(which didn’t fill, so just money in the bank and I will sell more monday). I want more cron so I can sell weekly covered calls while I let it appreciate. I am also pretty heavy on future cron calls so call me long on cron and cgc. If you gave me tlry stock I would sell it at market when the market opens monday morning and the surge hits. I am playing with profit so I am risky, risky risky, sane people should not do a lot of the things I am doing. I will say that when it pays off, I see a screen full of green numbers where my G/l% runs to three and four digits, and I take profits way before I think the run is over thank god!

Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
477
Add a Topic
421
wazuzu17
Irregular
wazuzu17
November 30, 2018 10:02 pm

Lots of bull hockey from Motley Fool newsletters. Wild predictions and they deluge you with come-ons like so many others: Mampilly and Oxford Club to name just two others. Utter waste of time and enormously frustrating. I’m canceling all three; they’ve cost me too damn much and I’m sick and tired of getting only suck you in newslettrs to buy yet another one of their over the top unrealistic stock projections.

Add a Topic
329
Add a Topic
366
👍 22
Sandy Scott
Guest
Sandy Scott
December 12, 2018 9:53 am
Reply to  wazuzu17

Welcome to the “I lost money using the Motley Fool Advisory Service” club!

Add a Topic
329
Mary
Guest
Mary
January 11, 2019 1:02 pm

My opinion of Stock Advisor after 5 years of membership is this: “Too late to the game.”
Both Tom & David tout their big winners from the past, and promote companies that have already passed the time of greatest gains. We’ve subscribed to a couple of the ‘Fool’ newsletters and have the same opinion.

Add a Topic
477
bksansoo
Irregular
bksansoo
June 17, 2019 6:06 pm
Reply to  Mary

I agree. I just joined in March 2019 and after looking at their picks, it does seem like I’m too late to the game. Very disappointed.

👍 50
Trish
Member
Trish
February 14, 2020 12:24 am
Reply to  bksansoo

I agree with you both. Since I’ve joined SA all I’ve really gained is a great deal of advertising for their other subscriptions. More advertising than actual data fills up my email every day. When I do receive recommendations they are outdated and obvious. I am NOT an expert, in fact, far from it, but even I could recommend Amazon and Shopify. Doesn’t take a genius to recommend them.

Fakename
Guest
Fakename