Motley Fool’s “The Best Stock Idea I’ve Ever Seen”

By Travis Johnson, Stock Gumshoe, February 29, 2008

OK, so this one is quick and dirty. No, not that kind of dirty! Get your mind out of the gutter, it’s not even Noon yet.

It’s not from an email ad, but from something else — I have recently noticed that the folks who write the free articles for the Motley Fool seem to have gotten more and more aggressive about pushing their premium newsletters in the free articles. They’ve always mentioned them, and often teased some ideas, but it seems to me that the push must be increasing. Maybe their venture backers are anxious for them to get more profitable, or position themselves for an IPO or something when the market turns later this year (if it turns). Just my speculation.

But anyway, there was a genuine teaser in a Fool article I read the other day — this one from Tim Beyers, one of their analysts whose work I like and who has been around for quite a while.

The article was entitled, teaserly enough, “The Best Stock Idea I’ve Ever Seen.”

And unlike almost every other Fool article I’ve ever read, it didn’t name the stock — in true newsletter ad fashion, it teased a few clues and offered a free trial subscription to Motley Fool Stock Advisor, whence the idea came.

So what are those clues? Here they are, as written:

“Free cash flow exceeded $100 million last year.”
“Revenue is up more than 20% over the same period.”
“Operating margins are expanding dramatically, and net margin is north of 25%.”

He also notes that the stock was originally a pick of David Gardner back in July 2002.

So what are we dealing with here? Well, perhaps not surprisingly, it’s the same one they were teasing in January 2008, in a more traditional email ad that called it the “Best Stock of 2008.” Not as hyperbolic as the “Best Stock Idea I’ve Ever Seen,” but still enthusiastic.

Yes, it’s Marvel Entertainment (MVL)

Are you getting our free Daily Update
"reveal" emails? If not,
just click here...


And yes, I still own shares. They’re priced about the same, at $25+, as they were back in January when I last wrote about them, and they’ve been in the same mid-$20s range for a little while as we wait for the release of Iron Man. Earnings were very good when they were released last week, but the bad news is that they will probably only produce a maximum of one of their own self-financed films in 2009 (instead of the planned two), largely due to the writers strike. They still plan to average two per year, so I guess they must be planning on catching up in the out years.

The money from Iron Man and the Hulk, if it comes in as hoped, will really hit the company about a year from now, when all the DVD sales are in and the murky Hollywood accounting is laid a bit more bare for us, but we’ll certainly know a lot more about the company’s potential as a film producer by the time the second weekends of Hulk and Iron Man are released in just a few months (Iron Man is coming out on May 2, Hulk about six weeks later).

So — I still own shares of this one, and I know there are some among the Gumshoe faithful who like it and some who hate it. I know Tim Beyers thinks it’s the best idea ever, but of course he’s not in charge of your money and I’m sure that, like the rest of us, he’s been wrong before. Jim Cramer, who I still hear in my sleep sometimes, thinks “The trade has been made. The money’s been made” and that you should sell.

So what do you think? Like the idea? Hate it? Irritated that the Motley Fool is more aggressively teasing their newsletters in their free articles? Any opinions welcome.

Want to keep up with the Gumshoe? Click here to subscribe now — free email alerts.


guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

29 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Nico
Nico
12 years ago

Please donate $2 to Gumshoe. Sometimes we feel that if we are not donating at least $100, then it won’t make a difference. I’m sure Gumshoe would prefer to get $2 than nothing. Every little bit counts.

Arkanphel
Arkanphel
12 years ago

the mighty gumshoe. thanks for saving me before i even start subscribing with some worthless newsletters

sam
sam
12 years ago

I subscribe the to the oxfordclub.com which ranks 3rd in risk adgusted returns for 5 years by hurlburt. If you think cramer is a joke then consider this site….they recommended amzn when it was about 30 in late 2006 before the 25 percent trailing stop was hit at around 90 at the same time when cramer was saying that amzn was a bookstore with high PE ration. Hint: do the opposite of cramer and we will do fine. Just look at his recommendation of BSC less than a week before its stock price dropped about 90 percent from 60 a share to about 4 a share. Love this stie just happened to find it….keep up the good work.

Add a Topic
5971
sam
sam
12 years ago

keep up the good work of giving us the stocks of those teaser newsletters. If a make a big win, I will gladly donate to your site.
Note: my email is fake because I value my privacy.

sam
sam
12 years ago

Just became a new subscriber. I like the info about those newsletter teasers. I just discovered this site a couple of days ago. Though, I hope I dont get any spam and “offers” like so many other websites. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Gravity Switch
12 years ago

Thanks Sam. There’s advertising on the site here, as you’ve probably noticed, but I have never shared the email list with anyone.

👍 7
Jan
Jan
12 years ago

I am so pleased to find your site. I’ve been doing my own “gumshoeing” for years — as a sort of riddle game. But when I’ve finally located the stock, I don’t know enough about stocks in general to know whether it’s a good investment or not. I’m delighted to read sound advice from a smart and principled source.

Add a Topic
5971
Kingsley
Kingsley
12 years ago

I am new to investing but I must confess this is the most interactive site for clean information for newbie investors.
As Jan said, as a newbie you may find a sector without knowing if it is a ood investment or not but this is a site for sound advice.
Once again, great site, KEEP IT UP

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

More Info