Oil & Gas Investments Bulletin

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.3/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 44 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Oil & Gas Investments Bulletin, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 3.5/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 9 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 9 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

9 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
pete1265
Member
pete1265
November 23, 2011 7:10 pm

I do not think I have benefitted from my subscription because I do not have the interest in doing the homework to make his writings understandable to me — not in the oil or mining business. I print his text, with the intention of studying to understand his writings. There have always been things I would prefer to read and study. I did buy sone GSFVF because the technology seems so “green,” but the shares have lost lots of value. Joan in Houston

Add a Topic
359
degiles
Member
degiles
February 16, 2012 12:15 am

Keith Schaefer is a jewel. He tracks his complete portfolio, showing every purchase and sale he has ever made. I have done well in a relatively short time by 1)steering away from the companies I do not understand and going for the ones I can understand and 2) investing quickly where he is particularly in love with a stock and can come up with both numbers and a story that makes sense. It is one of those situations where he says “I bought 5000 shares of XYZ this morning because—-.”
He also tracks every holding and reports regularly on their current situations, often after personal discussions with management. He clearly has the most inside information about Canadian companies but he has taken a whirl on some non-Canadians as well. He has a way of getting slightly ahead of the crowd, which might mean a little more patience is required.
He has both a monthly subscription price and an annual rate so you can try him for a month, get a complete evaluation of his holdings and quit if you are not impressed. Like tons of people, he has been a little bit burned by GasFrac because they haven’t been able to put it all together. He did sell some but he has a big stake which he acquired at well below the current price. It is still a good long-term situation.

Add a Topic
1632
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
5971
👍 1
Ken
Guest
Ken
February 24, 2012 11:53 am

When he announces his purchase say at 50 cents,before you can get in it`s 70 cents but he can now brag about a 40% gain and your at even. Bottom line he picks some good winners and some big losers that balance out if your lucky…in my case I lost big time when I heavily invested in his no brainer stock.

Add a Topic
5971
Bernie
Bernie
March 20, 2012 7:45 pm

The big problem is the reader can never come close to the gains Schaefer claims he makes, and he probably does. For example, he will say he bought a private placement of ABC company at 70 cents. This private placement is simply not available to the vast, vast majority of private investors. The stock is now at $1.00, so bingo, he puts down in his portfolio a 33% gain. However the average investor might pay 95 cents for the same stock on the market. Also the stocks are almost all the small cap oil and gas drillers/producers with no dividends. However, I did make several thousand dollars each on his Golar and Poseidon picks, both of which had dividends, so I’m keeping his investment letter.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
372
Add a Topic
5971
superjet
Member
superjet
July 5, 2012 4:52 pm

Keith provides very detailed explanation to his picks. Similarly, to Ken`s Bernie`s reviews, it bothers me that Keith compares his results to his private placement purchases. However, his research is very extensive and provides conference meetings (with a nice lunch) and calls to discuss any of his picks.

It`s also good to see that he makes mistakes by believing in the stocks, as oppose to portraying himself as a investing guru. Keith discusses his way of thinking and change in strategy.

coolhandluke
Member
coolhandluke
October 28, 2012 3:40 am

Keith is very smart and informed in oil and gas stocks and technology, I will give him that.

However this guy recommends stocks that admittedly he has bought 10’s of thousands of the day before he recommends them to you in a bulletin, so instead of letting his subscribers who are paying $500 dollars a year buy 1st, they have to buy at inflated prices usually pink sheet stocks that are “thinly” traded!

Then a few weeks later after you have bought at a high price he tells you he sold a few days ago and dropped due to bla, bla, bla, bla, and then coolly recommends something better – WTF?

A average investor shouldn’t risk more that 5% tops when dealing with Schaefer, only money you can afford to lose, and he will tell you of all the remarkable stocks he has picked, but the losers get very little press.

These picks are more like stock options, stick to the “brand name” stocks in the Bakken that are on the NYSE, so you can put stop losses in, and don’t deal with these fly-by-night stocks Schaefer touts on obscure exchanges, and you will sleep better!

Your odds are better at Vegas!!

Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
570
👍 11
ronkirena
Member
ronkirena
February 14, 2013 2:26 pm

Keith does in depth intense research. Interesting too. Ahead of the pack on his thesis on trends. However, like so many newsletter folks, they spend too much time on theoretical stuff, writing they come on ads, and lose focus. i.e. Poseidon Concepts, PSN-TSX. His #1 safety pick for my RSP. But he does not get cosy with management enough to know them, judging from the inept* disasterous PSN management (they are bein sued* stock has gone from $14 to $0.25 on Feb 14th 2013, speaks to inept word).
Any how what this means to an average investor is Keith, likeable guy he is for sure, is NO help in pick a stock THEN knowing it is going to hell. He himself lost I think $500K on PSN, so at least he is honestly not in the know.

But what we all need from these letters / advise is folks to cozy up to a company’s business, management, gain knowledge from a companies competitors, suppliers, service company’s – from ALL sources and give us a WARNING. Sounds bit like insider trading – gee, all of I believe 10 people have gone to jail in Canada for insider trading in the last 30 yrs. Mmmmm, sure Canada is that honest! Gotta go and visit mama bear and Goldilocks too.

IF your a pro trader, Keith can certainly spot energy trends, best “bets” type companies. But for an “investor” – stay away! RISK is monumental.
Several other Keith dogs are down 30-50% or more. UGH. off to work I go.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1515
thomas e. clark
Member
thomas e. clark
April 18, 2018 7:40 pm

I don’t have any beef with Keith. I bought a lot of VNOM (Viper Energy) and Ring Energy which have gone up considerably for me. Those are the only two of his recommendations that I’ve purchased because many of his are Canadian and on the Toronto exchange which more difficult for me to buy in the states with ……….USDollars.

Joe Wilcox
Guest
Joe Wilcox
October 11, 2018 6:22 am

I like Keith’s writing and I enjoy getting new stocks when he gets them.