Oxford Bond Advantage

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.1/5. From 24 votes.
Please wait...
3.1
Rating from 117 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Oxford Bond Advantage, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 41 votes
Rating: 2.8/5. From 41 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 10 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 11 Votes
  • 1 Stars 7 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 25 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 25 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 7 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 27 votes
Rating: 2.7/5. From 27 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 8 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 24 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 24 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 4 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

33 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lorne Cutler
Lorne Cutler
8 years ago

While I have no problem with you putting an ad like this on your newsletter (we all have to make a living), it would have been nice if it was a text ad rather than making us sit through 30 minutes of a sales pitch to find out his newsletter promotional rate is $995. The product could be easily guessed at in a minute or two even without a thinkolater. It didn’t however address the issue (for me at least) as to how easy it is to buy these products in Canada when you only have a Canadian brokerage account.

Add a Topic
1515
Liz
Liz
1 year ago
Reply to  Lorne Cutler

I agree this seems to be all geared to the American market.

Goldbug
Goldbug
7 years ago

I think that they should keep the $995 prcie especially for smaller users like myself with only $7000 to invest. Although Steve’s picks for bonds can easily make back the $995, I don’t think $4995 for normal subscription is a reasonable price. I will keep this service as long as it is $995 a year. I have worked with his Bond Trader in the past with great success and made about $2000 in profits with a starting investment of $5000 so now I have $7000. Steve keeps you informed of the general markets and keeps you up to date with his picks. His first pick is really his last pick from Bond Trader so i am keeping those bonds I bought before.

Add a Topic
718
Add a Topic
897
Add a Topic
897
moneypenny
moneypenny
7 years ago

About 7 years ago I paid $5k to be a “chairman’s circle” member of the oxford club so all the VIP newsletters are now included in a $125 annual renewal. This latest, the Bond Advantage, is one of the best. This give me the opportunity to make very good money with quite low risk. I’ve bought most of his recommendations so far, all at par or a discount with the expected return on these short term bonds averaging about 8%. That is great in this environment. I like their perpetual income portfolio and the momentum trader as well and also have about 20 of the Trading portfolio positions. It is money well spent. The marketing hype gets a little wearing, but they at least produce.

Add a Topic
366
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
718
Michael A. Sanders
Michael A. Sanders
3 years ago
Reply to  moneypenny

Hey, moneypenny: Are you really bragging about 8%? Seriously? Wow! I can beat that wth an index fund. And, it didn’t cost me $125 yearly to find out how to do it, either.

MachineGhost
MachineGhost
3 years ago

You hit the nail on the head.

Davis
Davis
2 years ago

how does an index fund work?

bvigorda
bvigorda
7 years ago

I like Steve McDonald and I like his newsletter. Just do as he says and buy small positions and you’ll do well. For stocks I like James Stack’s Investech for getting me through all the scary times. He has called all the major trend changes and he helps me ride the rough patches that amount to nothing more than corrections. For stock picks I subscribe to The Dividend Machine and I am making money with this. I believe these are the only three newsletters any investor needs.

Add a Topic
975
Add a Topic
1862
Add a Topic
5971
👍 4
Michael A. Sanders
Michael A. Sanders
3 years ago
Reply to  bvigorda

Hey Oxford Club employee (read TROLL), I mean bvigorda,

Is moneypenny your alter ego? By the way, small positions = small money. Bonds don’t pay much to begin with. That’s why they’re safer than stocks. If Mr. McDonald’s recommendations were all as successful as you suggest they are, provide proof, if you can. Sorry, but your comment doesn’t pass the smell test.

Add a Topic
366
Add a Topic
718
Add a Topic
372
daddyovb
daddyovb
5 years ago

Beware of guarantees. Seems self-evident but really, beware!! New to bonds I believed the professorially delivered advice that “the MEAR is guaranteed.” Unfortunately, neither the MEAR nor the bond is guaranteed when you buy junk. A single bond default can quickly negate any amount of 5% yields. So, for my 3 – 4 year committment to Mr McDonald I have a net 0% yield. Bonds my *ss.

Add a Topic
718
Add a Topic
718
👍 10
Michael A. Sanders
Michael A. Sanders
3 years ago
Reply to  daddyovb

Hey daddyovb,

Thank you for your honest review. Mr. McDonald’s claims to have made such returns. But, we only have his word that he achieved the stellar performance he proclaims to have received in his portfolio. Where is the proof? Hey Mr. McDonald: either put up or shut up. Sorry, but I need more than his say-so to believe it. I don’t know him from Adam. But, hey. I get it. He has to sell subscriptions if he wants to keep his job at The Oxford Club. So, if he can sell one of of every 100 suckers who read his newsletters, it’s a good day for him, huh?

Add a Topic
309
Add a Topic
366
A.S.
A.S.
4 years ago

I have been a subscriber since 2013. He started out well, however his picks in the Coal and Energy industries have mostly turned out to be duds. 6 of his picks have all gone bankrupt. Losing 100% of your money on 6 recommendations, when the other 20 or so recommendations pay you roughly 7% ….means you need about 5 years …just to break even! So I am not that happy with the service.

Add a Topic
1337
Add a Topic
372