Ultimate Growth

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.7/5. From 15 votes.
Please wait...
3.5
Rating from 64 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Ultimate Growth, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 4 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 17 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 17 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 3 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 15 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 15 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

20 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ben Richardson
Guest
Ben Richardson
January 30, 2009 3:25 pm

I subscribed to Quantum Growth for 1 month beginning on 9/21/08. As part of the subscription, I received the “my 5 best Quantum Growth Doublers”, as described below:

“Get full details on my 5 best Quantum Growth doublers. I will tell you the trades that I expect to double the quickest in this incredible market rebound. I will send you the next 4 issues of Quantum Growth, all for a 66% savings. But you have to be signed up by Monday.”

To this date, 1/29/09, four of the 5 doublers have never risen in price above the price they were when I started my subscription. Most have lost share price significantly. The remaining doubler only rose in price by less than 20%. NOT A DOUBLER IN THE BUNCH.

Please note the “or my name’s not Louis Navellier” in the statement below. He is, of course, referring to SOLF, which never rose above it’s 9/22/08 price of $14.03, so I guess we can’t call him Louis Navellier any more.

“OUR SECOND AND THIRD DOUBLERS. The money flood is going FIRST to stocks that were simply caught up in this nightmare. China stocks got whacked and then they got stomped. Now they’re back off the mat. Grab the China solar stock that was trampled in the last few weeks—down 42%. This $12 stock is headed back to $37 where it belongs, or my name’s not Louis Navellier.”

Finally, although I only subscribed for 1 month, I went into the Navellier website archives, and paper traded the top ten stock weekly recommendations from 12/10/07 until 10/20/08. I discovered to my dismay that I would have lost over 50% of my original investment. In Navellier’s defence, this was a period when the bottom was falling out of the stock market, but I never understood how he could bravely offer up 10 or more new stock recommendations every week, only to tell you to sell most of them, at a loss, the following week.

As a result, I cancelled my subscription, at the end of 30 days without making any trades based on his website. This lesson only cost me $499.00 for the subscription.

Add a Topic
402
Add a Topic
402
Add a Topic
402
fred
Guest
fred
February 11, 2009 1:20 pm

subscribed briefly. made no money. watched picks decline in value. disappointment.

Lee99
Member
Lee99
February 14, 2009 11:01 am

Tried this service for 3 Months. Followed all the buy and sell recommendations. Lost 30%.
Louis’s strategy seems to be
1. Buy a stock,
2. Watch it go down 15-20%,
3. Sell,
4. Go to Step 1.
All of Louis’ “Quantums” were quantum downers.

Add a Topic
5971
Abbass Sekhavat
Guest
Abbass Sekhavat
February 18, 2009 9:28 pm

The review I wrote for Emerging Growth in fact I meant to be for this Letter “Quantum Growth”. The Letter is very pricey, not a bit worth the money paid for it. It is like a monkey throwing the darts. In a good market it is OK’ in a bad market?? I wish I never new about it. It said buy, buy,buy and the stocks kept going down, down , down. I even don’t look at the recommendations anymore. It seems that, when it said buy,buy,buy some big money were selling, one wonders how somebody who supposed to be an expert, misses so much, or what?

Add a Topic
172
Add a Topic
402
Peter
Member
Peter
March 25, 2009 10:27 am

I almost feel sorry for the guy because we’re all piling on him, but then he’s the one of the hyperbolic claims in his spam email — I mean hyperbolic even by the standards of the newsletter industry.

I learned about him after reading “The little book that makes you rich” and I liked his quantitative approach. So I gave a couple of his services a try in the period April-August. Granted this was a terrible period in the overall market, but he was hyper-bullish throughout. I paper-traded his recommendations and they significantly underperformed the market. And he has the gall to ask $5000 a year for such advice!!?

I do have to credit him with being consistent, so I gave him a 5 on that score. Every one of his picks was a stinker.

If anyone still feels tempted (his emails ARE very convincing), just go to yahoo finance and type “navellier” in the search box and check out the performance of his managed funds.

From what I read about him, he did well for a while in the 80s, but maybe it was a case of being lucky to have an approach that fit the market of the moment well. Or maybe it’s because his quantitative approach worked well for a while but now many others are doing it so it’s no longer working. Just saying because I wonder why the guy is even a respected name in the industry.

Louis Nevallier
Guest
May 8, 2009 4:16 am

No need towrite a review go look at the website

James Wood
Guest
James Wood
May 21, 2009 2:57 am

It is a question of philosophy. Navellier’s stock picking essentially works by scanning historic, fundamental data, such as quarterly earnings and revenue growth etc.

Problem is, he does not consider technicals at all. For example, is the S&P500 (or the particular stock we’re looking at) in a well defined down trend. He is a perma-bull and his service assumes a bull market, which as we have seen, is not always the case!!

So what you find is that his companies are all fundamentally strong, with good potential, but they only work when the market trend is up. In fact in uptrending periods I would expect them to outperform due to good growth fundamentals.

As with all of these tools, there is a time and place when they work.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
John
Guest
John
November 30, 2009 11:10 am

Had this advisory during 1999-2000. Navellier’s advisory then was the MPT Review. It did pretty well of course in 1999 but you could have done the same with an Index fund. During the bubble collapse in 2000 he kept saying to buy and buy tech issues. His saying on the hotline was the “best defense is a good offense.” Yea right. If you would have followed this advice you would have been wiped out. The current high price Navellier newsletters cater to folks with a little money who think they are getting something exclusive not available to the trailer trash investor. No folks, you are just getting Louis’s same old losing S**t with a dab of Grey Poupon.

Add a Topic
144
DCCSYR
Member
DCCSYR
December 15, 2009 5:21 pm

I started with Louis Navellier a decade ago and did well in a bull market with Emerging Growth & Blue Chip Growth. About three years ago I decided to trial Quantum Growth and did well enough to subscribe at “only” $2500/year.

Not blaming him for the bear or the recession, I continued. To summarize my results, in this rebounding market I have $65,000 in YTD losses and only $9,000 in gains on current positions.

He just offered a two-year subscription for something like $3500 (I forgot the amount & deleted the email.) The losses exclude the trade fees, with about 4-5 trades a weeks. I’m done with Mr. Navellier.

Add a Topic
2285
Add a Topic
172
Add a Topic
402