Retirement Trader

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.3/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
4.2
Rating from 81 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Retirement Trader, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 15 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 19 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 19 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 3.8/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 18 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 18 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 3 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

9 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
doc327hank
Member
doc327hank
September 27, 2013 11:05 am

This is a great news letter, except for the price!
Sure it’s Naked Put and Covered Calls, But the picks are virtually gauanteed not to fail. Well almost. You might roll it over, etc. but by the time you have closed the position you’ve made some money. At least so far.
And it’s for Retirees. Who want something easy and not take alot of time.
And yes, I am now going for one month more often than two. But I have a very low transaction fee. If I were still trading Options with Schwab, and with my position sizes, 2 months might be the way to go so tha the fees don’t eat up so much of the gains.
Over all I don’t know how many stars. Price would be 1 or zero, the rest would be 5 stars- what does that add up to?

Add a Topic
570
👍 6
granada
Irregular
granada
February 13, 2016 1:30 pm

David Eifrig’s Retirement Trader sells put options, and, when assigned, eventually sells covered calls.
D.E. himself measures the performance against margin requirements, whereas I try here to assess the mark to market performance of only his currently open positions, using data given in his Feb 12th 2016 report:
13 open stock positions, the earliest from 3/20/15, plus 16 open option positions.
The stock positions, assuming 100 shrs each, were acquired for $96076, and are worth $80271, an unrealized loss of $15805 or 16.5% (not considering any dividend gains).
The 16 sold options show an unrealized gain of $ 1531.
This of course is only a moments snapshot (subject to errors on my side) and says nothing about the long term performance of the service which may actually be good, if you follow the “annual report card” issued by Stansberry and Associates.

Add a Topic
1209
Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
5971
👍 7
dorare
Member
dorare
June 14, 2017 9:38 am
Reply to  granada

any update on the performance

👍 2
jimaker
Member
jimaker
November 27, 2017 2:52 pm

This was my introduction to trading options. Though pretty much limited to selling covered calls and naked puts, Dr. Eifrig’s picks are almost guaranteed. The contortions he goes through to recover from stock price drops have educated me on how to exit trades successfully, which is the most difficult trick to learn. Now, with the help of the Blue Collar Investor, and using the techniques learned by following Retirement Trader for a few years, I am able to chose my own trades successfully. The lifetime subscription seems like a bargain, now that I have recovered that cost.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
1209
gcohen1720
Irregular
gcohen1720
December 12, 2019 2:22 pm
Reply to  jimaker

Are you still with Retirement Trader & have you made $ in the past year?
.How difficult is it to follow & execute his covered calls?
Thanks–

👍 3
doc327hank
Member
doc327hank
December 12, 2019 3:38 pm
Reply to  gcohen1720

I still get the newsletter, but I have moved from covered calls to naked puts and to bull put spreads, all of which are variations – sort -of. Generally you cant do naked puts and Bull put spreads in an IRA so I usually get my ideas from others, But I have made a few trades from doc over the past years, and genealy they have been profitable.

Dean Kendle
Guest
Dean Kendle
January 31, 2019 5:12 pm

Since buying retirement trader, I’ve received only one recommendation in two months. Sad.

Add a Topic
1209
George Cohen
Irregular
George Cohen
December 8, 2019 12:41 pm
Reply to  Dean Kendle

Dean, can you give us an update–did you stay with the service? How did the other trades go over the past year of 2019? How many winners/losers? Did you make money?
How much difficulty & trouble did you encounter?
Gratefully, George

mdavis9753
Member
mdavis9753
November 19, 2020 9:18 pm

I have subscribed to this since 2019 and find the service reliable and educational. I had little understanding of covered calls (or puts) but this service gives you the information you need to make trades on your own. In addition, they provide monthly recommendations that have proved to me to be over 80% successful. I have easily got my money back for what I paid and have since added Retirement Millionaire and Income Intelligence. I recommend trying this if you are interested in making covered call trades and are also looking for some stocks to buy and hold. The writing and logic behind the recommendations is well done.

Add a Topic
1585
👍 1