Stansberry’s Credit Opportunities

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.6/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
3.0
Rating from 42 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Stansberry's Credit Opportunities, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 12 votes
Rating: 2.5/5. From 12 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 9 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 9 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 11 votes
Rating: 2.4/5. From 11 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 10 votes
Rating: 3.6/5. From 10 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
deanbob
Irregular
deanbob
July 29, 2019 4:41 pm

I only recently subscribed. So, I can’t say anything about actual results. But I can say I am very disappointed that I sent 2 emails (using the link they provide in the material) and have not received any reply – after 3 weeks.

marty
Member
marty
August 29, 2019 5:45 pm
Reply to  deanbob

Hi! I am seriously thinking about subscribing to Credit Opportunities, but the comments make me hesitate. Can you provide an update on your situation? Did you finally get a satisfactory response to your emails? Are you happy with any investments so far?

Denny
Member
Denny
November 14, 2019 8:57 am
Reply to  deanbob

deanbob, like marty, I’m interested in what happened to your requests after this long a time. Any comment would help. Thanks!

BuckeyeNation1965
Member
BuckeyeNation1965
April 10, 2020 5:24 pm
Reply to  deanbob

Deanbob, Did you ever subscribe to Stansberry’s Credit Opportunities?

David
Member
David
October 21, 2019 1:17 pm

Once you sign on to this expensive letter and buy their recommendation you almost have to keep renewing in order to know what to do with the bonds you hold, unless of course you’re well versed in bonds and can navigate on your own. The recommendations are usually not for investment grade bonds and sell for pretty good discounts to par so there are negatives often having to do with the issuers ability to redeem the bond at maturity or successfully borrow to keep it afloat. If you’re not receiving the letter and something changes in a negative way with the issuer or with that particular bond, there’s no way of knowing what the Stansberry “experts” are telling their subscribers what action to take. I’ve been burned on enough of their recommendations that in 3 years, including the $3000 subscription , I’ve lost approximately 15%. I dropped the subscription and am facing losses in most of their recommended bonds I hold. One company went bankrupt, another changed the interest payment to PIK (payment in kind) and the market value of that bond is less than $10. It’s not a publicly held company so details are scant. I’ve had as many as 5 or 6 Stansberry subscriptions going at the same time over the past 10 years and my advice would be: ( I’m 80 now so I’m allowed to give it;) put most of your risk money in an index 500 fund, or similar funds with good track records, you’ll be far happier 10 or 20 years from now.

dalerekus
Member
dalerekus
December 3, 2019 6:56 pm

Regarding the Stansberry Research inhouse coterie, phone calls are much more productive than emails, at least for me. I do not have any experience with their Credit Opportunities newsletter so cannot comment on it.

stocksnitch
Member
stocksnitch
March 14, 2020 10:56 pm

I like this newsletter, it’s unique and it’s longer term oriented. I made some money on the prior bond newsletter True Income. With the current March 2020 corona correction there will probably be more opportunities coming.

👍 4
jheb95031
Member
jheb95031
May 18, 2020 3:53 am

I personally have gotten good value from subscribing to Stansberry’s Credit Opportunities but frankly bond investing is not as easy as they make it out to be. The newsletter recommends trades in discounted corporate Junk bonds. Of course, they aren’t as safe as investment-grade bonds but safe enough for me when backed by research, purchased at a sufficient discount, and in a large diversified portfolio with a couple year holding period. I do my own research, I have a few brokerage accounts and an my own financial advisor so that helps. I use the newsletter only for leads on bonds to consider and advice about unusual situations. Companies rarely go bankrupt, but it is a real possibility so your principal is at risk. It is easy to spot the worst high risk bonds when no companies are stressed, but now in 2020 many companies will be stressed as they have never been before. Somebody that knows more about this than me can give you advice about whether it makes sense for you. Just be aware that resale bond trading is not centralized and bonds can be very thinly traded so the bonds you want might not be available at a given brokerage or even at a specific time of day. Sometimes you have to talk on the phone with a bond specialist/trader. You have to be disciplined and wait (maybe for weeks) to buy at the right price and you may have to sell for a lot less if you are in a hurry. I’ve gotten some good ideas from the newsletter but at times the trades they recommended had too little profit built in to be worth the risk, or the bond price moved too quickly out of the target price range. Like any newsletter, it is no substitute for your own due diligence. You will do better if you know more than they tell you.

Generally, Stansberry research newsletters are very informative. That is why I subscribed to a few. The problem is that the company is too much in the business of selling the idea that investing is easy. Just a few clicks, you trade, make $1500, and can easily pay for one or more of their newsletters. Anybody could do it. They mention the risk but drive home the idea that this one idea can make you rich. All the newsletters do this. There is no substitute for proper allocations, some market timing and an exit strategy. One thing to watch out for is that the newsletters with “trader” in the name, suggest trades with a very large risk/reward ratio. That’s fine when there was a 98% chance of success during the perpetual bull market of the last 10 years. But big losses are likely now that the chances of success are more like 60/40. Keep in mind also, if you buy anything from Stansberry your junk mail will increase 10-fold.

Add a Topic
8045
Add a Topic
3512
Add a Topic
1585
👍 4

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any li