Energy Investor

Overall Rating

Rating: 2.4/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
3.0
Rating from 16 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Energy Investor, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 5 votes
Rating: 2.6/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 3.7/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 1 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 3 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 3 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 5 votes
Rating: 2.4/5. From 5 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 1 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

9 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
hfj
Guest
hfj
November 21, 2009 2:08 pm

I recently subscribed to this service managed by Ian L. Cooper, Keith Kohl and Brian Hicks.
The subscribers are receiving access to the current Portfolio (containing about 20 stocks at the moment) and to several reports highlighting some of these stocks.
Some mails are sent with “buy”, “sell”… recommendations.
Relatively interesting.

Add a Topic
2651
Add a Topic
80
troyk
Guest
troyk
January 21, 2010 8:33 pm

Ok, my 2 cents on the $20 Trillion Rpt newsletter, which is apparantly the paid version of the free energy & capital letter. Overall a good service and track record, though newbie investors should take note that the track record correlates tightly with the price of oil. That said, I generally aim to get in right away when they recommend a company, provided oil’s above 50-55 a barrel. finally, i’m in on about a quarter of the positions in their portfolio, and done well by most of them, especially the bakken oil trades. i’ll continue taking this letter.

Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
878
Add a Topic
359
LMM
Irregular
LMM
December 22, 2010 2:37 pm

I am just completing my first year as a subscriber. In the first months of my subscription, nearly every pick was a BIG winner. As the newsletter advertised they were focused on the Baaken oil producing region and the oil sands of Canada, along with some oil related technology picks. Later in the year, they starting adding some picks outside of this core focus: LED producers, foreign oil companies, etc. They were sound picks but the timing was awful. Each one got stopped out after taking big slides. Most are back up now so if you have a long time horizion, it was not the worse thing that could happen.

Most of their picks had enough volume so that a sell advisory would not crush the stock price, but there were a couple where if you were not among the first to sell, you got burried. A couple of these were pink sheet Canadian stocks which did not help either. If you elect to go with those picks, choose your own exit points. For thinly traded companies if they tell you to sell and you have not already sold the stock, drop what you are doing and sell immediately.

Communications with subscribers are sporadic and contain varying amounts of information. It would have been nice when some of those “non-core” picks were tanking to get some information about why that was happening and what the likely outcome would be.

So I would recommend the service as long as you either have a long time horizon for your investments (> 18 months) or stick to their US and Canadian Oil industry related picks. If the stock is thinly traded, pick your own exit points and don’t be too greedy.

Actually their sell advice is conservate. On some larger companies, I hung in after they advised to sell and have continued to do well. It’s all a matter of your risk tolerance.

One other recommendation, since some of these picks are Canadian, you might want to use a broker that provides easy and low cost access to the TSX so you can avoid the pink sheet listings. I suspect in the coming year, their may be more opportunities for big wins in Canadian energy related stocks than here in the US.

Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
1515
Jon P
Irregular
Jon P
December 22, 2010 3:07 pm

I’ve been with them for at least a couple of years and, by and large, they’ve done quite well for me. It’s one of the few services I’ve felt fine about continuing. I had them when they first touted Brigham and NOG. Didn’t buy the NOG but did very well indeed with the Brigham. They also gave me AEZ which was recently bought out by Hess for about a 150% gain in my share price. I’ve also done well on their recommendations of KOG and AXAS. As with anyone, they’ve had some losers, too — (WEN.TSX.V comes to mind. I tend to cherry pick their ideas rather than going with everything — and I’ve had my own hits and misses within their ideas but for the most part their success rate and the resulting percentage of profit has been much better than most of my other services.

Ernie
Guest
Ernie
November 14, 2011 10:02 pm

I have dropped many of these letters after initial subscription runs out. This is one of the best. I have been on BEXP since late 08 or early 09 when they highlighted it…Their picks have ALMOST ALWAYS gone up but like anything you always have to have dry powder for picks like PBKEF that sometimes go down or way down first due to world or other factors….Overall they give you lots of info to look for yourself at some real potentially good companies.

mat
Guest
mat
August 4, 2012 2:05 am

Hi,
Can Someone please Review this?
“Canada’s Secret $2 Trillion Gas Pact”
http://www.angelnexus.com/o/web/37811

Thank You

blue5
Member
blue5
July 19, 2013 3:35 pm

$0,00 production for me over a year. Mostly due to the scam on energy drillers and refiners pulling down even the best corportions in the World!

When the two Keiths (the other in Canada) are so far off, we are in real trouble.

Time to realize what pure hatred of our energy system is doing to us all and the disaster that awaits our economy.

Add a Topic
1515
👍 5
gddoktr
Irregular
gddoktr
January 30, 2014 2:31 pm

Lots of hype but not so much performance other than from the subscribers who purchase and drive the stock price up for a few days.

Add a Topic
5971
👍 47
deanbob
Irregular
deanbob
December 24, 2019 10:45 am
Reply to  gddoktr

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience(s). I tend to give more credence to Gumshoe members.

👍 837