Bowser Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.9/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
4.1
Rating from 57 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Bowser Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 12 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 12 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 0 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 13 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 13 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

13 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
herdfan93
Member
herdfan93
February 9, 2009 10:25 am

The Bowser Report
Max Bowser-Editor
Published monthly with a subscription fee of $59.00 yearly. This newsletter focuses on stocks that sell for $3.00 a share or less. It has been around since the 70’s. Their overall track record is pretty impressive however this is not a get rich quick publication. They have an investing rule that you must follow in order to get the biggest bang for your investment dollars. Max is a down home kind of guy and is very astute at picking the best of the micro caps but because of their very nature a bad one will crop up from time to time.
I’ve been a subscriber for around 14 years and I’ll continue to subscribe for the duration. My results have been good overall and I really haven’t invested huge amounts of $$.
On a side note, the micro caps have taken their hits lately but they will come storming back when the market turns around.
They’ve had several big gainers. One of the ones that they’re particularly proud of was telefonos de mexico which was recommeded at around $.20/share and shot up to around $20.00/share. I’m sorry but I can’t remember the exacts on this one but the gains were huge.
I’ve never had any problems with their service.
I hope this helps. Good luck and good investing.

Add a Topic
2589
Add a Topic
1682
Steve
Irregular
Steve
February 20, 2009 8:39 pm

Absolute integrity, simple to follow plan, focuses on long term growth in small cap area with minimal $ invested. Quite realistic for small investor with one pick per month. I’ve subscribed for 12 years.

Dr. Steve
Member
Dr. Steve
March 28, 2009 7:39 am

Do not waste your money on this newsletter. It is mostly hype.

Max Bowser is mathematically challenged. A typical portfolio of Bowser stocks returns less than an S&P 500 index fund. Max ALWAYS plays up the one or two stocks that have done well, while he NEVER mentions that a ACTUAL REAL-MONEY portfolio of his stock picks is very high risk and will typically LOSE money over time, especially using his Selling Plan.

He publishes a fictitious portfolio of his stock picks (Beginner’s Portfolio) that has done much worse than the Nasdaq since the bull market peak in late 2007. But he shows that it is up ~90% since 2001. If you do the math, which Max never does, the compounded annual return of this portfolio is about 8.0%. Even this rate of return is difficult to achieve in a real-money account. I know…I have tried using the Bowser Selling Plan and my Bowser Portfolio yield is ~4.0%.

Add a Topic
2590
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
JHEII
Guest
JHEII
July 14, 2009 1:58 pm

Having been a subscriber for 20 plus years I must admit there are losers and there are winners. At no time in following his plan was the food on the table jepordized. While I had some losers the winners put a new bathroom in my basement, added a new room to the back of the house, remodeled the upstairs bathroom, bought some gold and silver, and a few other trinkets. Never risked more than 300 to 500 dollars at a time in any one stock and still follow that part of the plan. Cost of the newsletter is good, customer service has been great and the newsletter is very readable along with his books and pamphlets. Highly recommended by me.

Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
443
Add a Topic
5971
Jo
Guest
Jo
September 20, 2009 1:41 pm

In May 2009 I requested a sample newsletter from Max Bowser, and received a recent one in the mail within a week. I put his “Terrible Ten” and “Best Picks” on watchlists on June 1, 2009. After 79 days, the Best Picks are up +31.54% and the Terrible Ten are up +56.18%. I’m not a subscriber yet, but will be soon!

Add a Topic
2590
elden
Member
elden
March 6, 2010 11:08 am

I have been an on and off subscriber to Bowser for several years and use the subscription primarily to find low cost investment candidates. The subscription is inexpensive and even though there are losers – homeruns are fairly frequent. The commentary is excellent – and Mr. Bowser appears humble – and is not afraid to admit when a stock turns bad. This is a great value for the money – and there are some dynamite recommendations – if you can sort them out from the bad eggs.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5223
Bow Wowser
Guest
Bow Wowser
May 17, 2010 10:30 pm

This newsletter has maintained the $3 limit since its start in 1976 and Bowser has not increased that limit to account for inflation. Hence the pool of stocks from which he selects has gotten smaller. The stocks in the current $3 and below group are likely to be far more risky than the ones in 1976. There are better newsletters that worry less about an artificial price ceiling and focus on value or undervalue. I never bought a single one of his recommended stocks or warrants. As a prior reviewer pointed out, his annual rate of return is not that spectacular considering the activity one must engage in and the risk one must take.

Add a Topic
717
Add a Topic
3229
Emil Horovitz
Guest
Emil Horovitz
November 29, 2010 3:03 pm

I was a subscriber many years ago, but have moved away and lost interest in the market.
I would like to subsribe again.
Please send me a sample copy

Thank you

Emil Horovitz

A Bowser Fan in NH
Guest
A Bowser Fan in NH
December 12, 2010 2:57 pm

I subscribed to the Bowser Report years ago, about 25 or 26. Bought and sold some stocks, made some money. Let the subscription laps. Still had a few stocks at the time. Sold most off over time, a few went under. If I had been paying attention I am sure I could have sold them and limited my loses. One stock I just forgot about. Years passed, splits happened. Other companies were spun off. Their stocks split. Etc. Etc. Etc.
When I turned 60 I dumped it all in a brokers lap to let them figure it out. To end the story – I retired at 61. Thank you Max Bowser and Carlos Slim.

Add a Topic
2589
Add a Topic
5916
Add a Topic
5971
Dennis Todic
Irregular
March 17, 2011 9:30 am

I have been a subscriber for 3 years and find the newsletter to be very entertaining and informal, which I like. On top of that, they have made some excellent picks and have made a lot of people a lot of money. This is not for swing or day traders, but swing traders could us ethis site if they do not want to follow their strategy c