Casey Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 2.1/5. From 63 votes.
Please wait...
1.9
Rating from 294 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Casey Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 89 votes
Rating: 1.7/5. From 89 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 13 Votes
  • 2 Stars 8 Votes
  • 1 Stars 61 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 67 votes
Rating: 2.0/5. From 67 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 10 Votes
  • 1 Stars 37 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 75 votes
Rating: 1.8/5. From 75 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 4 Votes
  • 3 Stars 11 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 49 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 63 votes
Rating: 2.1/5. From 63 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 5 Votes
  • 4 Stars 6 Votes
  • 3 Stars 10 Votes
  • 2 Stars 9 Votes
  • 1 Stars 33 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

35 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
DAVID J GETOFF
Guest
December 27, 2017 9:04 pm

I had subscribed for quite a few years and then I decided to stop all the newsletters that had rotten accuracy and his was one of them

Richard Hoffman
Member
February 3, 2018 8:43 pm
Reply to  DAVID J GETOFF

I started subscribing to four newsletters two months ago (one from Bill Spetrino & three from Paul Mampilly).
I wasn’t doing very investing stocks that I picked (mostly because I did not practice “due diligence”, and I have
a bad habit of not holding the stocks that I have in good companies). From what I’ve gathered from the many posts that I’ve read, is no newsletter is able to consistently give you good recommendations. Mampilly’s $100/yr
Profits Unlimited has had some very good picks. I’ve made a realized gain of $1,500, so far. But his other two
newsletters have cost me an unrealized loss of $2,000. Those two letters cost me $5,300 for a years subscription.
I find the newsletters to be very well written, and have helped me to do research on my own, so I don’t regret
buying them, but I will not renew subscriptions publications that cost more than $100/year. I had intentions’of only mentioning one thing about newsletters, but never got to it. I find the four I have subscribed to thus far,”to be very interesting., and entertaining as well. It’s a bit annoying how they don’t come right out with their recommendations, but tease you for awhile. I find that to be ridiculous and well as hilarious. I’m 84 years old,
and I enjoy a good laugh, especially with all the bad things happening throughout the world each day. I get a kick
out of the way they try to entice you into buying additional services. The best gimmick they use is telling you that the price will soon be going up, and you better act fast. They speak about only allowing a limited number of
subscribers being allowed to join their inner circle, or by invitation only forum. Meanwhile an investor can do just as well, or better by investing in a Fund that invests in S&P 500 index stocks. Mampilly uses a pseudo math
of simply adding all the gains & losses to arrive at gains of over 200%. He disregards how long the stocks have been in his model portfolio. I’ve learned what you learned. It doesn’t pay to invest in newsletters. I had several people tell me the same thing, but I had to find out for myself. Take care.

Add a Topic
2478
Add a Topic
2799
Add a Topic
5274
grizzled veteran
grizzled veteran
December 29, 2017 10:15 pm

I subscribed to the Casey Report in November, 2017. In order to get a feel for how much I could trust their recommendations, I reviewed all of the issues from January 2016 through January 2017. I paper-traded all of the recommendations except for one Japanese stock. I assumed a starting portfolio of $100,000 to start out with and invested $5,000 in each recommendation. During that time there were 15 winning trades and 11 losers. The overall return for Casey was 11.3 percent. The S&P 500 index returned 21 percent during that time frame. HOWEVER, I didn’t go all-in on my paper trades from the get-go because there weren’t enough open recommendations to invest in twenty $5,000 positions. I started out with maybe 25,000 invested and didn’t become fully invested until the end of the study period. Therefore, I think that had I been able to be fully invested from the start, that the returns might have been somewhat akin to that of the S&P 500.

How I Intend to Use His Newsletter:
Casey is well known for being a speculator with an emphasis on resources, especially precious metals. During the study period he was in and out, in and out, on a couple of gold and silver plays without much to show for it. (They did strike it big on ahother recommendation, though.) I don’t like so much trading. I intend to cherry-pick just the speculations I want to take a flyer on, and being very skeptical on the gold and silver. For example, they’ve made a killing so far on the three marijuana stocks they recommended in October, 2017. I like this trade because medical marijuana is legal in Canada, and in 2018 recreational marijuana should be legal, too. This is an opportunity to get in on the ground floor of something that’s not a fad. At present I intend to allocate no more than five percent of investible funds to speculations.

One final point. It looks like a lot of the “heavy lifting” of the Casey Report is now being done by E.B. Tucker. He used to be an analyst at Stansberry & Associates. So the Casey Report is now a somewhat different animal from what it was in the past. I previously subscribed from July 2008 through February 2011 and I like it better now. I’ve always liked the writing, and enjoy the subscription for the information and the opinions, too. I recommend trying this newsletter to see if it’s for you.

Add a Topic
5458
Newbie with questions
Guest
Newbie with questions
January 24, 2019 4:56 am

Now THAT is a review!! Thank you @grizzled veteran for this useful information that you took the time to provide! It is greatly appreciated!!! Have a wonderful day!

Add a Topic
5458
Kitty Paulk
Guest
Kitty Paulk
December 30, 2018 11:18 am

I figured out it was a scam, especially since the first audio said the subscription was $199 then the next day I listen it was $49. So a red flag went up and I started to research the company. It didn’t take long for me to realize something was wrong

Louis Petrarca
Guest
Louis Petrarca
February 25, 2019 9:33 am

I ordered a book from the Casey Report without reading the fine print. I now have a year subscription to this service that I will NEVER use. Respectable investment services don’t hoodwink potential investors into taking their money. STAY AWAY!!! The incredible (wild) investment ideas that get your attention are bullsh*t when I looked them up – TOO LATE. Stay Away!!!

Add a Topic
753
Susan
Guest
Susan
March 30, 2019 3:23 pm
Reply to  Louis Petrarca

I also ordered the book and have yet to read it. I hope it’s all not bs. It’s sad that there are so many scammers out there.

Marly
Guest
Marly
October 28, 2019 8:56 am

The service may be good but they spend so much time writing about how good they are that I seldom make it to the end of their reports. They rarely get to the point about the stocks you should be looking at, which by the way is why you are paying for a subscription in the first place. They fill up my email box and most of the emails are hooks to get you to buy into more of their services. And of course that is how you get the best info. Some of them cost thousands of dollars. I don’t need to be continuously reminded how good they are at making money I need to know how they are doing it. I am very disappointed in their service and will be cancelling my subscription.