Dines Letter, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.3/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
3.1
Rating from 137 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Dines Letter, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 46 votes
Rating: 2.8/5. From 46 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 7 Votes
  • 4 Stars 13 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 11 Votes
  • 1 Stars 13 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 29 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 29 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 7 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 5 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 2.8/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 5 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 10 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 10 Votes
  • 3 Stars 7 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

22 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Cat-lover
Guest
Cat-lover
February 8, 2010 5:04 pm

Mr. Dines has been publishing for over 50 years. As such he is a member of a very small club of veteran advisors who have seen many bull and bear markets come and go. He is a brilliant and somewhat eccentric thinker, but that’s what makes him interesting! He likes to refer to himself as the Original Gold Bug, Original Internet Bug, Original Uranium Bug, and currently, the Original Rare-Earth Bug. Unlike many advisors, he does not follow the herd. He gets out there and leads the herd in new directions! I’ve subscribed to his letter several times over the years, and he covers other issues he feels are important, including health. Very thought provoking reading.

Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
520
Bill Roberts
Guest
Bill Roberts
February 16, 2010 8:46 pm

If you want to read 15 to 20 pages of hot air per month then subscribe. If your desire is to watch hot pick become cold and turn your dollars into pennies, then subscribe. Dines tells you what to buy, but doesn’t tell you when to sell. He makes predictions without time frames. Sure, gold, uranium etc. are great investments if you’re willing to wait a lifetime. In brief don’t waste you money on this guy.He is a great self-promoter, but the product is very inferior to the marketing.

Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
520
Care Bear
Guest
Care Bear
February 4, 2017 3:06 pm
Reply to  Bill Roberts

I lost many thousands like 40% of my IRA due to this same issue. I couldn’t afford to lose this. I would just like to enjoy 5 years of retirement someday. Anyway, I agree good advice on buying and lots of it but not nearly enough timely advice on selling. Hence I got stuck in the market crash and saw a lot of my speculative nuclear investments tank and then I couldn’t sell them as the market was so thin. I had restricted trading for many years because of my job but am now in a position to trade again but I’m afraid to try and not sure what I want to do yet but being currently unemployed, I can’t justify spending money on the newsletter or bulletin unless I can watch it like a hawk and decide when to sell and sell quickly when needed or if I could definitely get a flash signal somehow (text, email) on when to sell what and how quickly…. I think we are in for a big cycle of build then crash again personally.

Add a Topic
1209
Lukester
Member
Lukester
February 18, 2010 7:42 pm

I subscribed to Dines’ letter from 2003 to 2007. I was also a client with the (much ballyhooed) Peter Schiff’s Euro Pacific Capital during that time. I cashed out my portfolio (100% Dines uranium juniors and mid-caps) from the start of 2007 through the summer of 2007 and went to all cash. James Dines has a fine nose for the red-hot sectors in the commodities markets. And for that matter, he really and truly did “write the book” on a great deal of the technical analysis which is so commonplace today. He developed an entire theory of tech analysis back in the *1960’s* before most of today’s analysts were even a twinkle in their father’s eyes. Long story short, I made 150% across the board in a portfolio of his stocks – and even then, I was my own worst enemy, buying and selling out and then back in to several of those positions along the way. Won kudos from Euro Pacific for being “the top performing customer” in a three year time span – well the kudos go to James Dines, most certainly not to me. He’s the real deal – a very very canny and astute picker of investment themes – Personally I regard those newsletters which are most leery of market timing, to be the most serious and reputable. The only times I ever made money on stocks in a decade are when I hung onto them through all the gyrations like a bulldog – and that was with Jim Dines’ portfolio. I’ve also subscribed to Steve Sjuggerud’s True Wealth and for several years to the Aden’s newsletter out of Costa Rica, and BOTH of them are also class acts. I think very highly of both of these, and *also* of Jim Dines. One caveat – Jim Dines is quite obviously, NOT a market timer, and on occasions like the recent huge bear market, this is a large black mark. If you signed up with him just prior to that event you will have been severely traumatized. But my suggestion is that newsletter subscribers cannot relinquish all responsibility to the newsletter for their exposure to the markets. Grow up guys – investing is a tough, risky business (I hate stocks and investing anyway)- so you can find an immensely talented newsletter such as all three of the above mentioned, but the ultimate responsibility to remain exposed to the market remains yours. The longer you hang tough within the investments, the wiser you get as to which markets you can live with, and which ones you can’t. I routinely got used to seeing my $60K portfolio jink up or down by 40% and learned not to blink. If you want to ride a small cap portfolio to massive gains you must understand that’s a given.

And lastly – a word of praise for Stock Gumshoe. I’ve just recently landed here and the more I read of his work, the more bracing and salutary an influence I feel he provides in the newsletter world – there is so much flatulent, self congratulatory crap out there from all quarters – Stock Gumshoe provides a fabulous service. Count me for a new and stalwart fan! We appreciate the work you put into this website!

Lukester

Add a Topic
1230
Add a Topic
520
Add a Topic
5242
Martin
Member
Martin
January 24, 2017 7:57 pm
Reply to  Lukester

It’s best to get stopped out before taking a 40% loss, then use technical analysis (and real or imagined testicles) to buy back at a lower price for even bigger gains in the end.

PHILLIVECHI
Guest
PHILLIVECHI
August 16, 2010 8:53 am

yes,i used to love reading my co workers issues of the dines report when he brought them in….the commentary was excellent…unfortunately i am not working at the po anymore because i wasnt doing my job and instead of being in the security office i was on the floor talking to people about the excellent articles mr. dines was writing about…i am currently trying to get unemployment benefits over and over again…my wife is a secretary in a law firm … i thought that would help me get unemployment benefits even though i dont deserve them…oh well…i still am not receiving benefits,,,at my age to get a job with the money i was making will almost be impossible…when and if i get unemployment benefits…i intend to subscribe to the dines letter instead of reading my partners which i cant do anymore because i was fired from my job..i tried to be slick and like a sly salesman i almost got away with it…I AM TRULY MY OWN WORST ENEMY…lost my 1st wife…it was my fault..betrayed my partner at work and didnt do my job at work which paid well…my ex partner is still with the company making good money ….i should have listened to him and been a better partner and to dines…BUY THE DINES LETTER…IT IS EXCELLENT!

Add a Topic
6168
Add a Topic
6168
Add a Topic
6168
Martin
Member
Martin
January 24, 2017 7:54 pm
Reply to  PHILLIVECHI

Well, it must be good if it caused you to lose your job!

so
Guest
so
August 16, 2010 1:36 pm

rys

stokes99
Member
stokes99
February 26, 2013 7:02 pm

Enjoy his newsletters, monthly, containing good info on his sectors of choice. Has had some incredible success, priding himself on being “first in” to a future hot sector. Commentaries on many things, health, sectors, politics, etc. The annual double issue is spectacular.