Independent Adviser for Vanguard Investors, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.4/5. From 37 votes.
Please wait...
4.0
Rating from 165 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Independent Adviser for Vanguard Investors, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 52 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 52 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 29 Votes
  • 4 Stars 12 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 38 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 38 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 24 Votes
  • 4 Stars 10 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 38 votes
Rating: 3.9/5. From 38 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 17 Votes
  • 4 Stars 10 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 37 votes
Rating: 3.4/5. From 37 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 9 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 4 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

11 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Barry Northrop
Barry Northrop
February 1, 2009 5:37 pm

I have subscibed off and on to this newsletter for the past five years. I initially subscribed because Vanguard was the first mutual fund family in which I invested substantially and I wanted more independent analysis, which this newsletter delivers. While the editor, Dan Weiner, is a dedicated fan of Vanguard for its many positive attributes (he is a big investor there), he does not hesitate to offer opinions that are critical of this Valley Forge, PA giant. He does so backed with well researched data to make his point. The monthly newsletter is generally 16 pages long and includes month-do-date performance that include his buy/sell recommendations and a proprietary risk factor, 4 model portfolios, interviews with Vanguard fund managers, timely news, and in depth coverage on a handful of funds each issue. There is definitely information and backstory here that you will never read on Vanguard’s site or in its publications. In addition to bottom-up fund-specific details, Weiner also offers his own top-down economic big-picture view which is generally sanguine if not somewhat calming. He is not given to panic, but does make changes and recommendations from time to time based on fund/company management and to a lesser extent, outside economic forces. Far more Vanguard funds are on his sell list than his buy list, so he stands by his opinions, which is what you want in a newsletter editor. Maybe 50% of what I own in Vanguard is on his buy list, and the rest isn’t, so I have relied on him as an additional source of information, as opposed to a guru. And in many cases, I have been happy with my “outside the box” picks. If you’re looking for independent sound recommendations on how to build a fairly stable long-term investment with Vanguard funds among their better choices, this is a good newsletter–at least for a year while you get a sense of its style and patter. Over the years, I have have moved a fair amount of money out of Vanguard, mostly to other fund companies, although I still have a substantial stake in Vanguard funds. They are a kind of ballast to my portfolio. Plus I am familiar and comfortable with their product, due in large part to Dan Weiner’s newsletter. I have found that you can often beat the regular subscription price either by occasional special offers or, if renewing, letting your subscription lapse for awhile and then getting a better deal some months later. Lately, however, I tend to use Morningstar’s Premium Service for info on mutual funds, so I may not re-subscribe to the Independent Advisor for Vanguard Investors. If I was exclusively or mostly invested in Vanguard, however, I would reconsider that position.

Add a Topic
334
pirgnori
Guest
pirgnori
May 24, 2010 7:55 am

Dan’s model portfolios are worth following and, if you stay with them, can fairly consistently make you money. He’s good at following up with sell advice, rather than leaving you guessing. I wish his Growth Index Model held a wider variety of index funds, including small caps and value. I’ve been a subscriber for several years.

Searic
Guest
Searic
February 14, 2011 11:00 am

Finally giving in to the incessant junk email spammings by Weenie to join, I did so, one ofthe dopiest decisions (at least in retrospect) I’ve ever made. Contacting this jerk–at first for orientation to making use of his ludicrously confusing array of “services” and soon in a so-far unsuccessul attempt to exercise his promise that I could cancel my subscription at any time over the first six months and receive a full refund–has proven impossible. Even worse, my following just one strong of his forceful recommendations re: my Vanguard holdings, I have LOST money, as the fund he told me had no future has done excellently in the four months since I transferred (thank goodness, only a portion of it), while the fund he recommended and to which I transferred the money from the first fund has tanked. The dippy newsletter itself is full of nothing of value that is new or unique. On those occasions when Weenie makes sense, any investor with a modest knowledge of Vanny and investing would already be doing what this loser recommends. Whenever he sticks his neck out, the results are WAY short of what one paying him a fee has a right to expect.
My recommendation to Weenie is to confess that he is not worthy to roll in Jim Lowell’s spittle and then find honest work for which he appears qualified: surely SOME organization will hire him to keep their bathrooms sparkling, or he could consider freelancing to individual households.
My recommendation to anyone considering subscribing to this ripoff artist’s scam is DON’T DO IT!

Add a Topic
899
Claude
Guest
Claude
May 29, 2012 1:35 am

I am far from an expert, but I decided to subscribe to this newsletter when I settled on doing my own investing. I like the Vanguard Funds, and generally speaking, I think Dan W knows his stuff. He knows way more than I do! I have to say, however, that on occasion, I have not followed his advice to sell and that mutual fund went up; or, in another case, I bought an alternate fund that he did not recommend and it has exceeded his recommended fund. But generally speaking, I like the newsletter.

George Freemon
Guest
George Freemon
December 27, 2016 12:16 pm

I’ve been a subscriber for many years. Find this Vanguard Newsletter very helpful and well researched. All Model portfolio’s have produced very good long term results for those patient investors who want mutual funds vs. stocks. Not a good newsletter for inpatient fast money traders.

Add a Topic
334
Add a Topic
5141
Mark Scott
Guest
Mark Scott
June 26, 2017 11:48 am

Joined last week….Then found out that the first fund in the Conservative Growth Portfolio was a closed fund!!!!! Felt mislead and immediately cancelled my subscription. Smoke and Mirrors at the first turn ruined any chance I could trust this advisor.

Gallisath Barbara
Guest
Gallisath Barbara
August 23, 2017 3:39 pm

This newsletter is completely worthless. If you have questions about any of the Vanguard funds it is easy to call them directly and receive any info you need. Also make sure that you are not signed up for auto-renewal since they do not honor a full refund when you discover the charge.

Add a Topic
150
Mark Pozner
Guest
Mark Pozner
March 25, 2018 11:54 pm

He had 2 articles in I think in Nov. and December, 2017 issues that were excellent. One analyzed which funds produced highest income over 10 years and also over 27 years (Dec. issue). The other analyzed which funds go up more than the S&P 500 index in good times and drop less than the index in bad times. These are 2 of the best articles I have ever read about mutual funds. He has other good articles, and I have bought 2 of his recommended funds.

Add a Topic
996
Add a Topic
334
Dan Guetterman
Guest
Dan Guetterman
September 13, 2018 2:06 pm

Have tried to call the independent advisor Cutomer service phone number 800/211/7641 numerous times and cannot get anyone to answer. Pathetic Customer service

Ana
Guest
Ana
November 28, 2018 9:09 pm

After I subscribed for 6 months to The Independent Adviser for Vanguard Investors, I concluded that this service is like “SEINFELD”: ABOUT NOTHING. It includes the performance of the Vanguard Funds that you can find in the Vanguard Website and the rest is meaningless diatribe. At the end of the six months I decided to let this introductory 6 month trial subscription run out. Bot lo, and behold, my credit card continued to be charged. I called the editor, and he put a fight, no way was I going to get my money back, THIS SERVICE CONTINUES TO CHARGE YOUR CREDIT CARD AND IN ORDER TO STOP YOU HAVE TO CALL AND IF YOU DON’T AND/OR ARE LATE THEY WILL TELL YOU YOU’RE OUT OF LUCK — TAKE A HIKE. I was SO INCENSED that i did track the right pho