Insider Alert, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 2.8/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
2.7
Rating from 72 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Insider Alert, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 25 votes
Rating: 2.6/5. From 25 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 2 Votes
  • 1 Stars 9 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 15 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 15 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 4 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 2 Votes
  • 2 Stars 3 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 2.4/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 3 Votes
  • 1 Stars 7 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 16 votes
Rating: 2.8/5. From 16 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 5 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 7 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

29 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan
Guest
Susan
July 24, 2009 7:10 am

I had this service for about 2 1/2 months from May – July 2009. It focuses on notifying you when an executive within a firm is buying a large amount of stock as an indicator that the stock will go up within a few weeks after that. They suggest certain stock prices to buy and then keep you updated when to sell. But it only comes out once a week and by the time you receive it the news is stale and you have already missed the upside move, so you aren’t in a position to buy at the bottom, cutting your profits short. And you can’t buy at the prices they suggest by then. Most of their picks do go up, but not by huge amounts: Verizon just a few dollars per share, for example. And that’s a slow moving stock anyway. When I called to cancel and receive my refund I had no problem. $800 is a bit pricey for such a limited range of profit.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
fred
Member
fred
October 24, 2009 1:38 pm

Trial subscriber – couldn’t justify the price.
I regard Alex Green as among the best, analytically,
and for honesty, among the newsletter pundits, and
he appears to state his opinions well.
That said, perhaps this trader only works for the
hair trigger traders who sit and watch their
email screens and trade immediately. For me,
I couldn’t get execution anywhere near his buy
prices, nor could I make any money with his picks.

I did see some of the stock picks go up – mostly
immediately on day his email was posted. But it
happened so suddenly, it suggested someone –
many someones – got the news before it hit my
inbox. I either had to wait for the stock to
settle down – and buy hoping it would move again,
or else be the proverbial dog chasing the speeding
train – with little profit potential.

I can’t know whether his recommendations, themselves,
moved the stocks, or the “something special” Alex
opined about with the companies. I don’t know – but
I just know it didn’t work.

And, whatever the reason, in the time I watched his
recommendations and from the archives, I was astounded
by the huge results just cited in a recent, new, newsletter
sales pitch – I saw nothing near what the pitch touted,
performance wise.
The good news was – most of the stocks did go up, some.

Customer service good – prompt refund was made when I
cancelled.
Fred

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
MachineGhost
Member
MachineGhost
March 19, 2017 12:42 pm
Reply to  fred

Certain broker subscribers extract the information from the e-mails and buys the stock ahead of the human subscribers. That is the spike.

Add a Topic
5971
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
Guest
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
October 8, 2010 12:16 am

Todd Skousen, the insider’s son, said he knew of a “Secret Hobby” practiced by all the top corporate executives. “They trade on where they think their own company’s stock is headed.”

Stanley Kroll spent a lot of time teaching us, the various ways to enter a system for the first time. Make no mistake; the Insiders Alert is a system. It follows the actions of corporate insiders who trade for there own account to make money. Insiders may sell for a number of reasons, but they only buy when they expect the price to go up. We can follow just one executive each week, or several. If we just enter every trade when we start receiving the alerts, we may be stopped out of our trades at a loss, that show as winners to the system. But if we take each new trade as it is recommended at first, we will not have the safety of diversification that comes from being fully invested.

If you plan to wait for a chart pattern to enter, instead of going in on the recommended day, be careful to time your trade to get in before the ex dividend day. These returns are part of our profits, which we should not miss. For a short-term trade these can add a significant amount when annualized. Lets say for example we have a stock that pays 8% a year dividend. It will pay us four payments of 2% if we hold it for a year. If we hold a full quarter we would receive a 2% income payment. But suppose that we only hold it for two months and still receive the same 2% payment?

If the dividend were really paid every two months, that would be the equivalent of six payments a year, for a 12% annualized dividend yield. That is an increase of 50%! The Insider alert builds these profits into our short-term trades.

Company executives are allowed to trade as much of their own company’s stock as they want, as long as they declare their transactions publicly. Usually when we receive a transmission from the high priest of Wall Street, it comes with a buy at the market, meaning later that day. It comes with a minimum target price in the form of a suggested call option target, and it comes with a trailing stop loss price.

We set our weekly stop as an alert, do not place it in the market, or you risk the floor running your stop. You check this once a day. When prices close below your stop, just get out at the next days open.

The “Secret Hobby” of Wall Street executives is that they figure out where their own company’s stock is headed. And they trade on that information to make thousands of dollars. The hype that preceded the Insiders alerts is misleading but not inaccurate. This year so far, the Insiders are up about 50% not counting Options.

Insiders have the most knowledge of the inner workings and future prospects of their company, and they can trade in their own companies’ shares as long as they report it to the SEC. There is undoubtedly plenty of important, non-public information influencing insiders’ investment decisions regarding their own firms’ shares. Changes in ownership must be received at the SEC by the second business day following the trade, to let investors know how insiders are benefiting from the unfair advantage they have when trading there own company’s shares.

We may not know what the insiders know, but we can see what they do. This will tell us when a stock-moving event may be around the corner at a company. The trick in this game is to know which executives to follow.

Without putting up almost anything. All we need is access to the Internet, a brokerage account, and knowledge of insider’s actions, to make these transactions. All we really need to know is WHO to follow. Once we have that information, the rest is easy.

Special offers reduce the cost of The Insider Alert to about $800.00 a year from the original $5,000.00. Cheaper insider reporting services are springing up all of the time. The sixty-day money back guarantee is not long enough to get your full position on, or see significant profits in equities. But it is long enough to show you how simple it is to use this technique, while working less than one hour per week.”

Add a Topic
452
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
Member
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
October 25, 2010 8:55 pm

I have my position on now. Lets see what we have learned from the corporate insiders who trade, to make money in there own companies shares?

Of the eight recommendations I have received so far. One has been stopped out at a loss. One is down about -10%, another -2% from where I got in. One is about even.

The remaining four stocks have gains of +4%, +7%, and +11%. These trades were put on the day recommended, or at a limit price suggested by our alerts.

One thing I like about this alert system is they explain what to expect before it happens, and why the trailing close only stops, are so close to the action. So far, so good.

Options on these have already been closed out at profits, but that is a different game entirely when you see commissions cost more than the options.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
570
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
Member
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
November 8, 2010 2:10 am

The sixty-day money back guarantee is long enough to get your full position on, and see profits and learn what to expect. It is long enough to show you how simple it is to use this technique.

It turns out the Oxford club uses close-only stops on their portfolios but the alert services, because they are so short-term use regular stops. Which pretty much means they can be automated. Which is a real time saver.

Because I reinvest dividends always. I see a bunch of fractional shares showing up in my account when the stops are hit.

The methodology with Insiders Alerts is to set stops automatically, and adjust them as necessary, with each weekly briefing. Short-term stocks must be riskier than commodities. Trading hedged seasonal spreads; we did not place our stops in the market. We waited until after the close and got out on the opening.

Using automated stops certainly is a time saver. This means we do not have to check the market each day for the Insiders Alerts stops. It is easy to keep track of the positions using Wikinvest to get a snapshot of all my securities accounts and certificates during the day.

One hour a week could do it. Using trailing stops and having them take us out, has been an accepted strategy for decades. This week is the end of the free trial; the system shows promise I will be staying with it.

Add a Topic
366
Add a Topic
152
Add a Topic
5242
MachineGhost
Member
MachineGhost
March 19, 2017 12:47 pm

They use close only stops on the trading advisory services now.

-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
Member
-o0(GoldTrader)0o-
December 12, 2010 9:00 am

The idea that executives on Wall street have nothing better to do with there lives than to buy shares in there own companies at the proper times appears to be working out very well.

They see an event coming, maybe a few times in their working career, they get a pile of liquid capital together and they just buy stock in there own firm.

Luckily for us, they report their actions to the SEC where our scouts pick up the trail. Of course you have to know which people to watch. And the times and situations have to be right for the company they work for. But in general when the company’s stock is about to go flat out. Somebody in there makes a move.

I have a portfolio of six of the Insiders stocks. All of them have profits. Everything over a week old is up 5% or more, two are close to 10% one is up almost 20%. Three have been stopped out with losses, and two with profits.

The main thing that contributes to success with this strategy is getting in on time. That is if you get in when the alert is given and not at some higher price later, than your results will more closely follow the system. The thing that determines how much money you make is what Tharp teaches as position sizing. If you put big bets on losers and small bets on winners you are less likely to reach your objectives.

So what the Insider gives us is what to get in, when to get in, as well as where to run our stops. The companies are diversified by sectors. And our purchases are spread out over time. When you are purchasing an oscillating price structure even when it is in an uptrend. You may, I find usually, experience a minor drawdown after making a purchase. By putting stocks on incrementally like the Insider Alert’s does. You can be over the drawdown of one security, before you add the next. When one stock is performing poorly, the other will be over its dip and be performing well. As I say all six of my Insiders positions now have gains, but one no-where bank stock took a few weeks to get with the up trend.

Lets take a look at how we are managing risk. First off we are always entering a stop when we place our trade, and monitoring it weekly. So our risk is pretty much contained. We know