Weber Global Opportunities Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
4.2
Rating from 86 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Weber Global Opportunities Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 13 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 15 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

104 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Alexander in California
Guest
Alexander in California
February 7, 2009 1:22 pm

The Weber Global Opportunities Report
Written by Chris Weber

I take 5 newsletters from Doug Casey, one from Dr. Steve Sjuggerud, and one from Lawrence Roulston, besides The Weber Opportunities Report.

They are all good, and when the timing is right for them, a reader can make good money.

But I have told my wife, who is 30 years younger than I am, that when I die, the only newsletter she should continue is The Weber Opportunities Report.
Because Chris Weber tells me what could happen both ways for any investment he recommends, and what I will feel, and how to be ready to do the profitable thing.

He is always positioned to profit if things develop the way he expects — and he also is positioned to profit if he is not correct.

How valuable is that?

He makes long term investments because he gets in early, so he can hold them for the entire bull market.
This is the way that ordinary people like me can make life-changing investments.

There are very few people who make money with short-term trading.

To read Chris Weber, is the best investment advice you will ever get in your life.

Add a Topic
2565
Add a Topic
2756
Add a Topic
753
Jim
Guest
Jim
February 7, 2009 5:38 pm

I have subscribed to this newsletter for about two years. What I find most valuable is Weber’s outlook on the overall picture of the markets and currencies rather than individual picks. I ‘ve lost on almost all of his individual picks to date. But I think that is probably the case with all newsletters. He has a sensible approach to money management. He does not make outlandish claims. Nor does he try to shoot for the moon. You will not get rich quick. The purpose of the letter is to reveal what he does with his own money. So, it is really for the person who already has amassed a lot of money, and wants to protect it first and foremost, but also wants to ride the economic trends.

Hannov
Guest
Hannov
February 11, 2009 4:28 am

I subscribed to this letter for some time and it has cost me of lot. I regret the day that I ever laid eyes on this publication.

Weber advises to buy foreign currency to harvest higher interest rates. He calls this the ‘max yield’ strategy. The highest yield were in, hold on to you’re chair: Iceland and Turkey. Iceland was a complete disaster. The Iceland krona is now completely down the drain.

His stock picks are also much more dangerous than you might think. This Canadian oil and gas trust he once advised, Shining Bank, was halved before some other company bought it.
Avera(French uranium miner and nuclear power plantbuilder) made a rollercoaster ride. It is now below where he bought it.

Weber was right on the money with his advise to buy gold and silver. But then again, instead of buying a simple index fund/ETF such as GDX, he drabbles in small and dangerous gold and silver stocks like Apex Silver (SIL).

He was also right with his bet on corn futures, but then again most people cannot buy Corn futures.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
359
Add a Topic
520
Mitchell
Guest
Mitchell
February 15, 2009 2:57 pm

I disagree with Hannov a bit.

His picks are pretty good, although he skews to technical analysis versus fundamental, which is my only real criticism. His individual stock picks could do with deeper anyalysis of the specific enterprise.

However, his macro views, as first poster mentioned, are very good, and he called the crash in market and gold bull.

With his service, he doesn’t do a lot of trading, so it’s up to you to decide whether to hold a stock or not and at what stop loss you’ll use (mental, not with broker). Everyone should be using 20%-25% trailing stop.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
5971
Michael Weger
Guest
Michael Weger
February 16, 2009 3:27 pm

Chris is very easy to read and has very good advice.

SLW, Iowa
Guest
SLW, Iowa
February 16, 2009 3:30 pm

I’ve been a subscriber for about 8 months and I’m happier with this service and advice than any other newsletter. He’s a private investor just explaining what he is investing in, and why. No truly heavy technical charting – just enough to be interesting – and a common sense strategy. Right now he’s trying to protect against both inflation and deflation – pretty full of common sense.

Add a Topic
717
Add a Topic
5400
Al in St Charles,MO
Guest
Al in St Charles,MO
February 16, 2009 3:45 pm

I consider The Weber Opportunities Report to be a stellar newsletter and have recommended it to many people. I also strongly believe that a stop loss point be determined for any investment before it is made. Chris Weber has also made this point for many years.

Some investors made a great deal of money from Shining Bank and Areva, but they knew when to take profits. I rank Chris Weber just below Richard Russel as an excellent newsletter writer. He’s definitely a cut above several other excellent newsletter writers, e.g. John Mauldin, The Aden Forecast by Mary Ann and Pamala Aden, and Mike Swanson.

I agree with Alexander in California, if you could only leave one to your family, Chris Weber’s letter is the one.

Add a Topic
2565
Add a Topic
2565
Add a Topic
2931
Frank V
Guest
Frank V
February 16, 2009 3:56 pm

Anything financially educational is worth the money. As far as Chris’ service, I was fascinated by his story early on in life regarding his riding the 1970’s bull market in gold and precious metals. He has been through a metals bull market already, and continues to believe we are in one now. I joined the service in 2005 also believing in a bull market in metals and I am glad I did. I can see however, how it could not be for everyone. His style is slow, steady, safe, let’s see what happens, and very long-term oriented. He combines his macroeconomic views with overall market sentiment, and it is a very effective (not exciting) way to invest. I believe it is $200 year, which is fair.

Add a Topic
210
Heather
Guest
Heather
February 16, 2009 6:46 pm

I like the way Chris Weber explains his analysis. I like it that this news letter isn’t selling more newsletters. I like it that it is concise and to the point. The advice, in my experience, is very simple, easy to follow and thorough in its recommendations.

Add a Topic
2565