Weber Global Opportunities Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
4.2
Rating from 86 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Weber Global Opportunities Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 13 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 15 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

104 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
JPL
Guest
JPL
March 8, 2010 9:19 pm

Hi, Chris,
You indicated that one should not “form an opinion on anything” unless he has experienced it. Good advice, as too many times things are not what they appeared to be.
Hope I did not tarnish your reputation in any way.

JPL
3/08/2010

Dave H
Guest
Dave H
April 11, 2010 12:12 pm

First of all – why are all these reviews here from people who state they do not subscribe and have not even read anything from Chris Weber? I don’t understand why people are posting their uninformed opinions in a review space. I don’t appreciate it and it is certainly unfair to Chris.

From what I have read of his in the past year that I have subscribed, Chris made his fortune in precious metals many years ago. He has a currency and savings strategy that has worked well over many years also. He takes a long term view, basically conservative and especially so at the present time, he is focused on protection of wealth against both deflation and inflation. I find his overall big picture views interesting and informative. He does not have any stock picks at this time as he feels market is now quite risky, although he did call the March 09 bottom and suggested an ETF that worked well and is still working at this time. He offers sound advice about trailing stops. If you are looking for hot stock tips or get rich quick hype this is not for you. If you have some wealth accumulated and are concerned with preserving it as this crisis continues to unfold this letter is well worth subscribing to. This is a big picture, long trend, historical view of the investing environment.

Chris is an intelligent and interesting guy with an appreciation for history and travel. I have a good feeling about him and feel his advice has an honesty you will not find in other newsletters. He is not hyping any risky plays just to satisfy subscriber’s need to feel they are getting their moneys worth like some other publications.

Add a Topic
2565
Add a Topic
5400
Add a Topic
717
Dave H
Guest
Dave H
April 11, 2010 12:27 pm

I understand people’s suspicions of newsletter writers but my experience of Chris is that he is honest and quite low key. For the record, as Chris stated earlier in this space he did advise his readers of this review site in his Feb 16th 2009 edition. As a subscriber I have access and copied it from that issue:

Rate My Letter, Warts and All
There is a sort of “consumer’s report” for investment newsletters to be found at:
http://www.stockgumshoe.com/reviews/ . It is meant to be reviews “by investors, for
investors”. You may find it of interest, and if there is something you want to say about my
letter, say it. Don’t worry….I can take the knocks, but so far any negative comments have
been about stocks people have bought that fell and people lost money. No one can pick
stocks that go up all the time; I do the best I can. But stocks have not been a central part of
my strategy since November of 2007.
There are places on this website to rate my letter on things like “Customer Service”, Value
for the Money”, etc. Feel free to state your views.

Don
Don
May 18, 2010 4:42 pm

I subscribed to the letter for one year. I let my subscription expire, but may join again in the future if Mr
Weber is willing to address an issue I raised with him before.

Chris takes a very macro view with regards to investments. He does not really invest in individual companies (though he has done so within biotech in the past) and prefers broad sector indices. His writings make a lot of sense and I completely agree with his assessments on the macro economy.

One of his letters around March 2009 did indeed recommend readers to tip their toes back into equities but he was cautious about this being a bear market rally. In hindsight, based on events of the past couple of weeks he may well be right. I also remember his prediction back in Dec/Jan 2010 that gold is unlikely to make another move up for the first quarter of 2010. Indeed, gold is now back to its historic highs since late April.

He does not feel the need to make buy recommendations on a frequent basis, and that is as it should for a true investor. My main problem with his thesis is that he is almost exclusively focused on precious metals. While I agree with his reasons for supporting investment in this area, he completely disregards the political risks involved. The market for metals is one that is heavily manipulated by central governments, who have an interest in depressing gold/silver prices. Think back to the Hunt brothers in the late 1970’s.

As a customer I have written to Weber about this issue before, hoping he could elucidate his readers on this matter through his Q&A section. He never answered the question, and I think he really owes it to his readers, if he is to continue recommending gold and silver. It appears that Mr Weber monitors this forum and has redressed some of his subscribers’ grievances in the past. I will gladly rejoin if he is so kind to answer this question.

Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
210
Current subscriber
Guest
Current subscriber
May 22, 2010 11:35 pm

I am a current subscriber but will not renew. It is not that the newsletter is a problem, but that I find that the information and viewpoints are available for free at other sites on the Internet. There are many editorials, forums, and specialized sites for precious metals on the Internet that are free, and if you take the time to find them and read their reports and research, you will gain the same information.

C Trout
Irregular
C Trout
June 5, 2010 2:48 pm

I only subscribed for Chris Weber’s report for a year. To keep this review short and simple he is basically a cash and hard asset (gold & silver)promoter. Now I am a big fan of hard assets and keeping some of the portfolio in other currencies (I live in the United States.) The few picks he did have were rather small positions. So although he correctly positioned into the Dow 30 Stock a year ago, there was very little conviction. A 10% investment in to what turned out to be a major market move seems to be more of a miss to me. Also, he gave the okay for a larger position about a month before the recent correction. He shorted China with FXP and I don’t believe he really knew that the investment is options based. The trade stopped out where if he would have selected to short FXI he would not have stopped out.

Basically not a lot of effort put into the selections. I would pass. I sure there are much better selections.

Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
210
Add a Topic
4194
Madinvestor
Guest
Madinvestor
June 10, 2010 9:23 am

I subscribed this newsletter based on the ratings here a few months ago but I don’t think I will renew the subscription. I liked his insights and comments about the market but it is very macro. Even though he seems to read the market well, he is so cautious. As a result, he tends to be very defensive when you have to be aggressive. I think his comments and advice would be very beneficial to those who want to defend their wealth. But it is not for those who want to make money with small amount of asset.
I also got impression that his prediction works well for coming year and quarters but not for coming weeks.
If you have more than 500K for investment and want to defend your wealth with reasonable gains, then this is the letter you want to subscribe. However if your investment money is a few hundreds K, then look for other newsletters.

CD
Guest
CD
June 16, 2010 8:24 pm

I’m a real person. I have been a subscriber to Chris Weber’s newsletter since it was a biotech focused newsletter. He had a simple and very valuable insight – that the picks and shovels of the budding biotech industry is where people will make the best long term gains. And it was exactly right. Chris wrote a book a long time ago called “getting rich outside the dollar” – it’s a good book and you can get a low risk look at his writing and history through a used copy of that book. Chris is wealthy, and even if you have a small amount of investing capital – you should invest just as the wealthy do. The previous reviewer who wants weekly trading advice will never be a successful investor, it’s just not going to work out for him/her.

The gains from holding assets in bull markets from the beginning through something near the end are far greater than any newsletter is going to provide. By following Chris’s investments with his own money, the newsletter allows people who wouldn’t otherwise stick with a bull market to see how a wealthy, successful investor outperforms his contemporaries by changing very little month to month. The real money in investing is made with the sitting, and the holding, and the adding to positions that are obviously working. 15-17 year bull markets. We’re 10 years or so into a bull market in Precious Metals and Weber is sitting. As he should.

Add a Topic
4698
Add a Topic
4698
S.Day
S.Day
August 3, 2010 11:40 am