Weber Global Opportunities Report, The

Overall Rating

Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
4.2
Rating from 86 votes
If you’ve subscribed to Weber Global Opportunities Report, The, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.0/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 13 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 3 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.3/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 22 votes
Rating: 4.2/5. From 22 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 14 Votes
  • 4 Stars 2 Votes
  • 3 Stars 4 Votes
  • 2 Stars 1 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 21 votes
Rating: 4.4/5. From 21 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 15 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

104 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
G.H
Guest
G.H
November 6, 2010 3:06 pm

Anyone who can not select individual securities during any kind of market is not doing his reader a service. Peter Schiff can tell me to buy gold and he does on television for free.

Add a Topic
977
Add a Topic
210
DEVIL DOG
Member
DEVIL DOG
December 7, 2010 5:37 pm

I HAVE READ THE LAST 4 ENTRIES SINCE MY LAST COMMENT WHICH WAS OCT 1ST AND THEY ARE LAUGHABLE! I TOO SAT IN THE BLEACHERS READING WEBERS ADVICE AND THEN I JUMPED INTO THE FRAY WHICH WAS LAST JANUARY. BY LISTENING TO WHAT CHRIS HAD TO SAY, I AM NOW AHEAD YTD 29.5% AND COUNTING. IT’S RATHER HUMEROUS READING THESE NAMBY PAMBY SIDELINE GENIUSES CRITICIZE CHRIS WEBER WITHOUT PUTTING THEIR MONEY WHERE THERE PENS ARE AND GETTING INTO THE GAME. THEIR LOSS, OUR GAIN! SEMPERFI!!

Add a Topic
2565
Jacob in Virginia
Guest
Jacob in Virginia
December 27, 2010 10:58 am

I’ve subscribed to Chris’ letter for between 4-5 years (I can’t recall the exact length) which I feel is enough time to form an opinion and perhaps address a couple of the questions/criticisms from previous reviewers. It’s funny, being a subscriber to several letters, this is the only one that I feel the need to review/defend which should give one an idea of the high regard in which I hold it. While I am a “real person” and paying subscriber, the anonymity of the internet makes these claims dubious at best, so I’ll leave it to the readers of this critique to accept it for what it is. Also, I’ve never met nor corresponded with Chris directly (though would likely very much enjoy/benefit from such interaction should it ever occur). There seem to be two major questions regarding Chris and his letter.
1) The reviewers above (one an English PHD no less) whom posit that the large block of reviews in February 2009 are all the same person or group of people, thus doubting their veracity.
2) Questions regarding Chris’ buy/sell recommendations, the timing of each, most specifically as they relate to stocks.
One of the nice things about Chris’ letter is that every single letter/alert dating back to June 2001 is posted on his website. As such, I thought I would go back to a few of these letters to seek answers to the above. With regards to point #1, from Chris’ February 16, 2009 letter
“Rate My Letter Warts and All”
“There is a sort of “consumer’s report for investment newsletters to be found at http://stockgumshoe.com/reviews/ . It is meant to be reviews “by investors, for investors”. You may find it of interest, and if there is something you want to say about my letter, say it. Don’t worry…I can take the knocks….. There are places on this website to rate my letter on things like “Customer Service”, “Value for the money”, etc. Feel free to state your views.”
While the above certainly doesn’t prove that each reviewer is authentic, it at least provides a reasonable reason as to why so many reviews are clustered in late February 2009 timeframe. Could it be that most if not all of these reviewers are simply happy subscribers who wanted to share their positive experience with Chris letter (just as I am)?
On the second point, from Chris’ November 21, 2007 letter (make sure you read that date again) titled
“Stock Market Bear Signal, Everyone Out”
“…to me what happened today is a very serious thing. I have had a small amount of my holdings in stocks, and after today I am getting out of much of those… A stock market fall— which seems very likely now—can take all stocks with it…We may be entering a very scary period for many markets, so it is important to stay safe …NOW IS THE TIME TO ERR ON THE SIDE OF CAUTION AND SAFETY (the bold and emphasis is Chris’).
With regards to buying back into the market, I will refer the prospective subscriber to Chris March 16, 2009 letter titled “Is this the long awaited bear market rally? The shorts get killed…” and his April 15, 2009 letter titled “Getting the most out of the bear market rally.”. While I will not belabor the reader with quotes from either of these letters directly, I think the titles give some indication as to the content. Between these three letters one gets some sense of Chris’ market prowess.
Now, on to my own opinion of Chris’ letter, it is quite frankly different than any other letter I currently or previously have subscribed to. Rather than hyping the next way to turn $5000 into $1,000,000, Chris focuses on the big trends and macro fundamentals and rides them until he feels that an inflection has occurred to alter the trend. This has led him to be heavily invested in precious metals over the past decade give or take. I’ll leave it to the reader to decide whether or not this has been a positive recommendation given this sectors performance relative to returns that could have been achieved in other areas (stocks, bonds, etc). Chris does not recommend a new purchase every month; his letter is not geared towards traders or those in need of constant action. Rather, he uses a strong understanding of market history (which is always interesting), fundamentals and a bit of technical analysis to make rather infrequent buy/sell recommendations and ride them until something meaningful changes in the trend. Overall, during the time I’ve subscribed, Chris has certainly been correct on all of his major market calls and hasn’t missed a single major one (and there have been some big ones the past few years). Should a reader of this review decide to subscribe to Chris’ letter, I would recommend taking some time to read some of his back issues (particularly around pivotal market moves)to get a sense of the analysis/filters that he uses to interpret the market.
In closing I have a couple of thoughts. First, to those reviewers who have never subscribed to Chris’ letter, you have nothing to add of substance, either positive or negative. It is a disservice to Chris’ work as such positive reviews clearly aren’t based on reviewer experience and are thus disregarded, while negative reviews never lose their sting. Secondly, anyone who loves learning about and participating in markets and has a passion for them (as I do) can only be drawn to Chris’ story and want to learn how he accomplished the things he did (and continues to do so). For such individuals, I would give this letter my highest recommendation, it is the best overall value and has provided the best return/capital preservation of any I subscribe to (and as stated above, I subscribe to quite a few).

Best Regards.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
285
Karl Hungus
Guest
Karl Hungus
January 11, 2011 7:26 am

I have been a subscriber for about a year. I find Mr. Weber’s newsletter to be informative and interesting. I would describe his investing style as conservative, he doesn’t constantly go in and out of investments. When he recommends an investment he reminds subscribers to set trailing stops in case things don’t go as planned. At the end of each newsletter is a review of active investments and their performance since recommended. I am very pleased with the results I have experienced based on Mr. Weber’s advice. I plan to continue my subscription.

Ronald D
Guest
Ronald D
January 12, 2011 3:13 pm

For one thing, Weber’s newsletter is now being touted by the hucksters at Agora. They don’t reveal his full name, instead mysteriously referring to him as “Christopher”, a man who has put out 11 great “Prophecies” in the last 20 years, ALL of which (no less) have come true. According to the undisputed scumbags of the investment world, Agora, Weber lives in hotel rooms and has no home…..this apparently makes him appear more mysterious. Their rant is filled with words like “He Divined” to imply that Weber is some sort of gifted physic, rather than a run-of-the-mill investment advisor who may or may NOT have anything valuable to say. To compound this fraud, Weber is on this forum himself posting a number of reviews, which can easily be verified through IP address checks. All told, a very shabby operation, and his affiliation with Agora is in itself all the reason you need to stay WELL clear.

Add a Topic
6137
Add a Topic
6137
Add a Topic
6137
Richard
Member
Richard
January 24, 2011 4:52 am

Dear everybody,
I am a real person, a German living in Thailand.
Ten minutes before I found this review page I subscribed to “The Weber Global Oportunities Report” as newsletter number 26 in the last 2 years (number 25 was Gumshoe-Irregular, sorry, very late). Then I read through all your postings for 3 hours and waited for the promised Weber-email which never arrived. Now I hope that my credit card account is not debited.
According to all your comments the Weber is at least good for the overall picture, so I hope that he gives me the signal when the gold bull market comes to an end. I know by myself then what I have to do.
Now I am looking forward to the time in 3 or 4 years when I will have cancelled all other newsletters and keep the Weber alone.
Richard

Add a Topic
2841
Add a Topic
210
Enrique Gutierrez
Guest
Enrique Gutierrez
February 5, 2011 7:39 pm

I have recently subscribed I have not got any information so far, neither my User name and password . Enrique Gutierrez M.D.

CK
Guest
CK
February 8, 2011 8:25 am

Same here, I’ve recently subscribed on 3rd February 2011 and have not yet receive any username or password. Sent an email to their customer service and still have not receive any reply.

Garry S
Guest
Garry S
March 1, 2011 1:40 am
<