Trending 123

If you’ve subscribed to Trending 123, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 2 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 2 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 1 votes
Rating: 1.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 0 Votes
  • 4 Stars 0 Votes
  • 3 Stars 0 Votes
  • 2 Stars 0 Votes
  • 1 Stars 1 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

56 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Danpar
Guest
Danpar
January 21, 2011 2:36 pm

He bases his analysis on Elliott waves.
That says it all.
I was a subscriber for a few months. He had a “trading” room were most of the talk was about himself and bitching against others. He had an option adviser service included in the service. Then they cancell the trading room and the option recommendations and were asking for extra money for the option services. I cancelled my subscription soon after.

I started to have doubt on this guy when he was mentiooning in his trading room that he told his boss that he could not trade this market. I don’t remember the date but it was disturbing. What are we supposed to pay you for?

Add a Topic
372
SE
Guest
SE
May 27, 2011 10:30 am

Is there any way John Lansing of Trending 1-2-3 could be banned from this service? Doesn’t Investor Place know what he is doing?

Would it also be possible to sue him for damages done? Anyone with legal knowledge please post your thoughts. This rip-off needs to be stopped.

Several of his past China stock picks are now pending court cases for fraud.

Add a Topic
108
Add a Topic
5971
Dee
Guest
Dee
July 30, 2011 10:08 am

I am glad I found this set of reviews for John Lansing (“JL” as he likes to be called) and his Trending123 Service. I was a member of his Trending123 and options service.

1. Overall the trade recommendations were terrible.
2. Lansing is a certified nutjob. He likes to talk a lot but when his picks go against him, he becomes quiet, sullen, and oftentimes insultatory to his subscribers.
3. Trending123 had a chatroom but suddenly if was closed because “JL needed more time to work on his trading suggestions” That was a crock of bull. My sense is that so many of the trades were going bad, and the subscribers were increasingly pissed off at JL’s harsh attitude, that he had to close the chatroom.

It speaks alot about InvestorPlace that Lansing continues to run this and other services.

I rate this service 5 THUMBS DOWN AND AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Add a Topic
570
Add a Topic
1608
Elliot
Irregular
Elliot
August 6, 2011 11:41 am

At time, he is pretty good. But too often, he makes a recommendation and then reverses with no good reason. Last week was the worst. The week before and for several months he said just to expect higher prices. But the week before the crash early August, he vehemently suggested a big move up was coming and recommended several double and triple ETFs to take advantage of thise. I bailed on these as I saw things turn down and slowed the bleeding with VXX, SKF and other inverse ETF’s. But I think I have figured out how to maybe play his recommendations: wait til the next two days after he makes them. If he does not put out a new report on these days (he claims he will report every day), do the opposite of what he says. He has a very nasty habit of not showing up when things turn against him. I am a radio weather forecaster and in the last 43 years have had many wrong calls. But I try to explain what went wrong afterwards, and I think that’s one way to maintain credibility. None of that is happening with JL’s service.

JW
Guest
JW
August 11, 2011 9:40 pm

First, and sorry for being petty, if I hear “Are you kidding me?!” one more time from this ignorant joker, I’m not sure what I may do!
Much more significantly, he is one of the worst traders and stock pickers I have ever seen, and his timing (due to sincere ignorance) is truly abysmal, and it would be laughable if I hadn’t invested accordingly (and against my better judgment).
Let me share 3 quotes with you from his recent ‘Updates’ and ‘Alerts’- which are way too infrequent, especially when the market is down and he is just plain wrong…
First, on July 29, he gave the “BUY” signal on 4 Triple Bull ETFs for various indices, including the S&P, large caps, and small caps. Not only did he give the buy signal, but said, “I want to make sure I get this point crystal clear: The parabolic rally that occurred in June and the first of July is nothing compared to what you are going to see in August going into September. While I can’t suggest anyone go overboard on these leveraged funds, ‘back up the truck’ cuts right to the chase.” Please read that last sentence twice! This is when the S&P was about 1293 (at which time I bought as he said to, against my better judgment), and when the market started tanking- losing over 13% in 10 days to 1120, or more importantly, losing over 40% in the leveraged ETFs he recommended!

Then, today (8/11/2011) after likely the worst 3 weeks in the market in the last 2+ years, and when it is still down over 15% from his prior suggestion of loading up on triple bull ETFs at the height of the market, he has the audacity to post: “You have to look at the charts to see what is happening, and you have to believe it. We are headed to new 52-week highs. As long as the trend remains bullish and everything else is in tact, then we will hit the 52-week highs. Trend remains bullish and it has only done this three times in the last three decades.” I won’t even expound on this comment or on this HUGE ‘if’ (i.e. “as long as the trend remains bullish…”). I fervently hope I am wrong on this one and that he is right; but the idiocy and arrogance of this and many other comments is astounding. He further compounds it by leaving us today with (please sense the sarcasm here)the very reassuring “…and I can’t think of ANYTHING that has changed from what I have said week after week after week…” Interesting, because it sure seems a lot has changed the last 2 weeks, including the markets.
Please do yourself a huge favor, and NEVER give this guy a dime of your money. If you do, in my opinion and experience, that will only be the small beginning of how much money you will lose with Trending123. I wish I had read these posts before listening to this guy the last 2 months; it would have saved me thousands!

Add a Topic
5971
TOMODEJ
Guest
TOMODEJ
August 17, 2011 10:18 pm

This guy destroyed my life! From $120,000 to zero in a year. i was a member in 2008, the worst decision i ever made and still paying the price today. I Now work in a cab office earning minimum wage. HEAR THE CHORUS AND STAY WELL CLEAR!! you have no excuses now.

mark
Guest
mark
August 29, 2011 7:33 pm

John Lansing is a Crook and Conman. I too have lost thousands of dollars to this A–hole. There should be a class action lawsuit against the false advertising and bogus claims that he touts. You have been warned ny many, do not make the same mistake as many of us have. This guy needs a severe beatdown for what he has done to so many people.

Mark
Guest
Mark
September 22, 2011 11:09 am

I started his service with high 6 figures and expected good things from his service. I placed orders that he recommended even when they didn’t make sense to me. ex, bullish trades when the market was clearly bearish. suffice it to say, I have lost many 100’s of thousands of dollars and do not follow any of his recommendations whatsoever. It’s very sad that I bought into his trades as it will take me decades and perhaps forever to make back the money that I lost as a result of following Lansing’s picks.

RAY
Member
RAY
October 20, 2011 7:12 pm

Lost 50% of my portfolio with this jerk. If you ask him a questio about one of his picks going down he becomes defensive and insults you or bans you from his chat room.
I think this guy has destroyed so many people accounts that he should be sued.

KK Richard
Guest
KK Richard
November 13, 2011 7:37 am

The only things I can say is I’ve never seen so many reviews that are the exact opposite of reality. I know review sites like these are great for those who have services that like to rank competition poorly and then interject as if it were random the new website that they just signed up for that is just out of this world. Meantime what they actually say is over the top and not a reflection on John Lansing but on the alleged user of his service.

For example posts by Mark on this form repeatedly (I mean come on, think of different ways to post hate but with more created screen names), so far it’s Mark with an upper case mark with a lower case, mArk with upper and lower case letters back to back within days of each other all claiming to be different people with different stories.

So here is my take away, while no service is perfect for everyone’s style of trading and risk tolerance the “buyer should observe before they partake” however, if you have problems with not liking the content, the style of analysis, the updates, the resources available, then why on earth would you stay subscribed for years and then post on how much you personally hate him and that’s why everyone else should also.

The only one who manages one’s trades is ourselves, and while at the time we enter a trade we can be just as bearish or bullish as he is, if I chose to take on more risk because I am all amped up to make a killing then I really have no one to blame but myself.

As far as any service with anyone, you just don’t know until you try, but you can watch free of charge as per all the marketing emails I got and get a refund if you aren’t happy in some cases 90 days or 6 months and others a year. I signed up to just learn about technical analysis in general, and to my surprise it’s been profitable from the start. I take the good with the bad but I also know if I ever email him directly, or tweet him I always get a quick response to my question and he is great at holding hands during the volatile times.

KK

chill
Guest
chill
February 20, 2012 8:52 pm

Seriously if you had a 6-figure trading account, and traded a couple of bad trades why wouldn’t you stop following t