VectorVest

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
3.1
Rating from 141 votes
If you’ve subscribed to VectorVest, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 45 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 45 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 10 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 32 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 32 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 33 votes
Rating: 2.7/5. From 33 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 8 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

76 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
MikeC
Guest
MikeC
September 23, 2017 2:09 pm

I was a member for over 5 years. I am not sure you followed all the advice OR if you being in AUS differs significantly from the US version. All that being said, the reason I stopped being a member was two-fold:

1. Their database of stocks has a “survivor bias”. Meaning, when a stock is delisted due to acquisition, bankruptcy, etc., it is removed from their database. This has an unknown effect on the backtesting tool.

2. Their tests and the currently vogue strategy has a tendency to be 20-20 hindsight type of recommendation. Case in point. They currently – as of (9/22/2017) – have Model Portfolio 2017 #2. In the last year and a half it has done phenomenal. However, running the same “strategy” from 2000-2007, every year saw negative results. Again, the problem with this and any other back-test you perform is the “survivor bias” (see # above).

I am considering becoming a member again only because their overall strategy of picking stocks using their proprietary VST and their MTI seems to be a great starting point. Yes, you do need to put in the work to further weed out various stocks from the list, but the system on a “go-forward” basis seems to be pretty solid.

Add a Topic
5971
george eura
Member
george eura
October 22, 2017 1:50 pm

Stock listed in MIDAS watchlist at RS 1.40 suddenly took a nosedive 20% decline in couple of days.
Why was that stock listed one of the most safest (VST 1.46) stocks at the beginning. HTHT

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
5971
MWDouglass
Member
MWDouglass
October 24, 2017 12:13 pm
Reply to  george eura

George… HTHT shows VST 1.52 today… but not under Midas

Add a Topic
5916
Ken Baker
Guest
Ken Baker
October 30, 2017 10:04 pm

Be very careful when you give Vector Vest your credit card. Although there is the small print of a recurring monthly charge after the paid trial period, they will hit your credit card and won’t refund even if you didn’t use the service for the month you paid and they confirm with your logins and activity. They will not send you an invoice or email when they charge you and no flexibility in resolving the refund as I spoke to multiple people. They even said they didn’t have the capability to issue a credit card refund. It’s a good product and there is the small print when you sign up, but very sneaky in my opinion the way they charge you going forward. They offered an additional month free but no refund even though I didn’t use. I also ended emailing the founder and was very professional and upfront in my request to ask for a refund but in my opinion he was not pleasant and rude. After I told him, my recourse was to leave accurate but negative feedback – his response was “Be Careful Mr. …… ” in very large print. The …… was my last name which I have left out in this post. It looks like from other reviews, there have been others that have had a similar experience with their charges. I have tried to be fair and accurate in my post here and feel like it’s worth passing on to everyone else.

grover5995
Member
grover5995
November 1, 2017 11:57 am

I have used VV for several years to identify potential opportunities for our retirement money. We are concentrated in Closed-End Funds and high yield ETFs at this time with a high YSG rating. This information seems to be based on recent history much like Value Line timeliness ratings. I have found Bloomberg, CNBC and Scottrade platforms to have more current info and dividend history. However, VV helps find funds with the best returns along with relative safety and dividend growth.

Add a Topic
1209
Add a Topic
565
Add a Topic
4635
👍 2
G.F. W.
Guest
G.F. W.
November 25, 2017 11:46 am

Dare you, in for free, don’t make me laugh. Careful, just another subscription scam

miltonmoney
Member
May 26, 2018 11:07 am

great helper….good back reference when doing your own homework.cant fault it.charts good.

👍 16
warrenyost
Member
warrenyost
December 18, 2019 9:15 am

While people have complained that VectorVest’s subscription team seems to present a strangely human arrogance against subscribers who complain, and while their full-featured subscription may seem expensive, VectorVest provides several important advantages compared to Priceseries. First, it allows building a portfolio or watchlist by industry from within the platform, a filter unavailable in Priceseries. Secondly, the manageable number of long monthly recommended portfolio picks measured over a 12 month period have performed
beautifully, which makes Vectorvest far superior to Priceseries in terms of hand-holding the customer-trader. (Just buy the handful
of stocks recommended each month and set a trailing stop.) As opposed to that, Price Series presents hundreds of stock buy picks
every evening with both trail stops and targets usually only within pennies of the current stock price , which requires the subscriber
to take relatively large positions to realize any meaningful gain and to undergo a heck of lot of time-consuming work to make choices with no special likelihood of profit. In Priceseries the stock pick history shown that presents big gains ranging from 15% to 50% or more are cherry picked from that nightly buy list of up to 400 stocks; there is hardly any chance at all that a subscriber would have chosen those six to ten stocks out of 400 possibles. Finally, the Priceseries stock picks focus heavily on low cap pharmaceutical companies that are notoriously volatile. I am trying to find the value of a Priceseries trial subscription from a practical point of view and would like to hear from any happy subscriber to that service about how to use the platform advantageously, since, as a trial subscriber, I may be overlooking the forest for the trees. So far, in several hours of examining the site, I can see only a scant number of flowers in a weed patch. While I note that their customer service team responds to inquiries in a friendly , timely manner, I must ask — what is the advantage in terms of practical help for the amateur investor with limited time to monitor positions during market hours?

👍 5