VectorVest

Overall Rating

Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
3.1
Rating from 141 votes
If you’ve subscribed to VectorVest, please click the stars below to indicate your rating for this newsletter, and please share any other feedback about your experience using the comment box below.

Investment Performance

Rating from 45 votes
Rating: 3.3/5. From 45 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 12 Votes
  • 4 Stars 14 Votes
  • 3 Stars 1 Votes
  • 2 Stars 10 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Quality Of Writing/Analysis

Rating from 32 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 32 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 6 Votes
  • 4 Stars 9 Votes
  • 3 Stars 6 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes

Value For Price

Rating from 33 votes
Rating: 2.7/5. From 33 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 3 Votes
  • 4 Stars 7 Votes
  • 3 Stars 8 Votes
  • 2 Stars 7 Votes
  • 1 Stars 8 Votes

Customer Service

Rating from 31 votes
Rating: 3.1/5. From 31 votes.
Please wait...
Your vote
  • 5 Stars 8 Votes
  • 4 Stars 3 Votes
  • 3 Stars 9 Votes
  • 2 Stars 5 Votes
  • 1 Stars 6 Votes
guest

12345

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

76 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dave S
Guest
Dave S
July 25, 2009 2:03 pm

I have used VV for over two years and have decided to cancel my subscription. At first, I tried running through their strategies to find the best ones for the market conditions. That became a very time consuming process. I did get some positive results initially, and should have taken my profits and run but didn’t because VV kept me in. I ended my first year with a 30% loss. I started the second year again with some positive results but stayed in too long again because VV kept rating my choices as a “buy” or “neutral” never a “sell”.

I finally went to cash long before the market crashed but did not get any advise to do so from VV. Again, I lost 30% but got out before things got worse. I would have had a 50% loss if I stayed in. I look at VV every night and still missed the March turnaround. I’m tired of spending $59 each month and losing money.

Finally, I don’t like the idea of having to buy add-ons to get the full use of the system. Every time you look they are trying to sell you something and I’m sick of it.

Randy
Member
Randy
September 8, 2009 3:50 am

I have been an active investor for 15 years, and after getting burned with the sell-offs of 2000 and 2008, decided I had to DO SOMETHING to protect from market crashes, so VV got my attention with their market calls of up and down markets. This is a Market Timing system. Their track record is quite good, and I would have a lot more money right now if I had been a subscriber and taken their advice a year ago. The system has a lot of data, a lot of scans for potential stocks to buy. The KEY is to watch all their videos in VectorVest University, listen to Dr. DiLiddo’s training videos, and read their market analysis that is published every night. Since I started in February 2009, my account is up 60%. I could not have done this without VV. I also subscribe to other newsletters, but VV is much more useful for finding stocks that will make money as a swing trader. Note that VV standard is an end-of-day system. They have a new RealTime version which looks slick, but I am not a day-trader, so haven’t subscribed to RealTime. The ProTrader add-on to the standard EOD service to get the better graphs with technical indicators is worth the money.

Tim
Guest
Tim
September 13, 2009 5:23 pm

I think VectorVest’s marketing machine makes them look less credible than they really are. I guess that’s what sells, otherwise they wouldn’t do it, but I think the system is pretty solid. Much like the previous poster, I’m a computer programmer. Unlike that poster, however, I have not had their software crash on me yet, so… Anyway regarding their timing system, put simply, they’ve “never missed a call” because their core timing system tells you the direction the market is already going, not what it’s going to do. Obvously nobody can predict the future with 100% accuracy… except maybe me, given some of my recent stock picks 🙂 All they’re saying is that, given a certain set of proprietary parameters, they believe the market is more likely to continue in it’s current direction that to reverse course. Being a programmer, I’ve done the math, and I found their “confirmed” timing calls to be right more than they’re wrong, but sometimes the market moves against me when I follow them. It’s the magnitude of the moves when they are right that makes it worth it though. When they’re right, they’re really right. When they’re wrong, it hasn’t moved against me by much

Anyway, aside from timing, what makes the system great is that it has most of the important information you want to know about stocks in a spreadsheet format, which allows you to screen for things that you’re interested in. When I’m looking for long positions, for instance, I like to find companies that are growing their earnings and growing their dividends (among other things), and it lets me do that. If my theory is that small caps are going to outperform during a market recovery, while large caps are going to outperform once a bull market has taken hold, I can screen for that. In fact, in the 2 or so years that I’ve used the service, I’ve probably spent like 2 hours a weekend, every weekend, constructing and back testing my theories to see what’s going to work for me. The more I learn, the more my returns improve. I like their recommended searches, by they need to be more actively managed. My searches give me stocks that I can hold for longer periods of time…

So, my answer to those who think the system is a bunch of hype is, don’t believe in the system. Believe in yourself. The system is just a tool. If you’re good at investing, you’re going to do well. If you’ve got a head full of the wrong ideas, unless someone talks you out of them, you’re going to do poorly.

One final note. Though the interface to the system is very easy, the depth of it really sucks you in. If you sign up, and you have an open mind, basically, digging in is going to become your new hobby, so you better make sure you have the time!

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
152
rgsanfran
Guest
rgsanfran
September 19, 2009 1:08 pm

I have an MBA from Wharton and am a retired mutual fund
manager.

This site is so bad the SEC should look at it.

He makes his record on buying 25 cent stocks that go to 35 cents. You can not buy them as they hardly trade.

His intellectual problem is that he covers 8300+ stocks. In the real world there are 3000 that are of size and really traded. Think of the Russell 1000 and Russell 2000 = 3000.
Or the S&P 500,400,600 = 1500. Lots of stocks in the bottom
of the Russell 2000 have very thin trading.

Then he has these 49 strategies with weird names. Which to use
next.

He is a nice old man with a PhD in Chemistry, not Finance or
Economics.

Save your money. Do not sign up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Billy Jack
Guest
Billy Jack
September 27, 2009 4:27 pm

I have been using VectorVest for about eighteen months and am very satisfied. I was a “virgin” when it came to investing although I gained a good feel for finance based on my professional career prior to retiring.

VectorVest is not for the person who expects that making money in the stock market using VectorVest is a given. It requires an education process and gaining trust in the VectorVest system to be successful. There is a host of educational tools available that I read religiously and go back to occasionally for review. The identified strategies are of value to select stocks; long or short but one needs to watch the market to invest for gains or limit ones losses is a changing market.

I have taken advantage of their training; including the one-on-one consulting. For example, I am using RealTime and after purchasing ProTrader and gaining experience, I took one hour of their individual training. Ninety-five dollars may seem expensive at first blush but it has become one of my key evaluation tools and was well worth the time and money.

I trade quite often at times; multi-trades per day but then may let my portfolio ride for a time in certain markets. I am currently “getting educated” in the options market and expect to start option trading to protect my portolio in addition to option trading.

There may be better systems out there but I am totally satisfied with VectorVest with a portfolio that the IRS is going to be happy with come year end. But one needs to “pay the piper”.

Unless one is dedicated to investing, I suggest that one put your money in other investments. Success with VectorVest is similar to a career; you get out of it what you put in. Don’t get involved unless you expect to use the tools; it would be a waste of time.

Add a Topic
5971
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
570
JoeInvestorly
Guest
JoeInvestorly
October 11, 2009 1:28 pm

There seems to be quite a bit of confusion about what VectorVest is. I see people posting that they don’t like the VectorVest “recommendations” for various reasons like that they’re sometimes Micro Caps or too volatile. Fine. You have your investment strategy. Other people have theirs. But don’t discount the entire system based on the fact that you don’t like some of the stocks found by some of the strategies. There are hundreds of strategies, each different. The system is designed to construct strategies or algorithms that make use of the financial data that’s available. That’s what it does. The recommended “strategies” are nothing more than an analysis of what’s currently yielding the highest returns in the short term. If you’re a short term investor, that’s great. But what if you’re a long term investor? Well, we all know that you’re not expecting huge pops in your investments in the short term, because you’re picking stocks that are less volatile and that have consistent earnings. There are VectorVest strategies for the long term investor as well…very good ones, in fact. But they’re not going to come to the top of the “recommended” list, because at any given time, they’re not going to be yielding the biggest short-term gains. There is, however, nothing in the VectorVest system that will keep you, as the user, from back testing the long term strategies over whatever your investment timeframe is, or from constructing your own strategies, and back testing those. That’s what I do, and it’s worked great. I’m a value investor, and when I search for companies that are undervalued, growing their earnings, increasing their dividends, etc, I find exactly what I’m looking for. After that, it’s up to me to pick what I think will work. So, to discount the entire system based on the fact that you don’t like some of the strategies that are working for the short term, is basically to discount your ability to construct or use strategies that will provide consistent, market beating returns over the long term. If you have no faith in your own abilities, then don’t subscribe. Just buy index funds and be done with it. If you have ideas that you think are going to work, then sign up for the semi-free trial they offer, and start back testing those ideas. If they work for you, use them.

Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
899
JoeInvestorly
Member
JoeInvestorly
October 11, 2009 1:30 pm


There seems to be quite a bit of confusion about what VectorVest is. I see people posting that they don’t like the VectorVest “recommendations” for various reasons like that they’re sometimes Micro Caps or too volatile. Fine. You have your investment strategy. Other people have theirs. But don’t discount the entire system based on the fact that you don’t like some of the stocks found by some of the strategies. There are hundreds of strategies, each different. The system is designed to construct strategies or algorithms that make use of the financial data that’s available. That’s what it does. The recommended “strategies” are nothing more than an analysis of what’s currently yielding the highest returns in the short term. If you’re a short term investor, that’s great. But what if you’re a long term investor? Well, we all know that you’re not expecting huge pops in your investments in the short term, because you’re picking stocks that are less volatile and that have consistent earnings. There are VectorVest strategies for the long term investor as well…very good ones, in fact. But they’re not going to come to the top of the “recommended” list, because at any given time, they’re not going to be yielding the biggest short-term gains. There is, however, nothing in the VectorVest system that will keep you, as the user, from back testing the long term strategies over whatever your investment timeframe is, or from constructing your own strategies, and back testing those. That’s what I do, and it’s worked great. I’m a value investor, and when I search for companies that are undervalued, growing their earnings, increasing their dividends, etc, I find exactly what I’m looking for. After that, it’s up to me to pick what I think will work. So, to discount the entire system based on the fact that you don’t like some of the strategies that are working for the short term, is basically to discount your ability to construct or use strategies that will provide consistent, market beating returns over the long term. If you have no faith in your own abilities, then don’t subscribe. Just buy index funds and be done with it. If you have ideas that you think are going to work, then sign up for the semi-free trial they offer, and start back testing those ideas. If they work for you, use them.

Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
899
Add a Topic
899
Al
Guest
Al
October 18, 2009 1:52 am

I first used VVest years ago in early 2006, and by mid 2006, the market had performed -0.6%, year to date, in other words, massive sideways movement for 6 months. Quite the opposite of the current 7 month rally which has only gone in 1 direction, up, and which is the best rally the market has had since, you guessed it, the 1930’s Great Depression.

Needless to say, I started using VVEst at the “wrong time&#